DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
This Office action is in response to the application filed on 05/21/2024.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Plamondon et al. (US 2021/0176123 A1), in view of Pollakowski et al. (US 2011/0143743 A1), Peter et al. (US 2021/0058386 A1).
As to claim 1, Plamondon discloses the invention as claimed, including a method, comprising:
establishing, by one or more processors, a connection between an automation component (Fig. 1C, 140, 106) and at least one of a data validation component (Fig. 2, 245) associated with one or more components installed at a cell site (Fig. 1C, 120c), or an element management system (EMS) (Figs. 1A-1C; Fig. 5; ¶0026, “network environment 100a configured to provide automated provisioning of devices at a remote network site…The network environment 100a also includes a provider system 140 coupled to the provider gateway 106 that automates the configuration or provisioning of one or more network devices (e.g., controllers, access points, routers, bridges, switches, etc.) installed as part of the remote network 120”; ¶0034, “The provider gateway 106 is also coupled to the provider system 140 through a communications network that provides the provider system 140 access to the remote network 120. This allows the provider system 140 to communicate with devices on the remote network 120, thereby enabling automated configuration of devices installed at the remote network 120 through the provider gateway 106”; ¶0074, “the provider system verifies that the discovered devices are part of the ordered network package. Once a device has been detected, information can be retrieved from the device, through the controller and a particular platform interface, that identifies the device. This information can be checked against the network package table to verify that the device is part of the network package”);
determining, by the one or more processors, operations to execute, wherein the operations include one or more EMS operations, or one or more data validation operations associated with at least one installed component at the cell site (¶0024, “provide automated provisioning of devices installed at a remote network site. A network service provider, or provider, can implement a provider system that includes databases that store configuration details for installations and software modules that determine which devices are installed at a remote network site”; ¶0055, “The scheduling module 244 can interact with the network package module 248 to determine which devices are a part of an installation based on an ordered package”; ¶0062, “The provider system can be configured to receive this communication and to determine that a newly installed controller is ready for configuration”);
causing, by the one or more processors, the operations to execute, wherein the operations to execute comprise (Fig. 2, 247):
obtaining planned configuration data for a first component installed at the cell site (Fig. 2, 244; ¶0005, “The system also includes a scheduling module that utilizes the one or more processors to automatically generate a configuration script for the controller based on configuration information extracted from the provider database”; ¶0055, “The scheduling module 244 retrieves configuration information from an appropriate database and generates an appropriate configuration script to be executed at a scheduled time to configure devices. The scheduling module 244 can interact with the network package module 248 to determine which devices are a part of an installation based on an ordered package”; ¶0063, “The provider system is configured to automatically configure the controller based on a scheduled configuration process”);
obtaining actual configuration data for the first component installed at the cell site (Abstract, “network service provider system includes databases that store configuration details for network packages and software modules that: a) determine which devices are installed at a remote network site, b) translate the configuration data in the databases into configuration commands understood by the installed devices, and c) configure those devices using those commands”; ¶0005, “transmit configuration commands that automatically configure the controller based on the ordered network package”; ¶0054, “The provider system 240 includes the network package module 248. The network package module 248 is configured to handle orders for remote network installations, provide pre-defined remote network installation packages”);
comparing the planned configuration data with a configuration data (Fig. 4; ¶0054, “The provider system 240 includes the network package module 248. The network package module 248 is configured to handle orders for remote network installations, provide pre-defined remote network installation packages, identify matching installations to ordered packages, set aside network IP addresses for devices in an ordered network package”; ¶0079, “This information can be checked against the network package table to verify that the device is part of the network package. This information can also be used to determine the targeted or appropriate configuration for the detected device”; ¶0092, “The first platform interface 546a can be configured to configure the AP 526a and the controller 522a using configuration data from the provider database 542 and based on the schedule determined by the queuing scheduler 544”; ¶0103, “this information can be used to verify that the devices 625 are part of the ordered network package by comparing the device identifier information with the information in the network package table created during the order creation process 650”); and
determining if an error occurred based, at least in part, on the comparing (Fig. 4; ¶0056, “The device monitoring module 245 is also configured to monitor the network connections of remote devices and can interface with network monitoring tools to determine this status”; ¶0076, “If the configuration was a failure, the provider system can re-attempt to configure the controller”; ¶0082, “In block 492, the provider system receives signals indicating that the verified devices have finished configuring themselves. The signals can be sent from individual devices through the controller and through a suitable platform interface. The signals can indicate success or failure for the configuration process. If the configuration was a failure, the provider system can re-attempt to configure the failed device”); and
wherein the data identifies an outcome associated with the operations (¶0007, “the device monitoring module further utilizes the one or more processors to change a status of the controller and the one or more detected access points in the provider database based on results of the transmitted configuration commands”; ¶0102, “Based on this content, the interface module 646 determines whether the configuration was a success or failure and reports this result to the provider database 642”).
