DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4-14 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot be dependent on another multiple dependent claim. Claim 3 is a prior multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, claims 4-14 have not been further treated on the merits. Art rejections are not applied to claims 4-14, some formalities are addressed regarding these claims for completeness and to better further prosecution. Applicant may refer to office actions in the parent applications 16/098060 and 17/490689.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the flange of the lower jackscrew, the fix stop edge, the dosing mechanisms, the circumferential ratchet portion, recess and protrusion recited in claims 1, 13, and 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Da and Db. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because in Fig. 4 the lower Ds is believed to be Dp, in Figure 10 the indicator for 10 appears to be pointing to the incorrect member. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 7 lines 23-24 “lower jackscrew (6)” should be “lower jackscrew (5)”
Page 9 lines 25 “intermediate sleeve (11)” should be “spindle (10)”
Appropriate correction is required.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words in length. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 2 are objected to because of the following informalities: the individual clauses in the claims should not be capitalized, claim 1 further ends in a comma. The reference to “Claim 1” in claim 2 should not be capitalized. Claim 2 has a period prior to the end of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 3 recites “the cartridge hoder” there is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and “hoder” should be “holder”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 7 recites “a threaded traveler (5)” this is believed to be “(15)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 12 recites “in form of a tube” grammar correction is needed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 14 recites “lower jackscrew (6)” this is believed to be “(5)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the dosing mechanisms in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 2 recites “the dosing mechanisms” the specification at the time of filing does not provide adequate structure to perform the claims function of dosing. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The Examiner notes there are numerous issues with the claims, Applicant is encouraged to thoroughly review the claim language for consistency and proper formatting.
Claim 1 recites the jackscrew is rotatable around a primary axis 16 and stationary along said primary axis. The claim does not recite any specific direction along the axis which the jackscrew is stationary. It is unclear how the Applicant is trying to claim the jackscrew as both rotatable and stationary. For purposes of rejection the Examiner is interpreting the claims such that when the jackscrew is not rotating it is considered stationary. Claim 3 recites “a mainly tubular lower bearing (4) and a longitudinal axis (16) these are previously recited in claim 1, for purposes of the rejection they are taken as the same members as recited in claim 1 and not additional members. Claim 4 recites “a liquid pharmaceutical product (3) this is previously recited in claim 1, for purposes of the rejection this is taken as the same member as recited in claim 1 and not an additional member. Claim 7 recites “a longitudinal primary axis (16) this is previously recited in claim 1, for purposes of the rejection this is taken as the same member as recited in claim 1 and not an additional member. Claim 8 recites the pitch of threads of 10 is smaller than the pitch of thread of 8, however claim 1 recited the pitch of the threads of 10 to be greater. It is not clear if these are the same or different threads. For purposes of examination they are taken as different threads.
Claim 1 recites the limitations "to transversal section" in line 5, "of spindle (10)" in line 11 and later “a threaded mainly cylindrical spindle (10) in line 17, "the lower bearing (4)" in line 13, and "the flange" in line 16. Claim 2 recites the limitations "the dosing mechanisms" in line 8 and "the stop edge" in line 10. Claim 3 recites the limitation "the cartridge hoder" in line 4. Claims 5 and 6 recite the limitation "the number sleeve" in line 2. Claim 7 recites the limitation "the intermediate sleeve" in line 2. Claim 8 recites the limitation "the traveler" in line 2. Claim 9 recites the limitation "the number sleeve" in line 2. Claim 10 recites the limitations "the intermediate sleeve" in line 2 and "the dial grip" in line 2. Claim 14 recites the limitation "the intermediate sleeve" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim limitation “the dosing mechanisms” in claim 2 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. In particular, the specification merely states the claimed function of dosing but no explicit structure is recited to perform the dosing. The use of the term mechanism is no adequate structure for performing dosing because it does not describe a particular structure for performing the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saiki (US 2007/0244436 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Saiki teaches a liquid pharmaceuticals delivery device (18) comprising a mainly cylindrical main body (1) (Fig. 1 member 1), a cartridge (3) having a mainly cylindrical inner cavity with a volumetric capacity for accommodating multiple doses of a liquid pharmaceutical (Fig. 2 member 3), the cartridge (3) comprising a first end for receiving a plunger (7) (Fig. 2 member 8) and a second end for liquid pharmaceutical extraction (Fig. 1 at 5); the plunger (7) having a circumferential portion shaped and sized to correspond to transversal section of the cartridge (3) (Fig. 2), the device is characterized by further comprising: a jackscrew (55) (Fig. 2 member 25) comprising a threaded lower jackscrew (5) and a threaded upper jackscrew (6) integrated to each other (lower portion below 24 upper portion 24), the jackscrew (55) being rotatable around a primary axis (16) of the cylindrical main body (1) and stationary along said primary axis (16) (see at least [0074], stationary when not moving), a threaded plunger rod (8) integrated to the plunger (7) and having a thread diameter (Dp) (Fig. 2 member 26), which is smaller than the thread diameter (Ds) of spindle (10) (Fig. 2 member 23), corresponding to the thread diameter of the lower jackscrew (5) (Fig. 2), the plunger rod (8) being in threaded communication with the lower jackscrew (5) (Fig. 2) and moving inside the lower bearing (4) (Fig. 2 member 27, [0088]), wherein lower bearing (4) together with plunger rod (8), and upper/lower jackscrews (5, 6) stays in permanent contact with the cartridge during dose setting and delivery (components are always in contact via overall device structures) in order to guarantee the dosing accuracy as the force transmission to the cartridge (3) and plunger rod (8) is supported by the flange of lower jackscrew (5) and the lower bearing (4) (Fig. 2 a thread of 25 is taken as the flange which supports the plunger rod as does 27), independent from the main body (1), a threaded mainly cylindrical spindle (10) having a thread diameter (Ds), which is greater than the thread diameter (Dp) of the plunger rod (8) (Fig. 2 member 23), corresponding to the thread diameter of the upper jackscrew (6), the spindle (10) being in threaded communication with the upper jackscrew (6) (Fig. 7) wherein the threads on the spindle (10) and the threads on the plunger rod (8) are working in the same rotational direction in order to reduce the operational friction and the threads on the spindle (10) have a pitch distance greater than a pitch distance of the threads on the plunger rod (8) (Fig. 2), a button (12) engageable with the spindle (10) (Fig. 2 member 28), by one thereof having a recess and the other having a protrusion matching said recess along a direction parallel to the primary axis of the spindle (10) (Fig. 5 protrusion in 28 and recess in 23), and a resilient means (17) normally keeping the button ( 12) in a disengaged position from the spindle (10), wherein said recess and protrusion are kept away from each other by the resilient means (17), and the engaged position is available by pushing and moving the button (12) against the force of the resilient means (17) ([0100] spring can be used as part of the clutch mechanism further the clutch mechanism inherently allows the button to engage and disengage).
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,135,373. This is a statutory double patenting rejection. There is only a slight difference in wording due to corrections made in the patent to address objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Claim 1 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,135,373. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent are more specific and teach each and every limitation.
Claim 1 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,986,640. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent are more specific and teach each and every limitation.
Conclusion
/EMILY L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783