DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 4/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/8/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bhagavatula et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0302649) [hereinafter Bhagavatula].
Regarding claim 1, Bhagavatula discloses a light-transmitting structure (Fig. 1) comprising a laminated glass substrate (100) comprising a core layer (102) and a first clad layer (104) fused to a first side (112) of the core layer (paragraph [0028]), the core layer comprising a core glass composition that is transparent and has core refractive index (nC; paragraph [0039]), the first clad layer (104) defining a first surface of the laminated glass substrate and comprising a first clad glass composition that is transparent and has a first clad refractive index (nCL1) that is lower than the core refractive index (paragraph [0039]), and a plurality of interdiffusion regions (132) extending from the core layer and through the first clad layer to define a light scattering surface interposed with the first surface, each interdiffusion region (132) comprising an interdiffusion composition that is transparent and has an interdiffusion refractive index (ni) that is higher than the first clad refractive index (paragraphs [0056-0063]), the first surface and the light-scattering surface defining an interface to an ambient environment (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Bhagavatula discloses nC – nCL1 >0.01 (paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 3, Bhagavatula discloses nCL1 < ni (paragraphs [0056-0058]).
Regarding claim 6, Bhagavatula discloses the interface comprising a plurality of peaks and valleys, and wherein the interdiffusion regions are configured to define the valleys (Figs. 1 and 9; paragraphs [0066-0067]).
Regarding claim 7, Bhagavatula discloses the valleys being configured as depressions that extend into the first clad layer (Fig. 9; paragraphs [0066-0067]).
Regarding claim 9, Bhagavatula discloses most of each interfusion region extends below a reference plane defined by the first surface (Figs. 1 and 6-9).
Regarding claim 10, Bhagavatula discloses at least 80% of each interdiffusion region extends below the reference plane (Figs. 1 and 6-9).
Regarding claim 11, Bhagavatula discloses the interfiffusion composition having an interdiffusion etch rate in an etchant that is faster than a clad etch rate of the first clad glass composition in the etchant (paragraph [0066-0067]).
Regarding claim 12, Bhagavatula discloses the core glass composition comprising a higher amount of alkali oxide, R2O, than the first clad glass composition, wherein R is at least one of Li, Na, and K (paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 13, Bhagavatula discloses the core glass composition has an average core coefficient of thermal expansion, CTEC, and the first clad glass composition has an average first clad coefficient of thermal expansion CTECL1 that is lower than the CTEC (claim 1).
Regarding claim 14, Bhagavatula discloses the laminated glass substrate (100) comprising a second clad layer (106) fused to a second side of the core layer (102), the second clad layer comprising a second clad glass composition that is transparent and has a second clad refractive index that is lower than the core refractive index (paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 16, Bhagavatula discloses each interdiffusion region having a width measured in a lateral direction, normal to a thickness of the laminated glass substrate, as the largest distance between opposed sides of the interdiffusion region, the widths of the interdiffusion regions are in a range of from about 0.5 µm to about 40 µm (Fig. 1; paragraphs [0037] and [0057]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhagavatula.
Bhagavatula discloses a first clad thickness of the first clad layer (104) and a second clad thickness of the second clad layer (106) being in a range from about 0.01 mm to about 0.3 mm (paragraph [0036]). However, Bhagavatula fails to specifically teach the first clad thickness of the first clad layer being less than the second clad thickness of the second clad layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thicknesses of the first clad layer and the second clad layer in Bhagavatula to have the first clad thickness of the first clad layer being less than the second clad thickness of the second clad layer, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (IV) (A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Bhagavatula fails to teach or reasonably suggest the distinct features recited in claims 4, 5 and 8.
Conclusion
CATHERINE A. SIMONE
Examiner
Art Unit 1781
/Catherine A. Simone/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781