DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, claims 1–18 in the reply filed on August 20, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that Examining Inventions I–III simultaneously would require substantial duplication of work on part of the USPTO. This is not found persuasive because restriction is proper for the reasons stated in the previous Restriction Requirement. Also, examining Invention I (while Inventions II and III are withdrawn) will not require substantial duplication of work because Inventions II and III can be rejoined with Invention I at allowance, assuming Inventions II and III are amended to include the allowable subject matter of Invention I (if allowable subject matter is eventually determined).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1–18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites:
1. A system comprising:
an input interface;
an output interface;
a memory; and
a processor operably coupled to the input interface, the output interface, and the memory, the processor configured to:
determine a rotational speed of an arm about an axis based on measurements from a position sensor assembly using the input interface;
provide a set of pulse commands to one or more actuators to provide a set of pulses of pressurized air, the pulse commands spaced by a pulse interval between the pulse commands; and
provide, after waiting a jog interval, a subsequent set of pulse commands to the one or more actuators to provide a subsequent set of pulses, wherein the jog interval is a duration between successive deliveries of pulses that is different than the pulse interval. Emphasis added.
Claim 1 is indefinite because it is unclear whether the “position sensor assembly” is a positive or non-positively recited structural element of the claimed apparatus. The ambiguity results because claim 1 appears to recite the “position sensor assembly” as a positive element. But dependent claim 9 appears to indicate that the “position sensor assembly” is not a positively recited feature of claim 1, as claim 9 (and claim 16) introduces “a position sensor assembly.” For the purpose of compact prosecution, the “position sensor assembly” of claim 1 is a positively recited feature of the claimed system.
Claims 2–18 are indefinite because they depend from claim 1.
Also, claim 5 recites:
5. The system of claim 4, wherein the processor is further configured to provide each of the commands when at least one of the one or more outlets is centered over a corresponding hole of the plurality of holes in the tube sheet. Emphasis added.
Claim 5 is indefinite because “the commands” lacks antecedent basis. Claim 5 is also indefinite because it is unclear if “the commands” refers to the “set of pulse commands,” the “subsequent set of pulse commands,” or both. Further clarification is required.
Claims 9 and 16 recite:
9. The system of claim 4, further comprising a position sensor assembly operably coupled to the input interface to provide measurements related to rotation of the arm, the position sensor assembly comprising a first part coupled to the stationary assembly and a second part coupled to the rotating assembly. Emphasis added.
16. The system of claim 1, further comprising a position sensor assembly operably coupled to the input interface to provide measurements related to rotation of the arm. Emphasis added.
Claims 9 and 16 are each indefinite because it is unclear if “a position sensor assembly” refers to the recitation of “a position sensor assembly” of claim 1. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the “position sensor assembly” of claims 9 and 16 refers to the “position sensor assembly” of claim 1.
Claim 11 recites:
11. The system of claim 10, wherein the jog interval is configured to provide a subsequent pulse command one spoke earlier than the pulse interval. Emphasis added.
Claim 11 is indefinite because it is unclear how “the jog interval” is capable of providing a “pulse command” when it is the processor that is configured to provide pulse commands. Further clarification is required.
Claim 17 recites:
17. The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to provide the subsequent set of pulse commands spaced by the pulse interval between the pulse commands. Emphasis added.
Claim 17 is indefinite because “the pulse commands” lack antecedent basis. The claim is also indefinite because it is unclear if “the pulse commands” refers to the “subsequent set of pulse commands” or the “set of pulse commands.” Further clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–10 and 12–18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams, US 5,116,395 in view of Weiden, US 2014/0083292 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Williams teaches a dust collector 10, which reads on the claimed “system.” See Williams Fig. 1, col. 4, ll. 58–66. The dust collector 10 comprises:
An “input interface,” which is the interface of control panel 62 that receives information from sensors, including proximity sensor 70.
An “output interface,” which is in the interface of control panel 62 that sends operating control signals to valves 48.
A “memory,” which is the memory in programmable microprocessor of control panel 62.
A “processor operably coupled to the input interface, the output interface,” and the memory,” which is the processor in the programmable microprocessor of control panel 62. See Williams Figs. 1, 2, col. 7, ll. 57–64.
