DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, Species B in the reply filed on 2025-12-17 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2009/0257207).
Regarding claim 1 Wang discloses:
An information handling system comprising:
a housing having a main portion (e.g. bottom of 12 FIG.21) and a lid portion (e.g. vertical section of 12 with 196 FIG.21);
a processor (e.g. described paragraph [0060]) coupled in the main portion and operable to execute instructions to process information;
a memory (e.g. described paragraph [0060]) coupled in the main portion and interfaced with the processor, the memory operable to store the instructions and information; and
a display assembly (e.g. 16 FIG.21) coupled in the lid portion, the display assembly having a display panel coupled to a support (e.g. 114 FIG.21), the support having plural spring clips (e.g. 182 FIG.21) extending from opposing sides and engaging against the lid portion (e.g. at 196 FIG.21), each of the plural spring clips having tension pressing against the lid portion to couple the support in place.
Regarding claim 3 Wang discloses:
the spring clips further couple at a bottom side of the display assembly and extend down and away from the display panel (e.g. shown FIG.21).
Regarding claim 6 Wang discloses:
the plural spring clips each comprise a strip of sheet metal (e.g. described paragraph [0104]) bent to form a curved portion (e.g. shown FIG.21) aligned to press against the lid portion (e.g. described paragraph [0107]).
Regarding claim 7 Wang discloses:
the lid portion has a cavity (e.g. 196 FIG.21) formed to align with each of the plural spring clips (e.g. described paragraph [0107]).
Regarding claim 8 Wang discloses:
the display assembly support has a metal material and the strip of sheet metal is cut from the metal material to integrate with the display assembly support (e.g. described paragraph [0104]).
Regarding claim 9 Wang discloses:
the plural spring clips comprise stainless steel coupled to the display assembly support (e.g. described paragraph [0104]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references cited on the PTO-892 disclose/teach similar electronic device housings as those disclosed in the present application.
Limited examiner interviews are available.
/THERON S MILLISER/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/ANTHONY M HAUGHTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841