DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendment
In response to the amendment(s) filed on 8/28/26, amended claim(s) 7 and 11-12, canceled claim(s) 3-4 and 6, and new claim(s) 21-23 is/are acknowledged. The following new and/or reiterated ground(s) of rejection is/are set forth:
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein each of the plurality of temperature sensors is disposed over or in at least part of each of the chambers,” in claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Fig. 15 instead shows an individual temperature sensor (i.e., 1502, 1504, 1506) disposed over or in a respective chamber, but each individual temperature sensor is not disposed over or in each chamber. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0277242 to Crane et al. (hereinafter “Crane”).
For claim 7, Crane discloses a chemical sensor system (Abstract) comprising:
a package (Examiner’s Note: made up of the elements it comprises), the package comprising
a first chamber (101) (Fig. 3) (para [0052]);
a second chamber (102) (Fig. 3) (para [0052]); and
a seal (11) (Fig. 3) (para [0052]);
wherein the seal separates the first chamber and the second chamber (as can be seen in Fig. 3);
wherein the seal is frangible (para [0052], [0057], [0062], and/or [0065]);
an implantable monitor device (1/2/3) (Figs. 1-2) (para [0047]), the implantable monitor device comprising an optical chemical sensor (4) (Fig. 2) (para [0047]);
wherein the implantable monitor device is disposed within the first chamber (para [0054]);
a first aqueous solution (“aqueous solution,” para [0022]), the first aqueous solution comprising a solute (para [0070], “exposing the analyte 12 to the aqueous solution”); and
wherein the first aqueous solution is disposed within the second chamber (para [0070], “exposing the analyte 12 to the aqueous solution,” the analyte 12 being in the second chamber, see Fig. 3).
For claim 9, Crane further discloses wherein the first aqueous solution has a pH of 7.0 to 7.8 (“water,” para [0022], water having a pH of 7.0).
For claim 10, Crane further discloses the package further comprising: a third chamber (103); and a second seal (11a), wherein the second seal is frangible (para [0067]); and the chemical sensor system further comprising a second aqueous solution (“third calibration solution,” para [0077]), wherein the second aqueous solution is disposed within the third chamber (para [0077]), the second aqueous solution comprising a solute (para [0077]), wherein the solute of the second aqueous solution is at a different concentration than in the first aqueous solution (para [0077]).
For claim 11, Crane further discloses a temperature sensor (5), wherein the temperature sensor is disposed on or in the package (para [0054]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crane in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0133234 to Li et al. (hereinafter “Li”).
For claim 8, Crane does not expressly disclose wherein the package is hermetically sealed.
However, Li teaches wherein a package is hermetically sealed (para [0011] and [0051]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Crane wherein the package is hermetically sealed, in view of the teachings of Li, for the obvious advantage of ensuring that the aqueous solution and analyte of Crane don’t mix before the seal is broken.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crane.
For claim 12, Crane does not expressly disclose wherein the temperature sensor is disposed over or in at least part of each of the chambers.
However, Crane does teach a heating element (14) disposed over or in at least part of each of the chambers (as can be seen in Fig. 3a) and that that heating element is used to provide an increase in temperature to each chamber so that the temperature sensor can measure temperature during calibration (para [0063]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Crane wherein the temperature sensor is disposed over or in at least part of each of the chambers, in view of the teachings of Crane, for the obvious advantage of being able to sense that increase in temperature in each of the chambers that Crane talks about at para [0063]). Otherwise, Crane wouldn’t be able to sense the function/effect of the heating element.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crane in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0316415 to Gilbert.
For claim 21, Crane does not expressly disclose a temperature sensing strip, wherein the temperature sensing strip is disposed over at least part of each of the chambers.
However, Gilbert teaches a temperature sensing strip (“a strip of temperature-indicating film,” para [0362]), wherein the temperature sensing strip is formed of the “correct size and shape” and is disposed at a “preferred location and orientation” (para [0339]) (also see para [0362] which equates the “indicator media” to the “strip of temperature-indicating film”).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Crane to include a temperature sensing strip, in view of the teachings of Gilbert, because such a modification would be the simple substitution of one temperature sensor structure for another temperature sensor structure that would lead to the predictable result of being able to detecto temperature in and/or around the device.
It would also have been obvious to a skilled artisan to optimize Crane wherein the temperature sensing strip is disposed over at least part of each of the chambers given that Gilbert recognizes that size, shape, location, and orientation of the temperature sensing structure are all result-effective variables that may be optimized based on what is “correct” and “preferred” (i.e., correct/preferred being the result). In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969); See also In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crane in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0018353 to Chung et al. (hereinafter “Chung”).
For claim 22, Crane does not expressly disclose wherein the first aqueous solution comprises the solute within the second chamber when the seal is intact.
However, Chung teaches wherein the first aqueous solution (“Solution A” or “Solution B,” see Fig. 1) comprises the solute (para [0037]-[0038]) within the second chamber (12 or 14, see Fig. 1) when the seal is intact (i.e., 18 and/or 20, see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Crane wherein the first aqueous solution comprises the solute within the second chamber when the seal is intact, in view of the teachings of Chung, for the obvious advantage of mixing multiple components together after breaking the seal.
For claim 23, Crane does not expressly disclose wherein breaking the frangible seal causes the first aqueous solution comprising the solute to flow into the first chamber from the second chamber.
However, Chung teaches wherein breaking a frangible seal (i.e., 18 and/or 20, see Fig. 1) causes a first aqueous solution (“Solution A” or “Solution B,” see Fig. 1) comprising a solute (para [0037]-[0038]) to flow into a first chamber (16, and/or one of 12 or 14) from a second chamber (the other 12 or 14, see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Crane wherein breaking the frangible seal causes the first aqueous solution comprising the solute to flow into the first chamber from the second chamber, in view of the teachings of Chung, for the obvious advantage of mixing multiple components together after breaking the seal.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 8/28/26 have been fully considered.
With respect to the objection(s) to the drawings, the newly amended claim language has similar issues for the reasons stated above.
With respect to the claim objection, Applicant’s amendments and arguments are persuasive and thus the objection is withdrawn.
With respect to the 102 rejection(s), Applicant’s arguments will be treated in the order they were presented. With respect to the first argument, claim 7 does not recite that the first aqueous solution comprises a solute, both of which are disposed within the second chamber when the seal is intact. Instead, claim 7 recites “a first aqueous solution, the first aqueous solution comprising a solute; and wherein the first aqueous solution is disposed within the second chamber.” Instead, claim 22 recites “wherein the first aqueous solution comprises the solute within the second chamber when the seal is intact.” With respect to the second argument, claim 7 recites “wherein the implantable monitor device is disposed within the first chamber.” The claim does not recite that the implantable monitor device is entirely within the first chamber. Therefore, if part of the implantable monitor device of Crane is disposed inside the chamber, then Crane reads on “the implantable monitor device is disposed within the first chamber.” With respect to the third argument, Crane explicitly discloses “[t]he sensor 1 comprises an insertable tip 2 which is adapted for insertion into a patient” (see para [0047] of Crane). If something is insertable, it’s not clear how it would not be “implantable” as required by claim 7. The term “implantable” is being construed as meaning “able to be implanted.” Does Applicant have a different construction? Alternatively, is Applicant relying on some extrinsic evidence that structures that are invasively inserted into a patient can’t be implanted? If so, then the examiner respectfully requests such evidence be made of record so that the Examiner may evaluate such a claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL L CERIONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791