DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 8/25/2026 has been entered.
Drawings
The replacement drawings for Figs. 9-11 have been entered. The objection of the drawings is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 12-26, 28-29, 31-38, 41-44 and 49-52, 54-60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kangas (US 2018/0088102) in view of Steffen et al (US 2023/0002981).
Regarding claim 1, Kangas teaches a screeding machine (110; Fig. 1) for screeding uncured concrete (Abstract), the screeding machine comprising: a base unit (wheeled unit 112; Fig. 1) positionable at a support surface (Para. [0019]); a screed head assembly (116; Fig. 1) movably mounted at the base unit, wherein the screed head assembly comprises (i) a grade establishing member (plow 118; Fig. 1) and (ii) a vibrating member (122; Para. [0019]; Fig. 1); elevation actuators (left or right vertical actuators/ left or right elevation cylinders not shown; Paras. [0024], [0033] and [0034]) operable to adjust elevation of the screed head assembly responsive at least in part to elevation sensors that sense elevation of respective end regions of the screed head assembly (Paras. [0024], [0033] and [0034]); a control system (automatic control not shown; Para. [0034]), wherein the control system, responsive to signals from the elevation sensors, controls the elevation actuators to set the grade of the uncured concrete (Paras. [0024] and [0034]); wherein the screed head assembly is positionable at a screeding location and is movable over the uncured concrete in a screeding direction from the screeding location to screed the concrete (Para. [0019]) and wherein the output of the sensor is processed to determine a quality level (flatness or levelness) of the screeded concrete surface (see Para. [0041]).
However, Kangas fails to teach the screeding machine comprising: a sensor that senses the surface of the screeded concrete and generates an output; and wherein the output of the sensor is processed to determine a quality level of the screeded concrete surface and the determined quality level of the screeded concrete surface comprises an elevation accuracy of the screeded concrete surface.
Steffen et al teaches a screeding machine (paving machine 100; Abstract; Fig. 1) for screeding uncured concrete (Para. [0015]), the screeding machine comprising: a sensor (LIDAR sensor 146 and monitoring component 106; Paras. [0022] and [0027]; Fig. 1; note that the monitoring component 106 can be on the paving machine 100) that senses the surface of the screeded concrete (Para. [0027]) and generates an output (part of sensor data 220; Para. [0047]) and further teaches that the LIDAR sensor generates a signal (part of sensor data 220 usable to determine defects in the paving mat 108; Para. [0047]; Fig.2) including information indicative of a 3D representation of the screeded concrete (Para. [0027]) that is provided to the monitoring component 106 (Para. [0028]) which uses the sensor data to determine and/or predict defects in a paving mat 108 (Para. [0015]); and wherein the output of the sensor is processed to determine a quality level of the screeded concrete surface (Para. (0015]) and the determined quality level of the screeded concrete surface comprises an elevation accuracy of the screeded concrete surface (see Para. [0099]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the screeding machine of Kangas a sensor as taught by Steffen et al in order to collect and processes elevation-related screeding data and predictable provide feedback/control adjustment for a more complete quality indication for the screeded concrete surface by including the screeded surface mapping system in the screeding machine.
Regarding Claim 2, Kangas fails to teach the sensor comprises a three dimensional laser scanner.
Steffen et al teaches of wherein the sensor comprises a three dimensional laser scanner and further teaches that such a laser scanner can make digital 3D representations of the target (Para. [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the screeding machine of Kangas a three dimensional laser scanner as taught by Steffen et al in order to make digital 3D representations of the target.
Regarding Claim 3, Kangas fails to teach of wherein the three dimensional laser scanner scans the screeded concrete surface and provides one selected from the group
consisting of (i) an accuracy map on a display for viewing by an operator of the screeding machine and (ii) a heat map on the display for viewing by the operator of the screeding machine.
Steffen et al teaches of wherein the three dimensional laser scanner scans the screeded concrete surface and provides one selected from the group consisting of an accuracy map on a display (display on control interface 134/user interface 300; Figs.1 and 3) for viewing by an operator of the screeding machine and further teaches that the accuracy map informs the operator of the location and type of defects (Paras. [0019], [0050], [0057], [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include in the screeding machine of Kangas a display as taught by Steffen et al in order to inform the operator of the location and type of defects.
