DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Claims 1-27 have been examined and rejected. This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 06/01/2026, which has been entered in the above identified application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 5, 10, 12, 14, 19, 21, and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 10, and 19 recite ‘the first selectable object’; however, they should recite - - a first selectable object - -.
Claims 3, 5, 12, 14, 21, and 23 recite ‘the face of a person’; however, they should recite - - the face of the person - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 10, 13, 14, 19, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dirani (US 20190252054 A1, published 08/15/2019), hereinafter Dirani, in view of Morizane et al. (US 20230123961 A1, published 04/20/2023), hereinafter Morizane.
Regarding claim 1, Dirani teaches the claim comprising:
A computer system configured to communicate with one or more display generation components and one or more input devices, comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for (Dirani Figs. 1-9; [0022], According to an aspect of some embodiments of the present invention there is provided an apparatus for monitoring the eye health of a user, the apparatus comprising: a device having a memory storing code instructions, a hardware processor and a display; [0048], that user device 100 may include smart phones, tablets, a PC, a laptop or other screen related devices such as smart watches. For example, user device 100 includes smart watch 1100 as shown in FIG. 1; [0093], pressing a button 151):
displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a first user interface; while displaying the first user interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, that the computer system satisfies distance criteria relative to a face of a person; in response to detecting that the computer system satisfies distance criteria relative to the face of the person, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a second user interface different from the first user interface, wherein the second user interface includes an object in an unselectable state (Dirani Figs. 1-9; [0056], Processor 102 may use camera 110 for monitoring a user's face, glasses, eye and/or pupil. During operation, for example while using device 100 by a supervised user, camera 110 may capture images of the user. Processor 102 may obtain the captured images and store in memory 114. Processor 102 may process the captured images obtained from camera 110. For example, processor 102 compares a chronological series of images captured by camera 102 and/or calculates, based on the series of images, the distance between the user and user device 100. The calculation may be done, for example, by comparing the ratio between the user's face and eye. For example, as the eye grows bigger (compared to the previous pictures), processor 102 may deduce that the user's face is getting closer to device 100; [0074], FIG. 5A is an illustration of a user, using device 100 and bringing device 100 closer to his eyes, than a predetermined distance. Once device 100 gets too close to the user's face, glasses and/or eye, crosses a predetermined threshold, as illustrated in FIGS. 5A and 5B, processor 204 generates a notification. in some other embodiments, other monitored conditions relating to the device 100 will be used to adjust the time threshold, distance thresholds associated with the processor 2014 generating a notification (notification indicates the user is blocked); [0080], if processor 204 detects that the distance between device 100 and the user's face/eye is closer than a second predetermined distance, processor 204 may generate a notification alert, for example via audio unit 108 and/or display 104; [0081], the notification may be in the firm of a pop up block that lets the user know they are too close to device 100. Processor 204 will then return to determining whether device 100 is held in a distance closer than a predetermined distance, as indicated in block 506);
and subsequent to displaying the second user interface: in accordance with a determination that the computer system no longer satisfies the distance criteria relative to the face of the person, transitioning the object; and in accordance with a determination that the computer system continues to satisfy the distance criteria relative to the face of the person, maintaining display of the second user interface without displaying the first selectable object (Dirani Figs. 1-9; [0074], Reference is now made to FIGS. 5A and 5B, which are schematic illustration of a user, without and with glasses, respectively, using device 100. FIG. 5A is an illustration of a user, using device 100 and bringing device 100 closer to his eyes, than a predetermined distance. Once device 100 gets too close to the user's face, glasses and/or eye, crosses a predetermined threshold, as illustrated in FIGS. 5A and 5B, processor 204 generates a notification; [0078], As indicated in block 500, processor 204 receives data, for example constantly or periodically, for example from camera 110. For example, processor 204 monitors, calculates and/or analyzes the distance between the user's face, glasses and/or eyes to device 100; [0080], As indicated in block 502, processor 204 may determine whether device 100 is held in a distance closer than a predetermined distance; As indicated in block 506, if processor 204 detects that the distance between device 100 and the user's face/eye is closer than a second predetermined distance, processor 204 may generate a notification alert (return to 502 shown); [0085], As indicated in block 512, processor 204 detects whether device 100 is held at the appropriate predetermined distance from the user face and/or eye. If device 100 is held at the appropriate distance, as indicated in block 514, processor 204 determines whether device 100 is held in the appropriate distance longer than a predetermined time. As indicated in block 516, in case device 100 is held in a proper distance longer than the predetermined time, processor 204 may then generate incentive points and/or rewards and send a notification about the incentive points and/or rewards to the user and/or supervisor. Otherwise, processor 204 may return to block 500. For example, the incentive points and/or rewards may be earned as described in the incentive program. As indicated in block 512, if processor 204 determines that the distance between device 100 and the user's face and/or eye is closer that the predetermined distance, processor 204 will return to block 500, i.e. monitor the distance and duration of use; [0093], FIG. 8 is a schematic illustration of a screen 150 shown on user's device 100, wherein for example the user is rewarded incentive points and earns enough points to trade them into a voucher when the user complies with the alerts issued thereto by the device. In this illustration, for example, when the user is provided an alert in steps 516, 618, 606, 510, 506 of FIG. 6A, 702, 706 of FIG. 6B, and the user complies with the alerts provided, such that the user discontinues use of device 100 and/or maintains the appropriate distance between his eyes and the device 100, the user may be awarded with incentives such as points and/or vouchers and/or rewards. In the present example, the user would receive a notification on device 100 that he received 2,000 points as a reward for complying with. the alerts provided to him, and that these 2,000 points may be redeemed as a voucher to be used in a toy store, for example for the purchase of toy drums. The user can then decide whether to trade the points into a voucher, through pressing a button 151 or save the points for a later use through pressing button 152)
