DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/24/2025 and 10/10/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the periodic timestamped snapshots" in lines 4-5.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US2012/0054444) in view of Noronha et al. (US2015/0379035).
With respect claim 1, Wang teaches maintaining, at a first compute replica of a set of compute replicas, page statistics associated with requests to read or write pages, the requests handled by the first compute replica (see Fig. 3 and paragraphs 41-42 and 49; cache 152 (i.e., caches 152-1 – 152-3) comprises example entries 302, 304, 306, and 308, each of which comprises an example key field 310, a data field 312, a timestamp field 314, and a usage frequency field 316… usage frequency field 316 specifies a count of a number of times that the key 310 and/or the data 312 in the same entry in the cache 152 were accessed (read or written));
providing, to a first page server that serves a first page, a first subset of the page statistics comprising page statistics associated with the first page and an identifier of the first page (see paragraph 43; primary server computer system 100-1 receives, the key, data, timestamp, and usage frequency information from all of the replica server computer systems and stores the key, data value, timestamp, and usage frequency information to new entries in the cache 152-1 at the primary server computer system 100-1 or updates pre-existing entries in the cache 152-1 with the received timestamp and usage frequency data);
determining that the second page is missing from a cache of the first compute replica (see paragraph 50; If the determination at block 515 is false, then the received key is not contained in the cache 152 the replica server (i.e., data is not present in cache of replica) at, so control continues to block 530 where the replica server sends a request to the primary server computer system 100-1 that comprises the received key and requests to receive the data in the database identified by the received key); and
obtaining, from the first page server, the second page for caching at the first compute replica (see paragraphs 50-51; If the received key is not in the cache 152-1 at the primary server computer system 100-1, then the primary server computer system 100-1 finds a row in the database 154 with a key that matches the received key, reads the data in that matching row from the database 154, and stores the received key and the read data into the cache 152-1 at the primary server computer system 100-1… The primary server computer system 100-1 then sends the received key and data (either read from the database 154 and stored in the cache 152-1 or read from the pre-existing data and matching key in the cache 152-1) to all replica servers).
Wang does not explicitly teach receiving, from the first page server, a first set of aggregate page statistics comprising, for a second page served by the first page server, an identifier of the second page and an aggregate page access frequency of the second page by the set of compute replicas.
However, Noronha et al. teaches wherein home site 410 maintains statistics 403 of the hotness of F. The hotness of a file or set of files may be based on writes coming to the file and also on the reads from different cache sites and also having multiple users over a period of time (see paragraphs 44-45) … cache site shares access patterns with the home site (block 801). In block 801, the cache site may receive table T″, which identifies reads and writes for a predetermined period of time, P. The cache site combines access information from the home site with local access information (block 802) (see paragraphs 46 and 88).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Wang to include the above mentioned to improve data processing devices (see Noronha, paragraphs 1, 48 and 94).
With respect claim 8, Wang a processor (see Fig. 1 and 19; processor 101); and
a memory device comprising program code structured to cause the processor to (see Fig. 1, paragraphs 18-19; main memory 102 stores or encodes programs 150… the programs 150 comprise programs, instructions, or statements that execute on the processor 101):
maintain, at a first compute replica of a set of compute replicas, page statistics associated with requests to read or write pages, the requests handled by the first compute replica (see Fig. 3 and paragraphs 41-42 and 49; cache 152 (i.e., caches 152-1 – 152-3) comprises example entries 302, 304, 306, and 308, each of which comprises an example key field 310, a data field 312, a timestamp field 314, and a usage frequency field 316… usage frequency field 316 specifies a count of a number of times that the key 310 and/or the data 312 in the same entry in the cache 152 were accessed (read or written));
provide, to a first page server that serves a first page, a first subset of the page statistics comprising page statistics associated with the first page and an identifier of the first page (see paragraph 43; primary server computer system 100-1 receives, the key, data, timestamp, and usage frequency information from all of the replica server computer systems and stores the key, data value, timestamp, and usage frequency information to new entries in the cache 152-1 at the primary server computer system 100-1 or updates pre-existing entries in the cache 152-1 with the received timestamp and usage frequency data);
determine that the second page is missing from a cache of the first compute replica (see paragraph 50; If the determination at block 515 is false, then the received key is not contained in the cache 152 the replica server (i.e., data is not present in cache of replica) at, so control continues to block 530 where the replica server sends a request to the primary server computer system 100-1 that comprises the received key and requests to receive the data in the database identified by the received key); and
obtain, from the first page server, the second page for caching at the first compute replica (see paragraphs 50-51; If the received key is not in the cache 152-1 at the primary server computer system 100-1, then the primary server computer system 100-1 finds a row in the database 154 with a key that matches the received key, reads the data in that matching row from the database 154, and stores the received key and the read data into the cache 152-1 at the primary server computer system 100-1… The primary server computer system 100-1 then sends the received key and data (either read from the database 154 and stored in the cache 152-1 or read from the pre-existing data and matching key in the cache 152-1) to all replica servers).