Regarding Claim 4, Kangas teaches of wherein the three dimensional laser scanner scans the screeded concrete surface and generates an alert to an operator of the screeding machine when the three dimensional laser scanner determines that the screeded concrete surface is above or below selected parameters (Paras. [0028]-[0033]).
Regarding Claim 12, Kangas teaches of wherein the outputs of the sensor are used to generate displays at a display device (as shown in Fig. 4) for viewing by an
operator by the screeding machine before a screeding pass, during the screeding pass or after the screeding pass (Paras. [0029]-[0033]).
Regarding Claim 13, Kangas fails to specifically teach of wherein the display device comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a display device at the screeding machine, (ii) a hand-held tablet, and (iii) smart glasses.
Steffen et al teaches of wherein a display device (display on control interface 134/user interface 300; Figs. 1 and 3) comprises a display device at the screeding machine (Paras. [0019], [0050], [0057], [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the screeding machine of Kangas display as taught by Steffen et al for the convenience of including the display in the screeding machine.
Regarding Claim 14, Kangas teaches of wherein the display displays a rating score (left/right pass quality number, left/right overall job average screed pass quality
number) to the operator that is indicative of quality of one or more aspects of the screeding pass (Para. [0031]).
Regarding Claim 15, Kangas teaches of wherein, if the displayed score is below a threshold score, the screeding machine alerts the operator (Para. [0028]).
Regarding Claim 16, Kangas teaches if the displayed score is below a threshold score, the screeding machine requires the operator to acknowledge the out of tolerance score in order to continue screeding (the screeding machine is capable of requiring the operator to acknowledge the out of tolerance score in order to continue screeding since the operator is able to interact with the alert system, Para. [0030]. the alert system can respond to the problem persisting, Para. [0032], and the system can control the screeding machine in response to an out of tolerance score, Para. [0034]).
Regarding Claim 17, Kangas fails to teach of further comprising a video display screen operable to display video images derived from image data captured by a camera
of the screeding machine, wherein the displayed video images are viewable by the operator while operating the screeding machine.
Steffen et al teaches of a video display screen (user interface 300; Fig. 3) operable to display video images derived from image data captured by a camera (not shown; Para. [0034]) of the screeding machine, wherein the displayed video images are
viewable by the operator while operating the screeding machine (Para. [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the screeding machine of Kangas a camera and video image display as taught by Steffen et al in order to provide the operator with additional information that can be used to improve the quality of the work.
Regarding Claim 18, Kangas fails to teach of wherein graphic overlays are generated at the video display screen to assist the operator in extending and retracting the screed head relative to the base unit.
Steffen et al teaches of graphic overlays (icons, markers, identifiers, and/or other visual indicia not shown) are generated at the video display screen to assist the operator in operating the screeding machine (Para. [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the screeding machine of Kangas a video image display with graphic overlays as taught by Steffen et al in order to assist the operator in
extending and retracting the screed head relative to the base unit.
Regarding Claim 19, Kangas fails to teach of wherein the graphic overlays include a graphic overlay that is indicative of an extended position of the screed head.
Steffen et al teaches of wherein the graphic overlays include a graphic overlay that is indicative of a position of the screeding machine and so forth (Para. (0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the screeding machine of Kangas graphic overlays indicative of an extended position of the screed head as taught by Steffen et al in order to assist the operator in extending and retracting the screed head.
Regarding Claim 20, Kangas teaches, based at least in part on the output of the sensor, a score is created for each screeding pass, and scores are stored
over multiple screeding passes to get an average score (Paras. (0025] and (0043]).
Regarding Claim 21, Kangas teaches the screeding machine stores the Ideation of each pass and corresponding score (Paras. (0025] and (0043]).
Regarding Claim 22: Kangas teaches the screeding machine comprises a wheeled unit that is moved through the concrete during a screeding pass (Para. [0019]; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 23, Kangas teaches the elevation sensors comprise laser receivers disposed at respective elevation actuators for sensing an elevation of the respective end region of the screed head assembly relative to a laser generated reference plane (Para. (0033]).
