DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12, 15-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Thomas (U.S. 2011/0292084).
With regard to claim 1, Thomas teaches a computer-implemented method of managing a magnification of a user interface of a display of an information handling system (Fig. 5b; [abstract] text of a user interface displayed within a touch-sensitive screen…a magnified view of the input field is generated), the method including:
providing a user interface (UI) comprising a plurality of input fields (Fig. 5b, input fields 520 and 530; [abstract] The user interface comprises an initial view with at least one input field) and a form slider interface ([0024] in which the first portion 110a of the mobile computing device slides in a first direction exposing the second portion 110b of the mobile computing device 110) that includes i) a slide guide element ([0024] in which the first portion 110a of the mobile computing device slides in a first direction exposing the second portion 110b of the mobile computing device 110; [0026] the one or more switches may be buttons, sliders, or rocker switches) and ii) a selection element ([0027] The user may use a stylus, a finger or another suitable input device for data entry, such as selecting from a menu or entering text data; [0028] the navigation area may include selection buttons to select functions displayed through a user interface on the screen 130), wherein the form slider interface is adjacent the plurality of input fields (Fig. 5b; [0027] The user may use a stylus, a finger or another suitable input device for data entry, such as selecting from a menu or entering text data);
detecting first user input indicating translation of the selection element ([0065] FIG. 5b illustrates the magnified view of the user interface 510b surrounding tapped input field. In the example of FIG. 5b, the magnified input field 520 fills horizontal width of the screen 130. The user may now enter the desired text into the magnified input field) of the form slider interface from an initial position to a first position ([0024] in which the first portion 110a of the mobile computing device slides in a first direction exposing the second portion 110b of the mobile computing device 110), the first position adjacent a first input field of the plurality of input fields (Fig. 5b; [0020] determines whether a cursor is present in the input field. Accordingly, responsive to determining that the cursor is present in the input field, the system detects text entry in the input field and generates a magnified view; [0049] select the first input field from the top of the screen);
in response to the selection element at the first position adjacent to the first input field, adjusting a magnification of the first input field from a first magnification level to a second magnification level ([0020] determining that the cursor is present in the input field, the system detects text entry in the input field and generates a magnified view. The magnified view increases a proportion of the screen filled by the input field and the text entered in the input field relative to the initial view), the second magnification level greater than the first magnification level ([abstract] The magnified view increases the proportion of the screen filled by the input field and text relative to the initial view; [0020] The magnified view increases a proportion of the screen filled by the input field and the text entered in the input field relative to the initial view);
detecting second user input indicating translation of the selection element of the form slider interface from the first position to a second position ([claim 3] detecting completion of text entry, generating a second magnified view of a second input field), the second position adjacent a second input field of the plurality of input fields ([claim 3] detecting completion of text entry, generating a second magnified view of a second input field; [claim 24] wherein the view magnification module is further adapted to generate a second magnified view of a second input field);
in response to the selection element at the second position adjacent to the second input field:
i) adjusting the magnification of the first input field from the second magnification level to the first magnification level ([abstract] The magnified view increases the proportion of the screen filled by the input field and text relative to the initial view; [0020] The magnified view increases a proportion of the screen filled by the input field and the text entered in the input field relative to the initial view), and
ii) adjusting a magnification of the second input field from the first magnification level to the second magnification level ([claim 24] wherein the view magnification module is further adapted to generate a second magnified view of a second input field, responsive to a detection of completion of text entry; and wherein the interface rendering module is further adapted to provide the second magnified view for display on the screen).
With regard to claim 2, the limitations are addressed above and Thomas teaches wherein prior to detecting the first user input, the magnification of each of the plurality of input fields is at the first magnification level ([abstract] Responsive to determining that the interaction is within the predefined area, a magnified view of the input field is generated; [0049] The touch detection module 310 may be configured to use several criteria in order to determine which input field to magnify; [0051] The view magnification module 320 also determines a center point around which to perform the magnification).
With regard to claim 3, the limitations are addressed above and Thomas teaches after adjusting magnification of the first input field from the first magnification level to the second magnification level, receiving additional user input at the first input field ([claim 24] wherein the view magnification module is further adapted to generate a second magnified view of a second input field, responsive to a detection of completion of text entry; and wherein the interface rendering module is further adapted to provide the second magnified view for display on the screen).
With regard to claim 5, the limitations are addressed above and Thomas teaches, further including:
receiving user input indicating a nominal mode of the form slider interface ([0024] in which the first portion 110a of the mobile computing device slides in a first direction exposing the second portion 110b of the mobile computing device 110; [0026] the one or more switches may be buttons, sliders, or rocker switches); and
in response to the nominal mode of the form slider interface, identifying the second input field as immediately following the first input field (Fig. 5b; [claim 3] detecting completion of text entry, generating a second magnified view of a second input field; [claim 24] wherein the view magnification module is further adapted to generate a second magnified view of a second input field).