The processor is configured to determine a rotational speed of horizontal arm 44 about an axis (as the rotational speed of the arm 44 is known), as claimed, while also taking measurements from proximity sensor 70 using the input interface. See Williams col. 7, ll. 57–64, col. 11, ll. 44–53.
The processor is also configured to:
Provide a set of output signals to operate the valve 48 at position #2 spaced by an interval of 4.552 seconds. See Williams Figs. 6, col. 9, ll. 11–55.
This reads on “provide a set of pulse commands to one or more actuators to provide a set of pulses of pressurized air, the pulse commands spaced by a pulse interval between the pulse commands.”
Provide, after waiting a period of 3.414 seconds, a subsequent set of output signals to operate the valve 48 at position #3 to provide a subsequent set of pulses. See Williams Figs. 6, col. 9, ll. 11–55. The period of 3.414 seconds is a duration between successive deliveries of pulses that is different than the pulse interval, as claimed, because the pulse interval is between pulses 76 of valve 48 at position #2 while the jog interval is a duration between two of the pulses 76 of valve 48 at position #3. Id.
This reads on “provide, after waiting a jog interval, a subsequent set of pulse commands to the one or more actuators to provide a subsequent set of pulses, wherein the jog interval is a duration between successive deliveries of pulses that is different than the pulse interval.”
Williams differs from claim 1 because—while it teaches that the processor determines rotational speed of arm 44 (as the speed is known) and uses proximity sensor 70 to measure a rotational position of the arm 44—the reference is silent as to the rotational speed of the arm 44 being based on measurements from the proximity sensor 70, as claimed.
But Weiden teaches an air filtration sensor comprising a propeller that uses a proximity sensor to determine the rotational speed of the propeller. See Weiden [0021]. It would have been obvious for the processor of Williams to determine the rotational speed of the arm 44 about the axis based on measurements from the proximity sensor 70 using the input interface, as claimed, because it is conventional in the art to utilize a proximity sensor to determine rotational speed of a rotating object.
Regarding claim 2, Williams teaches that the processor is further configured to determine the “pulse interval” based on the rotational speed of the arm 44, as claimed, because the output signals are on a timed basis that is a function of the time required for a revolution of the arm 44. See Williams col. 9, ll. 12–20.
Regarding claim 3, Williams teaches that the processor is further configured to determine the “jog interval” based on the rotational speed of the arm 44, as claimed, because the output signals are on a timed basis that is a function of the time required for a revolution of the arm 44. See Williams col. 9, ll. 12–20.
Regarding claim 4, Williams teaches that the dust collector 10 further comprises:
A housing (the “stationary assembly”) comprising a partition plate 16 (the “tube sheet”) defining a plurality of openings 22 (the “holes”) in fluid communication with a plurality of filter elements 24 (the “filter bags”). See Williams Fig. 1, col. 4, l. 58–col. 5, l. 22.
The valves 48 (the “one or more actuators”) operably coupled to the “output interface” of control panel 62. See Williams Fig. 1, col. 6, ll. 4–17.
A “rotating assembly” comprising the arm 44 defining nozzles 46 (the “one or more outlets”) positioned along a length of the arm, with the one or more nozzles 46 configured to release the pressurized air toward the partition plate 16 in response to the valves 48 receiving an output signal. See Williams Figs. 1, 2, col. 4, ll. 16–32, col. 5, ll. 51–67.
Regarding claim 5, Williams teaches that the processor is further configured to provide each of the output signals when at least one of the nozzles 46 is centered over a corresponding opening 22 in the partition plate 16, as claimed. See Williams col. 4, ll. 21–32.
Regarding claims 6–8, Williams as modified is interpreted that the processor is further configured to determine the measured rotational speed of the arm 44 after each of a first predetermined number of one or more revolutions of the arms 44 because the processor is interpreted as continuously monitors the speed of the arm based on the proximity sensor 70 (claim 6). Williams also teaches that the processor is further configured to wait one jog interval after each of a second predetermined number of one or more revolutions of the arm 44, as claimed, because there will be an interval between pulses 76 of the valve 48 at position #3 (“jog interval”) after each revolution of the arm 44 (claim 7). See Williams Fig. 6, col. 9, ll. 1–25. Also, the first or second predetermined number of one or more revolutions is one revolution of the arm 44, as claimed (claim 8).