Regarding Claim 24, Kangas teaches the screeding machine, based at least in part on the sensed elevation, adjusts the elevation in the actuators when selected (Paras. [0033]-[0034]).
Regarding Claim 25, Kangas teaches of wherein the control system is one selected from the group consisting of (i) autonomous (Para. (0034]), (ii) controllable via remote diagnostics, and (iii) operable responsive to a remote controller usable by an operator remote from the screeding machine.
Regarding Claim 26, Kangas teaches of wherein the grade establishing member comprises one selected from the group consisting of (i) a roller plow;(ii) a vibrating
plow, (iii) an auger (120; Para. [0019]; Fig.1), and (iv) a non-vibrating plow (118; Para: [0019]; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 28, Kangas teaches of wherein the screed head assembly is movably mounted at the base unit via an extend able and retractable mechanism (boom
114; Fig. 1), and wherein the screed head assembly is positionable at the screeding location via extension of the extendable. and retractable mechanism and is movable over the uncured concrete in the screeding direction from the screeding location· via retraction of the extendable and retractable mechanism to screed the concrete (Para. [0019]; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 29, Kangas teaches the elevation actuators are disposed at the screed head (Para. [0024]; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 31, Kangas teaches further comprising an angle sensor (head angle sensors 128 and/or machine levelness or attitude sensors 132) disposed at the base unit and operable to sense tilt or pitch of the base unit relative to a horizontal plane (Para. [0019]).
Regarding Claim 32, Kangas teaches the screeding machine is operable to adjust the tilt or pitch of the base unit responsive to an output of the angle sensor (Para. [0041]).
Regarding Claim 33, Kangas teaches the base unit comprises a plurality of stabilizers (124; Para. [0019]; Fig. 1) that are extendable and retractable responsive to the output of the angle sensor to adjust the tilt or pitch of the base unit (Para. [0041]).
Regarding Claim 34, Kangas teaches of wherein the screeding machine is operable to adjust the elevation actuator control speeds responsive to the output of the
sensor (Para. [0034]).
Regarding Claim 35, Kangas teaches the screeding machine is operable to adjust moving speed of the screed head during a screed pass responsive to the
output of the sensor (Para. (0034]).
Regarding Claim 36, Kangas teaches of wherein the screed head assembly is movably mounted at the base unit via an extendable and retractable mechanism (boom
114; Fig. 1), and wherein the screed head assembly is positionable at the screeding location via extension of the extendable and retractable mechanism and is movable over the uncured concrete in the screeding direction from the screeding location via retraction of the extendable and retractable mechanism to screed the concrete (Para. (0019]; Fig. 1), and wherein the screeding machine is operable to adjust a retraction speed of the extendable and retractable mechanism to adjust the moving speed of the screed head during the screed pass (Para. (0034]).
Regarding Claim 37, Kangas teaches of wherein the screeding machine is operable to adjust the elevation actuator control speeds based at least in part on the moving speed of the screed head during the screed pass (Paras. [0019] and [0034]).
Regarding Claim 38, Kangas teaches of wherein the screeding machine is operable to adjust machine attitude responsive to the output of the sensor (Para. [0034]).
Regarding Claim 41, Kangas teaches a method for screeding uncured concrete (Abstract; Fig. 1), the method comprising: providing a screeding machine (110; Fig. 1) having a base unit (wheeled unit 112; Fig. 1) and a screed head assembly (116; Fig. 1) movably mounted at the base unit, wherein the screed head assembly comprises (i) a grade establishing member (plow 118; Fig. 1) and (ii) a vibrating member (122; Para. [0019]; Fig. 1); adjusting elevation of the screed head assembly responsive at least in part to elevation sensors that sense elevation of respective end regions of the screed head assembly to set the grade of the uncured concrete (Paras. [0024], [0033], [0034] and [0041]); positioning the screed head assembly at a screeding location and moving the screed head assembly over the uncured concrete in a screeding direction from the screeding location to screed the concrete (Para. [0019]); sensing the surface of the screeded concrete via a sensor (sonic tracer system or total station/surveying system or laser scanning system not shown; Para. [0041]); and determining a quality level of the screeded concrete surface (flatness or levelness) via processing outputs of the sensor (Para. (0041]).
