DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/23/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No.12021969. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub.No.: US 2018/0097618 A1 to Kumar et al(hereafter refenced as Kumar) in view of NPL EP 2 228 941 B1 Encryption Processing apparatus to Nobukata, Hiromi(hereafter referenced as Nobukata),
Regarding claim 1, Kumar discloses “a method comprising: performing, by one or more processing devices, a first set of operations at a first function component, the first set of operations comprising a first portion of a cryptographic operation and a first pre- charge operation” (Embodiments achieve the desired invariance of the charge integrals in that between each two states having a valid logic values (b. bq)=(1,0) or (0,1), a so-called precharge state is inserted, for which both k and kq are charged to the same electrical potential, that is, assume logically invalid values (1. 1) or (0, 0). For the precharge state (1, 1), therefore, a state sequence could be as follows: (1, 1)->(0, 1)->(1, 1)->(1, 0)->(1, 1)->(1,0)->(1, 1)->(0,1) . . . .).
Kumar does not explicitly disclose “and, performing a second set of operations at a second function component, the second set of operations comprising a second portion of the cryptographic operation and a second pre-charge operation, wherein the second portion of the cryptographic operation is performed concurrently with the first pre-charge operation.”
However, Nobukata in an analogous art discloses “and, performing a second set of operations at a second function component, the second set of operations comprising a second portion of the cryptographic operation and a second pre-charge operation, wherein the second portion of the cryptographic operation is performed concurrently with the first pre-charge operation.”(DES operation circuit 100 further includes a first pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL1) 107, a second pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL2) 108, and a second EXOR operation device 109 Nobukata [par.0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kumar’s cryptographic operation process with Nobukata’s cryptographical process comprising a pre-charge operation in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Kumar discloses cryptograpraphical process and a precharge state, Nobukata additionally discloses a second precharge operation, and both are from the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 2 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the second pre-charge operation is performed at the second function component concurrently with performance of the first portion of the cryptographic operation at the first function component.” (second pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL2) 108, and a second EXOR operation device 109 Nobukata [par.0045]).
Regarding claim 3 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the second portion of the cryptographic operation and the first pre-charge operation are performed during a first clock cycle corresponding to the one or more processing devices” (In any clock cycle , mask circuitry 356 may XOR an output of S - box circuitry 352 with a pseudo - random values generated by PRG circuitry 354 Kumar[par.0049]).
Regarding claim 4 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the second portion of the cryptographic operation is performed using a result of the first portion of the cryptographic operation performed at the first function component” (DES operation circuit 100 further includes a first pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL1) 107, a second pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL2) 108, and a second EXOR operation device 109 Nobukata [par.0045]).
Regarding claim 5 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein performing the first set of operations further comprising: storing a result of the first portion of the cryptographic operation performed at the first function component to a memory element associated with the first function component” (memory 502 includes a ROM (read only memory) that stores the programs to be executed by the CPU 501 as well as fixed data for use as operation parameters Nobukata [par.0358]) , “wherein the first pre-charge operation corresponds to a resetting of values stored at the first function component.”(DES operation circuit 100 includes a sixth EXOR operation device 116 and a seventh EXOR operation device 117 serving as a flag resetting device Nobukata [par.0047]).
Regarding claim 6 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “further comprising: performing a third set of operations at the first function component, the third set of operations comprising a third portion of the cryptographic operation and a third pre-charge operation, wherein the third portion of the cryptographic operation is performed concurrently with the second pre-charge operation” (third circuitry operable to provide an XOR of a value on the output of the first circuitry and a value on the first output of the second circuitry onto an output of the third circuitry coupled to an input of a fourth circuitry Kumar[par.0116]).
Regarding claim 7 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “further comprising: receiving an input data; performing an initial portion of the cryptographic operation at the second function component; and storing an initial result of the initial portion of the cryptographic operation at a memory element associated with the second function component” (memory 502 includes a ROM (read only memory) that stores the programs to be executed by the CPU 501 as well as fixed data for use as operation parameters Nobukata [par.0358]), wherein the first portion of the cryptographic operation of the first set of operations is performed with the initial result” (DES operation circuit 100 further includes a first pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL1) 107, a second pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL2) 108, and a second EXOR operation device 109 Nobukata [par.0045]).