Wang does not explicitly teach receive, from the first page server, a first set of aggregate page statistics comprising, for a second page served by the first page server, an identifier of the second page and an aggregate page access frequency of the second page by the set of compute replicas.
However, Noronha et al. teaches wherein home site 410 maintains statistics 403 of the hotness of F. The hotness of a file or set of files may be based on writes coming to the file and also on the reads from different cache sites and also having multiple users over a period of time (see paragraph 44)… cache site shares access patterns with the home site (block 801). In block 801, the cache site may receive table T″, which identifies reads and writes for a predetermined period of time, P. The cache site combines access information from the home site with local access information (block 802) (see paragraph 88).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Wang to include the above mentioned to improve data processing devices (see Noronha, paragraphs 1 and 94).
With respect claim 15, Wang teaches maintain, at a first compute replica of a set of compute replicas, page statistics associated with requests to read or write pages, the requests handled by the first compute replica (see Fig. 3 and paragraphs 41-42 and 49; cache 152 (i.e., caches 152-1 – 152-3) comprises example entries 302, 304, 306, and 308, each of which comprises an example key field 310, a data field 312, a timestamp field 314, and a usage frequency field 316… usage frequency field 316 specifies a count of a number of times that the key 310 and/or the data 312 in the same entry in the cache 152 were accessed (read or written));
provide, to a first page server that serves a first page, a first subset of the page statistics comprising page statistics associated with the first page and an identifier of the first page (see paragraph 43; primary server computer system 100-1 receives, the key, data, timestamp, and usage frequency information from all of the replica server computer systems and stores the key, data value, timestamp, and usage frequency information to new entries in the cache 152-1 at the primary server computer system 100-1 or updates pre-existing entries in the cache 152-1 with the received timestamp and usage frequency data);
determine that the second page is missing from a cache of the first compute replica (see paragraph 50; If the determination at block 515 is false, then the received key is not contained in the cache 152 the replica server (i.e., data is not present in cache of replica) at, so control continues to block 530 where the replica server sends a request to the primary server computer system 100-1 that comprises the received key and requests to receive the data in the database identified by the received key); and
obtain, from the first page server, the second page for caching at the first compute replica (see paragraphs 50-51; If the received key is not in the cache 152-1 at the primary server computer system 100-1, then the primary server computer system 100-1 finds a row in the database 154 with a key that matches the received key, reads the data in that matching row from the database 154, and stores the received key and the read data into the cache 152-1 at the primary server computer system 100-1… The primary server computer system 100-1 then sends the received key and data (either read from the database 154 and stored in the cache 152-1 or read from the pre-existing data and matching key in the cache 152-1) to all replica servers).
Wang does not explicitly teach receive, from the first page server, a first set of aggregate page statistics comprising, for a second page served by the first page server, an identifier of the second page and an aggregate page access frequency of the second page by the set of compute replicas.
However, Noronha et al. teaches wherein home site 410 maintains statistics 403 of the hotness of F. The hotness of a file or set of files may be based on writes coming to the file and also on the reads from different cache sites and also having multiple users over a period of time (see paragraph 44)… cache site shares access patterns with the home site (block 801). In block 801, the cache site may receive table T″, which identifies reads and writes for a predetermined period of time, P. The cache site combines access information from the home site with local access information (block 802) (see paragraph 88).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medium taught by Wang to include the above mentioned to improve data processing devices (see Noronha, paragraphs 1 and 94).
