DETAILED ACTION
Pending claims for reconsideration are claims 1-20. Claims 1, 5, 8, 12, 15, and 19 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 4/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are
not persuasive.
In the remarks, applicant argues in substance:
That - Nobukata does not remedy the shortcomings of Kumar with respect to claim 1. Nobukata is directed to "an encryption processing apparatus" including "a first register device," "a second register device," "a first flag operation device," and "a round operation device." (Nobukata, para. [0029].) Nobukata teaches encryption operations "having one round operation carried out in two cycles composed of a pre-charge phase and an evaluation phase". (Nobukata, para. [0144].) Nobukata teaches that separate portions of the encryption or cryptographic operation are carried out in two cycles, rather than concurrently. Furthermore, the encryption or cryptographic operation is not carried out "during a single clock cycle", as recited in amended claim 1. Thus, Nobukata does not cure the deficiencies of Kumar.
In response to applicant’s argument - It is the combination of Kumar and Nobukata that teaches the claimed invention neither Kumar nor Nobukata alone. As stated in the 103 rejection below Nobukata discloses om paragraph 0045 a DES operation circuit 100 further includes a first pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL1) 107, a second pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL2) 108, and a second EXOR operation device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention. The term "same" lacks antecedent basis. "a same single value..." the term "same" is vague and indefinite and it is unclear what is same referring to.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention. The term "same" lacks antecedent basis. "a same single value..." the term "same" is vague and indefinite and it is unclear what is same referring to.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention. The term "same" lacks antecedent basis. "a same single value..." the term "same" is vague and indefinite and it is unclear what is same referring to.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No.12021969. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub.No.: US 2018/0097618 A1 to Kumar et al(hereafter refenced as Kumar) in view of NPL EP 2 228 941 B1 Encryption Processing apparatus to Nobukata, Hiromi(hereafter referenced as Nobukata),
Regarding claim 1, Kumar discloses “a method comprising: performing, by one or more processing devices, a first set of operations at a first function component, the first set of operations comprising a first portion of a cryptographic operation and a first pre- charge operation” (Embodiments achieve the desired invariance of the charge integrals in that between each two states having a valid logic values (b. bq)=(1,0) or (0,1), a so-called precharge state is inserted, for which both k and kq are charged to the same electrical potential, that is, assume logically invalid values (1. 1) or (0, 0). For the precharge state (1, 1), therefore, a state sequence could be as follows: (1, 1)->(0, 1)->(1, 1)->(1, 0)->(1, 1)->(1,0)->(1, 1)->(0,1) . . . .).
Kumar does not explicitly disclose “and, performing a second set of operations at a second function component, the second set of operations comprising a second portion of the cryptographic operation and a second pre-charge operation, wherein the second portion of the cryptographic operation is performed concurrently with the first pre-charge operation during a single clock cycle.”
However, Nobukata in an analogous art discloses “and, performing a second set of operations at a second function component, the second set of operations comprising a second portion of the cryptographic operation and a second pre-charge operation, wherein the second portion of the cryptographic operation is performed concurrently with the first pre-charge operation during a single clock cycle.”(DES operation circuit 100 further includes a first pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL1) 107, a second pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL2) 108, and a second EXOR operation device 109 Nobukata [par.0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kumar’s cryptographic operation process with Nobukata’s cryptographical process comprising a pre-charge operation in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Kumar discloses cryptograpraphical process and a precharge state, Nobukata additionally discloses a second precharge operation, and both are from the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 2 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the second pre-charge operation is performed at the second function component concurrently with performance of the first portion of the cryptographic operation at the first function component.” (second pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL2) 108, and a second EXOR operation device 109 Nobukata [par.0045]).
Regarding claim 3 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the second portion of the cryptographic operation and the first pre-charge operation are performed during a first clock cycle corresponding to the one or more processing devices” (In any clock cycle , mask circuitry 356 may XOR an output of S - box circuitry 352 with a pseudo - random values generated by PRG circuitry 354 Kumar[par.0049]).
Regarding claim 4 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the second portion of the cryptographic operation is performed using a result of the first portion of the cryptographic operation performed at the first function component” (DES operation circuit 100 further includes a first pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL1) 107, a second pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL2) 108, and a second EXOR operation device 109 Nobukata [par.0045]).
Regarding claim 5 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein performing the first set of operations further comprising: storing a result of the first portion of the cryptographic operation performed at the first function component to a memory element associated with the first function component” (memory 502 includes a ROM (read only memory) that stores the programs to be executed by the CPU 501 as well as fixed data for use as operation parameters Nobukata [par.0358]) , “wherein the first pre-charge operation corresponds to a resetting of values stored at the first function component, by propagating a same single value to each memory element and logic gate of the first function component.”(DES operation circuit 100 includes a sixth EXOR operation device 116 and a seventh EXOR operation device 117 serving as a flag resetting device Nobukata [par.0047]).