Regarding claim 8, Kumar discloses “a system comprising: a first function component; a second function component; and one or more processing devices operatively coupled to the first function component and the second function component, the one or more processing devices to: perform a first set of operations at the first function component, the first set of operations comprising a first portion of a cryptographic operation and a first pre-charge operation” (Embodiments achieve the desired invariance of the charge integrals in that between each two states having a valid logic values (b. bq)=(1,0) or (0,1), a so-called precharge state is inserted, for which both k and kq are charged to the same electrical potential, that is, assume logically invalid values (1. 1) or (0, 0). For the precharge state (1, 1), therefore, a state sequence could be as follows: (1, 1)->(0, 1)->(1, 1)->(1, 0)->(1, 1)->(1,0)->(1, 1)->(0,1) . . . .).
Kumar does not explicitly disclose “and perform a second set of operations at the second function component, the second set of operations comprising a second portion of the cryptographic operation and a second pre-charge operation, wherein the second portion of the cryptographic operation is performed concurrently with the first pre-charge operation.”
However, Nobukata in an analogous art discloses “and perform a second set of operations at the second function component, the second set of operations comprising a second portion of the cryptographic operation and a second pre-charge operation, wherein the second portion of the cryptographic operation is performed concurrently with the first pre-charge operation.”(DES operation circuit 100 further includes a first pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL1) 107, a second pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL2) 108, and a second EXOR operation device 109 Nobukata [par.0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kumar’s cryptographic operation process with Nobukata’s cryptographical process comprising a pre-charge operation in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Kumar discloses cryptograpraphical process and a precharge state, Nobukata additionally discloses a second precharge operation, and both are from the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 9 in view of claim 8, the references combined disclose “wherein the second pre-charge operation is performed at the second function component concurrently with performance of the first portion of the cryptographic operation at the first function component” (second pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL2) 108, and a second EXOR operation device 109 Nobukata [par.0045]).
Regarding claim 10 in view of claim 8, the references combined disclose “wherein the second portion of the cryptographic operation and the first pre-charge operation are performed during a first clock cycle corresponding to the one or more processing devices” (In any clock cycle , mask circuitry 356 may XOR an output of S - box circuitry 352 with a pseudo - random values generated by PRG circuitry 354 Kumar[par.0049]).
Regarding claim 11 in view of claim 8, the references combined disclose “wherein the second portion of the cryptographic operation is performed using a result of the first portion of the cryptographic operation performed at the first function component” (DES operation circuit 100 further includes a first pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL1) 107, a second pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL2) 108, and a second EXOR operation device 109 Nobukata [par.0045]).
Regarding claim 12 in view of claim 8, the references combined disclose “wherein to perform the first set of operations the one or more processing devices further to: store a result of the first portion of the cryptographic operation performed at the first function component to a memory element associated with the first function component” (memory 502 includes a ROM (read only memory) that stores the programs to be executed by the CPU 501 as well as fixed data for use as operation parameters Nobukata [par.0358]), “wherein the first pre-charge operation corresponds to a resetting of values stored at the first function component” (DES operation circuit 100 includes a sixth EXOR operation device 116 and a seventh EXOR operation device 117 serving as a flag resetting device Nobukata [par.0047]).
Regarding claim 13 in view of claim 8, the references combined disclose “the one or more processing devices further to: perform a third set of operations at the first function component, the third set of operations comprising a third portion of the cryptographic operation and a third pre-charge operation, wherein the third portion of the cryptographic operation is performed concurrently with the second pre-charge operation” (third circuitry operable to provide an XOR of a value on the output of the first circuitry and a value on the first output of the second circuitry onto an output of the third circuitry coupled to an input of a fourth circuitry Kumar[par.0116]).
