DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Cancel claims 1-27. Claims 28-41 pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
It is the position of the examiner the claims are eligible. Sending the digital image to a remote health management system having a reader and processing the digital image at the reader to determine a sensor reading representative of the numeric values in the segmented display of the sensor device. These limitations are not performed in the mind or a mathematical concept.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means for, processing means region of interest means analyzing means in claim 28 and 30-41.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Double Patenting
Claims 28-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,430,236. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant patent ‘236 fully discloses features of the application see below:
Regarding claim 28 patent ‘236 discloses
means for capturing a digital image of a segmented display of numeric values shown on a sensor device (note claim 1, col. 21 lines 5-6);
means having a reader (note claim 1, col. 21 lines 7-8);
means for storing the digital image in a computer-readable memory (note claim 1, col. 21 lines 9-10); and
means for processing the digital image at the reader to determine a sensor reading representative of the numeric values in the segmented display of the sensor device (note col. 21 lines 11-13).
Regarding claim 29 patent ‘236 discloses,
Wherein the segmented display comprises a seven-segment display where seven segments are displayed on or off to represent particular numeric values between 0 and 9 (note claim 2).
Regarding claim 30 patent ‘236 discloses,
Wherein the processing means includes means for identifying a region of interest and clustering digits (note claim 3).
Regarding claim 31 patent ‘236 discloses,
Wherein the identifying a region of interest means includes means for object detection (note claim (note claim 4).
Regarding claim 32 patent ‘236 discloses,
means for training a model having parameters, and wherein the processing means includes means for minimizing a loss function and hyperparameter tuning of parameters in the model (note claim 5).
Regarding claim 33 patent ‘236 discloses,
Wherein the processing means includes:
means for analyzing the digital image using optical character recognition to determine a first array of data (note claim 1, col. 21 lines 15-16);
means for analyzing the digital image using a trained machine learning (ML) model to determine a second array of data (note claim 1, col. 21 lines 17-19); and
means for evaluating the first and second arrays of data to obtain the sensor reading representative of the numeric values in the segmented display of the sensor device (note claim 1, col 21 lines 20-22).
Regarding claim 34 patent ‘236 discloses,
Wherein the evaluating means includes:
means for comparing the first and second arrays of data to determine whether data in the first and second arrays is identical or empty (note claim 6 col. 21 line 41-43);
means for outputting an output array of data having data from the first or second array of data when identical and from the first or second array that is not empty (note claim 6 col. 21 line col. 45-48); and
means for arbitrating the first and second arrays of data according to test criteria to obtain an output array of data when the comparing means determines the first and second arrays of data are not identical and empty (note claim 6, col. 21 lines 51-52)
Regarding claim 35 patent ‘236 discloses,
Means for temporarily saving the obtained output array of data in computer- readable memory along with an identifier associated with the digital image (note claim 7).
Regarding claim 36 patent ‘236 discloses,
Means for displaying the sensor reading information as numeric values along with the associated digital image for confirmation (note claim 8, col. 21 lines 59-61); and
means for enabling a user to edit or select the numeric values and submit an input indicative of user confirmation (note claim 8, col. 21 lines 62-63).
Regarding claim 37 patent ‘236 discloses,
Means for comparing the user confirmation input and the temporarily saved output array of data (note claim 9 col. 21 lines 66-67);
means for checking whether the comparison is passed or not passed (note claim 9 col. 22 lines 1);
means for flagging the sensor reading information of the output array of data for administrative review when the comparison is not passed (note claim 9, col. 22 lines 2-4); and
means for saving the sensor reading information of the output array of data in a record of the database (note claim 9, col. 22 lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 38 patent ‘236 discloses,
Means for training the ML engine with a training dataset of images to obtain the trained ML model (note claim 10).
Regarding claim 39 patent ‘236 discloses,
Wherein the training dataset includes base images of different sensor reading devices having segmented numeral displays, and the training means includes: means for augmenting base images in the training dataset to generate a synthetic training dataset that includes base augmentations representative of one or more of thefollowing augmentations: Horizontal Flip, Vertical Flip, Shift-Scale-Rotate, Random- Brightness-Contrast, Random Sun Flare, Random Fog, or Blur of each base image in the training dataset (note claim 11).
Regarding claim 40 patent ‘236 discloses,
Wherein the training means includes: means for applying images in the training dataset to a ML engine (note claim 12, col. 22 lines 24);
means for evaluating candidate models using objection detection (note claim 12 , col. 22 lines 25), means for minimizing a loss function and hyper-parameters to obtain the trained ML model (note claim 12, col. 22 lines 27-28)
Regarding claim 41 patent ‘236 discloses,
Wherein the analyzing means for the digital image using the trained ML model includes means for passing to the digital image with an API call to a Detectron2Go library determine the second array of data (note claim 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 28-32are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Paik et al (11,164,045).
Regarding claim 28 Paik discloses
Means for capturing a digital image of a segmented display of numeric values shown on a sensor device; (note col. 14 lines 25-30, image segmentation)
Means for sending the digital image to a remote health management system having a reader (note col. 14 lines 60-67, intelligent worklist management communication prioritization);
Means for storing the digital image in a computer-readably memory (note col. 39, lines 37-40 and 47-55, worklist management system, view images and generated stored in database); and
Means for processing the digital image at the reader to determine a sensor reading representative of the numeric values in the segmented display of the sensor device (note col. 41 lines 33-40).
Regarding claim 29 Paik discloses,
Wherein the segmented display comprises a seven-segment display where seven segments are displayed on or off to represent particular numeric values between 0 and 9 (note col. 34 lines 8-19, examiner interprets as labeled segmentation map).
Regarding claim 30 Paik discloses,
Wherein the processing means includes identifying a region of interest (note col. 30 lines 24-35, lines cite input image region of interest and selecting region of interest) and clustering digits
Regarding claim 31 Paik discloses,
Wherein the identifying a region of interest means includes means for object detection (note col. 16 lines 42-47, regions corresponding to objects).
Regarding claim 32 Paik discloses
Means for Training a model having parameters, and wherein the processing includes minimizing a loss function and hyperparameter tuning of parameters in the model (note col. 20 lines 10-12, during training targets used for computing the loss function).
Related Prior Art
Rao (8,554,195) for sending the digital image to a remote health management system (note col. 3 lines 16-30)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims limitation of claims 33 would place the application in condition. The features ae consistent with features of patent 11430236 allowable subject matter. Claims 34-41 depend on claim 33.
Conclusion
G.D.
March 7, 2026
/GREGORY M DESIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2676