Regarding claim 6 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “further comprising: performing a third set of operations at the first function component, the third set of operations comprising a third portion of the cryptographic operation and a third pre-charge operation, wherein the third portion of the cryptographic operation is performed concurrently with the second pre-charge operation” (third circuitry operable to provide an XOR of a value on the output of the first circuitry and a value on the first output of the second circuitry onto an output of the third circuitry coupled to an input of a fourth circuitry Kumar[par.0116]).
Regarding claim 7 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “further comprising: receiving an input data; performing an initial portion of the cryptographic operation at the second function component; and storing an initial result of the initial portion of the cryptographic operation at a memory element associated with the second function component” (memory 502 includes a ROM (read only memory) that stores the programs to be executed by the CPU 501 as well as fixed data for use as operation parameters Nobukata [par.0358]), wherein the first portion of the cryptographic operation of the first set of operations is performed with the initial result” (DES operation circuit 100 further includes a first pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL1) 107, a second pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL2) 108, and a second EXOR operation device 109 Nobukata [par.0045]).
Regarding claim 8, Kumar discloses “a system comprising: a first function component; a second function component; and one or more processing devices operatively coupled to the first function component and the second function component, the one or more processing devices to: perform a first set of operations at the first function component, the first set of operations comprising a first portion of a cryptographic operation and a first pre-charge operation” (Embodiments achieve the desired invariance of the charge integrals in that between each two states having a valid logic values (b. bq)=(1,0) or (0,1), a so-called precharge state is inserted, for which both k and kq are charged to the same electrical potential, that is, assume logically invalid values (1. 1) or (0, 0). For the precharge state (1, 1), therefore, a state sequence could be as follows: (1, 1)->(0, 1)->(1, 1)->(1, 0)->(1, 1)->(1,0)->(1, 1)->(0,1) . . . .).
Kumar does not explicitly disclose “and perform a second set of operations at the second function component, the second set of operations comprising a second portion of the cryptographic operation and a second pre-charge operation, wherein the second portion of the cryptographic operation is performed concurrently with the first pre-charge operation during a single clock cycle”
However, Nobukata in an analogous art discloses “and perform a second set of operations at the second function component, the second set of operations comprising a second portion of the cryptographic operation and a second pre-charge operation, wherein the second portion of the cryptographic operation is performed concurrently with the first pre-charge operation during a single clock cycle.”(DES operation circuit 100 further includes a first pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL1) 107, a second pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL2) 108, and a second EXOR operation device 109 Nobukata [par.0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kumar’s cryptographic operation process with Nobukata’s cryptographical process comprising a pre-charge operation in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Kumar discloses cryptograpraphical process and a precharge state, Nobukata additionally discloses a second precharge operation, and both are from the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 9 in view of claim 8, the references combined disclose “wherein the second pre-charge operation is performed at the second function component concurrently with performance of the first portion of the cryptographic operation at the first function component” (second pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL2) 108, and a second EXOR operation device 109 Nobukata [par.0045]).
Regarding claim 10 in view of claim 8, the references combined disclose “wherein the second portion of the cryptographic operation and the first pre-charge operation are performed during a first clock cycle corresponding to the one or more processing devices” (In any clock cycle , mask circuitry 356 may XOR an output of S - box circuitry 352 with a pseudo - random values generated by PRG circuitry 354 Kumar[par.0049]).
Regarding claim 11 in view of claim 8, the references combined disclose “wherein the second portion of the cryptographic operation is performed using a result of the first portion of the cryptographic operation performed at the first function component” (DES operation circuit 100 further includes a first pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL1) 107, a second pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL2) 108, and a second EXOR operation device 109 Nobukata [par.0045]).
Regarding claim 12 in view of claim 8, the references combined disclose “wherein to perform the first set of operations the one or more processing devices further to: store a result of the first portion of the cryptographic operation performed at the first function component to a memory element associated with the first function component, by propagating a same single value to each memory element and logic gate of the first function component.”(” (memory 502 includes a ROM (read only memory) that stores the programs to be executed by the CPU 501 as well as fixed data for use as operation parameters Nobukata [par.0358]), “wherein the first pre-charge operation corresponds to a resetting of values stored at the first function component” (DES operation circuit 100 includes a sixth EXOR operation device 116 and a seventh EXOR operation device 117 serving as a flag resetting device Nobukata [par.0047]).
