DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to application filed on 5/21/2024.
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 8, 10 – 12, 14, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao et al (US 20260119997, hereinafter Rao), in view of Ahmed (US 20180349168).
As per claim 1, Rao discloses: A method comprising:
receiving a wrapped job comprising a computing job wrapped with a plurality of conditions associated with execution of the computing job; (Rao [0023]: “A first deployment file is generated, where the first deployment file includes an AI model, a workflow description file, a wrapper script, and a dependency library.”; [0029]: “The wrapper script is adapted to run each node in the workflow. The wrapper script is a script in which a system command or a tool is embedded, and the script retains a series of parameters transmitted to each node. Each node in the workflow may be run based on the parameter transmitted by the wrapper script to each node.”; [0033]: “The first deployment file is sent to the edge device”.)
generating instructions to orchestrate execution of the computing job in a [resource] based on the wrapped job; (Rao [0033]: “The first deployment file is sent to the edge device, so that the edge device generates the workflow based on the workflow description file, creates the running environment for each node in the workflow based on the dependency library, and runs each node in the workflow based on the wrapper script.”)
Rao did not explicitly disclose:
wherein the resource comprises a container;
and modifying, by a processing device, execution of the computing job in response to detecting at least one execution condition of the plurality of conditions associated with execution of the computing job.
However, Ahmed teaches:
wherein the resource comprises a container. (Ahmed [0011]: containers.)
a nd modifying, by a processing device, execution of the computing job in response to detecting at least one execution condition of the plurality of conditions associated with execution of the computing job. (Ahmed [0066]: “the computing platform transmits control instructions to the cluster that cause the container to scale up, scale down, shutdown, or migrate to another VM based on the forecasting operation 315.”.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Ahmed into that of Rao in order to have the node comprises a container, and modifying execution of the computing job in response to detecting at least one execution condition of the plurality of conditions associated with execution of the computing job. Rao [0033] teaches deploying workflow to edge device by creating running environment for the each node of the workflow, one of ordinary skill in the art can easily see that the containers claimed are merely a commonly known execution environment for executing workflows. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art can easily see corrective action can be performed in accordance to the parameter’s requirement. Applicant have thus merely claimed the combination of known parts in the field to achieve predictable results and is therefore rejected under 35 USC 103.
As per claim 2, the combination of Rao and Ahmed further teach:
The method of claim 1, wherein to modify execution of the computing job, the processing devices is to at least one of start execution of the computing job, stop execution of the computing job, restart execution of the computing job, migrate execution of the computing job from a first container to a second container, or terminate execution of the computing job. (Ahmed [0066])
As per claim 4, the combination of Rao and Ahmed further teach:
The method of claim 1, further comprising monitoring execution of the computing job to detect the at least one execution condition. (Rao [0038])
As per claim 8, the combination of Rao and Ahmed further teach:
The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of conditions include an orchestration condition and the instructions to orchestrate execution of the computing job in the container are generated based on the orchestration condition. (Ahmed [0066])
As per claim 10, the combination of Rao and Ahmed further teach:
The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one execution condition comprises one or more conditions in a service level agreement. (Ahmed [0066])
As per claim 11, it is the system variant of claim 1 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale. (Rao [0006])
As per claim 12, it is the system variant of claim 2 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 14, it is the system variant of claim 4 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 18, it is the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium variant of claim 1 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale. (Rao [0007])
As per claim 20, it is the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium variant of claim 8 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao and Ahmed, and further in view of Chong et al (US 20200374742, hereinafter Chong).
As per claim 3, the combination of Rao and Ahmed did not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one execution condition comprises a first condition and a second condition joined by a Boolean operator.
