DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-8, 13-30 and 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pawlicki et al. (US 2004/0016870 A1).
Regarding claim 1, notes Figure 1, Pawlicki invention teaches a vehicular sensing system [para. 0043 teaches on object detection system or imaging system, such as a lane change assist or aid system (10)], the vehicular sensing system(10) comprising: a sensor [camera (14)] disposed at a vehicle (12) equipped with the vehicular sensing system (10) and sensing exterior of the vehicle (12) [abstract teaches the imaging sensor is operable to capture an image of a scene occurring exteriorly of the vehicle]; an electronic control unit (ECU) [control (16)] comprising electronic circuitry [para. 0046 teaches the camera includes circuitry which is operable to individually access each photosensor pixel or element of array of photosensor pixels and to provide an output or image data set associated with the individual signals to the control 16, such as via an analog to digital converter (not shown)] and associated software [at least para. 0008 teaches the system utilizes various filtering mechanisms, such as algorithms executed in software by a system microprocessor]; wherein the sensor (14) is operable to capture sensor data [abstract]; wherein sensor data captured by the sensor (14) is transferred to the ECU (16) wherein the electronic circuitry of the ECU comprises a data processor for processing sensor data captured by the sensor and transferred to the ECU (16) [para. 0046]; wherein the vehicular sensing system (10), via processing at the ECU (16) of the sensor data captured by the sensor (14), detects an object present exterior of the vehicle [abstract]; wherein the equipped vehicle (12) has a lateral outermost part at a side of the equipped vehicle (12) [Figure 1 illustrates the vehicle (12) includes the exterior rearview mirror (12a) at either both sides of vehicle (12); para. 0047]; wherein the vehicular sensing system (10), responsive to detecting the object present exterior of the vehicle, and based on a predicted path of travel of the equipped vehicle approaching the detected object [para. 0016], estimates a distance between the detected object and the lateral outermost part of the equipped vehicle at the side of the equipped vehicle that, as the equipped vehicle moves along the predicted path of travel and approaches the detected object, will be closest to the detected object [para. 0016, and 0064-0070]; and wherein the vehicular sensing system (10) determines that the distance between the lateral outermost part of the equipped vehicle and the detected object is less than a threshold distance [para .0053 teaches control (16) may require that a detected edge span or include a threshold number of pixels that are within a predetermined "hot zone"/specific targeted area within the zone of interest before the edge will be considered significant for further processing; and Figure 12].
Regarding claim 2, as discussed in claim 1, Pawlicki invention further teaches wherein the lateral outermost part of the equipped vehicle comprises a lateral outermost part of a driver-side mirror of the equipped vehicle [Figures 1, 12 and para. 0047] or a lateral outermost part of a passenger-side mirror of the equipped vehicle [0082].
Regarding claim 3, as discussed in claim 1, Pawlicki invention further teaches wherein the detected object comprises another vehicle, and wherein determining the distance between the lateral outermost part of the equipped vehicle and the detected object comprises determining a distance between the lateral outermost part of the driver-side mirror of the equipped vehicle and an exterior side mirror of the other vehicle [Figures 1, 12 and para. 0047].
Regarding claim 4, as discussed in claim 1, Pawlicki invention further teaches wherein the detected object comprises another vehicle, and wherein determining the distance between the lateral outermost part of the equipped vehicle and the detected object comprises determining a distance between the lateral outermost part of the passenger-side mirror of the equipped vehicle and an exterior side mirror of the other vehicle [para. 0082].
Regarding claim 5, as discussed in claim 1, Pawlicki invention further teaches wherein a position of the driver-side mirror is adjustable between an extended position and a retracted position, and wherein the lateral outermost part of the equipped vehicle is determined based on the position of the driver-side mirror [para .0047 and 0096].
Regarding claim 6, as discussed in claim 1, Pawlicki invention further teaches wherein the vehicular sensing system, responsive to determining that the driver-side mirror is at the extended position and that the distance between the driver-side mirror at the extended position and the detected object is less than the threshold distance, retracts the driver-side mirror toward the retracted position [para .0053 teaches control (16) may require that a detected edge span or include a threshold number of pixels that are within a predetermined "hot zone"/specific targeted area within the zone of interest before the edge will be considered significant for further processing; and Figure 12].
Regarding claim 7, as discussed in claim 1, Pawlicki invention further teaches wherein a position of the passenger-side mirror is adjustable between an extended position and a retracted position, and wherein the lateral outermost part of the equipped vehicle is determined based on the position of the passenger-side mirror [para. 0082].
Regarding claim 8, as discussed in claim 1, Pawlicki invention further teaches wherein the vehicular sensing system, responsive to determining that the passenger-side mirror is at the extended position and that the distance between the passenger-side mirror at the extended position and the detected object is less than the threshold distance, retracts the passenger-side mirror toward the retracted position [Figures 1, 12, para 0047 and 0082].
Regarding claim 13, as discussed in claim 1, Pawlicki invention further teaches wherein the vehicular sensing system, responsive to detecting the object present exterior of the vehicle, determines a lateral outermost part of the detected object that is closest to the predicted path of travel, and wherein the vehicular sensing system determines the distance between the lateral outermost part of the equipped vehicle and the lateral outermost part of the detected object [see at least para. 0016, and 0064-0070].
Regarding claim 14, as discussed in claim 1, Pawlicki invention further teaches wherein the detected object comprises another vehicle, and wherein the lateral outermost part of the detected object comprises an exterior rearview mirror of the detected other vehicle [see at least Figures 1 and 12].