Although Plamondon discloses comparing the planned configuration data with a configuration data (Fig. 4; ¶0054; ¶0079; ¶0092; ¶0103), Plamondon does not specifically disclose comparing the planned configuration data with the actual configuration data.
However, Pollakowski discloses comparing the planned configuration data with the actual configuration data (¶0049, “network planning may be stored in a data base or in a centralized dynamic network management apparatus. The network apparatus may access such centrally stored planning data, receive configuration data reflecting the actual network configuration, comparing or correlating the configuration data with the planning data and provide configuration data to network elements which are affected by the amended configuration”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Plamondon to include comparing the planned configuration data with the actual configuration data, as taught by Pollakowski because it would prevent system instability, and eliminating unauthorized modifications, thereby enhancing the security configuration management (Pollakowski; ¶0049).
Although Plamondon discloses obtaining, by the one or more processors, data (¶0005, “utilizes the one or more processors to receive a unique identifier of a controller installed at a remote network site over the communications network”; ¶0007, “utilizes the one or more processors to receive the access point configuration scripts, to select an appropriate platform interface module that is configured to interface with a platform of a detected access point”), Plamondon does not specifically discloses obtaining, by the one or more processors, data associated with the execution of the one or more operations.
However, Peter discloses obtaining, by the one or more processors, data associated with the execution of the one or more operations (¶0028, “Once the network device receives the node configuration and is configured according to the node configuration, the network device may be able to connect to a network associated with a target site. Once the network device is connected to the network, the provisioning platform may receive a status update or a confirmation of the provisioned network device from the element management device, the network device, the network controller, and/or the like”; ¶0030, “update a site plan associated with the target site based on the provisioned network device, and transmit a progress update of the site plan. The progress update may include information relating to network devices yet to be provisioned, tasks yet to be completed for the target site, and/or the like”; ¶0045, “element management device 245 may conform the node configuration provided by node configuration device 240 to operate with network device 205 and/or network 260, and transmit the node configuration to network device 205. Element management device 245 may provision network device 205 according to the node configuration and provide confirmation once network device 205 is successfully provisioned to network 260”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Plamondon to include obtaining, by the one or more processors, data associated with the execution of the one or more operations, as taught by Peter because it would allow the system to identify issues and perform corrective, automated management without needing manual operator intervention (Peter; ¶0012; ¶0030).
As to claim 2, Plamondon discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising causing the error to be programmatically addressed (¶0056, “The device monitoring module 245 is also configured to monitor the network connections of remote devices and can interface with network monitoring tools to determine this status”; ¶0076, “If the configuration was a failure, the provider system can re-attempt to configure the controller”; ¶0082, “The installer can be notified and a replacement device can be installed at block 461 to re-initiate the automated provisioning process”).
As to claim 3, Plamondon discloses the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the planned configuration data comprises accessing an inventory management component to obtain the planned configuration data for the first component (¶0006, “the provider database includes an inventory table that includes individual records for network equipment in an inventory of the provider…the scheduling module is configured to generate the configuration script for the controller based at least in part on records of the configuration table associated with the unique device type identifier of the controller”).
As to claim 4, Plamondon discloses the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the actual configuration data comprises obtaining at least a portion of the actual configuration data the first component installed at the cell site (¶0005, “transmit configuration commands that automatically configure the controller based on the ordered network package”; ¶0054, “The provider system 240 includes the network package module 248. The network package module 248 is configured to handle orders for remote network installations, provide pre-defined remote network installation packages”).