However, Chong teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one execution condition comprises a first condition and a second condition joined by a Boolean operator. (Chong [0250])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Chong into that of Rao and Ahmed in order to have the at least one execution condition comprises a first condition and a second condition joined by a Boolean operator. Chong [0250] has shown that the claimed limitations are merely commonly known and used properties to define requirements and constraint in a SLA/QoS, and applicant have merely claimed the combination of known parts in the field to achieve predictable results and is therefore rejected under 35 USC 103.
As per claim 13, it is the system variant of claim 3 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 5, 7, 15, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao and Ahmed, and further in view of Bahl et al (US 20210019194, hereinafter Bahl).
As per claim 5, the combination of Rao and Ahmed did not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one execution condition comprises a budget for execution of the computing job and to modify execution of the computing job in response to detecting the at least one execution condition, the processing device is to stop execution of the computing job in response to execution of the job reaching the budget.
However, Bahl teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one execution condition comprises a budget for execution of the computing job and to modify execution of the computing job in response to detecting the at least one execution condition, the processing device is to stop execution of the computing job in response to execution of the job reaching the budget. (Bahl [0023]; [0073]: NTE budget.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Bahl into that of Rao and Ahmed in order to have the at least one execution condition comprises a budget for execution of the computing job and to modify execution of the computing job in response to detecting the at least one execution condition, the processing device is to stop execution of the computing job in response to execution of the job reaching the budget. Ahmed [0066] teaches shutting down the container in response to forecast. Bahl has shown that the claimed limitations are merely an example of such corrective actions to be taken, and one of ordinary skill in the art can easily see that other forms constraints and its corresponding corrective actions can be applied without deviating from the teaching of Rao and Ahmed. Applicant have merely claimed the combination of known parts in the field to achieve predictable results and is therefore rejected under 35 USC 103.
As per claim 7, the combination of Rao and Ahmed did not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one execution condition comprises an amount of output generated by the computing job, an amount of input consumed by the computing job, or an amount of execution time for the computing job, and to modify execution of the computing job in response to detecting the at least one execution condition, the processing device is to stop execution of the computing job in response to generation of the amount of output by the computing job, consumption of the amount of input by the computing job, or expiration of the amount of execution time for the computing job.
However, Bahl teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one execution condition comprises an amount of output generated by the computing job, an amount of input consumed by the computing job, or an amount of execution time for the computing job, and to modify execution of the computing job in response to detecting the at least one execution condition, the processing device is to stop execution of the computing job in response to generation of the amount of output by the computing job, consumption of the amount of input by the computing job, or expiration of the amount of execution time for the computing job. (Bahl [0023]; [0073]: NTE budget.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Bahl into that of Rao and Ahmed in order to have the at least one execution condition comprises an amount of output generated by the computing job, an amount of input consumed by the computing job, or an amount of execution time for the computing job, and to modify execution of the computing job in response to detecting the at least one execution condition, the processing device is to stop execution of the computing job in response to generation of the amount of output by the computing job, consumption of the amount of input by the computing job, or expiration of the amount of execution time for the computing job. Ahmed [0066] teaches shutting down the container in response to forecast. Bahl has shown that the claimed limitations are merely an example of such corrective actions to be taken, and one of ordinary skill in the art can easily see that other forms constraints and its corresponding corrective actions can be applied without deviating from the teaching of Rao and Ahmed. Applicant have merely claimed the combination of known parts in the field to achieve predictable results and is therefore rejected under 35 USC 103.
As per claim 15, it is the system variant of claim 5 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 17, it is the system variant of claim 7 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 19, it is the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium variant of claim 5 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao and Ahmed, and further in view of Nagpal et al (USPAT 10089144, hereinafter Nagpal).
As per claim 6, the combination of Rao and Ahmed did not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one execution condition comprises an execution start time and an execution stop time and to modify execution of the computing job in response to detecting the at least one execution condition, the processing device is to start execution of the computing job at the execution start time and stop execution of the computing job at the execution stop time.
