DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OH et al (US 2023/0171729, hereinafter OH) and in view of Frank et al (US 8,605,615, hereinafter Frank).
Regarding claim 11, OH discloses a user equipment (UE, Para [0049]), comprising: one or more memories, one or more transceivers and one or more processors (memory, transceiver and processor, inherent) communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: decode, via the one or more transceivers, a plurality of ultra-wideband (UWB) messages transmitted over a UWB channel by a plurality of UWB anchor nodes, wherein the plurality of UWB messages include at least one UWB polling message transmitted by a UWB initiator anchor node of the plurality of UWB anchor nodes (UE overhears the messages of a plurality of anchor nodes, Para [0102], initiator anchor schedules ranging slots for responder anchors in a poll message, Para [0104], anchor nodes are UWB devices, Para [0103], UWB channel for UWB communication, Para [0098]), and wherein the at least one UWB polling message contains a ranging device management list (RDML) indicating a UWB transmission schedule for the plurality of UWB anchor nodes (ranging slot allocated to each responder is included in the poll message, sent by the initiator, Para [0273], RDM list includes scheduling information for corresponding responder anchor, Para [0376]); and transmit, via the one or more transceivers, a UWB transmission schedule report based at least on the RDML. Frank discloses a UE determines a high-low interference pattern, C: 18 R: 59-60 and transmits a high-low interference pattern to the base station, C: 19 R: 6-8, obvious that the UE can transmit the UWB schedule which would be the interference pattern. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Frank in the system of OH in order to improve coexistence of different RATs and reduce interference.
Regarding claim 14, OH discloses the UE of claim 11, but not wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: receive, via the one or more transceivers, a request from a core network entity for the UWB transmission schedule report, wherein the UWB transmission schedule report is transmitted in response to the request (obvious to one of ordinary skill from core network to request a report and receive a report from the UE).
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OH, in view of Frank and in view of Dayal et al (US 9,578,649, hereinafter Dayal).
Regarding claim 1, OH discloses a network entity (base station, Fig. 2 of Frank), comprising: one or more memories, one or more transceivers, and one or more processors (memory, transceiver and processor, inherent) communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: determine a pattern of time gaps in an ultra-wideband (UWB) transmission schedule for a plurality of UWB anchor nodes operating over a UWB channel. OH discloses UE overhears the messages of a plurality of anchor nodes, Para [0102], initiator anchor schedules ranging slots for responder anchors in a poll message, Para [0104], anchor nodes are UWB devices, Para [0103], ranging slot allocated to each responder is included in the poll message, sent by the initiator, Para [0273], RDM list includes scheduling information for corresponding responder anchor, Para [0376]. Frank discloses a UE determines a high-low interference pattern, C: 18 R: 59-60 and transmits a high-low interference pattern to the base station, C: 19 R: 6-8, obvious that the UE can transmit the UWB schedule which would be the interference pattern. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Frank in the system of OH in order to improve coexistence of different RATs and reduce interference; and does not disclose schedule cellular transmissions for one or more user equipments (UEs) during the pattern of time gaps in the UWB transmission schedule. Dayal discloses cellular system, C: 9 R: 63, with LTE on and off pattern, C: 15 R: 19, selecting a potential gap pattern configuration that reduces conflict between the first RAT and second RAT, C: 3 R: 4-5, obvious to one of ordinary skill the network will schedule cellular communication to avoid interference with UWB. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Dayal in the system of OH in view of Frank in order to further improve coexistence of different RATs and reduce interference.
Regarding claim 2, OH discloses the network entity of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors configured to determine the pattern of time gaps comprises the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: decode, by a UWB radio of the network entity, a ranging device management list (RDML) in a UWB polling message transmitted over the UWB channel by a UWB initiator anchor node of the plurality of UWB anchor nodes, wherein the RDML indicates the UWB transmission schedule; and determine the pattern of time gaps based on the UWB transmission schedule (overhearing the messages of a plurality of anchor nodes, Para [0102], initiator anchor schedules ranging slots for responder anchors in a poll message, Para [0104], anchor nodes are UWB devices, Para [0103], UWB channel for UWB communication, Para [0098], ranging slot allocated to each responder is included in the poll message, sent by the initiator, Para [0273], RDM list includes scheduling information for corresponding responder anchor, Para [0376]).