However, Kangas fails to teach sensing the surface of the screeded concrete via a sensor of the screeding machine and wherein the determined quality level of the screeded concrete surface comprises an elevation accuracy of the screeded concrete surface and wherein the determined quality level of the screeded concrete surface comprises an elevation accuracy of the screeded concrete surface.
Steffen et al teaches of sensing the surface of the screeded concrete via a sensor (LIDAR sensor 146 and monitoring component 106; Fig. 1) of the screeding machine (Paras. [0022] and [0027]; note that the monitoring component 106 can be on the paving machine 100) and wherein the determined quality level of the screeded concrete surface comprises an elevation accuracy of the screeded concrete surface (see Para. [0099]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the screeding machine of Kangas a sensor and system as taught by Steffen et al in order to collect and processes elevation-related screeding data and predictably provide feedback/control adjustment for a more complete quality indication for the screeded concrete surface by including the screeded surface mapping system in the screeding machine.
Regarding Claim 42, Kangas fails to teach the sensor comprises a three dimensional laser scanner.
Steffen et al teaches of wherein the sensor comprises a three dimensional laser scanner (Para. [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the screeding machine of Kangas a three dimensional laser scanner as taught by Steffen et al in order to make digital 3D representations of the target.
Regarding Claim 43, Kangas fails to teach the three dimensional laser scanner scans the screeded concrete surface and provides an accuracy and/or heat map on a display for viewing by an operator of the screeding machine.
Steffen et al teaches the three dimensional laser scanner scans the screeded concrete surface and provides an accuracy and/or heat map on a display (display on control interface 134/user interface 300; Figs. 1 and 3) for viewing by an operator of the screeding machine (Paras. [0019], [0050], [0057], [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the screeding machine of Kangas display as taught by Steffen et al in order to inform the operator the location and type of defects.
Regarding Claim 44, Kangas teaches the three dimensional laser scanner scans the screeded concrete surface, and wherein the method further comprises generating an alert to an operator of the screeding machine when the three dimensional laser scanner determines that the screeded concrete surface is above or below selected parameters (Paras. [0028]-[0033]).
Regarding Claim 49, Kangas teaches the method of claim 41, wherein the outputs of the sensor are used to generate displays at a display device (as shown in Fig. 4) for viewing by an operator by the screeding machine before a screeding pass,
during the screeding pass or after the screeding pass (Paras. [0029]-[0033]).
Regarding Claim 50, Kangas teaches the display displays a rating score (left/right pass quality number, left/right overall job average screed pass quality number) to the operator that is indicative of quality of one or more aspects of the screeding pass (Para. [0031]), and wherein the operator is alerted when if the displayed score is below a threshold score (Para. [0031]).
Regarding Claim 51, Kangas fails to teach comprising a video display screen operable to display video images derived from image data captured by a camera of the screeding machine, wherein the method comprises displaying video images that are viewable by the operator while operating the screeding machine.
Steffen et al teaches a video display screen (user interface 300; Fig. 3) operable to display video images derived from image data captured by a camera (not shown; Para. [0034]) of the screeding machine, wherein the method comprises displaying video images that are viewable by the operator while operating the screeding machine (Para. [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the screeding machine of Kangas a camera and video image display as taught by Steffen et al in order to provide the operator with additional information that can be used to improve the quality of the work.
Regarding Claim 52, Kangas fails to teach comprising displaying graphic overlays at the displayed video images at the video display screen to assist the operator in extending and retracting the screed head relative to the base unit, wherein the graphic overlays include a graphic overlay that is indicative of an extended position of the screed head.
Steffen et al teaches displaying graphic overlays (icons, markers, identifiers, and/or other visual indicia not shown) at the displayed video images at the video display screen to assist the operator in extending and retracting the screed head relative to the
base unit, wherein the graphic overlays include a graphic overlay that is indicative of an extended position of the screed head (Para. [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the screeding machine of Kangas graphic overlays indicative of an extended position of the screed head as taught by Steffen et al in order to assist the operator in extending and retracting the screed head.