Claim(s) 2, 4-5, 9, 11-12, 16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US2012/0054444) and Noronha et al. (US2015/0379035) as applied to claim 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Kuwayama (US2014/0297950).
With respect claim 2, Wang and Noronha et al. do not teach wherein said maintaining, at a first compute replica of a set of compute replicas, page statistics comprises: creating, for requests to read or write pages, access entries in a first buffer; periodically generating a snapshot of the first buffer, the periodic timestamped snapshots comprising access entries created since a preceding snapshot; generating, based on the timestamped snapshot, timestamped access counts for the pages accessed by the requests since the preceding snapshot; and storing the timestamped access counts in a second buffer.
However, Kuwayama teaches maintaining, at a first compute replica of a set of compute replicas, page statistics comprises: creating, for requests to read or write pages, access entries in a first buffer (see paragraphs 69, 79 and 161; data accesses performed are gathered and maintain in I/O periodic table 37); periodically generating a snapshot of the first buffer, the periodic timestamped snapshots comprising access entries created since a preceding snapshot (see paragraph 161-162; I/O server 18 aggregates input/output (I/O) at certain intervals (period) (that is, the number of read accesses and the number of write accesses) in a period of time set in advance by the unit of disk in the storage device 25 and stores the result in the disk I/O periodic table 37. When this certain interval (period) is operations for a unit of a week… volume management server 15 collects the disk I/O periodic tables 37 from all the I/O servers 18 at predetermined time (i.e., after the predetermined time passes data collected is sent to server 15);
generating, based on the timestamped snapshot, timestamped access counts for the pages accessed by the requests since the preceding snapshot (see paragraph 161-162; volume management server 15 aggregates the number of read accesses and the number of write accesses of the disk of the storage device at every time by using the collected all the disk I/O periodic tables 37 and creates the I/O periodic table 33 (i.e., periodic table 33 is generated based on the data collected from servers 18); and
storing the timestamped access counts in a second buffer (see paragraph 69, 161-162; volume management server 15 aggregates the number of read accesses and the number of write accesses of the disk of the storage device at every time by using the collected all the disk I/O periodic tables 37 and creates the I/O periodic table 33 (i.e., access counts collected are stored/maintained in periodic table 33; wherein storage unit 15c stores periodic table 33)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Wang and Noronha et al. to include the above mentioned so that performances of input/output of the storage system are improved (see Kuwayama, paragraph 46).
With respect claim 4, Wang and Noronha et al. do not teach wherein the first set of aggregate page statistics comprises estimated page access frequencies determined based at least on the subset of timestamped access counts and a predetermined decay rate.
However, Kuwayama teaches wherein the volume management server 15 collects the disk I/O periodic tables 37 from all the I/O servers 18 and creates the I/O periodic table 33… After the calculation of the access load, the volume management server 15 calculates an average value of the access loads to the three storage devices A, B, and C (see paragraph 169-170). The volume management server 15 calculates the difference between the access load of each of the storage devices 25 and the average value (see paragraph 172).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Wang and Noronha et al. to include the above mentioned so that performances of input/output of the storage system are improved (see Kuwayama, paragraph 46).
With respect claim 5, Wang and Noronha et al. do not teach wherein said providing, to a first page server that serves the first page, a first subset of the page statistics is performed responsive to at least one of: determining that a utilization of the second buffer satisfies a predetermined utilization threshold; or determining that a time elapsed since a previous providing of page statistics to the first page server satisfies a predetermined periodicity condition.
However, Kuwayama teaches I/O server 18 aggregates input/output (I/O) at certain intervals (period) (that is, the number of read accesses and the number of write accesses) in a period of time set in advance by the unit of disk in the storage device 25 and stores the result in the disk I/O periodic table 37. When this certain interval (period) is operations for a unit of a week, the I/O server 18 can aggregate input/output in one week… The volume management server 15 collects the disk I/O periodic tables 37 from all the I/O servers 18 at predetermined time (i.e., access counts are sent to server 15 after the set period passes) (see paragraph 161-162).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Wang and Noronha et al. to include the above mentioned so that performances of input/output of the storage system are improved (see Kuwayama, paragraph 46).