Regarding claim 9, Williams teaches a proximity sensor 70 (the “position sensor assembly”) operably coupled to the input interface of control pane 62 to provide measurements related to rotation of the arm 44. See Williams Fig. 2, col. 7, ll. 20–39. The proximity sensor 70 comprises an electrical line 72 (the “first part”) coupled to the housing and a “second part” coupled to carrier plate 68 of the “rotating assembly.” Id.
Regarding claims 10 and 12, Williams teaches that the plurality of openings 22 in the partition plate 16 are arranged into “radial spokes,” as claimed, as seen in Fig. 3. The interval between pulses 76 for the valve at position #2 (the “pulse interval”) corresponds to a rotation of the arm 44 past a predetermined number of radial spokes, as claimed, because the control unit 62 is configured to generate output signals on a timed basis based on rotation of the arm 44 with the valve at position #2 receiving three pulses 76 for a revolution of the arm 44 through a 30° arc (indicating that the arm 44 will pass over a number of radial spikes, greater than one, during the “pulse interval”). See Williams Figs. 3, 6, col. 9, ll. 12–36.
Regarding claim 13, Williams teaches that a total number of radial spikes is an integer multiple of the predetermined number or radial spikes passed during the pulse interval, as claimed, because there is a whole number of radial spikes, as seen in Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 14, Williams teaches that the plurality of openings 22 in the partition plate 16 are arranged into concentric rings, as seen in Fig. 3. The arm 44 comprises an inner segment comprising nozzles 46 (the “first segment defining a first set of the one or more outlets”) and an outer segment comprising nozzles 46 (the “second segment defining a second set of the one or more outlets”), wherein the inner and outer nozzles 46 are aligned to different concentric rings, as claimed, as seen in Figs. 1 and 3.
Regarding claim 15, Williams teaches that one of the concentric rings (the innermost ring) has fewer of the plurality of openings 22 than another one of the concentric rings further from the axis (the outermost ring), as claimed, as seen in Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 16, Williams teaches a proximity sensor 70 (the “position sensor assembly”) operably coupled to the input interface of control pane 62 to provide measurements related to rotation of the arm 44. See Williams Fig. 2, col. 7, ll. 20–39.
Regarding claim 17, Williams teaches that the processor is further configured to provide the “subsequent set of pulse commands” spaced (in part) by the “pulse interval” between the pulse commands, as seen in the annotated figure in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 18, Williams teaches that the “jog interval” is shorter than the “pulse interval,” as claimed, because the “jog interval” is 3.414 seconds while the “pulse interval” is 4.552 seconds.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,005,387 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, as seen in the table below:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,005,387 B2
1. A system comprising:
an input interface;
an output interface;
a memory; and
a processor operably coupled to the input interface, the output interface, and the memory, the processor configured to: determine a rotational speed of an arm about an axis based on measurements from a position sensor assembly using the input interface;
provide a set of pulse commands to one or more actuators to provide a set of pulses of pressurized air, the pulse commands spaced by a pulse interval between the pulse commands; and
provide, after waiting a jog interval, a subsequent set of pulse commands to the one or more actuators to provide a subsequent set of pulses, wherein the jog interval is a duration between successive deliveries of pulses that is different than the pulse interval.
16. An apparatus comprising:
an input interface;
an output interface;
a memory; and
a processor operably coupled to the input interface, the output interface, and the memory, the processor configured to: determine a rotational speed of an arm based on measurements from a position sensor assembly using the input interface, the arm defining one or more outlets configured to release pressurized air in response to one or more actuators receiving a pulse command;
determine a pulse interval and a jog interval based on the rotational speed of the arm, the pulse interval defining an interval between pulse commands in one set of pulse commands, the jog interval defining an interval between a set of pulse commands and a subsequent set of pulse commands,
store the pulse interval and the jog interval into the memory, and
provide the subsequent set of pulse commands based on the pulse interval and the jog interval to the one or more actuators using the output interface to release the subsequent set of pulses of pressurized air through the one or more outlets.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Boatwright Jr., US 2013/0327213 A1 (filter bag cleaning system); Goodrich, US 4,878,926 (dust collector with rotating cleaning assembly); Stephenson, US 4,854,951 (pulse jet fabric filter); Noland, US 4,233,041 (baghouse with rotating sweep arm).
T. BENNETT MCKENZIE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1776
/T. BENNETT MCKENZIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776