However, Dirani fails to expressly disclose wherein the second user interface includes an object in an unselectable state; in accordance with a determination that the computer system no longer satisfies the distance criteria, transitioning the object from the unselectable state to a selectable state, wherein the object is selectable to cease display of the second user interface while in the selectable state. In the same field of endeavor, Morizane teaches:
wherein the second user interface includes an object in an unselectable state; in accordance with a determination that the computer system no longer satisfies the distance criteria, transitioning the object from the unselectable state to a selectable state, wherein the object is selectable to cease display of the second user interface while in the selectable state (Morizane Figs. 1-26; [0171], in the aforementioned first embodiment, a function of canceling the warning information in accordance with the warning level may be provided. The warning information canceling function can be implemented with parameters for determining whether the state allows (enabled state) or does not allow (disabled state) a warning canceling button to be pressed and for managing the state of whether the warning has been cancelled. FIG. 20 is a flow chart showing a flow of the interference control processing including the warning information canceling function according to a second embodiment. FIG. 21 shows an example of screen display in the interference control processing including the warning information canceling function. Further, FIGS. 22A-22C show examples of screen display of the warning canceling button; [0173], as shown in 2104 of FIG. 21, the warning canceling button is arranged in a position (in the example shown in FIG. 21, on the upper left of the display screen of the terminal-side display device 763 of the manned vehicle 70-1) where the user of the manned vehicle 70-1 can visually recognize; [0174], The state in which the user of the manned vehicle 70-1 can press the warning canceling button is the state in which the warning canceling button is enabled as shown in FIG. 22A. Meanwhile, the state in which the warning canceling button cannot be pressed is shown in FIG. 22B, that is, the state in which the warning canceling button is disabled. Further, the state in which the warning canceling button is enabled and the warning canceling button is pressed is shown in FIG. 22C, which means that the warning has been cancelled; [0177], FIG. 23 is a flow chart showing a flow of the warning processing of the warning level 3 (S2004) including the warning information canceling function. The interference control part 311c disables the warning canceling button for canceling the warning information (S2301), so as to disable the cancellation of the warning information. This is because in the state of the warning level 3, the manned vehicle 70-1 should prioritize most the avoidance of interference with the unmanned dump truck 20-1; the maximum level of attention is called as described with reference to FIG. 15; [0182], FIG. 24 is a flow chart showing a flow of the warning processing of the warning level 2 (S2008) including the warning information canceling function. The interference control part 311c enables the warning canceling button for canceling the warning information (S2401); [0184], When the warning canceling button was pressed (S2404/Yes), the warning cancellation state is set to be ON (S2405), and the aforementioned warning processing such as making a warning sound and displaying a warning is cancelled (S2406); [0189], FIG. 25 is a flow chart showing a flow of the warning processing of the warning level 1 (S2011) including the warning information canceling function. Similarly to the warning level 2, the interference control part 311c enables the warning canceling button; (as shown, Figs. 23-25 returns to s2001 of Fig. 20 to determine the current state of the warning canceling button and transition the selectability state of the warning canceling button as-needed))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the second user interface includes an object in an unselectable state; in accordance with a determination that the computer system no longer satisfies the distance criteria, transitioning the object from the unselectable state to a selectable state, wherein the object is selectable to cease display of the second user interface while in the selectable state as suggested in Morizane into Dirani. Doing so would be desirable because there is a demand for further improved safety (see Morizane [0002]). Safety can be secured by interference avoidance and the productivity can be improved as well (see Morizane [0012]). Context based cancelling functionality can prevent the user from canceling a warning when maximum level of attention to a warning is needed (see Morizane [0177]), thereby ensuring that user is successfully alerted to a safety issue. In this manner, with the function of canceling the warning information in the warning level 1 and the warning level 2 that do not require emergency avoidance, the user can concentrate on other operations (see Morizane [0198]). The system of Morizane would improve the system of Dirani by providing an easy to understand user interface that includes consistently displaying a flexible warning canceling button that is dependent on a safety context, such as low, moderate, and high emergency levels of avoidance (see Morizane [0167]). Consistently displaying the warning cancelling button across multiple states would better indicate to the user when warnings may or may not be cancelled, thereby leading to less user confusion and avoiding situations where the user may waste time searching for an expected desired button that is not displayed.
Regarding claims 10 and 19, claims 10 and 19 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 1. Consequently, claims 10 and 19 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 4, Dirani in view of Morizane teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
prior to displaying the first user interface, receiving an indication that a screen distance setting for the computer system has been enabled by a user of a first remote device separate from the computer system, wherein the second user interface is displayed in accordance with a determination that the screen distance setting for the computer system has been enabled (Dirani Figs. 1-9; [0047], Reference is now made to FIG. 1, which is a schematic illustration of a system 10 for eye health monitoring, according to some embodiments of the present invention. System 10 may include a user device 100, a server 200, a database 300 and/or a supervising device 900; [0054], Turning now to FIG. 2, which is a more detailed illustration of a system 10 for eye health monitoring; [0071], the supervised use application may enable a user and/or a supervisor to set device 100 to an operation mode, i.e. to start supervising the use of device 100 by processor 204 and/or by a supervisor device 900. For example, processor 204 may start receiving information from device 100 once the supervised use application is activated, i.e. device 100 is set to operation mode, and may process the information as described herein, for monitoring the user's behavior, for example as described herein with reference to FIG. 5A, block 500; [0072], FIG. 4A is a schematic illustration of a screen 910 shown on supervisor's device 900 when the supervisor enters the user's information, as mentioned above, according to block 402 shown in FIG. 3; [0073], FIG. 4B is a schematic illustration of a screen 920 shown on supervisor's device 900 when customizing the preferences, according to block 404 shown in FIG. 3. For example, according to FIG. 4B processor 204 will provide an alert notification to the supervisor's device 900 when the user will repeatedly hold device 100 too