With respect claim 9, Wang and Noronha et al. do not teach wherein, to maintain page statistics at a first compute replica of a set of compute replicas, the program code is structured to cause the processor to: create, for requests to read or write pages, access entries in a first buffer; periodically generate a timestamped snapshot of the first buffer, the timestamped snapshots comprising access entries created since a preceding snapshot; generate, based on the timestamped snapshot, timestamped access counts for the pages accessed by the requests since the preceding snapshot; and store the timestamped access counts in a second buffer.
However, Kuwayama teaches create, for requests to read or write pages, access entries in a first buffer (see paragraphs 69, 79 and 161; data accesses performed are gathered and maintain in I/O periodic table 37); periodically generate a timestamped snapshot of the first buffer, the timestamped snapshots comprising access entries created since a preceding snapshot (see paragraph 161-162; I/O server 18 aggregates input/output (I/O) at certain intervals (period) (that is, the number of read accesses and the number of write accesses) in a period of time set in advance by the unit of disk in the storage device 25 and stores the result in the disk I/O periodic table 37. When this certain interval (period) is operations for a unit of a week… volume management server 15 collects the disk I/O periodic tables 37 from all the I/O servers 18 at predetermined time (i.e., after the predetermined time passes data collected is sent to server 15);
generate, based on the timestamped snapshot, timestamped access counts for the pages accessed by the requests since the preceding snapshot (see paragraph 161-162; volume management server 15 aggregates the number of read accesses and the number of write accesses of the disk of the storage device at every time by using the collected all the disk I/O periodic tables 37 and creates the I/O periodic table 33 (i.e., periodic table 33 is generated based on the data collected from servers 18); and
store the timestamped access counts in a second buffer (see paragraph 69, 161-162; volume management server 15 aggregates the number of read accesses and the number of write accesses of the disk of the storage device at every time by using the collected all the disk I/O periodic tables 37 and creates the I/O periodic table 33 (i.e., access counts collected are stored/maintained in periodic table 33; wherein storage unit 15c stores periodic table 33)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Wang and Noronha et al. to include the above mentioned so that performances of input/output of the storage system are improved (see Kuwayama, paragraph 46).
With respect claim 11, Wang and Noronha et al. do not teach wherein the first set of aggregate page statistics comprises estimated page access frequencies determined based at least on the subset of timestamped access counts and a predetermined decay rate.
However, Kuwayama teaches wherein the volume management server 15 collects the disk I/O periodic tables 37 from all the I/O servers 18 and creates the I/O periodic table 33… After the calculation of the access load, the volume management server 15 calculates an average value of the access loads to the three storage devices A, B, and C (see paragraph 169-170). The volume management server 15 calculates the difference between the access load of each of the storage devices 25 and the average value (see paragraph 172).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Wang and Noronha et al. to include the above mentioned so that performances of input/output of the storage system are improved (see Kuwayama, paragraph 46).
With respect claim 12, Wang and Noronha et al. do not teach wherein said wherein the program code is structured to cause the processor to provide, to a first page server that serves the first page, a first subset of the page statistics is performed responsive to at least one of: determining that a utilization of the second buffer satisfies a predetermined utilization threshold; or determining that a time elapsed since a previous providing of page statistics to the first page server satisfies a predetermined periodicity condition.
However, Kuwayama teaches I/O server 18 aggregates input/output (I/O) at certain intervals (period) (that is, the number of read accesses and the number of write accesses) in a period of time set in advance by the unit of disk in the storage device 25 and stores the result in the disk I/O periodic table 37. When this certain interval (period) is operations for a unit of a week, the I/O server 18 can aggregate input/output in one week… The volume management server 15 collects the disk I/O periodic tables 37 from all the I/O servers 18 at predetermined time (i.e., access counts are sent to server 15 after the set period passes) (see paragraph 161-162).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Wang and Noronha et al. to include the above mentioned so that performances of input/output of the storage system are improved (see Kuwayama, paragraph 46).
