DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 8/13/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 17-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/13/2026.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The word “air” is capitalized despite not appearing at the beginning of a sentence [0003]. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites the limitation “the vape pen including a first housing storing a power source and a mouthpiece detachably connected to the first housing, the heating element disposed in the mouthpiece,” which are considered to be limitations regarding the intended use of the claimed heating element. During examination, statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether or not the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, a manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art. If so, the recitation serves to limit the claim. See MPEP § 2111.02. In this case, the limitations regarding the intended use of the heating element are not considered to affect the structure of the heating element itself and will not be considered to limit the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the wicking unit” in the claim, rendering the claim indefinite. For the purposes of this Office action, the claim will be interpreted as if it required the instant claim to depend on claim 8. Claim 10 is indefinite by dependence.
Regarding claim 13, it is unclear whether the limitation “at least one inlet” refers to the at least one inlet of claim 12 or to a new inlet, rendering the claim indefinite. For the purposes of this Office action, the limitation will be interpreted as if it referred to the at least one inlet of claim 12. Claims 14-16 are indefinite by dependence.
Regarding claim 15, there must be multiple top slit, bottom slit, and main slit portions in the device claim 13 since each inlet includes all of those features. It is therefore unclear as to whether the limitation refers to all of these inlets or to just one, and, if so, which specific inlet. The claim is therefore indefinite. For the purposes of this Office action, the limitation will be interpreted as if it required all of the top slit portions to have the same dimensions as each other, all of the main slit portions to have the same dimensions as each other, and all of the bottom slit portions to have the same dimensions as each other.
Regarding claim 16, there must be multiple top slit, bottom slit, and main slit portions in the device claim 13 since each inlet includes all of those features. It is therefore unclear as to whether the limitation refers to all of these inlets or to just one, and, if so, which specific inlet. The claim is therefore indefinite. For the purposes of this Office action, the limitation will be interpreted as if it referred to any single inlet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu (US 2023/0232902).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses an electronic vaporization device having a vaporizer (figure 1, reference numeral 40), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a mouthpiece defining a second housing, and a power supply component that is electrically connected to the vaporizer ([0054], figure 1, reference numeral 20), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a first housing that stores a power source since it has a defined outer shape. The vaporizer includes a liquid storage cavity (figure 2, reference numeral 432), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a compartment for accommodating a liquid, and a vaporization channel extends through the device and opens to a mouthpiece at its upper end ([0055], figure 2, reference numeral 432). The vaporizer has a mounting base to form the connection to the power supply component [0055], and connections may be detachable connections [0051], indicating that the connection between the vaporizer and the power supply component is a detachable connection. The device has a vaporization assembly (figure 5, reference numeral 41) in the form of a tube shaped heating net that heats and vaporizes the liquid into aerosol ([0056], figure 5, reference numeral 411), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a first tube. The upper and lower ends of the each mesh opening are considered to meet the claim limitation of a top slit portion and a bottom slit portion respectively (figure 5). The middle portion of each inlet is considered to mee the claim limitation of a main slit portion. The heating net has positive and negative connection portions on its ends that electrically connect to the power supply component ([0058], figure 7, reference numerals 4117, 4119), which are considered to meet the claim limitation of a pair of electrical leads. The openings of the mesh itself are considered to meet the claim limitation of an inlet (figure 7).
Regarding claim 2, Wu discloses that the heating mesh is formed of adjacent heating wires ([0059], figure 7, reference numeral 4111) that form hexagonal structures [0060].
Regarding claim 3, Wu discloses that the hexagonal structures are irregularly shaped (figure 7).
Regarding claim 4, Wu discloses that the hexagonal structures end in legs (figure 7).
Regarding claim 6, Wu discloses that the mesh has multiple openings (figure 4).
Regarding claim 7, Wu discloses that each of the openings are equally spaced (figure 4).
Regarding claim 8, Wu discloses that the heating net is surrounded by a liquid guiding unit ([0056], figure 4, reference numeral 413) formed from porous cotton that transmits the vaporization liquid for the heating net [0064], and is therefore considered to meet the claim limitation of a heating unit.
Regarding claim 11, Wu discloses that the liquid guiding unit is located in a base unit (figure 3, reference numeral 415) that is surrounded by a liquid inlet tube ([0056], figure 3, reference numeral 419) that has a liquid inlet through it ([0069], figure 3, reference numeral 4192), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a window.
Regarding claim 13, Wu discloses an electronic vaporization device having a vaporizer (figure 1, reference numeral 40). The vaporizer includes a liquid storage cavity (figure 2, reference numeral 432) and a vaporization channel extends through the device and opens to a mouthpiece at its upper end ([0055], figure 2, reference numeral 432). The device has a vaporization assembly (figure 5, reference numeral 41) in the form of a tube shaped heating net that heats and vaporizes the liquid into aerosol ([0056], figure 5, reference numeral 411), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a first tube. The upper and lower ends of the each mesh opening are considered to meet the claim limitation of a top slit portion and a bottom slit portion respectively (figure 5). The middle portion of each inlet is considered to mee the claim limitation of a main slit portion. The heating net has positive and negative connection portions on its ends that electrically connect to the power supply component ([0058], figure 7, reference numerals 4117, 4119), which are considered to meet the claim limitation of a pair of electrical leads. The openings of the mesh itself are considered to meet the claim limitation of an inlet (figure 7).
Regarding claim 13, Wu discloses that the mesh has multiple openings (figure 4).
Regarding claim 14, Wu discloses that the openings of the mesh are equally spaced from each other (figure 4).
Regarding claim 15, Wu discloses that the openings of the mesh each have the same dimensions (figure 4).
Regarding claim 16, Wu discloses that the wide portion of the opening of the mesh is between the upper and lower ends (figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2023/0232902).
Regarding claim 5, Wu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Wu does not explicitly disclose the positive and negative connection portions being bent.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the positive and negative connection portions be bent. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See MPEP § 2144.04 IV B.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2023/0232902) in view of Al-Amin (US 2026/0262742).
Regarding claim 9, Wu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. The liquid guiding unit of Wu is considered to meet the claim limitation of a first sheet. Wu additionally discloses that an outer liquid guiding unit forms a sheet located around the liquid guiding unit ([0056], figure 5, reference numeral 417), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a second sheet. The liquid guiding unit is made from cotton [0064]. Wu does not explicitly disclose the outer liquid guiding unit made from a fire retardant material.
Al-Amin teaches an article for an aerosol provision device (abstract) having a wick that is formed of either glass fibers or cotton fibers since both cause wicking of liquid [0034]. Glass is considered to be a fire retardant material.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the glass of Al-Amin as the material of the outer liquid guiding unit of Wu. One would have been motivated to do so since Al-Amin teaches that the glass and cotton are equivalent wicking materials for aerosol provision devices. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding claim 10, Wu discloses that the liquid guiding unit is located between the mesh and the outer liquid guiding unit (figure 5).
Conclusion
/RUSSELL E SPARKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1755