close to their face. It should be noted that some of the calibrations, such as the working range, would need to be done by the supervisor and/or a professional, with or without the user, in order for processor 204 to be able to calculate the proper working distance. For example, processor 204 may receive from a supervisor and/or some professional calibration parameters, and calibrate the application accordingly, for example working ranges. For example, a supervisor and/or professional may enter that the recommended distance in which the device should be held away from the user is 30 cm; once the supervisor and/or user selects operation mode as illustrated in block 406/410, method 50 is executed and the processor 204 continuously analyzes information provided thereto by the application of the device 100 embodying the methods of the present disclosure; [0074], Once device 100 gets too close to the user's face, glasses and/or eye, crosses a predetermined threshold, as illustrated in FIGS. 5A and 5B, processor 204 generates a notification; [0078], As indicated in block 500, processor 204 receives data, for example constantly or periodically, for example from camera 110. For example, processor 204 monitors, calculates and/or analyzes the distance between the user's face, glasses and/or eyes to device 100; [0080], As indicated in block 502, processor 204 may determine whether device 100 is held in a distance closer than a predetermined distance; [0085], As indicated in block 512, processor 204 detects whether device 100 is held at the appropriate predetermined distance from the user face and/or eye)
Regarding claims 13 and 22, claims 13 and 22 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 4. Consequently, claims 13 and 22 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 5, Dirani in view of Morizane teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein detecting that the computer system satisfies distance criteria relative to the face of the person comprises identifying the face of a person without storing photographic images or videos of the person (Dirani Figs. 1-9; [0056], Processor 102 may use camera 110 for monitoring a user's face, glasses, eye and/or pupil. During operation, for example while using device 100 by a supervised user, camera 110 may capture images of the user. Processor 102 may obtain the captured images and store in memory 114. Processor 102 may process the captured images obtained from camera 110 (without storing videos); [0074], Once device 100 gets too close to the user's face, glasses and/or eye, crosses a predetermined threshold, as illustrated in FIGS. 5A and 5B, processor 204 generates a notification; [0078], As indicated in block 500, processor 204 receives data, for example constantly or periodically, for example from camera 110. For example, processor 204 monitors, calculates and/or analyzes the distance between the user's face, glasses and/or eyes to device 100; [0080], As indicated in block 502, processor 204 may determine whether device 100 is held in a distance closer than a predetermined distance; [0085], As indicated in block 512, processor 204 detects whether device 100 is held at the appropriate predetermined distance from the user face and/or eye)
Regarding claims 14 and 23, claims 14 and 23 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 5. Consequently, claims 14 and 23 are rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 2, 3, 9, 11, 12, 18, 20, 21, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dirani in view of Morizane in further view of Walker et al. (US 20200133453 A1, published 04/30/2020), hereinafter Walker.
Regarding claim 2, Dirani in view of Morizane teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
while displaying the second user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first set of user inputs; while the second user interface is not displayed, receiving, via the one or more input devices; displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the first user interface without displaying the second user interface (Dirani Figs. 1-9; [0074], Reference is now made to FIGS. 5A and 5B, which are schematic illustration of a user, without and with glasses, respectively, using device 100. FIG. 5A is an illustration of a user, using device 100 and bringing device 100 closer to his eyes, than a predetermined distance. Once device 100 gets too close to the user's face, glasses and/or eye, crosses a predetermined threshold, as illustrated in FIGS. 5A and 5B, processor 204 generates a notification; [0078], As indicated in block 500, processor 204 receives data, for example constantly or periodically, for example from camera 110. For example, processor 204 monitors, calculates and/or analyzes the distance between the user's face, glasses and/or eyes to device 100; [0080], As indicated in block 502, processor 204 may determine whether device 100 is held in a distance closer than a predetermined distance; As indicated in block 506, if processor 204 detects that the distance between device 100 and the user's face/eye is closer than a second predetermined distance, processor 204 may generate a notification alert (return to 502 shown); [0085], As indicated in block 512, processor 204 detects whether device 100 is held at the appropriate predetermined distance from the user face and/or eye. If device 100 is held at the appropriate distance, as indicated in block 514, processor 204 determines whether device 100 is held in the appropriate distance longer than a predetermined time. As indicated in block 516, in case device 100 is held in a proper distance longer than the predetermined time, processor 204 may then generate incentive points and/or rewards and send a notification about the incentive points and/or rewards to the user and/or supervisor. Otherwise, processor 204 may return to block 500. For example, the incentive points and/or rewards may be earned as described in the incentive program. As indicated in block 512, if processor 204 determines that the distance between device 100 and the user's face and/or eye is closer that the predetermined distance, processor 204 will return to block 500, i.e. monitor the distance and duration of use; [0093], FIG. 8 is a schematic illustration of a screen 150 shown on user's device 100; The user can then decide whether to trade the points into a voucher, through pressing a button 151 or save the points for a later use through pressing button 152)
However, Dirani in view of Morizane fails to expressly disclose while displaying the second user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first set of user inputs corresponding to a user request to turn off the one or more display generation components; in response to receiving the first set of user inputs, ceasing display of the second user interface; subsequent to receiving the first set of user inputs, and while the second user interface is not displayed, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second set of user inputs corresponding to a user request to turn on the one or more display generation components; and in response to receiving the second set of user inputs, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the first user interface without displaying the second user interface. In the same field of endeavor, Walker teaches:
while displaying the second user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first set of user inputs corresponding to a user request to turn off the one or more display generation components; in response to receiving the first set of user inputs, ceasing display of the second user interface; subsequent to receiving the first set of user inputs, and while the second user interface is not displayed, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second set of user inputs corresponding to a user request to turn on the one or more display generation components; and in response to receiving the second set of user inputs, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the first user interface without displaying the second user interface (Walker Figs. 1-9; [0015], Depending on how the conditions have changed (e.g., if a second criterion has been satisfied), the near-viewing control engine can adjust the current cue, present additional cues, and/or cease presenting the cue; If the user does not take the visual break and/or if the amount of time the user is viewing the screen exceeds a timing threshold, the near-viewing control engine may provide a more extreme UI cue (e.g., the device could lock out the user or otherwise enforce that the user take a visual break); [0016], The type of UI cue provided to a user may depend on the use case. For example, in a use case for a child, the UI cue may render content on the screen completely useless, as opposed to simply blurring the content or obscuring a portion of the content. This may increase the likelihood that the child increases the viewing distance, while also avoiding the possibility that the child attempts to cheat the system by viewing blurred content. For example, a black spot may be placed over the center of the screen that grows in size as the device is brought nearer to the child's face. This feedback may be helpful to teach the child an appropriate distance for viewing the content. In an example use case for adults, some level of “cheating” may be allowed for a brief period of time, by providing a UI cue that does not fully disrupt the content. In this example, opaque bars (e.g., colored bars) may be presented on the screen (e.g., at the edges) that saturate to deeper opaqueness or deeper color as the device is brought near to the face. After a period of time (e.g., 5, 7, 10 seconds, etc.), the bars can pulse along with vibration before the content is locked out, thus enforcing the break; [0018], the near-viewing control engine may include user settings (or may include settings within a global settings application), where the user can turn the techniques off completely or set limits on how closely they are allowed to view the device and/or how long they can view the device; [0019], At block 108, the process 100 includes the electronic device 102 device increasing the visual cue as the viewing distance decreases (e.g., at T2). At block 110, the process 100 includes the electronic device 102 decreasing the visual cue as the viewing distance increases (e.g., at T3); [0045], the process 500 relates to a process for iteratively evaluating sensor data with respect to a set of thresholds to determine whether to present a cue (e.g., blocks 502 to 510) and, if so, when to present a cue (e.g., blocks 512 to 518); [0060], The cue may be any suitable cue such as a bubble, a drop down, a graphic that changes shape and/or size, an icon, a haptic, a text for resolving the problem and/or removing the obstruction (e.g., “move your phone away from your face 5-10 cm to dismiss this notification”), a tone that changes depending on the viewing distance, a voice recording (e.g., a parent's voice telling a child to “Maggie, you are too close to your screen. Hold it further away from you”), and any other cue that may be used to prompt the user about the viewing distance; [0067], At 610, the process 600 includes the electronic device 102 applying, a visual cue that disrupts the content presented on the screen. In some examples, the visual cue may be applied at least until the viewing distance returns to being above the distance threshold. In some examples, the visual cue may increase in size as the viewing distance decreases and decrease in size as the viewing distance increases. The visual cue may include at least one of an icon, a text string, or a set of opaque bars; [0079], At 712, the process 700 includes the electronic device 102 increasing an intensity of the user interface element as the viewing distance is decreased or until the viewing distance is increased to above the distance threshold value. In some examples, increasing the intensity of the user interface element may include increasing a size of an opaque shape from the first size to a second size. In some examples, increasing the intensity of the user interface element may include increasing a size of an opaque shape from the first size to a second size. At the second size, the opaque shape may be capable of encompassing the screen of the electronic device; [0088], At block 806, the process 800 includes the electronic device 102, in accordance with a determination, based at least in part on the sensor data, that the criterion relating to the viewing distance is not satisfied, forego displaying of the notification relating to the viewing distance at the display screen of the electronic device 102; [0089], In some examples, the determination at the block 806 may include determining the viewing distance based on the sensor data, and determining that the viewing distance is greater than the distance threshold (e.g., the criterion). This may mean that the user is not too close to the display screen; [0091], displaying the notification relating to the viewing distance may be based at least in part on content presented at the display screen. In some examples, the notification may obstruct all or substantially of the display screen (e.g., between 90-100% of the area of the display screen))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated while displaying the second user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first set of user inputs corresponding to a user request to turn off the one or more display generation components; in response to receiving the first set of user inputs, ceasing display of the second user interface; subsequent to receiving the first set of user inputs, and while the second user interface is not displayed, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second set of user inputs corresponding to a user request to turn on the one or more display generation components; and in response to receiving the second set of user inputs, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the first user interface without displaying the second user interface as suggested in Walker into Dirani in view of Morizane. Doing so would be desirable because certain activities, when performed for an extended period of time, may cause eye strain. As a result of and/or in an attempt to alleviate such eye strain, people may naturally reduce the distance between their eyes and whatever it is they are focusing on. For example, when people read for an extended period of time, they may gradually move the reading material closer to their eyes over time. This may be to account for their eyes becoming more fatigued over time. This same phenomenon has been observed in users who view screens of electronic devices, which have become so ubiquitous and useful, that people tend to utilize them throughout the day (see Walker [0002]). Examples of the present disclosure are directed to, among other things, methods, systems, devices, and computer-readable media for managing, in real-time, a viewing distance between a user and a screen. Prompting may be achieved using notifications in the form of user interface (UI) cues (e.g., visual, haptic, and/or audio notifications/interruptions) that may presented at the electronic device and, in some examples, may change with respect to the distance between the screen and the user's face (e.g., the size of a visual UI cue may increase as the distance decreases and decrease as the distance increases). In this manner, the UI cue may be used as a feedback mechanism to coach the user's behavior (see Walker [0014]). This feedback may be helpful to teach the child an appropriate distance for viewing the content (see Walker [0016]).