Regarding Claim 54, Kangas teaches the screed head assembly is movably mounted at the base unit via an extendable and retractable mechanism (boom 114; Fig. 1 ), and wherein the screed head assembly is positioned at the screeding location via extending the extendable and retractable mechanism and wherein the screed head assembly is moved over the uncured concrete in the screeding direction from the screeding location via retraction of the extendable and retractable mechanism to screed the concrete (Para. [0019]; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 55, Kangas teaches comprising an angle sensor (head angle sensor 128 and/or machine levelness or attitude sensors 132) disposed at the base unit
and operable to sense tilt or pitch of the base unit relative to a horizontal plane (Para. [0019]); and wherein the screeding machine is operable to adjust the tilt or pitch of the base unit responsive to an output of the angle sensor (Para. [0041]).
Regarding Claim 56, Kangas teaches comprising adjusting the elevation actuator control speeds responsive to the output of the sensor (Para. [0034]).
Regarding Claim 57, Kangas teaches comprising adjusting moving speed of the screed head during a screed pass responsive to the output of the sensor (Para. [0034]).
Regarding Claim 58, Kangas teaches the screed head assembly is movably mounted at the base unit via an extendable and retractable mechanism (boom 114; Fig. 1 ), and wherein the screed head assembly is positioned at the screeding location via extending the extendable and retractable mechanism, and wherein the screed head assembly is moved over the uncured concrete in the screeding direction from the screeding location via retracting the extendable and retractable mechanism to screed the concrete (Para. [0019]; Fig. 1), and wherein the method comprises adjusting a retraction speed of the extendable and retractable mechanism to adjust the moving speed of the screed head during the screed pass (Para. [0034]).
Regarding Claim 59, Kangas teaches comprising adjusting the elevation actuator control speeds based at least in part on the moving speed of the screed head during the screed pass (Paras. [0019] and [0034]).
Regarding Claim 60, Kangas teaches comprising adjusting machine attitude responsive to the output of the sensor (Para. [0034]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kangas (US 2018/0088102) in view of Steffen et al (US 2023/0002981), and further in view of Rife et al (US 2023/0138075).
Regarding claim 5, Kangas fails to teach of wherein the three dimensional laser scanner is gimbal-mounted at the screeding machine.
Rife et al teaches a cold planer (machine 102; Abstract; Fig. 1) and teaches of wherein a three dimensional laser scanner (sensor 130; Para. [0028]; Fig. 1) is gimbal-mounted at a machine (102; Para. [0040]; Fig. 1) and further teaches that the gimbal
mount provides a dynamic mount so that the one or more sensor(s) present a fixed field of view relative to the horizon and/or an axis that is not governed by the angle of the machine.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to mount the sensor of Kangas using a gimbal as taught by Rife et al in order to provide a dynamic mount so that the one or more sensor(s) present a fixed field of view relative to the horizon and/or an axis that is not governed by the angle of the machine.
Claims 6-11, 30, 40, 45-48 and 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kangas (US 2018/0088102) in view of Steffen et al (US 2023/0002981), and further in view of Olson et al (US 2006/0045620).
Regarding claims 6-11, Kangas fails to teach the sensor comprises a plurality of ranging sensors, near the elevation sensors, along the screed head assembly and the output is indicative of height of the ranging sensor above the screeded concrete surface, the screeding machine generates an alert responsive to determination that the height is more than a threshold distance from a target height and the ranging sensor senses the accuracy of the screeded concrete surface, and wherein the screeding machine, responsive to the sensor output, adjusts the elevation sensors to bring the screed head assembly to the desired grade.
However, Olson et al teaches a plurality of ranging/lasor sensors (32, 34, 36, 38, 40 and 64, Fig.3, Para. [0014], [0025]) along the pavement head assembly (Fig.1) and the output is indicative of height of the ranging sensor above the screeded concrete/pavement surface, the paving machine generates an alert responsive to determination that the height is more than a threshold distance from a target height by a controller (50) and the ranging sensor senses the accuracy of the screeded concrete surface, and wherein the screeding machine, responsive to the sensor output, adjusts the elevation sensors to bring the screed head assembly to the desired grade (Fig.3, Para. [0025]-[0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to mount the sensor of Kangas using a plurality ranging sensors as taught by Olson et al in order to provide a better balancing of the machine and enhance the screeding of the concrete at the installation on the desired site.