However, Nagpal teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one execution condition comprises an execution start time and an execution stop time and to modify execution of the computing job in response to detecting the at least one execution condition, the processing device is to start execution of the computing job at the execution start time and stop execution of the computing job at the execution stop time. (Nagpal col 8, lines 13 – 27.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Nagpal into that of Rao and Ahmed in order to have the at least one execution condition comprises an execution start time and an execution stop time and to modify execution of the computing job in response to detecting the at least one execution condition, the processing device is to start execution of the computing job at the execution start time and stop execution of the computing job at the execution stop time. Ahmed [0066] teaches shutting down the container in response to forecast. Nagpal has shown that the claimed limitations are merely an example of such corrective actions to be taken, and one of ordinary skill in the art can easily see that other forms constraints and its corresponding corrective actions can be applied without deviating from the teaching of Rao and Ahmed. Applicant have merely claimed the combination of known parts in the field to achieve predictable results and is therefore rejected under 35 USC 103.
As per claim 16, it is the system variant of claim 6 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao and Ahmed, and further in view of Oslake et al (US 20130268914, hereinafter Oslake).
As per claim 9, the combination of Rao and Ahmed did not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 8, wherein the orchestration condition comprises an application-level sharding condition.
However, Oslake teaches:
The method of claim 8, wherein the orchestration condition comprises an application-level sharding condition. (Oslake [0040] – [0041])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Oslake into that of Rao and Ahmed in order to have the at least one execution condition conditions include an orchestration condition and the instructions to orchestrate execution of the computing job in the container are generated based on the orchestration condition. Ahmed [0066] teaches shutting down the container in response to forecast. Oslake has shown that the claimed limitations are merely a common example of what the orchestration conditions are. One of ordinary skill in the art can easily see that other forms constraints and its corresponding corrective actions can be applied without deviating from the teaching of Rao and Ahmed. Applicant have merely claimed the combination of known parts in the field to achieve predictable results and is therefore rejected under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Claeson et al (US 20220086699) teaches “early detection and indication of a Quality-of-Service (QoS) non-fulfillment in one or more radio links serving an application. A client device monitors for a QoS non-fulfillment in the one or more radio links based on a QoS monitoring configuration associated with the application. The QoS monitoring configuration may be received from a network node and/or derived based on a predefined rule. Upon detection of a QoS non-fulfillment of one or more QoS requirements obtained from the QoS monitoring configuration, the client device provides a QoS non-fulfillment indication to the application. The QoS non-fulfillment indication gives the application an early warning about QoS non-fulfillment on the one or more radio links. Thereby, allowing the application to take precautionary actions to counteract possible negative consequences of the QoS non-fulfillment. Furthermore, the disclosure also relates to corresponding methods and a computer program.”;
Watt JR et al (US 20180225155) teaches “A workload optimization system includes a workload manager subsystem that provides a plurality of workloads that each generates a jobs, an agent infrastructure subsystem that includes a first container host hosting a first container having a first agent and that processes jobs generated by at least one of the plurality of workloads, and a workload resource optimization subsystem that monitors a job queue of jobs that were generated by the plurality of workloads and that are to be processed by the first container. The workload resource optimization subsystem then determines whether the job queue satisfies a container generation condition. If so, the workload resource optimization subsystem provides instructions to the first container host to generate a second container that includes a second agent. The workload resource optimization subsystem monitors container host utilization to provide instructions to activate a second container host to provide a third container having a third agent.”;
Subramaniyan et al (US 20180121183) teaches “system, apparatus and methods are provided comprising an analytic model for an installed product; an execution platform configured to execute the analytic model; an application programming interface (API) wrapper associated with each of the analytic model and the execution platform, the API wrapper including input information, output information and a technique; and a storage in communication with the analytic model and the execution platform and storing program instructions to perform the functions as follows: transmitting information between the analytic API wrapper and the execution platform API wrapper; and deploying the analytic model to the execution platform based on the transmitted information. Numerous other aspects are provided.”.
/CHARLES M SWIFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2196