Regarding claim 14 in view of claim 8, the references combined disclose (New) The system of claim 8, the one or more processing devices further to:
receive an input data; perform an initial portion of the cryptographic operation at the second function component; and store an initial result of the initial portion of the cryptographic operation at a memory element associated with the second function component” (memory 502 includes a ROM (read only memory) that stores the programs to be executed by the CPU 501 as well as fixed data for use as operation parameters Nobukata [par.0358]),“wherein the first portion of the cryptographic operation of the first set of operations is performed with the initial result.” (DES operation circuit 100 further includes a first pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL1) 107, a second pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL2) 108, and a second EXOR operation device 109 Nobukata [par.0045]).
Regarding claim 15, Kumar discloses “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processing devices, cause the one or more processing devices to: perform, by one or more processing devices, a first set of operations at a first function component, the first set of operations comprising a first portion of a cryptographic operation and a first pre-charge operation” (Embodiments achieve the desired invariance of the charge integrals in that between each two states having a valid logic values (b. bq)=(1,0) or (0,1), a so-called precharge state is inserted, for which both k and kq are charged to the same electrical potential, that is, assume logically invalid values (1. 1) or (0, 0). For the precharge state (1, 1), therefore, a state sequence could be as follows: (1, 1)->(0, 1)->(1, 1)->(1, 0)->(1, 1)->(1,0)->(1, 1)->(0,1) . . . .).
Kumar does not explicitly disclose “perform a second set of operations at a second function component, the second set of operations comprising a second portion of the cryptographic operation and a second pre-charge operation, wherein the second portion of the cryptographic operation is performed concurrently with the first pre-charge operation.”
However, Nobukata in an analogous art discloses “perform a second set of operations at a second function component, the second set of operations comprising a second portion of the cryptographic operation and a second pre-charge operation, wherein the second portion of the cryptographic operation is performed concurrently with the first pre-charge operation.”(DES operation circuit 100 further includes a first pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL1) 107, a second pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL2) 108, and a second EXOR operation device 109 Nobukata [par.0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kumar’s cryptographic operation process with Nobukata’s cryptographical process comprising a pre-charge operation in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Kumar discloses cryptograpraphical process and a precharge state, Nobukata additionally discloses a second precharge operation, and both are from the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 16 in view of claim 15, the references combined disclose “wherein the second pre-charge operation is performed at the second function component concurrently with performance of the first portion of the cryptographic operation at the first function component” (second pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL2) 108, and a second EXOR operation device 109 Nobukata [par.0045]).
Regarding claim 17 in view of claim 15, the references combined disclose “wherein the second portion of the cryptographic operation and the first pre-charge operation are performed during a first clock cycle corresponding to the one or more processing devices”(In any clock cycle , mask circuitry 356 may XOR an output of S - box circuitry 352 with a pseudo - random values generated by PRG circuitry 354 Kumar[par.0049]).
Regarding claim 18 in view of claim 15, the references combined disclose “wherein the second portion of the cryptographic operation is performed using a result of the first portion of the cryptographic operation performed at the first function component” (DES operation circuit 100 further includes a first pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL1) 107, a second pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL2) 108, and a second EXOR operation device 109 Nobukata [par.0045]).
Regarding claim 19 in view of claim 15, the references combined disclose “wherein to perform the first set of operations the one or more processing devices further to: store a result of the first portion of the cryptographic operation performed at the first function component to a memory element associated with the first function component” (memory 502 includes a ROM (read only memory) that stores the programs to be executed by the CPU 501 as well as fixed data for use as operation parameters Nobukata [par.0358]) ,, wherein the first pre-charge operation corresponds to a resetting of values stored at the first function component.” (DES operation circuit 100 includes a sixth EXOR operation device 116 and a seventh EXOR operation device 117 serving as a flag resetting device Nobukata [par.0047]).
Regarding claim 20 in view of claim 15, the references combined disclose “the one or more processing devices further to: perform a third set of operations at the first function component, the third set of operations comprising a third portion of the cryptographic operation and a third pre-charge operation, wherein the third portion of the cryptographic operation is performed concurrently with the second pre-charge operation” (third circuitry operable to provide an XOR of a value on the output of the first circuitry and a value on the first output of the second circuitry onto an output of the third circuitry coupled to an input of a fourth circuitry Kumar[par.0116]).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL D ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433