Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hawkins et al. (United States Patent Application Publication US 2022/0374402), hereinafter Hawkins.
Regarding claim 1, Hawkins teaches a system, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, facilitate performance of operations ([0051] “computer systems 120 includes any type or quantity of one or more processors and one or more data storage devices comprising memory for storing and executing application or software modules of networked computing system environment.”), comprising:
ordering a set of customer information questionnaire (CIQ) files according to time stamps of the CIQ files ([0090] “the data aggregation component 304 aggregates the asset data 314 from the one or more data sources 316. For instance, in one or more embodiments, the data aggregation component 304 aggregates the asset data 314 into a contextualized time series database 318.” A contextualized time series database is data sequenced or collected at successive points in time, which is interpreted as according to time stamps of the CIQ files. Since a file is a collection of data, as the data is stored in the database in time series, the data in the database is interpreted as a file. Also, the data includes various data of configuration associated with edge devices as disclosed in [0088].),
wherein the CIQ files specify configurations for deployment of a cloud computing service ([0088], [0124] “the data aggregation component 304 is configured to trigger service deployment with respect to one or more applications and/or one or more services across one or more environments associated with the public cloud application 317 and/or the private cloud application 321.” The service deployment is based on the asset data, which is aggregated by the data aggregation component.); and
based on the ordering, generating a consolidated CIQ file that comprises a consolidated set of the configurations defining deployment criteria for the cloud computing service ([0111] “an action from the one or more actions includes providing an optimal process condition for an asset associated with the asset data 314…an action from the one or more actions includes adjusting a set-point and/or a schedule for an asset associated with the asset data 314. In another embodiment, an action from the one or more actions includes one or more corrective action to take for an asset associated with the asset data 314. In another embodiment, an action from the one or more actions includes providing an optimal maintenance option for an asset associated with the asset data 314. In another embodiment, an action from the one or more actions includes predicting, based on the one or more insights, one or more conditions for the one or more assets... an action associated with the application services layer 225, the applications layer 230, and/or the core services layer 235.” As disclosed in the [0111], FIG. 11 and 12, based on the analyzing of the contextualized time series data, an action is performed. As the action is performed, a file must be generated. Furthermore, the action includes various configurations to control the functions and aspects of assets in the cloud environment and cloud services.).
Regarding claim 2, Hawkins teaches wherein the operations further comprise: reading metadata associated with the consolidated CIQ file; and via cloud computing equipment, deploying a cloud computing service according to the consolidated CIQ file ([0109], [0111]).
Regarding claim 4, Hawkins teaches wherein the operations further comprise: comparing different types of the configurations of the CIQ files to one another; and generating the consolidated set of the configurations based on a result of the comparing ([0111] “an action from the one or more actions includes providing an optimal process condition for an asset associated with the asset data 314…an action from the one or more actions includes one or more corrective action to take for an asset associated with the asset data…providing an optimal maintenance option for an asset associated with the asset data… the data aggregation component 304 updates one or more attributes based on a quality score associated with the one or more insights.” As the optimal actions are performed, the various actions must be compared to optimized the action to be performed.).
Regarding claim 5, Hawkins teaches wherein the operations further comprise: comparing different types of the configurations of the CIQ files to historical types of historical configurations and historical deployment results that are based on the historical configurations; and generating the consolidated set of the configurations based on a result of the comparing ([0150] “the correlating the attributes of the contextualized time series data comprising correlating the attributes of the contextualized time series data based on the metadata.” Based on the various data in time series, which is historical types, the attributes of the data are correlated. Furthermore, as discussed above, the contextualized time series data includes various different type of devices and different types of data. The action is determined based on the correlation between various asset data including different type of devices and different types of data in time series.).
H
Regarding claim 8, Hawkins teaches wherein the operations further comprise: obtaining runtime properties associated with second cloud computing service that has already been deployed; and as part of the generating, applying the runtime properties to the configuration of the CIQ files, resulting in the consolidated set of the configurations ([0088] “The asset data 314 includes, for example, sensor data, site data (e.g., specific site data for a respective asset infrastructure 303a-n), real-time data, live property value data, historical data, event data, process data, operational data, fault data, asset infrastructure data, connected building data, location data, and/or other data associated with the edge devices 161a-161n…the edge devices 16la-161n are associated with one or more asset infrastructures. In one or more embodiments, the asset data 314 additionally or alternatively includes billing data, logging information, issue resolution data, application updates, application configuration data, application update data, telemetry data, monitoring data, and/or other data.”).
