DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 05/21/20224 has been considered and
placed in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guo et al. (U.S. 10,476,451).
Regarding claim 1, Guo et al. (hereinafter, Ref~451) discloses (please see Figs. 4-6) a power amplifier circuit (606 of Fig. 6) comprising:
a first amplifier (M1a of Fig. 6) configured to amplify a first signal (In1a of Fig. 6) and to output (via drain) a first amplified signal from a first output terminal (D1a of Fig. 6), the first signal being one of a pair of balanced signals;
a second amplifier (M1b of Fig. 6) configured to amplify a second signal (In1b of Fig. 6) and to output (via drain) a second amplified signal from a second output terminal (D1b of Fig. 6), the second signal being another of the pair of balanced signals;
a balun (240 of Fig. 6 can be read as the claimed balun since it is configured to convert balanced transmission line to unbalanced transmission line) configured to generate a third signal (Out of Fig. 6) from the first amplified signal and the second amplified signal; and
a matching circuit (C_AC/260 of Fig. 6) that is between the first amplifier and the second amplifier, and the balun, wherein the matching circuit comprises:
a first capacitor (capacitor C_AC of Fig. 6 or any capacitor from Fig. 4) having a first end connected to the first output terminal,
a second capacitor (capacitor C_AC of Fig. 6 or any capacitor from Fig. 4) having a first end connected to the second output terminal and a second end connected to a second end of the first capacitor, and a wiring (inductor from Fig. 4) having a first end connected to the second end of the first capacitor and a second end connected to ground as seen from Fig. 4, meeting claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Ref~451 discloses the power amplifier circuit according to Claim 1, wherein the wiring has a spiral shape as expected from a typical inductor, meeting claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Ref~451 discloses the power amplifier circuit according to Claim 1, wherein the wiring has a straight line shape since straight wire(s) would be employed to connected passive elements from the output of said amplifiers to ground via said matching circuit, meeting claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Ref~451 discloses the power amplifier circuit according to Claim 1, wherein the matching circuit further comprises a third capacitor connected in series to the wiring (please see capacitor C_AC is coupled to capacitor within CM trap 260 of Fig. 4), between the second end of the first capacitor and ground as seen from Figs. 4 and 6, meeting claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Ref~451 discloses the power amplifier circuit according to Claim 1, wherein each of the first amplifier and the second amplifier is an inverse class-F amplifier as advertised in the title of the invention, meeting claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, Ref~451 discloses the power amplifier apparatus according to Claim 11, wherein in the semiconductor chip, the matching circuit is between the first amplifier and the second amplifier as seen from Fig. 6, meeting claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (U.S. 10,476,451).
Regarding claim 11, Ref~451 does not disclose in details the claimed power amplifier apparatus comprising: the power amplifier circuit according to Claim 1; a semiconductor chip comprising the first amplifier, the second amplifier, and the matching circuit; and a board on which the balun is formed, and on which the semiconductor chip is mounted. However, these are normal design parameters/features in the field as described in col. 10, between lines 1-15. Specifically, Ref~451 also teaches various packaging arrangement may be possible, thus obviating the claimed features depending on custom specifications, meeting claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Ref~451 does not disclose in details the claimed power amplifier apparatus comprising: the power amplifier circuit according to Claim 1; a semiconductor chip comprising the first amplifier and the second amplifier; and a board on which the matching circuit and the balun are formed, and on which the semiconductor chip is mounted. However, these are normal design parameters/features in the field as described in col. 10, between lines 1-15. Specifically, Ref~451 also teaches various packaging arrangement may be possible, thus obviating the claimed features depending on custom specifications as described in col. 10, between lines 1-15, meeting claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Ref~451 does not disclose in details the claimed the power amplifier apparatus according to Claim 11, wherein the ground is at the semiconductor chip. However, these are normal design parameters/features in the field as described in col. 10, between lines 1-15. Specifically, Ref~451 also teaches various packaging arrangement may be possible, thus obviating the claimed features depending on custom specifications as described in col. 10, between lines 1-15, meeting claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Ref~451 does not disclose in details the claimed the power amplifier apparatus according to Claim 12, wherein the ground is at the semiconductor chip as described in col. 10, between lines 1-15. However, these are normal design parameters/features in the field as described in col. 10, between lines 1-15. Specifically, Ref~451 also teaches various packaging arrangement may be possible, thus obviating the claimed features depending on custom specifications, meeting claim 14.
Regarding claim 16, Ref~451 does not disclose in details the claimed power amplifier apparatus comprising: the power amplifier circuit according to Claim 1; a semiconductor chip comprising the first amplifier, the second amplifier, the first capacitor, and the second capacitor; and a board on which the wiring and the balun are formed, and on which the semiconductor chip is mounted. However, these are normal design parameters/features in the field as described in col. 10, between lines 1-15. Specifically, Ref~451 also teaches various packaging arrangement may be possible, thus obviating the claimed features depending on custom specifications, meeting claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, Ref~451 does not disclose in details the claimed power amplifier apparatus according to Claim 16, wherein the ground is at the board. However, these are normal design parameters/features in the field. Specifically, Ref~451 also teaches various packaging arrangement may be possible, thus obviating the claimed features depending on custom specifications as described in col. 10, between lines 1-15 , meeting claim 17.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HIEU P NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843