Regarding claim 13 in view of claim 8, the references combined disclose “the one or more processing devices further to: perform a third set of operations at the first function component, the third set of operations comprising a third portion of the cryptographic operation and a third pre-charge operation, wherein the third portion of the cryptographic operation is performed concurrently with the second pre-charge operation” (third circuitry operable to provide an XOR of a value on the output of the first circuitry and a value on the first output of the second circuitry onto an output of the third circuitry coupled to an input of a fourth circuitry Kumar[par.0116]).
Regarding claim 14 in view of claim 8, the references combined disclose (New) The system of claim 8, the one or more processing devices further to:
receive an input data; perform an initial portion of the cryptographic operation at the second function component; and store an initial result of the initial portion of the cryptographic operation at a memory element associated with the second function component” (memory 502 includes a ROM (read only memory) that stores the programs to be executed by the CPU 501 as well as fixed data for use as operation parameters Nobukata [par.0358]),“wherein the first portion of the cryptographic operation of the first set of operations is performed with the initial result.” (DES operation circuit 100 further includes a first pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL1) 107, a second pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL2) 108, and a second EXOR operation device 109 Nobukata [par.0045]).
Regarding claim 15, Kumar discloses “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processing devices, cause the one or more processing devices to: perform, by one or more processing devices, a first set of operations at a first function component, the first set of operations comprising a first portion of a cryptographic operation and a first pre-charge operation” (Embodiments achieve the desired invariance of the charge integrals in that between each two states having a valid logic values (b. bq)=(1,0) or (0,1), a so-called precharge state is inserted, for which both k and kq are charged to the same electrical potential, that is, assume logically invalid values (1. 1) or (0, 0). For the precharge state (1, 1), therefore, a state sequence could be as follows: (1, 1)->(0, 1)->(1, 1)->(1, 0)->(1, 1)->(1,0)->(1, 1)->(0,1) . . . .).
Kumar does not explicitly disclose “perform a second set of operations at a second function component, the second set of operations comprising a second portion of the cryptographic operation and a second pre-charge operation, wherein the second portion of the cryptographic operation is performed concurrently with the first pre-charge operation during a single clock cycle.”
However, Nobukata in an analogous art discloses “perform a second set of operations at a second function component, the second set of operations comprising a second portion of the cryptographic operation and a second pre-charge operation, wherein the second portion of the cryptographic operation is performed concurrently with the first pre-charge operation during a single clock cycle.”(DES operation circuit 100 further includes a first pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL1) 107, a second pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL2) 108, and a second EXOR operation device 109 Nobukata [par.0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kumar’s cryptographic operation process with Nobukata’s cryptographical process comprising a pre-charge operation in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Kumar discloses cryptograpraphical process and a precharge state, Nobukata additionally discloses a second precharge operation, and both are from the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 16 in view of claim 15, the references combined disclose “wherein the second pre-charge operation is performed at the second function component concurrently with performance of the first portion of the cryptographic operation at the first function component” (second pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL2) 108, and a second EXOR operation device 109 Nobukata [par.0045]).
Regarding claim 17 in view of claim 15, the references combined disclose “wherein the second portion of the cryptographic operation and the first pre-charge operation are performed during a first clock cycle corresponding to the one or more processing devices”(In any clock cycle , mask circuitry 356 may XOR an output of S - box circuitry 352 with a pseudo - random values generated by PRG circuitry 354 Kumar[par.0049]).
Regarding claim 18 in view of claim 15, the references combined disclose “wherein the second portion of the cryptographic operation is performed using a result of the first portion of the cryptographic operation performed at the first function component” (DES operation circuit 100 further includes a first pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL1) 107, a second pre-charge control device (P.C. CTL2) 108, and a second EXOR operation device 109 Nobukata [par.0045]).
Regarding claim 19 in view of claim 15, the references combined disclose “wherein to perform the first set of operations the one or more processing devices further to: store a result of the first portion of the cryptographic operation performed at the first function component to a memory element associated with the first function component” (memory 502 includes a ROM (read only memory) that stores the programs to be executed by the CPU 501 as well as fixed data for use as operation parameters Nobukata [par.0358]) ,, wherein the first pre-charge operation corresponds to a resetting of values stored at the first function component, by propagating a same single value to each memory element and logic gate of the first function component.”(” (DES operation circuit 100 includes a sixth EXOR operation device 116 and a seventh EXOR operation device 117 serving as a flag resetting device Nobukata [par.0047]).
Regarding claim 20 in view of claim 15, the references combined disclose “the one or more processing devices further to: perform a third set of operations at the first function component, the third set of operations comprising a third portion of the cryptographic operation and a third pre-charge operation, wherein the third portion of the cryptographic operation is performed concurrently with the second pre-charge operation” (third circuitry operable to provide an XOR of a value on the output of the first circuitry and a value on the first output of the second circuitry onto an output of the third circuitry coupled to an input of a fourth circuitry Kumar[par.0116]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL D ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433