Regarding Claim 30, Kangas fails to teach of wherein the elevation actuators are disposed at the base unit.
Olson teaches of a screeding machine (paving machine 10; Abstract; Fig. 1) for screeding uncured concrete (Para. [0013]) and teaches elevation actuators (62; Fig. 1) are disposed at a base unit (tractor 12; Para. [0020]; Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to dispose the elevation actuators of Kangas on the base unit as taught by Olson in order to reduce the weight of the screed head assembly.
Regarding claims 45-48, Kangas fails to teach the sensor comprises a ranging sensor and the output of the sensor is indicative of height of the ranging sensor above the screeded concrete surface, the screeding machine generates an alert responsive to determination that the height is more than a threshold distance from a target height, the ranging sensor senses the accuracy of the screeded concrete surface, and wherein the screeding machine, responsive to the sensor output, adjusts the elevation sensors to bring the screed head assembly to the desired grade.
However, Olson et al teaches a plurality of ranging/lasor sensors (32, 34, 36, 38, 40 and 64, Fig.3, Para. [0014], [0025]) along the pavement head assembly (Fig.1) and the output is indicative of height of the ranging sensor above the screeded concrete/pavement surface, the paving machine generates an alert responsive to determination that the height is more than a threshold distance from a target height by a controller (50) and the ranging sensor senses the accuracy of the screeded concrete surface, and wherein the screeding/paving machine, responsive to the sensor output, adjusts the elevation sensors to bring the screed head assembly to the desired grade (Fig.3, Para. [0025]-[0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to replace the sensor of Kangas with a plurality ranging sensors as taught by Olson et al in order to provide a better balancing of the machine and enhance the screeding of the concrete at the installation on the desired site.
Claims 39 and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kangas (US 2018/0088102) in view of Steffen et al (US 2023/0002981), and further in view of Fritz (EP 3763877).
Regarding claims 39 and 61, Kangas fails to teach the sensor is disposed at a grade checking rod that is episodically engaged with the screeded concrete surface to determine actual grade of the screeded concrete surface relative to a target grade set by the elevation actuators and elevation sensors.
However, Fritz teaches the sensor(s) (70, Fig. 12, Para. [0063]-[0065]) disposed at a grade checking rod (44) that is episodically engaged with the screeded concrete/paved surface to determine actual grade of the screeded concrete surface relative to a target grade set by the elevation actuators (73) and elevation sensors (70. Fig. 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to replace the screed sensor assembly of Kangas with the sensor(s) assembly as taught by Fritz in order to provide the better system to screeding of the concrete at the installation on the desired site.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s argument that neither Kangas nor Steffen, alone of in combination teaches or suggests determining elevation accuracy of a screeded concrete surface using a sensor that senses the screeded concrete surface, Kangas as a primary reference, fails to specifically teach a sensor sensing the surface of the screeded concrete for determining a quality level of the screeded concrete surface having a elevation accuracy of the screeded concrete surface. However, the primary reference was meant to be viewed with a secondary reference to Steffen. Steffen teaches how to determine a quality level of a concrete surface of the paving mat 108 with measuring distances to a target (e.g. the paving mat 108) by illuminating the target with laser light and measuring the reflected light with a sensor with a LIDAR/RADAR sensor 146, 148 (see Para. [0027]-[0028], [0057]) so as to achieve improved paving and compacting performance by predicting mat defects earlier and with greater accuracy (see Para. [0099]).
Although both references do not specifically disclose the claimed limitations “quality level” and “elevation accuracy” in amended claim 1 and 41 respectively, a mere recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Both references, Kargas and Steffen teach the screeding/paving machine with the system and sensors being capable of measuring the elevation accuracy with sensors and the system being capable of determining a quality level of the screeded concrete surface in combination of two references within ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Jong-Suk (James) Lee whose telephone number is (571) 272-7044. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Thursday 6AM- 4PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Allana Bidder can be reached on 571-272-5560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: httos://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https:/Avww.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JONG-SUK (JAMES) LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875