DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/21/24 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 05/21/24 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leong et al. (US 2018/0309372 A1).
Leong et al. disclose a system and method for switched mode converter in Figures 1a-18. Figure 1b below shows the claimed power converter.
In regard to claim 1. A power converter (figure 1b: 100)configured to convert an input voltage (Vin) into an output voltage (Vout), the power converter comprising: a switching bridge circuit (129); a transformer (116) including: i) primary windings (118), ii) first secondary windings (121) connected between a first transformer terminal and a second transformer terminal, and iii) second secondary windings (122) connected between the second transformer terminal and a third transformer terminal; a resonant tank circuit (105) comprising the primary windings of the transformer; and a buck power converter circuit (122) coupled between the first secondary windings (121) and an output of the power converter.
In regard to claim 2. The power converter according to claim 2, wherein the buck power converter circuit (122) comprises a first buck switch (170) coupled between an input of the buck power converter circuit and a switching node, a second buck switch (172) coupled between the switching node and the second transformer terminal, and an inductive element (157) between the switching node and a first output node of the
power converter.
In regard to claim 3. The power converter according to claim 1, wherein the power converter (100) is configured to adjust a duty-cycle of the buck power converter circuit based on the output voltage of the power converter (see paragraphs 58 and 74).
In regard to claim 4. The power converter according claim 1 further comprising a first rectifier switch (138) coupled between the first transformer terminal and an input of the buck power converter circuit (122).
In regard to claim 5. The power converter according to claim 4, wherein the power converter is configured to control (145) switching of the first buck switch (170) and the first rectifier switch (138) in synchronism.
In regard to claim 6. The power converter according to claim 5, wherein the power converter is configured to control the first buck switch (170) and the second buck switch (172) such that the first buck switch is turned off when the second buck switch is turned on, and the second buck switch is turned off when the first buck switch is turned on (see paragraphs 61-70).
In regard to claim 7. The power converter according to claim 1, wherein the switching bridge circuit comprises a half-bridge circuit (129) or a full-bridge circuit.
In regard to claim 8. The power converter according to claim 1, wherein the switching bridge circuit (130) comprises a high side switch (130) coupled between a first input of the power converter and an input of the resonant tank circuit (129), and a low side switch (134) coupled between the input of the resonant tank circuit and a second input of the power converter.
In regard to claim 9. The power converter according to claim 8, wherein the power converter(100) is configured to control an on-time of the low side switch (134) to be shorter than or equal to an on-time of the high side switch (130) (see paragraphs 61-70).
In regard to claim 10. The power converter according to claim 8, wherein the power converter (100) is configured to control (145) the high side switch (130) and the low side switch (134) such that an on-time of the low side switch is off during an on-time of the high side switch (see paragraphs 61-70).
In regard to claim 11. The power converter according to claim 8, wherein the power converter (100) is configured to control the high side switch (130) and the low side switch (134) such that the high side switch is turned off when the low side switch is turned on, and the low side switch is turned off when the high side switch is turned on (see paragraphs 61-70).
In regard to claim 12. The power converter according to claim 4, further comprising a second rectifier switch (140) coupled between the first transformer terminal and a second output node of the power converter.
In regard to claim 13. The power converter (figure 2a) according to claim 12 further comprising a third rectifier switch (240) coupled between the third transformer terminal and the second output node of the power converter.
In regard to claim 14. The power converter according to claim 1 further comprising a fourth rectifier switch (244) coupled between the third transformer terminal and an input of the buck power converter circuit.
In regard to claim 15. The power converter according to claim 1, wherein the resonant tank circuit (105) comprises a resonance capacitor (128) coupled between the switching bridge circuit (129) and the primary windings of the transformer (118).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ye et al. (US 10,199,947 B2) disclose an isolated partial power processing power converters.
Ye et al. (US 9,973,099 B2) disclose an AC/DC converters with wider voltage regulation range.
Chang et al. (US 9,590,492 B2) disclose a system and method for a switching-mode power supply.
Perry et al. (US 6,570,268 B1) disclose a synchronous rectifier drive circuit and power supply including the same.
Examiner has cited particular columns, line numbers and/or paragraphs in thereferences applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Althoughthe specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied tospecific limitations within the individual claim(s), other passages and figures may applyas well.
Additionally, in the event that other prior art is provided and made of record by theExaminer, as being relevant or pertinent to applicant's disclosure but not relied upon.The references are provided for the convenience of the applicant. The Examinerrequest that the references be considered in any subsequent amendments, as they arealso representative of the art and may apply to the specific limitations ofany newly amended claim(s).
It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing amendments or responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of theclaimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art and/ordisclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied upon inorder to ensure proper interpretation of the newly added limitations and toverify/ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/ADOLF D BERHANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838