Regarding claim 9, Hawkins teaches wherein the operations further comprise: based on the consolidated set of the configurations, generating a deployment plan for the cloud computing service, wherein the deployment plan comprises at least a portion of the consolidated set of the configurations ([0111] “an action from the one or more actions includes adjusting a set-point and/or a schedule for an asset associated with the asset data 314.”).
Regarding claim 10, Hawkins teaches wherein the operations further comprise: verifying that the consolidated CIQ file satisfies a specified schema comprising at least one rule to be satisfied by the consolidated CIQ file or at least one key performance indicator threshold to be satisfied by the consolidated CIQ file ([0102] “the one or more insights are one or more asset insights, one or more insights for a dashboard visualization, one or more worker assist insights, one or more energy optimization insights, one or more asset performance insights, one or more asset health insights, one or more digitized maintenance insights, and/or one or more other insights with respect to contextualized time series data related to one or more assets.”).
Regarding claim 11, Hawkins teaches wherein the operations further comprise: identifying a deficiency of a computing operation when accessing the cloud computing service; and in response to the identifying, adjusting the consolidated set of the configurations of the consolidated CIQ file based on the deficiency, thereby mitigating or eliminating the deficiency when a next cloud computing service is deployed according to the consolidated CIQ file ([0105] “in response to the request 320, the asset insight component 306 correlates attributes of the contextualized time series data based on the one or more insight descriptors to provide the one or more insights.” [0109] “the action component 308 performs one or more actions related to the one or more assets based on the one or more insights.” [0111] “the data aggregation component 304 updates one or more attributes based on a quality score associated with the one or more insights.”).
Regarding claim 12, Hawkins teaches a method, comprising: based on an analysis of customer information questionnaire (CIQ) files, determining, by a system operatively coupled to at least one processor, configurations usable to deploy a cloud computing service, wherein the configurations comprise runtime attributes ([0088] “the data processing computer system 302 (e.g., the data aggregation component 304 of the data processing computer system 302) is configured to access asset data 314 provided by the edge devices 161a-161n… The asset data 314 includes, for example, sensor data, site data (e.g., specific site data for a respective asset infrastructure 303a-n), real-time data, live property value data, historical data, event data, process data, operational data, fault data, asset infrastructure data, connected building data, location data, and/or other data associated with the edge devices 161a-161n… the edge devices 16la-161n are associated with one or more asset infrastructures. In one or more embodiments, the asset data 314 additionally or alternatively includes billing data, logging information, issue resolution data, application updates, application configuration data, application update data, telemetry data, monitoring data, and/or other data.” [0092]-[0101], Based on the aggregated data, which is interpreted as a file that includes various attributes of the edge devices, the data is organized and analyzed as disclosed in [0092]-[0101] to determine an action to be executed.); and
based on the configurations, generating a consolidated CIQ file that comprises a consolidated group of the configurations defining deployment criteria for the cloud computing service ([0111] “an action from the one or more actions includes providing an optimal process condition for an asset associated with the asset data 314…an action from the one or more actions includes one or more corrective action to take for an asset associated with the asset data…providing an optimal maintenance option for an asset associated with the asset data… the data aggregation component 304 updates one or more attributes based on a quality score associated with the one or more insights.” As disclosed in the [0111], FIG. 11 and 12, based on the analyzing of the contextualized time series data, an action is performed. As the action is performed, a file must be generated. Furthermore, the action includes various configurations to control the functions and aspects of assets in the cloud environment and cloud services.).
Regarding claim 13, Hawkins teaches prior to the generating of the consolidated CIQ file, ordering the CIQ files according to time stamps represented by metadata associated with the CIQ files ([0090] “the data aggregation component 304 aggregates the asset data 314 from the one or more data sources 316. For instance, in one or more embodiments, the data aggregation component 304 aggregates the asset data 314 into a contextualized time series database 318.”).