Regarding claims 11 and 20, claims 11 and 20 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 2. Consequently, claims 11 and 20 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 3, Dirani in view of Morizane in further view of Walker teaches all the limitations of claim 2, further comprising:
subsequent to receiving the second set of user inputs, and while displaying the first user interface without displaying the second user interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second instance in which the computer system satisfies distance criteria relative to the face of a person; and in response to detecting the second instance in which the computer system satisfies the distance criteria relative to the face of the person, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the second user interface (Dirani Figs. 1-9; [0074], Reference is now made to FIGS. 5A and 5B, which are schematic illustration of a user, without and with glasses, respectively, using device 100. FIG. 5A is an illustration of a user, using device 100 and bringing device 100 closer to his eyes, than a predetermined distance. Once device 100 gets too close to the user's face, glasses and/or eye, crosses a predetermined threshold, as illustrated in FIGS. 5A and 5B, processor 204 generates a notification; [0078], As indicated in block 500, processor 204 receives data, for example constantly or periodically, for example from camera 110. For example, processor 204 monitors, calculates and/or analyzes the distance between the user's face, glasses and/or eyes to device 100; [0080], As indicated in block 502, processor 204 may determine whether device 100 is held in a distance closer than a predetermined distance; As indicated in block 506, if processor 204 detects that the distance between device 100 and the user's face/eye is closer than a second predetermined distance, processor 204 may generate a notification alert (return to 502 shown); [0085], As indicated in block 512, processor 204 detects whether device 100 is held at the appropriate predetermined distance from the user face and/or eye. If device 100 is held at the appropriate distance, as indicated in block 514, processor 204 determines whether device 100 is held in the appropriate distance longer than a predetermined time. As indicated in block 516, in case device 100 is held in a proper distance longer than the predetermined time, processor 204 may then generate incentive points and/or rewards and send a notification about the incentive points and/or rewards to the user and/or supervisor. Otherwise, processor 204 may return to block 500. For example, the incentive points and/or rewards may be earned as described in the incentive program. As indicated in block 512, if processor 204 determines that the distance between device 100 and the user's face and/or eye is closer that the predetermined distance, processor 204 will return to block 500, i.e. monitor the distance and duration of use; [0093], FIG. 8 is a schematic illustration of a screen 150 shown on user's device 100; The user can then decide whether to trade the points into a voucher, through pressing a button 151 or save the points for a later use through pressing button 152)
Regarding claims 12 and 21, claims 12 and 21 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 3. Consequently, claims 12 and 21 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 9, Dirani in view of Morizane teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the second user interface is a screen user interface (Dirani Figs. 1-9; [0074], Reference is now made to FIGS. 5A and 5B, which are schematic illustration of a user, without and with glasses, respectively, using device 100. FIG. 5A is an illustration of a user, using device 100 and bringing device 100 closer to his eyes, than a predetermined distance. Once device 100 gets too close to the user's face, glasses and/or eye, crosses a predetermined threshold, as illustrated in FIGS. 5A and 5B, processor 204 generates a notification; [0078], As indicated in block 500, processor 204 receives data, for example constantly or periodically, for example from camera 110. For example, processor 204 monitors, calculates and/or analyzes the distance between the user's face, glasses and/or eyes to device 100; [0080], As indicated in block 502, processor 204 may determine whether device 100 is held in a distance closer than a predetermined distance; As indicated in block 506, if processor 204 detects that the distance between device 100 and the user's face/eye is closer than a second predetermined distance, processor 204 may generate a notification alert (return to 502 shown); see also [0085], [0093])
However, Dirani in view of Morizane fails to expressly disclose wherein the second user interface is a full screen user interface. In the same field of endeavor, Walker teaches:
wherein the second user interface is a full screen user interface (Walker Figs. 1-9; [0015], Depending on how the conditions have changed (e.g., if a second criterion has been satisfied), the near-viewing control engine can adjust the current cue, present additional cues, and/or cease presenting the cue; If the user does not take the visual break and/or if the amount of time the user is viewing the screen exceeds a timing threshold, the near-viewing control engine may provide a more extreme UI cue (e.g., the device could lock out the user or otherwise enforce that the user take a visual break); [0016], The type of UI cue provided to a user may depend on the use case. For example, in a use case for a child, the UI cue may render content on the screen completely useless, as opposed to simply blurring the content or obscuring a portion of the content. This may increase the likelihood that the child increases the viewing distance, while also avoiding the possibility that the child attempts to cheat the system by viewing blurred content. For example, a black spot may be placed over the center of the screen that grows in size as the device is brought nearer to the child's face. This feedback may be helpful to teach the child an appropriate distance for viewing the content. In an example use case for adults, some level of “cheating” may be allowed for a brief period of time, by providing a UI cue that does not fully disrupt the content. In this example, opaque bars (e.g., colored bars) may be presented on the screen (e.g., at the edges) that saturate to deeper opaqueness or deeper color as the device is brought near to the face. After a period of time (e.g., 5, 7, 10 seconds, etc.), the bars can pulse along with vibration before the content is locked out, thus enforcing the break; [0019], At block 108, the process 100 includes the electronic device 102 device increasing the visual cue as the viewing distance decreases (e.g., at T2). At block 110, the process 100 includes the electronic device 102 decreasing the visual cue as the viewing distance increases (e.g., at T3); [0045], the process 500 relates to a process for iteratively evaluating sensor data with respect to a set of thresholds to determine whether to present a cue (e.g., blocks 502 to 510) and, if so, when to present a cue (e.g., blocks 512 to 518); [0060], The cue may be any suitable cue such as a bubble, a drop down, a graphic that changes shape and/or size, an icon, a haptic, a text for resolving the problem and/or removing the obstruction (e.g., “move your phone away from your face 5-10 cm to dismiss this notification”), a tone that changes depending on the viewing distance, a voice recording (e.g., a parent's voice telling a child to “Maggie, you are too close to your screen. Hold it further away from you”), and any other cue that may be used to prompt the user about the viewing distance; [0067], At 610, the process 600 includes the electronic device 102 applying, a visual cue that disrupts the content presented on the screen. In some examples, the visual cue may be applied at least until the viewing distance returns to being above the distance threshold. In some examples, the visual cue may increase in size as the viewing distance decreases and decrease in size as the viewing distance increases. The visual cue may include at least one of an icon, a text string, or a set of opaque bars; [0079], At 712, the process 700 includes the electronic device 102 increasing an intensity of the user interface element as the viewing distance is decreased or until the viewing distance is increased to above the distance threshold value. In some examples, increasing the intensity of the user interface element may include increasing a size of an opaque shape from the first size to a second size. In some examples, increasing the intensity of the user interface element may include increasing a size of an opaque shape from the first size to a second size. At the second size, the opaque shape may be capable of encompassing the screen of the electronic device; [0088], At block 806, the process 800 includes the electronic device 102, in accordance with a determination, based at least in part on the sensor data, that the criterion relating to the viewing distance is not satisfied, forego displaying of the notification relating to the viewing distance at the display screen of the electronic device 102; [0089], In some examples, the determination at the block 806 may include determining the viewing distance based on the sensor data, and determining that the viewing distance is greater than the distance threshold (e.g., the criterion). This may mean that the user is not too close to the display screen; [0091], displaying the notification relating to the viewing distance may be based at least in part on content presented at the display screen. In some examples, the notification may obstruct all or substantially of the display screen (e.g., between 90-100% of the area of the display screen))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the second user interface is a full screen user interface as suggested in Walker into Dirani in view of Morizane. Doing so would be desirable because certain activities, when performed for an extended period of time, may cause eye strain. As a result of and/or in an attempt to alleviate such eye strain, people may naturally reduce the distance between their eyes and whatever it is they are focusing on. For example, when people read for an extended period of time, they may gradually move the reading material closer to their eyes over time. This may be to account for their eyes becoming more fatigued over time. This same phenomenon has been observed in users who view screens of electronic devices, which have become so ubiquitous and useful, that people tend to utilize them throughout the day (see Walker [0002]). Examples of the present disclosure are directed to, among other things, methods, systems, devices, and computer-readable media for managing, in real-time, a viewing distance between a user and a screen. Prompting may be achieved using notifications in the form of user interface (UI) cues (e.g., visual, haptic, and/or audio notifications/interruptions) that may presented at the electronic device and, in some examples, may change with respect to the distance between the screen and the user's face (e.g., the size of a visual UI cue may increase as the distance decreases and decrease as the distance increases). In this manner, the UI cue may be used as a feedback mechanism to coach the user's behavior (see Walker [0014]). This feedback may be helpful to teach the child an appropriate distance for viewing the content (see Walker [0016]).