With regard to claim 8, Thomas teaches an information handling system (Fig. 5b; [abstract]) comprising a processor having access to memory media storing instructions executable by the processor to perform operations (Fig. 2, 216 and 220; [0034] The central processor 220 communicates with an audio system 210, an image capture subsystem (e.g., camera, video or scanner) 212, flash memory 214, RAM memory 216, and a short range radio module 218 (e.g., Bluetooth, Wireless Fidelity (WiFi) component (e.g., IEEE 802.11))), comprising:
providing a user interface (UI) comprising a plurality of input fields (Fig. 5b, input fields 520 and 530; [abstract] The user interface comprises an initial view with at least one input field) and a form slider interface ([0024] in which the first portion 110a of the mobile computing device slides in a first direction exposing the second portion 110b of the mobile computing device 110) that includes i) a slide guide element ([0024] in which the first portion 110a of the mobile computing device slides in a first direction exposing the second portion 110b of the mobile computing device 110; [0026] the one or more switches may be buttons, sliders, or rocker switches) and ii) a selection element ([0027] The user may use a stylus, a finger or another suitable input device for data entry, such as selecting from a menu or entering text data; [0028] the navigation area may include selection buttons to select functions displayed through a user interface on the screen 130), wherein the form slider interface is adjacent the plurality of input fields (Fig. 5b; [0027] The user may use a stylus, a finger or another suitable input device for data entry, such as selecting from a menu or entering text data); detecting first user input indicating translation of the selection element ([0065] FIG. 5b illustrates the magnified view of the user interface 510b surrounding tapped input field. In the example of FIG. 5b, the magnified input field 520 fills horizontal width of the screen 130. The user may now enter the desired text into the magnified input field) of the form slider interface from an initial position to a first position ([0024] in which the first portion 110a of the mobile computing device slides in a first direction exposing the second portion 110b of the mobile computing device 110), the first position adjacent a first input field of the plurality of input fields (Fig. 5b; [0020] determines whether a cursor is present in the input field. Accordingly, responsive to determining that the cursor is present in the input field, the system detects text entry in the input field and generates a magnified view; [0049] select the first input field from the top of the screen);
in response to the selection element at the first position adjacent to the first input field, adjusting a magnification of the first input field from a first magnification level to a second magnification level ([0020] determining that the cursor is present in the input field, the system detects text entry in the input field and generates a magnified view. The magnified view increases a proportion of the screen filled by the input field and the text entered in the input field relative to the initial view), the second magnification level greater than the first magnification level ([abstract] The magnified view increases the proportion of the screen filled by the input field and text relative to the initial view; [0020] The magnified view increases a proportion of the screen filled by the input field and the text entered in the input field relative to the initial view);
detecting second user input indicating translation of the selection element of the form slider interface from the first position to a second position ([claim 3] detecting completion of text entry, generating a second magnified view of a second input field), the second position adjacent a second input field of the plurality of input fields ([claim 3] detecting completion of text entry, generating a second magnified view of a second input field; [claim 24] wherein the view magnification module is further adapted to generate a second magnified view of a second input field);
in response to the selection element at the second position adjacent to the second input field:
i) adjusting the magnification of the first input field from the second magnification level to the first magnification level ([abstract] The magnified view increases the proportion of the screen filled by the input field and text relative to the initial view; [0020] The magnified view increases a proportion of the screen filled by the input field and the text entered in the input field relative to the initial view), and
ii) adjusting a magnification of the second input field from the first magnification level to the second magnification level ([claim 24] wherein the view magnification module is further adapted to generate a second magnified view of a second input field, responsive to a detection of completion of text entry; and wherein the interface rendering module is further adapted to provide the second magnified view for display on the screen).
With regard to claim 9, the system claim corresponds to the method claim 2, respectively, and therefore is rejected by the same rationale.
With regard to claim 10, the system claim corresponds to the method claim 3, respectively, and therefore is rejected by the same rationale.
With regard to claim 12, the system claim corresponds to the method claim 5, respectively, and therefore is rejected by the same rationale.
With regard to claim 15, the medium claim corresponds to the method claim 1, respectively, and therefore is rejected by the same rationale.
With regard to claim 16, the medium claim corresponds to the method claim 2, respectively, and therefore is rejected by the same rationale.
With regard to claim 17, the medium claim corresponds to the method claim 3, respectively, and therefore is rejected by the same rationale.
With regard to claim 19, the medium claim corresponds to the method claim 5, respectively, and therefore is rejected by the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas (U.S. 2011/0292084) in view of Ryan (U.S. 2019/0138194).