Regarding claim 14, Hawkins teaches wherein respective metadata associated with the CIQ files comprises information specifying respective drafters of the CIQ files ([0117] “The customer-specific asset data 319 corresponds to at least a portion of the asset data 314 that is associated with a particular customer identifier for the one or more asset infrastructures 303a-n.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins in view of Bolik et al. (United States Patent Application Publication US 2019/0243665), hereinafter Bolik.
Regarding claim 3, Hawkins teaches all the limitations of the system of claim 1, as discussed above.
However, Hawkins does not teach generating the consolidated set of the configurations according to a format applicable to multiple hardware types and usable by different cloud computing equipment associated with different cloud computing service providers.
Bolik teaches generating the consolidated set of the configurations according to a format applicable to multiple hardware types ([0189] “The cloud computing services 910 are utilized by various types of computing devices (e.g., client computing devices), such as computing devices 920, 922, and 924.”) and usable by different cloud computing equipment associated with different cloud computing service providers ([0034] “The configuration service may operate in a network or in a cloud environment. The configuration service may also be used in software as a service (SaaS) applications or for platform as a service (PaaS) scenarios or applications. A configuration service may provide functionality configuration for applications across disparate networks or cloud environments.” [0141] “The configuration package development module 440 may be provided to develop, edit, or maintain a con figuration package, which may include implementing the configuration package development process 520 in FIG. 5C.” A configuration service to develop, deploy, distribute, monitor, or maintain runtime functionality for applications operated in SaaS application or PaaS scenarios in various types of computing device in cloud environments, which suggests that the configuration service is usable by different cloud computing equipment different cloud computing service providers.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Hawkins by incorporating the teaching of Bolik of generating the consolidated set of the configurations according to a format applicable to multiple hardware types and usable by different cloud computing equipment associated with different cloud computing service providers. They are all directed toward configuration services in a cloud environment. As recognized by Bolik, currently configuration implementation is specific implementation technology, which makes it difficult to add or modify the functionality of an application ([0002]). By generating the configuration service, which can be used cross-application allowing interaction between applications and different cloud environments, the flexibility of the system can be improved. Therefore, it would be advantageous to incorporate the teaching of Bolik of generating the consolidated set of the configurations according to a format applicable to multiple hardware types and usable by different cloud computing equipment associated with different cloud computing service providers in order to improve the flexibility of the system.
Regarding claim(s) 16, the claim(s) 16 is the method claims of the apparatus claim(s) 3. The claim(s) 16 does not further teach or define the limitation over the limitations recited in the rejected claims above. Therefore, Hawkins in view of Bolik teaches all the limitations of the claim(s) 16.
Claim(s) 6, 7, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins in view of Federschmidt et al. (United States Patent US 12182151), hereinafter Federschmidt.
Regarding claim 6, Hawkins teaches wherein the operations further comprise: subsequent to the ordering, grouping the CIQ files according to the configurations specified by the CIQ files ([0092] “the data aggregation component 304 employs batching, concatenation of the asset data 314, identification of data types, merging of the asset data 314, grouping of the asset data 314, reading of the asset data 314 and/or writing of the asset data 314 to facilitate providing data for the contextualized time series database 318… the data aggregation component 304 groups data from the asset data 314 based on corresponding attributes and/or corresponding features of the data.”).
However, Hawkins does not explicitly teach determining that a first CIQ file of the CIQ files and a second CIQ file of the CIQ files are duplicate CIQ files, determining that a first time stamp corresponding to the first CIQ file is a more recent time stamp than a second time stamp corresponding to the second CIQ file, and as part of the grouping, resolving the duplicate CIQ files by including the first CIQ file having the more recent time stamp and excluding the second CIQ file.