Regarding claims 18 and 27, claims 18 and 27 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 9. Consequently, claims 18 and 27 are rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 6, 7, 15, 16, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dirani in view of Morizane in further view of Schneider et al. (US 20150172249 A1, published 06/18/2015), hereinafter Schneider.
Regarding claim 6, Dirani in view of Morizane teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
in response to detecting that the computer system satisfies distance criteria relative to the face of the person, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the second user interface onto a first display of the one or more display generation components (Dirani Figs. 1-9; [0074], Reference is now made to FIGS. 5A and 5B, which are schematic illustration of a user, without and with glasses, respectively, using device 100. FIG. 5A is an illustration of a user, using device 100 and bringing device 100 closer to his eyes, than a predetermined distance. Once device 100 gets too close to the user's face, glasses and/or eye, crosses a predetermined threshold, as illustrated in FIGS. 5A and 5B, processor 204 generates a notification; [0078], As indicated in block 500, processor 204 receives data, for example constantly or periodically, for example from camera 110. For example, processor 204 monitors, calculates and/or analyzes the distance between the user's face, glasses and/or eyes to device 100; [0080], As indicated in block 502, processor 204 may determine whether device 100 is held in a distance closer than a predetermined distance; As indicated in block 506, if processor 204 detects that the distance between device 100 and the user's face/eye is closer than a second predetermined distance, processor 204 may generate a notification alert (return to 502 shown); [0085], As indicated in block 512, processor 204 detects whether device 100 is held at the appropriate predetermined distance from the user face and/or eye. If device 100 is held at the appropriate distance, as indicated in block 514, processor 204 determines whether device 100 is held in the appropriate distance longer than a predetermined time. As indicated in block 516, in case device 100 is held in a proper distance longer than the predetermined time, processor 204 may then generate incentive points and/or rewards and send a notification about the incentive points and/or rewards to the user and/or supervisor. Otherwise, processor 204 may return to block 500. For example, the incentive points and/or rewards may be earned as described in the incentive program. As indicated in block 512, if processor 204 determines that the distance between device 100 and the user's face and/or eye is closer that the predetermined distance, processor 204 will return to block 500, i.e. monitor the distance and duration of use; [0093], FIG. 8 is a schematic illustration of a screen 150 shown on user's device 100; The user can then decide whether to trade the points into a voucher, through pressing a button 151 or save the points for a later use through pressing button 152)
However, Dirani in view of Morizane fails to expressly disclose movement of the second user interface in a first direction onto a first display of the one or more display generation components from a first edge of the first display. In the same field of endeavor, Schneider teaches:
movement of the second user interface in a first direction onto a first display of the one or more display generation components from a first edge of the first display (Schneider Figs. 1-5; [0039], FIGS. 5A-5C show screenshot examples of displaying content and notifications to a user, according to one embodiment. These examples each illustrate a display screen of a mobile device; [0040], FIG. 5B illustrates a notification 504 displayed in a notification area, partially obscuring the content 502 in the content area of the display screen. The notification 504 indicates that the user has 13 free articles remaining for access for the day. The notification 504 also provides two links for potential interaction by the user. The user may tap the "read article" link to dismiss the notification and return to the content. In another embodiment, the user may also perform an gesture in the content area to dismiss the notification and return to the content 502. The user may alternatively tap the "subscribe" link to subscribe to the content. The notification 504 displayed in the notification area in the Figure is one example representing any type of notification 504 that can be displayed in the notification area 504. Other embodiments may include a notification 504 conveying different information, or no information at all. In an embodiment, the notification 504 is displayed as an animation. For example, the notification 504 may be animated as sliding up from the bottom of the display screen, or by instantly or gradually materializing at the bottom of the display screen. Furthermore, if the user performs a gesture indicating that the notification should be dismissed, the notification 504 may be animated as sliding down beneath the bottom of the display screen, or sliding down to a minimized form at the bottom of the display screen, or the notification may disappear instantly or gradually; [0041], full message 506 may be animated as sliding up from the bottom of the display screen)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated movement of the second user interface in a first direction onto a first display of the one or more display generation components from a first edge of the first display as suggested in Schneider into Dirani in view of Morizane. Doing so would be desirable because a notification or a reminder for a reader may be displayed while the reader is accessing content. Such a notification can be annoying for the user, who may not wish to view the notification at that time and may wish to return to the content (see Schneider [0002]). The above and other issues are addressed (see Schneider [0003]). The notifications of Schneider can be any type of notification 504 that can be displayed in the notification area 504 conveying different information (see Schneider [0040]). Additionally, the system of Schneider would improve the systems of Dirani and Morizane by providing an attractive and user friendly animation for displaying and dismissing notifications (see Schneider [0040]). Providing an animation of a notification moving on and off a screen would be less jarring and confusing to the user, thereby increasing user satisfaction.
