Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on Chinese Application CN202223212705.9 dated 05/21/2024 and applicant has filed a certified copy of this Chinese application on 02/24/2024. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date as follows: Figures 7-9 do not have support in Application CN202223212705.9.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, line 7, “the positioning pin” should read --the positioning pins--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “the at least one of the magnetic blocks has a rectangular structure”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Because Claim 1 recites “the electromagnetic bed body … includes magnetic blocks”. For the purpose of this examination this limitation is interpreted to be --at least one of the magnetic blocks has a rectangular structure--.
Claim 3 is rejected due to dependency on rejected claim 2.
Claim 4 recites “each positioning pin is placed into a hole in one of the magnetic blocks” which is indefinite. Because it is not clear how many positioning pins are placed into a hole of a single magnetic block.Claim 1 recites --at least one of the magnetic blocks … having a positioning pin protruding from the second top surface--.Examine suggests amending claim 4 as below to overcome this rejection:
--a respective positioning pin is placed into a hole of a respective magnetic block--.
Claims 5-7 are rejected due to dependency on rejected claim 4.
Claim 5 recites “at least one side of the bottom plate is held … by one of the positioning pins”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Because claim 1 recites “at least one of the magnetic blocks has … a positioning pin”. Therefore base on claim 1 the electromagnetic bed can have only one positioning pin.Amending claim 5 to --wherein each magnetic block has a respective positioning pin, wherein at least one side of the bottom plate is held at its circumferential surface by one of the positioning pins-- overcomes this rejection.
Claim 12 recites “each positioning pin is placed into a hole in the top surface of one of the plurality of magnetic blocks” which is indefinite. Because it is not clear how many positioning pins are placed into a hole of a single magnetic block of the plurality of magnetic blocks.Examine suggests amending claim 12 as below to overcome this rejection:
--each positioning pin is placed into a hole in the top surface of a respective magnetic block of the plurality of magnetic blocks --.
Claims 8-15 are rejected due to dependency on rejected claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 8, 10, 12-13, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (KR 101614218 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) an electromagnetic bed for a workpiece (object to be processed 20), comprising: an electromagnetic bed body (base 311) that is arranged horizontally, the electromagnetic bed body having a first top surface that includes magnetic blocks (magnetic blocks 313) that are arranged in a rectangular array, at least one of the magnetic blocks has a second top surface having a positioning pin (fixed pin 327) protruding from the second top surface; a bottom plate (bottom plate comprises seating portion 321 and cells 323) placed on the second top surface, the bottom plate engaging the positioning pin (positioning pin inserted into 323 of the bottom plate and the second top surface of the magnetic block); and a cover plate (pressure plate 325 of the magnetic extending jig 320) made of a magnetic material,
wherein the workpiece (20) can be placed between the bottom plate and the cover plate.
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) each positioning pin is placed into a hole (upper hole) in one of the magnetic blocks.
Regarding claims 5, 13 and 20, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) at least one side (lower side) of the bottom plate is held at its circumferential surface by one of the positioning pins.
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) an electromagnetic bed for a workpiece (object to be processed 20), comprising: an electromagnetic bed body (base 311) having a top surface that includes a plurality of magnetic blocks (magnetic blocks 313), each of the plurality of magnetic blocks has its own top surface, at least two of the magnetic blocks include a positioning pin (fixed pin 327) protruding therefrom, each of the plurality of magnetic blocks being coupled to the electromagnetic bed body; a bottom plate (bottom plate comprises seating portion 321 and cells 323) placed on the top surfaces of the magnetic blocks, the bottom plate engaging the positioning pin protruding from the magnetic blocks (positioning pin inserted into 323 of the bottom plate and the second top surface of the magnetic block); and a cover plate (pressure plate 325 of the magnetic extending jig 320) made of a magnetic material,
wherein the workpiece (20) can be placed between the bottom plate and the cover plate.
