VEHICLE BATTERY PACK CONTAINING BORON NITRIDE AND RELATIVE VEHICLE
DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/21/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following limitations listed below must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Dissipator element (22)
Dissipator element (22) comprising a busbar (16)
Dissipator element (21) supporting the busbar (16)
Contact area (AC) having an extension less than the coated area (20)
Coating layer (17) having varying thickness
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 discloses “[two main surfaces] at at least part of one of which at least part of the coating layer (17) is disposed.” The wording of this claim is very convoluted and needs to be revised as it is unclear where/how the coating layer is disposed.
Claim 3 discloses “a cooling system (18) comprising in turn a first portion (24) arranged in contact with the coating layer (17) in a contact area (AC), in particular included in the coated area (20).” The wording of this claim is unclear as it implies the first portion is part of the coated area which makes no structural sense.
Claims 4-11 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) for their dependence on claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barlow et al. (US 5,441,825) and further in view of Yun et al. (US 2020/0058942 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Barlow et al. teach a battery pack (1) (Abstract) comprising one or more electrochemical cells (5) (Abstract discloses a multicell battery.), each provided with two electrical terminals (9) (Fig. 1, element 32 discloses a terminal. Further, Abstract discloses one of the battery terminals.);
wherein at least one of the two electrical terminals (9) (Figs. 1 and 5, element 32) comprises a coating layer (17) (Figs. 1 and 5, element 38), which is at least partially arranged in a coated area (20) of at least part of at least one of the two electrical terminals (9) (Figs. 1 and 5, elements 36 and 37); and that the coating layer (17) comprises boron nitride (Col. 5, lines 19-32 discloses element 38 comprises boron nitride.).
However, Barlow et al. do not disclose the battery pack is a vehicular battery pack.
Yun et al. teach an electrode for a lithium secondary battery including a protective layer (Abstract). The protective layer is located on a current collector and comprises a thermally conductive material such as boron nitride (Paragraph 0023). The battery pack can also be used in an electrical vehicle application (Paragraph 0003).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the invention of Barlow in a vehicle application like Yun in order to improve performance and reliability of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Barlow and Yun et al. teach the vehicular battery pack according to claim 1. Further, Barlow et al. teach wherein at least one of the two electrical terminals (9) comprises two main surfaces (19) at at least part of one of which at least part of the coating layer (17) is disposed (See Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Barlow and Yun et al. teach the vehicular battery pack according to claim 1. Further, Yun et al. teach wherein the coating layer (17) is configured to have a thermal conductivity of 400 W/mK or more, in particular 750 W/mK (Paragraph 0022 discloses 100-500 W/mK.).
However, Yun et al. do not teach the coating layer is configured to have a dielectric strength of 2.5 kV or more, in particular 5 kV.
However, Barlow and Yun both disclose the material comprises the claimed boron nitride.
MPEP 2112.01 Composition, Product, and Apparatus Claims
II. COMPOSITION CLAIMS — IF THE COMPOSITION IS PHYSICALLY THE SAME, IT MUST HAVE THE SAME PROPERTIES
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Barlow and Yun et al. teach the vehicular battery pack according to claim 1. However, they do not specifically disclose wherein the coating layer (17) comprises one or more layers of paint.
However, the as-filed specification describes the coating layer comprises one or more layers of paint, which comprises (is based on) boron nitride. In other words, the paint comprises boron nitride in its chemical formulation at least in part (the remaining part is a solvent, part of the solution in which the boron nitride is soluble).
Yun et al. disclose formation of the protective layer comprises mixing PVDF/NMP (a binder and solvent) and BN/NMP solution. This matrix is essentially the same as to what the Applicant is defining a “paint”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Barlow with Yun in order to improve capacity retention.
Claims 3, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barlow et al. (US 5,441,825) and Yun et al. (US 2020/0058942 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Syed et al. (US 2016/0336627 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Barlow and Yun et al. teach the vehicular battery pack according to claim 1. However, they do not teach comprising a cooling system (18) comprising in turn a first portion (24) arranged in contact with the coating layer (17) in a contact area (AC), in particular included in the coated area (20).
Syed et al. teach a plurality of battery cells (Fig. 1, element 12) and an intumescent layer proximate to at least one battery module (Fig. 1, element 16). The intumescent layer can include boron nitride (Paragraph 0005). Further, a cooling system is in contact with the intumescent layer (Fig. 3 shows a cooling fin, element 30, in contact with the intumescent layer, element 26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Barlow and Yun with the cooling fins of Syed in order to reduce the risk of fire.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Barlow, Yun, and Syed et al. teach the vehicular battery pack according to claim 3. Further, Syed et al. teach wherein the cooling system (18) comprises a dissipator element (21), in particular metallic, configured to remove heat from at least one of the two electrical terminals (9), the dissipator element (21) comprising the first portion (24) (Paragraph 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Barlow and Yun with the cooling fins of Syed in order to reduce the risk of fire.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barlow et al. (US 5,441,825) and Yun et al. (US 2020/0058942 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view Selover et al. (US 4,381,597 A).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Barlow and Yun et al. teach the vehicular battery pack in according with claim 1. However, they do not teach wherein the coating layer (17) comprises a thickness between 0.02 mm and 3 mm, in particular between 0.1 mm and 1 mm.
Selover et al. teach a battery comprising a current conducting rod (Fig. 1, element 19) coated with a boron nitride layer (Fig. 1, element 32). Further, the boron nitride layer is 0.5-0.76 mm thick (Col. 5, lines 30-37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Barlow and Yun with Selover in order to prevent electrolyte leakage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the subject matter of claims 5-11 is not disclosed in the prior art of record. Further, any modification would teach away from the prior art of record and not present a prima facie case of obviousness.
Conclusion
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 August 26th, 2026