DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 14 claims dependency upon a canceled claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasaki et al. (WO 2017/010088 A1; hereinafter Sasaki).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 7, Sasaki discloses a packaging container comprising a body extending at least partially around an interior of the container, a closed top engaged with the body; a closed bottom engaged with the body (see Figures 1-3); and a barrier member (206) positioned in the interior of the container, the barrier member comprising a laminate structure that includes a composite layer (203/202/201/208) above at least one polymeric layer with an uninterrupted lower portion (Examiner notes that 206 and 205 are uninterrupted), the laminate structure comprises at least one line of weakening (207a-b) extending partially therethrough so as to terminate above a lower surface of the at least one polymeric layer to form the uninterrupted lower portion thereof (see Fig. 4), the at least one polymeric layer is a second polymeric layer, the laminate structure comprises a first polymeric layer (204a) between the second polymeric layer and the composite layer, the at least one line of weakening extending at least partially through the first polymeric layer, the composite layer, the first polymeric layer, and the second polymeric layer at least partially form an upper portion of the laminate structure, wherein the laminate structure further comprises a lower portion contacting the upper portion thereof, and wherein the lower portion of the laminate structure comprises a third polymeric layer (204b/205) contacting the second polymeric layer.
Regarding claim 6, Sasaki discloses a packaging container wherein the at least one line of weakening is a second line of weakening extending at least partially through the composite layer and the first polymeric layer, and the laminate structure comprises a first line of weakening extending at least partially through the composite layer, the first line of weakening spaced apart from the second line of weakening (see Fig. 4). Examiner notes that 207a and 207b are spaced apart.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki in view of Yoshikawa et al. (JP 2003-165567 A; hereinafter Yoshikawa).
Regarding claims 10-11, 14, and 16, Sasaki discloses the claimed invention except for an oriented polyethylene terephthalate (OPET) film. Yoshikawa teaches a composite wherein a first polymeric layer comprises an oriented polyethylene terephthalate (OPET) film (see Par. 0051, 0054). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Sasaki’s packaging to include a bi-axially oriented polyethylene terephthalate film as a gas barrier to preserve the integrity of the packaging and freshness of contents, as taught by Yoshikawa.
Claim(s) 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki in view of Yoshikawa as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Toppan (JP 2002-120820 A).
Regarding claims 12 and 15, Sasaki, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention except for the polymeric layer having a thickness of about 12 microns. Toppan teaches a barrier container wherein a first polymeric layer has a thickness of about 12 microns (see Par. 0025). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to further modify Sasaki’s container to have a polymeric layer with a thickness of about 12 microns in order to have a sufficient barrier, as taught by Toppan.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 17-18, 22-28, and 30-32 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 9-12, filed 12/23/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4 and 17-20 under USC 102(a)(1)—in view of Herlin have been fully considered and are persuasive. Herlin lacks the partial tear structure as claimed. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of USC 102(a)(1)--Sasaki.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734