Regarding claims 12 and 19, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the top surface of each of the plurality of magnetic blocks has a hole, and each positioning pin is placed into a hole in the top surface of one/ at least two of the plurality of magnetic blocks.
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) an electromagnetic bed for a workpiece (object to be processed 20), comprising: an electromagnetic bed body (base 311) having a top surface that includes a plurality of magnetic blocks (magnetic blocks 313), the electromagnetic bed body has a plurality of installation slots, each of the plurality of installation slots receiving at least one magnetic block, at least two of the plurality of magnetic blocks has its own top surface that has a positioning pin (fixed pins 327) protruding therefrom, each of the plurality of magnetic blocks being coupled to the electromagnetic bed body; a bottom plate (bottom plate comprises seating portion 321 and cells 323) positioned proximate to the top surfaces of the magnetic blocks; and a cover plate (pressure plate 325 of the magnetic extending jig 320) made of a magnetic material, wherein the workpiece can be placed between the bottom plate and the cover plate, and the cover plate is drawn to the electromagnetic bed body to hold the workpiece and the bottom plate in place.
Regarding claims 10 and 18, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the bottom plate is made of a non-magnetic material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 9, 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Zheng (TW M598206 U).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the at least one of the magnetic blocks has a rectangular structure, the electromagnetic bed body is provided with a plurality of installation slots,
Zheng teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) an electromagnetic bed for a workpiece, comprising: an electromagnetic bed body (base main body 10) with magnetic blocks (magnetic conductive elements 20) that are arranged in a rectangular array, the at least one of the magnetic blocks being fixed in the electromagnetic bed body by a bolt (screw P for fixing purposes).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings of Zheng in device of Kim and removable attach the magnetic blocks to the magnetic bed body by bolt. Doing so would make it possible to remove the magnetic blocks for repair and/or replacement.
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Kim does not clearly show edges of the magnetic blocks.
Zheng shows (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) each of the magnetic blocks has a chamfered edge (lower edge).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to make lower edge of the magnetic blocks chamfered. Doing so would make their assembly easier and prevents damage to the sharp edges from the installation slots and damage to the installation slots from the blocks.
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the electromagnetic bed body has a plurality of installation slots, each of the plurality of installation slots receiving at least one magnetic block,
Zheng teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) an electromagnetic bed for a workpiece, comprising: an electromagnetic bed body (base main body 10) with magnetic blocks (magnetic conductive elements 20) that are arranged in a rectangular array, the at least one of the magnetic blocks being fixed in the electromagnetic bed body by a bolt (screw P for fixing purposes).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings of Zheng in device of Kim and removable attach the magnetic blocks to the magnetic bed body by bolt. Doing so would make it possible to remove the magnetic blocks for repair and/or replacement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-15 and 6-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 7 and 15 are allowable for disclosing “a positioning bar is located on a side of the cover plate or a side of the workpiece, and the positioning bar is provided with a positioning hole that can receive a positioning pin”.
The closest prior art to the claimed invention of claims 7 and 15 are Kim and Zheng. However combination of these references do not teach the claimed positioning bar.
Claims 6 and 14 are allowable “the bottom plate includes its own positioning pin, and the cover plate is arranged so that the positioning pin of the bottom plate extends into a hole in the cover plate”. However combination of these references do not teach the claimed cover plate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Babinot (US 12034182 B2) teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) an electromagnetic bed for a workpiece, comprising an electromagnetic bed body that is arranged horizontally, the electromagnetic bed body having a first top surface that includes magnetic blocks (22), a cover plate (24a) is arranged correspondingly with the electromagnetic bed body.
Wang (CN 106853589 A) teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) an electromagnetic clamp comprising: an electromagnetic bed body (1) that is arranged horizontally, the electromagnetic bed body having a first top surface that includes magnetic blocks (square guide magnetic pads 2) that are arranged in a rectangular array; and a cover plate (pressing plate 5) made of a magnetic material.
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723