Regarding claim 15, as discussed in claim 1, Pawlicki invention further teaches wherein the vehicular sensing system, responsive to determining that the distance between the lateral outermost part of the equipped vehicle and the detected object is less than the threshold distance, generates an alert to a driver of the equipped vehicle [para. 0019 teaches the object detection system or imaging system may comprise a forward facing imaging system, such as a lane departure warning system. The lane departure warning system may provide a warning or alert signal to the driver of the vehicle in response to a detection of the vehicle drifting or leaving its occupied lane; and para 0053 teaches control (16) may require that a detected edge span or include a threshold number of pixels that are within a predetermined "hot zone"/specific targeted area within the zone of interest before the edge will be considered significant for further processing; and Figure 12].
Regarding claim 16, as discussed in claim 1, Pawlicki invention further teaches wherein the alert comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a visual alert, (ii) an audible alert and (iii) a haptic alert [para. 0005].
Regarding claim 17, as discussed in claim 1, Pawlicki invention further teaches wherein the vehicular sensing system, responsive to determining that the distance between the lateral outermost part of the equipped vehicle and the detected object is less than the threshold distance, maneuvers the equipped vehicle to mitigate a collision with the detected object by at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) controlling braking of the equipped vehicle and (ii) controlling steering of the equipped vehicle [para. 0008 and 0095].
Regarding claim 18, as discussed in claim 1, Pawlicki invention further teaches wherein the sensor is disposed at an exterior rearview mirror of the equipped vehicle [Figure 1].
Regarding claim 19, as discussed in claim 1, Pawlicki invention further teaches wherein the sensor comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a lidar sensor, (ii) a radar sensor and (iii) an ultrasonic sensor [see at least para. 0122].
Regarding claim 20, as discussed in claim 1, Pawlicki invention further teaches wherein the sensor comprises a camera (14).
Regarding claim 21, as discussed in claim 1, Pawlicki invention further teaches wherein the sensor senses at least forward of the vehicle, and wherein the predicted path of travel of the equipped vehicle comprises a predicted forward path of travel as the equipped vehicle maneuvers forward [para. 0002 and 0018].
Regarding claim 22, as discussed in claim 1, Pawlicki invention further teaches wherein the sensor senses at least rearward of the vehicle, and wherein the predicted path of travel of the equipped vehicle comprises a predicted rearward path of travel as the equipped vehicle maneuvers rearward [see Figure 2].
Regarding claim 23, as discussed in claim 1, Pawlicki invention further teaches wherein the vehicular sensing system, responsive to detecting the object, (i) determines height of the detected object and (ii) determines, from a plurality of lateral outermost parts of the equipped vehicle each associated with a respective height, the lateral outermost part of the vehicle at the side of the equipped vehicle that will be closest to the detected object based in part on the determined height of the detected object [para. 0056-0057 and Figure 4].
Regarding claim 24, as discussed in claim 1, Pawlicki invention further teaches wherein the height of the determined lateral outermost part of the vehicle is at or below the determined height of the detected object [para. 0056-0057 and Figure 4].
Regarding claims 25-29, see discussion in claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 15 and 16.
Regarding claims 30, 32-35, see discussion in claims 1, 13-15 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 9-12 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pawlicki et al. in view of Pliefke et al. (US 2014/0160276 A1).
Regarding claim 9, as discussed in claim 1, Pawlicki invention discloses the claimed invention as recited above, however, fails to specifically disclose the vehicular sensing system determines that a lateral outermost part of the trailer being towed by the equipped vehicle will be closer to the detected object than the lateral outermost part of the equipped vehicle as the equipped vehicle tows the trailer along the predicted path of travel and as the lateral outermost part of the trailer approaches the detected object, and wherein the vehicular sensing system determines that the distance between the lateral outermost part of the trailer being towed by the equipped vehicle and the detected object is less than the threshold distance.
Notes Figures 1, 2, 21 and 22, Pliefke invention teaches the equipped vehicle (10) towing a trailer (20), the vehicular sensing system (14a, 14c, 14d) determines that a lateral outermost part of the trailer being towed by the equipped vehicle will be closer to the detected object than the lateral outermost part of the equipped vehicle as the equipped vehicle tows the trailer along the predicted path of travel and as the lateral outermost part of the trailer approaches the detected object, and wherein the vehicular sensing system determines that the distance between the lateral outermost part of the trailer being towed by the equipped vehicle and the detected object is less than the threshold distance [abstract, para 0028, 0053 and 0058].
Since the prior art references are both from the same field of endeavor, the purpose disclosed by Pliefke invention would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Pawlicki.
It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the vehicular sensing system of Pawlicki invention which included the vehicle vision system with trailer angle detection as taught by Pliefke invention for the purpose of displaying the information for viewing by the driver in safety driving the vehicle with the trailer.
Regarding claim 10, as discussed and motivated in claim 9, Pliefke invention further teaches wherein width of the equipped vehicle is less than width of the trailer being towed by the equipped vehicle [para. 0028].
Regarding claim 11, as discussed in claim 1 and motivated in claim 9, Pliefke invention further teaches wherein the equipped vehicle is equipped with an extendable trailer-towing mirror disposed at the side of the equipped vehicle, and wherein a position of the extendable trailer-towing mirror is adjustable between an extended position and a retracted position, wherein the lateral outermost part of the equipped vehicle comprises a lateral outermost part of the extendable trailer-towing mirror [Figure 1; and para. 0058].
Regarding claim 12, as discussed and motivated in claim 9, Pliefke invention further teaches wherein the lateral outermost part of the equipped vehicle is determined based on the position of the extendable trailer-towing mirror [Figures 21 and 22].
Regarding claim 31, see discussion and motivation in claim [para. 0028, Pliefke].
Conclusion
To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
March 29, 2026
/JHH/
/Johnny H. Hoang/
Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747