Regarding claims 15 and 24, claims 15 and 24 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 6. Consequently, claims 15 and 24 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 7, Dirani in view of Morizane in further view of Schneider teaches all the limitations of claim 6. Morizane further teaches:
while the object is in the selectable state, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a selection input corresponding to selection of the object; and in response to receiving the selection input, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the second user interface off of the first display (Morizane Figs. 1-26; [0171], in the aforementioned first embodiment, a function of canceling the warning information in accordance with the warning level may be provided. The warning information canceling function can be implemented with parameters for determining whether the state allows (enabled state) or does not allow (disabled state) a warning canceling button to be pressed and for managing the state of whether the warning has been cancelled. FIG. 20 is a flow chart showing a flow of the interference control processing including the warning information canceling function according to a second embodiment. FIG. 21 shows an example of screen display in the interference control processing including the warning information canceling function. Further, FIGS. 22A-22C show examples of screen display of the warning canceling button; [0173], as shown in 2104 of FIG. 21, the warning canceling button is arranged in a position (in the example shown in FIG. 21, on the upper left of the display screen of the terminal-side display device 763 of the manned vehicle 70-1) where the user of the manned vehicle 70-1 can visually recognize; [0174], The state in which the user of the manned vehicle 70-1 can press the warning canceling button is the state in which the warning canceling button is enabled as shown in FIG. 22A. Meanwhile, the state in which the warning canceling button cannot be pressed is shown in FIG. 22B, that is, the state in which the warning canceling button is disabled. Further, the state in which the warning canceling button is enabled and the warning canceling button is pressed is shown in FIG. 22C, which means that the warning has been cancelled; [0177], FIG. 23 is a flow chart showing a flow of the warning processing of the warning level 3 (S2004) including the warning information canceling function. The interference control part 311c disables the warning canceling button for canceling the warning information (S2301), so as to disable the cancellation of the warning information. This is because in the state of the warning level 3, the manned vehicle 70-1 should prioritize most the avoidance of interference with the unmanned dump truck 20-1; the maximum level of attention is called as described with reference to FIG. 15; [0182], FIG. 24 is a flow chart showing a flow of the warning processing of the warning level 2 (S2008) including the warning information canceling function. The interference control part 311c enables the warning canceling button for canceling the warning information (S2401); [0184], When the warning canceling button was pressed (S2404/Yes), the warning cancellation state is set to be ON (S2405), and the aforementioned warning processing such as making a warning sound and displaying a warning is cancelled (S2406); [0189], FIG. 25 is a flow chart showing a flow of the warning processing of the warning level 1 (S2011) including the warning information canceling function. Similarly to the warning level 2, the interference control part 311c enables the warning canceling button; (as shown, Figs. 23-25 returns to s2001 of Fig. 20 to determine the current state of the warning canceling button))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated while the object is in the selectable state, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a selection input corresponding to selection of the object; and in response to receiving the selection input, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the second user interface off of the first display as suggested in Morizane into Dirani. Doing so would be desirable because there is a demand for further improved safety (see Morizane [0002]). Safety can be secured by interference avoidance and the productivity can be improved as well (see Morizane [0012]). Context based cancelling functionality can prevent the user from canceling a warning when maximum level of attention to a warning is needed (see Morizane [0177]), thereby ensuring that user is successfully alerted to a safety issue. In this manner, with the function of canceling the warning information in the warning level 1 and the warning level 2 that do not require emergency avoidance, the user can concentrate on other operations (see Morizane [0198]). The system of Morizane would improve the system of Dirani by providing an easy to understand user interface that includes consistently displaying a flexible warning canceling button that is dependent on a safety context, such as low, moderate, and high emergency levels of avoidance (see Morizane [0167]). Consistently displaying the warning cancelling button across multiple states would better indicate to the user when warnings may or may not be cancelled, thereby leading to less user confusion and avoiding situations where the user may waste time searching for an desired cancel button that is not displayed.
Schneider further teaches:
in response to receiving the selection input, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, movement of the second user interface in a second direction opposite the first direction moving the second user interface off of the first display through the first edge of the first display (Schneider Figs. 1-5; [0039], FIGS. 5A-5C show screenshot examples of displaying content and notifications to a user, according to one embodiment. These examples each illustrate a display screen of a mobile device; [0040], FIG. 5B illustrates a notification 504 displayed in a notification area, partially obscuring the content 502 in the content area of the display screen. The notification 504 indicates that the user has 13 free articles remaining for access for the day. The notification 504 also provides two links for potential interaction by the user. The user may tap the "read article" link to dismiss the notification and return to the content. In another embodiment, the user may also perform an gesture in the content area to dismiss the notification and return to the content 502. The user may alternatively tap the "subscribe" link to subscribe to the content. The notification 504 displayed in the notification area in the Figure is one example representing any type of notification 504 that can be displayed in the notification area 504. Other embodiments may include a notification 504 conveying different information, or no information at all. In an embodiment, the notification 504 is displayed as an animation. For example, the notification 504 may be animated as sliding up from the bottom of the display screen, or by instantly or gradually materializing at the bottom of the display screen. Furthermore, if the user performs a gesture indicating that the notification should be dismissed, the notification 504 may be animated as sliding down beneath the bottom of the display screen, or sliding down to a minimized form at the bottom of the display screen, or the notification may disappear instantly or gradually; [0041], full message 506 may be animated as sliding up from the bottom of the display screen;)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have in response to receiving the selection input, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, movement of the second user interface in a second direction opposite the first direction moving the second user interface off of the first display through the first edge of the first display in Schneider into Dirani in view of Morizane. Doing so would be desirable because a notification or a reminder for a reader may be displayed while the reader is accessing content. Such a notification can be annoying for the user, who may not wish to view the notification at that time and may wish to return to the content (see Schneider [0002]). The above and other issues are addressed (see Schneider [0003]). The notifications of Schneider can be any type of notification 504 that can be displayed in the notification area 504 conveying different information (see Schneider [0040]). Additionally, the system of Schneider would improve the systems of Dirani and Morizane by providing an attractive and user friendly animation for displaying and dismissing notifications (see Schneider [0040]). Providing an animation of a notification moving on and off a screen would be less jarring and confusing to the user, thereby increasing user satisfaction.