With respect claim 16, Wang and Noronha et al. do not teach wherein, to maintain page statistics at a first compute replica of a set of compute replicas, the execution instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: create, for requests to read or write pages, access entries in a first buffer; periodically generate a timestamped snapshot of the first buffer, the timestamped snapshots comprising access entries created since a preceding snapshot; generate, based on the timestamped snapshot, timestamped access counts for the pages accessed by the requests since the preceding snapshot; and store the timestamped access counts in a second buffer.
However, Kuwayama teaches create, for requests to read or write pages, access entries in a first buffer (see paragraphs 69, 79 and 161; data accesses performed are gathered and maintain in I/O periodic table 37); periodically generate a timestamped snapshot of the first buffer, the timestamped snapshots comprising access entries created since a preceding snapshot (see paragraph 161-162; I/O server 18 aggregates input/output (I/O) at certain intervals (period) (that is, the number of read accesses and the number of write accesses) in a period of time set in advance by the unit of disk in the storage device 25 and stores the result in the disk I/O periodic table 37. When this certain interval (period) is operations for a unit of a week… volume management server 15 collects the disk I/O periodic tables 37 from all the I/O servers 18 at predetermined time (i.e., after the predetermined time passes data collected is sent to server 15);
generate, based on the timestamped snapshot, timestamped access counts for the pages accessed by the requests since the preceding snapshot (see paragraph 161-162; volume management server 15 aggregates the number of read accesses and the number of write accesses of the disk of the storage device at every time by using the collected all the disk I/O periodic tables 37 and creates the I/O periodic table 33 (i.e., periodic table 33 is generated based on the data collected from servers 18); and
store the timestamped access counts in a second buffer (see paragraph 69, 161-162; volume management server 15 aggregates the number of read accesses and the number of write accesses of the disk of the storage device at every time by using the collected all the disk I/O periodic tables 37 and creates the I/O periodic table 33 (i.e., access counts collected are stored/maintained in periodic table 33; wherein storage unit 15c stores periodic table 33)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medium taught by Wang and Noronha et al. to include the above mentioned so that performances of input/output of the storage system are improved (see Kuwayama, paragraph 46).
With respect claim 18, Wang and Noronha et al. do not teach wherein the first set of aggregate page statistics comprises estimated page access frequencies determined based at least on the subset of timestamped access counts and a predetermined decay rate.
However, Kuwayama teaches wherein the volume management server 15 collects the disk I/O periodic tables 37 from all the I/O servers 18 and creates the I/O periodic table 33… After the calculation of the access load, the volume management server 15 calculates an average value of the access loads to the three storage devices A, B, and C (see paragraph 169-170). The volume management server 15 calculates the difference between the access load of each of the storage devices 25 and the average value (see paragraph 172).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Wang and Noronha et al. to include the above mentioned so that performances of input/output of the storage system are improved (see Kuwayama, paragraph 46).
With respect claim 19, Wang and Noronha et al. do not teach wherein the executable instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to provide, to a first page server that serves the first page, a first subset of the page statistics is performed responsive to at least one of: determining that a utilization of the second buffer satisfies a predetermined utilization threshold; or determining that a time elapsed since a previous providing of page statistics to the first page server satisfies a predetermined periodicity condition.
However, Kuwayama teaches I/O server 18 aggregates input/output (I/O) at certain intervals (period) (that is, the number of read accesses and the number of write accesses) in a period of time set in advance by the unit of disk in the storage device 25 and stores the result in the disk I/O periodic table 37. When this certain interval (period) is operations for a unit of a week, the I/O server 18 can aggregate input/output in one week… The volume management server 15 collects the disk I/O periodic tables 37 from all the I/O servers 18 at predetermined time (i.e., access counts are sent to server 15 after the set period passes) (see paragraph 161-162).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medium taught by Wang and Noronha et al. to include the above mentioned so that performances of input/output of the storage system are improved (see Kuwayama, paragraph 46).
Claim(s) 3, 10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US2012/0054444), Noronha et al. (US2015/0379035) and Kuwayama (US2014/0297950) as applied to claims 1-2, 8-9 and 15-16 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2020/0133668).
With respect claim 3, Wang, Noronha et al. and Kuwayama do not teach wherein said providing, to a first page server that serves a first page, a first subset of the page statistics comprises: determining a page range served by the first page server; determining a subset of the timestamped access counts associated with pages within the page range; and providing, to the first page server, the subset of timestamped access counts associated with pages within the page range.