As to claim 5, Plamondon discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more EMS operations comprise one or more of a status check operation for the cell site, a remove cell site operation from the EMS, an add a cell site operation to the EMS, or a create payload operation to bring the cell site on-air (¶0038, “The network package table can include entries for each device and a status of that device (e.g., pending, configuring, configured, etc.). This allows the provider system 140 to track and to update the configuration process of the controller and individual network devices at a remote site until the configuration process is complete”; ¶0056, “The device monitoring module 245 is also configured to update device statuses in a database (e.g., configuring, configured, failed, etc.). The device monitoring module 245 is also configured to monitor the network connections of remote devices and can interface with network monitoring tools to determine this status”; ¶0076, “If the configuration was a failure, the provider system can re-attempt to configure the controller. In some embodiments, if the controller fails to configure one or more times, the automated provisioning process can be terminated”).
As to claim 6, Plamondon discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise an update EMS operation that updates the EMS to reflect a change (¶0038, “The network package table can include entries for each device and a status of that device (e.g., pending, configuring, configured, etc.). This allows the provider system 140 to track and to update the configuration process of the controller and individual network devices at a remote site until the configuration process is complete”; ¶0056, “The device monitoring module 245 is also configured to update device statuses in a database (e.g., configuring, configured, failed, etc.). The device monitoring module 245 is also configured to monitor the network connections of remote devices and can interface with network monitoring tools to determine this status”).
As to claim 7, Plamondon discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the automation component is configured to communicate with the EMS to determine a status of one or more deployed cell sites (¶0034, “enabling automated configuration of devices installed at the remote network 120 through the provider gateway 106. The provider system 140 can also be configured to discover devices connected to the remote network 120. The provider system 140 can also be configured to monitor the status of devices connected to the remote network 120”; ¶0056, “The device monitoring module 245 is also configured to update device statuses in a database (e.g., configuring, configured, failed, etc.). The device monitoring module 245 is also configured to monitor the network connections of remote devices and can interface with network monitoring tools to determine this status”).
As to claim 8, Plamondon discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, via the one or more processors, that the error is resolved; and causing the operations to resume execution (¶0034, “enabling automated configuration of devices installed at the remote network 120 through the provider gateway 106. The provider system 140 can also be configured to discover devices connected to the remote network 120. The provider system 140 can also be configured to monitor the status of devices connected to the remote network 120”; ¶0056, “The device monitoring module 245 is also configured to update device statuses in a database (e.g., configuring, configured, failed, etc.). The device monitoring module 245 is also configured to monitor the network connections of remote devices and can interface with network monitoring tools to determine this status”).
As to claim 9, Peter discloses further comprising receiving a selection of at least one of the operations from one or more user interface elements associated with a graphical user interface (¶0009, “the provisioning platform may determine the device identifier based on an image of a visual code associated with the network device and captured via a client device”; ¶0017, “the provisioning platform may use one or more artificial intelligence techniques (e.g., machine learning, deep learning, and/or the like) and/or an associated model (e.g., a computer vision model and/or another image-based analytic model) to better recognize visual codes within image data provided by client devices, and to better associate visual codes to device identifiers of network devices”; ¶0074, “Certain user interfaces have been described herein and/or shown in the figures. A user interface may include a graphical user interface, a non-graphical user interface, a text-based user interface, and/or the like. A user interface may provide information for display”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Plamondon to include receiving a selection of at least one of the operations from one or more user interface elements associated with a graphical user interface, as taught by Peter because it would monitor user actions and automatically adjust the interface to make the system easier and more efficient (Peter; ¶0017; ¶0074).
As to claim 10, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 1 above. In addition, Plamondon discloses a computer system including one or more electronic processors configured to programmatically interact with one or more components associated with one or more cell sites, wherein the system comprises: one or more components installed at a cell site; and an automation component (Fig. 2; ¶0005; ¶0053; ¶0058).
As to claim 11, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 2 above.
As to claim 12, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 3 and 4 above.
As to claims 13-15, they are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 5-7 above, respectively.
As to claim 16, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 9 above.
As to claim 17, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 1 above. In addition, Plamondon discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium configured to facilitate interaction with at least one of an element management system, or one or more components installed a cell site (Fig. 2; ¶0005; ¶0053; ¶0058).
As to claims 18-19, they are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 2-3 above, respectively.
As to claim 20, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 5 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Render et al. (US 2025/0112827), Khawer et al. (US 2022/0417761), Ok et al. (US 2010/0228843), Raleigh et al. (US 2020/0045519), Krishnan et al. (US 2023/0083011), Madan et al. (US 2024/0224122) disclose element management system in wireless communication network.
/JUNGWON CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454 June 20, 2026