Regarding claim 4, OH discloses the network entity of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: decode, by a UWB radio of the network entity, UWB messages transmitted among the plurality of UWB anchor nodes to obtain locations of the plurality of UWB anchor nodes (overhear messages transmitted by anchor nodes and calculate the distances between the anchor node and the device, Para [0102], obvious the AP can perform this function as well).
Regarding claim 6, OH discloses the network entity of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors configured to determine the pattern of time gaps comprises the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: scan, via the one or more transceivers, the UWB channel over a period of time to determine the pattern of time gaps (scanning a channel for a certain time duration is known in the art and would be obvious to one of ordinary skill).
Regarding claim 7, OH discloses the network entity of claim 6, wherein the one or more processors configured to determine the pattern of time gaps comprises the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: measure a duration of time for which an average signal strength detected on the UWB channel is below a threshold value; measure a time duration between two or more UWB polling messages having UWB response messages therebetween; or any combination thereof (measuring a channel for low signal strength, for interference purposes, is obvious to one ordinary skill).
Regarding claim 9, OH discloses the network entity of claim 6, wherein the network entity does not include a UWB radio (obvious variation for the network entity not to have a UWB radio).
Regarding claim 10, OH discloses the network entity of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors configured to determine the pattern of time gaps comprises the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: receive, via the one or more transceivers, the UWB transmission schedule, the pattern of time gaps, or both from a core network entity (CNE), a user equipment (UE), or a second network entity. Frank discloses a UE determines a high-low interference pattern, C: 18 R: 59-60 and transmits a high-low interference pattern to the base station, C: 19 R: 6-8, obvious that the UE can transmit the UWB schedule which would be the interference pattern.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Claims 3, 5, 8, 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the references do not disclose the limitations in claim 1. Applicant cites portions of Oh and then states these portions of Oh do not disclose either of the two limitations. Applicant states Oh describes idle intervals but for a different purpose. Applicant states Oh identifies idle channel time when channel is not occupied by UWB network in order to establish synchronization reference. Then states the office action admits Oh does not disclose the scheduling cellular transmission limitation. In response, Applicant appears to admit Oh discloses the idle intervals of a UWB network. The idle intervals mean “a pattern of time gaps” in UWB transmission. Applicant argues over the purpose of why Oh does it but it is an irrelevant argument. The purpose of determining the time gaps of UWB is to schedule cellular transmission in the gaps to avoid interference. The office action admitted Oh did not disclose the scheduling cellular transmission limitation and Applicant acknowledges that. Applicant next argues over Dayal and states Dayal does not disclose identifying gaps in UWB transmissions. Applicant cites portions of Dayal and argues Dayal discloses coexistence between cellular and Bluetooth/WLAN. Applicant then argues over the determining a pattern of time gaps in UWB transmission limitation and argues Dayal does not disclose this limitation. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicant just argues Oh does not disclose the second limitation, which is taught by Dayal and Dayal does not disclose the first limitation, which is taught by Oh. Dayal discloses selecting a potential gap pattern configuration that reduces conflict between first and second RAT. Cellular and UWB are both two types of RATs and it is obvious to one of ordinary skill to reduce interference between a first and second RAT by scheduling one RAT in the idle periods of another RAT. Dayal explicitly states the purpose is to reduce conflict between the two RATs. A person of ordinary skill in the art is a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton (MPEP § 2141.03). This means even though Dayal does not explicitly state the other RAT is UWB it is obvious to apply the technique to reduce interference between cellular and UWB transmission, in this case to schedule cellular around UWB transmission (i.e. during their idle periods). Applicant argues over claim 11 and argues Oh does not disclose the limitations. Applicant argues Oh does not disclose transmitting a schedule report based on RDML. Applicant cites portions of Oh. Applicant then states the Frank reference reports a measured interference pattern. Applicant argues Frank does not transmit the pattern based on RDML and does not disclose UWB communication or UWB polling message.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicant just argues against the Frank reference alone and not in combination with Oh. Applicant argues Frank does not disclose UWB communication, UWB polling message or RDML, which are all features disclosed by Oh. Oh already disclosed the RDM list includes scheduling information for corresponding anchor UWB devices. In combination the UE transmits the “interference” pattern, which is the UWB transmission schedule of the anchor nodes.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461