Regarding claims 16 and 25, claims 16 and 25 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 7. Consequently, claims 16 and 25 are rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 8, 17, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dirani in view of Morizane in further view of Chun (US 20130111091 A1, published 05/02/2013).
Regarding claim 8, Dirani in view of Morizane teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
displaying the first user interface comprises displaying playback of first video content; and displaying the second user interface comprises displaying the second user interface while continuing display of the first video content (Dirani Figs. 1-9; [0057], Display 104 may visually display data including, but not limited to, graphical user interface (“GUI”) elements, text, images, video; [0074], Reference is now made to FIGS. 5A and 5B, which are schematic illustration of a user, without and with glasses, respectively, using device 100. FIG. 5A is an illustration of a user, using device 100 and bringing device 100 closer to his eyes, than a predetermined distance. Once device 100 gets too close to the user's face, glasses and/or eye, crosses a predetermined threshold, as illustrated in FIGS. 5A and 5B, processor 204 generates a notification; [0078], As indicated in block 500, processor 204 receives data, for example constantly or periodically, for example from camera 110. For example, processor 204 monitors, calculates and/or analyzes the distance between the user's face, glasses and/or eyes to device 100; [0080], As indicated in block 502, processor 204 may determine whether device 100 is held in a distance closer than a predetermined distance; As indicated in block 506, if processor 204 detects that the distance between device 100 and the user's face/eye is closer than a second predetermined distance, processor 204 may generate a notification alert (return to 502 shown); [0085], As indicated in block 512, processor 204 detects whether device 100 is held at the appropriate predetermined distance from the user face and/or eye. If device 100 is held at the appropriate distance, as indicated in block 514, processor 204 determines whether device 100 is held in the appropriate distance longer than a predetermined time. As indicated in block 516, in case device 100 is held in a proper distance longer than the predetermined time, processor 204 may then generate incentive points and/or rewards and send a notification about the incentive points and/or rewards to the user and/or supervisor. Otherwise, processor 204 may return to block 500. For example, the incentive points and/or rewards may be earned as described in the incentive program. As indicated in block 512, if processor 204 determines that the distance between device 100 and the user's face and/or eye is closer that the predetermined distance, processor 204 will return to block 500, i.e. monitor the distance and duration of use; [0093], FIG. 8 is a schematic illustration of a screen 150 shown on user's device 100; The user can then decide whether to trade the points into a voucher, through pressing a button 151 or save the points for a later use through pressing button 152)
However, Dirani in view of Morizane fails to expressly disclose displaying the first user interface comprises displaying playback of first video content; and displaying the second user interface comprises displaying the second user interface while continuing playback of the first video content. In the same field of endeavor, Chun teaches:
displaying the first user interface comprises displaying playback of first video content; and displaying the second user interface comprises displaying the second user interface while continuing playback of the first video content (Chun Figs. 1-4; [0021], The event can include call reception, message reception, and alarm generation. The event may refer to any event that may affect an app execution operation, because it is necessary to provide event-related information to the user through video signal or audio signal; [0022], while playing a video, the interrupt controlling unit 102 displays information indicating the reception of the call from caller A in a specified portion of the screen while continuing to play the video; [0042], The portable terminal plays a movie by executing a video player app by user's control. When receiving a call from a caller while playing the movie, the portable terminal displays information indicating the reception of a call from the caller in a bottom portion of a screen while continuing to play the movie; [0045], the portable terminal displays information indicating the reception of the message from the user A in a bottom portion of a screen, while continuing playing the movie; [0048], controlling a function for displaying information representing the event occurrence while continuing to execute the application)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated displaying the first user interface comprises displaying playback of first video content; and displaying the second user interface comprises displaying the second user interface while continuing playback of the first video content as suggested in Chun into Dirani in view of Morizane. Doing so would be desirable because when receiving an advertisement call or message during the execution of a video player app according to user's control, the portable terminal interrupts the execution of the video player app and executes an app corresponding to the advertisement call or message to provide information on the advertisement call or message to the user. Accordingly, the user is inconvenienced by the interruption of the apps due to the undesired advertisement calls or messages (see Chun [0005]). To address the above-discussed deficiencies of the prior art, it is a primary object to provide a method and an apparatus for minimizing the occurrence of an interrupt during the execution of an application in a portable terminal (see Chun [0006]). The event can include call reception, message reception, and alarm generation. The event may refer to any event that may affect an app execution operation, because it is necessary to provide event-related information to the user through video signal or audio signal (see Chun [0021]). When an event occurs during the execution of an application in a portable terminal, the present invention allows a user to select whether to interrupt the application, by providing information on the event occurrence to the user while maintaining the application execution state. Accordingly, the present disclosure can prevent the application from being interrupted by an event that is not desired by the user (see Chun [0055]).
Regarding claims 17 and 26, claims 17 and 26 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 8. Consequently, claims 17 and 26 are rejected for the same reasons.
Response to Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 10,12, 14, 15, 16, 19, 21, 23, 24, and 25. The previous objections to claims 1, 6, 10, 15, 19, and 24 are respectfully withdrawn. Regarding independent claim 1, the Applicant alleges that Dirani in view of Ledet as described in the previous Office action, does not explicitly teach in response to detecting that the computer system satisfies distance criteria relative to the face of the person, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a second user interface different from the first user interface, wherein the second user interface includes an object in an unselectable state; and subsequent to displaying the second user interface: in accordance with a determination that the computer system no longer satisfies the distance criteria relative to the face of the person, transitioning the object from the unselectable state to a selectable state, wherein the object is selectable to cease display of the second user interface while in the selectable state, as has been amended to the claim. Examiner has therefore rejected independent claim 1 under 35 U.S.C § 103 as unpatentable over Dirani in view of Morizane.
Similar arguments have been presented for claims 10 and 19 and thus, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons.
Applicant states that the dependent claims recite all the limitations of the independent claims, and thus, are allowable in view of the remarks set forth regarding the independent claims. However, as discussed above, Dirani in view of Morizane is considered to teach the independent claims, and consequently, the dependent claims are rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kumar (US 20100199199 A1) see Figs. 1-6 and [0019-0022].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN T REPSHER III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143