Federschmidt teaches determining that a first CIQ file of the CIQ files and a second CIQ file of the CIQ files are duplicate CIQ files, determining that a first time stamp corresponding to the first CIQ file is a more recent time stamp than a second time stamp corresponding to the second CIQ file, and as part of the grouping, resolving the duplicate CIQ files by including the first CIQ file having the more recent time stamp and excluding the second CIQ file. ([Col. 6 Lines 4-9] “Events may be derived from "time series data," where the time series data comprises a sequence of data points (e.g., performance measurements from a computer system, etc.) that are associated with successive points in time. In general, each event has a portion of machine data that is associated with a timestamp.” [Col. 13 Lines 33-49] “At block 312, an indexer may optionally apply one or more transformations to data included in the events created at block 306. For example, such transformations can include removing a portion of an event (e.g., a portion used to define event boundaries, extraneous characters from the event, other extraneous text, etc.), masking a portion of an event (e.g., masking a credit card number), removing redundant portions of an event, etc.” [Col. 14 Lines 10-13] “This improves time-based searching, as well as allows for events with recent timestamps, which may have a higher likelihood of being accessed, to be stored in a faster memory to facilitate faster retrieval.” Redundant portions of an event is interpreted as a first CIQ file of the CIQ files and a second CIQ file of the CIQ files are duplicate CIQ files. Then, by removing the redundant portions of an event, which is interpreted as resolving duplicate CIQ files. “events with recent timestamps” is interpreted as the file having the more recent time stamp.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hawkins by incorporating the teaching of Federschmidt of determining that a first CIQ file of the CIQ files and a second CIQ file of the CIQ files are duplicate CIQ files, determining that a first time stamp corresponding to the first CIQ file is a more recent time stamp than a second time stamp corresponding to the second CIQ file, and as part of the grouping, resolving the duplicate CIQ files by including the first CIQ file having the more recent time stamp and excluding the second CIQ file. They are all directed toward configuration in networked computer environment. As recognized by Federschmidt, by allowing to removing redundant event with organizing the events with the more recent timestamps, which may have a higher likelihood of being access, a faster memory is facilitated for faster retrieval ([Col. 14 Lines 10-15]). Therefore, it would have been advantageous to incorporate the teaching of Federschmidt of determining that a first CIQ file of the CIQ files and a second CIQ file of the CIQ files are duplicate CIQ files, determining that a first time stamp corresponding to the first CIQ file is a more recent time stamp than a second time stamp corresponding to the second CIQ file, and as part of the grouping, resolving the duplicate CIQ files by including the first CIQ file having the more recent time stamp and excluding the second CIQ file in order to improve the access speed to the data.
Regarding claim 7, Hawkins teaches the system of claim 1, as discussed above.
Federschmidt teaches resolving an instance of conflict between a first configuration specified by a first CIQ file, of the CIQ files, that conflicts with a second configuration specified by a second CIQ file, of the CIQ files, wherein a first time stamp corresponding to the first CIQ file is a more recent time stamp than a second time stamp corresponding to the second CIQ file, and wherein the resolving comprises excluding, from the generating of the consolidated CIQ file, the second configuration ([Col. 6 Lines 4-9] “Events may be derived from "time series data," where the time series data comprises a sequence of data points (e.g., performance measurements from a computer system, etc.) that are associated with successive points in time. In general, each event has a portion of machine data that is associated with a timestamp.” [Col. 13 Lines 33-49] “At block 312, an indexer may optionally apply one or more transformations to data included in the events created at block 306. For example, such transformations can include removing a portion of an event (e.g., a portion used to define event boundaries, extraneous characters from the event, other extraneous text, etc.), masking a portion of an event (e.g., masking a credit card number), removing redundant portions of an event, etc.” [Col. 14 Lines 10-13] “This improves time-based searching, as well as allows for events with recent timestamps, which may have a higher likelihood of being accessed, to be stored in a faster memory to facilitate faster retrieval.” Redundant portions of an event is interpreted as a first CIQ file of the CIQ files and a second CIQ file of the CIQ files are duplicate CIQ files. Then, by removing the redundant portions of an event, which is interpreted as resolving duplicate CIQ files and excluding the second configuration. “events with recent timestamps” is interpreted as the file having the more recent time stamp.).
Regarding claim(s) 15, the claim(s) 15 is the method claims of the apparatus claim(s) 7. The claim(s) 15 does not further teach or define the limitation over the limitations recited in the rejected claims above. Therefore, Hawkins in view of Federschmidt teaches all the limitations of the claim(s) 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
TENGINAKAI et al. (United States Patent Application Publication US 2014/0258479) teaches managing configuration updates in a data center including distribution of configuration information, OS images, authentication data, or other such information for host machines, servers, or other such devices in a network environment.
RUSSELL et al. (United States Patent Application Publication US 2025/0315235) teaches automated cloud buildout and/or run state management using cloud hosted orchestration of configuration and installation of cloud services.
/HYUN SOO KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2176