However, Chen et al. teaches the data storage optimization solution generates a hot spot list, which may take the form of a table and may include rows for address ranges for volume pages and columns for tracking update frequencies and update timestamps for changes made to corresponding address ranges (see paragraph 69) … groups pages (address ranges) for write requests having similar or common transfer statistics... In block 608, the process 600A assigns, at the target site (e.g., within the C module 502B), a unique non-volatile memory express (NVMe) stream identifier (ID) to each of the groups. As shown in FIG. 7, a column 708 illustrates, e.g., the same stream ID assigned to address ranges corresponding to pages 1, 4, and 5 since their transfer statistics in columns 704 and 706 reveal similar update frequency statistics. he process 600A, for each of the groups, sends the stream ID and data for each write request of the group to the D module 502C of the target site (see paragraphs 73-74).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Wang, Noronha et al. and Kuwayama to include the above mentioned to improve I/O performance (see Chen, paragraph 57).
With respect claim 10, Wang, Noronha et al. and Kuwayama do not teach wherein, to provide, to a first page server that serves a first page, a first subset of the page statistics, the program code is instructed to cause the processor to: determine a page range served by the first page server; determine a subset of the timestamped access counts associated with pages within the page range; and provide, to the first page server, the subset of timestamped access counts associated with pages within the page range.
However, Chen et al. teaches the data storage optimization solution generates a hot spot list, which may take the form of a table and may include rows for address ranges for volume pages and columns for tracking update frequencies and update timestamps for changes made to corresponding address ranges (see paragraph 69) … groups pages (address ranges) for write requests having similar or common transfer statistics... In block 608, the process 600A assigns, at the target site (e.g., within the C module 502B), a unique non-volatile memory express (NVMe) stream identifier (ID) to each of the groups. As shown in FIG. 7, a column 708 illustrates, e.g., the same stream ID assigned to address ranges corresponding to pages 1, 4, and 5 since their transfer statistics in columns 704 and 706 reveal similar update frequency statistics. he process 600A, for each of the groups, sends the stream ID and data for each write request of the group to the D module 502C of the target site (see paragraphs 73-74).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Wang, Noronha et al. and Kuwayama to include the above mentioned to improve I/O performance (see Chen, paragraph 57).
With respect claim 17, Wang, Noronha et al. and Kuwayama do not teach wherein, to provide, to a first page server that serves a first page, a first subset of the page statistics, the executable instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: determine a page range served by the first page server; determine a subset of the timestamped access counts associated with pages within the page range; and provide, to the first page server, the subset of timestamped access counts associated with pages within the page range.
However, Chen et al. teaches the data storage optimization solution generates a hot spot list, which may take the form of a table and may include rows for address ranges for volume pages and columns for tracking update frequencies and update timestamps for changes made to corresponding address ranges (see paragraph 69) … groups pages (address ranges) for write requests having similar or common transfer statistics... In block 608, the process 600A assigns, at the target site (e.g., within the C module 502B), a unique non-volatile memory express (NVMe) stream identifier (ID) to each of the groups. As shown in FIG. 7, a column 708 illustrates, e.g., the same stream ID assigned to address ranges corresponding to pages 1, 4, and 5 since their transfer statistics in columns 704 and 706 reveal similar update frequency statistics. he process 600A, for each of the groups, sends the stream ID and data for each write request of the group to the D module 502C of the target site (see paragraphs 73-74).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medium taught by Wang, Noronha et al. and Kuwayama to include the above mentioned to improve I/O performance (see Chen, paragraph 57).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 13-14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Matsuzawa et al. (US 9,766,824) teaches when the host virtual machine 325b wishes to read the chunk P421 in the volume 340, even if the data replica of the chunk P421 is stored in the disk cache 325a of the host virtual machine 325a (if P (423) exists in the disk cache 325a), the host virtual machine 325b cannot directly read the data P (423) stored in the disk cache 325a. In such case, the data P (423) is temporarily copied to the disk cache 226 (replica chunk P (422)) of the integrated storage system 110, and then the host virtual machine 325b reads the data copied to the disk cache 226 (see column 5-38).
/ARACELIS RUIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2139