With regard to claim 4, the limitations are addressed above and Thomas teaches, further including:
receiving user input of the form slider interface ([0024] in which the first portion 110a of the mobile computing device slides in a first direction exposing the second portion 110b of the mobile computing device 110; [0026] the one or more switches may be buttons, sliders, or rocker switches); and
in response to the form slider interface, identifying the second input field as a required input field ([claim 3] detecting completion of text entry, generating a second magnified view of a second input field; [claim 24] wherein the view magnification module is further adapted to generate a second magnified view of a second input field). However, Thomas does not specifically teach:
- indicating an intelligent mode
Ryan teaches a method of updating a collection of data associated with predefined framework of representations on a user interface [abstract]. Ryan also teaches users viewing parameters where the cell representation is at the highest magnification level ([0250] Other such parameters may be used including a ‘viewing parameter’ that gets increased in value when a user viewing the cell collection views the particular cell representation at the highest magnification (level 0 at FIG. 16)) and that a user can scroll [0268] to reveal tiles as well as fade or slide to perform visualization effects ([0306]; it is understood that an intelligent mode can consist of a user sliding). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the system for magnifying views of input fields as taught by Thomas, with the slide method as taught by Ryan, to have achieved a system for managing a magnification level of a graphical user interface of a display device.
With regard to claim 11, the system claim corresponds to the method claim 4, respectively, and therefore is rejected by the same rationale.
With regard to claim 18, the medium claim corresponds to the method claim 4, respectively, and therefore is rejected by the same rationale.
Claims 6-7, 13-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas (U.S. 2011/0292084) in view of Krishnamurthy et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,729,306).
With regard to claim 6, the limitations are addressed above and Thomas teaches, further including:
in response to the selection element at the first position adjacent to the first input field (Fig. 5b; [0020] determines whether a cursor is present in the input field. Accordingly, responsive to determining that the cursor is present in the input field, the system detects text entry in the input field and generates a magnified view; [0049] select the first input field from the top of the screen); and
maintaining the magnification level of the first input field ([0052] The view magnification module 320 further determines the font size of any text entered in the magnified input field. In one embodiment, the font size of the text in the input field may be magnified in the same proportion as the selected input field). However, Thomas does not specifically teach:
- comparing the first magnification level of the first input field to a threshold;
- determining, based on the comparing, that the first magnification level of the first input field is equal to the threshold;
Krishnamurthy teaches a system and device which performs calibration and configuration of a display magnification management model [abstract]. Krishnamurthy also teaches comparing the first magnification level of the first input field to a threshold ([col. 11, lines 50-65] The display magnification management computing module 208 can compare the currently elapsed time (for performing the steady-state management of the magnification level of the GUI 219) with a time threshold… The display magnification management computing module 208 can determine, based on the comparing, that the currently elapsed time is greater than the time threshold; [col. 14, lines 41-50] The display magnification management computing module 208 can compare the currently elapsed time (for performing the steady-state management of the magnification level of the GUI 219) with a time threshold (504). The display magnification management computing module 208 can determine, based on the comparing, that the currently elapsed time is greater than the time threshold (506)); and determining, based on the comparing, that the first magnification level of the first input field is equal to the threshold ([col. 11, lines 37-50] the information handling system 302 can include a display magnification management model 320 that is the same as (replica) of the display magnification management model 220). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the system for magnifying views of input fields as taught by Thomas, with the system for comparing the magnification levels as taught by Krishnamurthy, to have achieved a system for managing a magnification level of a graphical user interface of a display device.
With regard to claim 7, the limitations are addressed above and Thomas teaches, further including:
adjusting the magnification of the first input field from the first magnification level to the second magnification level ([claim 24] wherein the view magnification module is further adapted to generate a second magnified view of a second input field, responsive to a detection of completion of text entry; and wherein the interface rendering module is further adapted to provide the second magnified view for display on the screen). However, Thomas does not specifically teach:
- determining, based on the comparing, that the first magnification level of the first input field is less than the threshold;
Krishnamurthy teaches a system and device which performs calibration and configuration of a display magnification management model [abstract]. Krishnamurthy also teaches determining, based on the comparing, that the first magnification level of the first input field is less than the threshold ([col. 9, lines 4-15] the configuration rules 216 can include automatically decreasing the magnification level of the GUI 219. In some example, the configuration rules 216 can include automatically decreasing the magnification level of the GUI 219 a threshold amount (e.g., 5%, 10%, etc.)). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the system for magnifying views of input fields as taught by Thomas, with the decreasing the magnification level as taught by Krishnamurthy, to have achieved a system for managing a magnification level of a graphical user interface of a display device.
With regard to claim 13, the system claim corresponds to the method claim 6, respectively, and therefore is rejected by the same rationale.
With regard to claim 14, the system claim corresponds to the method claim 7, respectively, and therefore is rejected by the same rationale.
With regard to claim 20, the medium claim corresponds to the method claim 6, respectively, and therefore is rejected by the same rationale.
Conclusion
/ANDREA C LEGGETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171