DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a rotatable nozzle securing component configured to receive a protrusion of the nozzle” in claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-32 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “a rotatable nozzle securing component” in claim 21 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The written description is devoid of the phrase “nozzle securing component” making it unclear what, if any, disclosed structure corresponds to the recited function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 22-32 are rejected for depending from indefinite claim 21.
Claim 22 is rejected as being indefinite because it further limits “the protrusion”; however, this feature is not positively recited by claim 21. As a result, it is unclear if “the protrusion” is a required element of the claimed nozzle or if this limitation only further limits the alignment channel of the nozzle interface.
Claims 23 and 24 are rejected for depending from indefinite claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murray et al. (US 2006/0208000).
Regarding claim 38, Murray teaches a plural component applicator (10) comprising:
a nozzle (20) configured to generate a mixture of a first component and a second component (fig. 4), the nozzle comprising: a first component inlet (44) configured to receive a flow of the first component (fig. 4); a second component inlet (46) configured to receive a flow of the second component (fig. 4); and a nozzle outlet (42) configured to output the mixture (fig. 4);
a nozzle interface (96) configured to removably receive the nozzle (par. 31; fig. 1, 4), the nozzle interface comprising: a first orifice (45) configured to receive the first component inlet therein such that the first component inlet is face sealed to the nozzle interface (par. 27; fig. 4); and a second orifice (47) configured to receive the second component inlet therein such that the second component inlet is face sealed to the nozzle interface (par. 27; fig. 4); and a valve (100/102/104) actuatable to control flow of the first component and the second component to the nozzle (par. 37, 38).
Regarding claim 39, Murray teaches the plural component applicator of claim 38, and further wherein each inlet, of the first component inlet and the second component inlet, comprises a cylindrical projection having a distal end configured to engage a surface of the nozzle interface to form a face seal (par. 27; fig. 4).
Regarding claim 40, Murray discloses the plural component applicator described regarding claim 38, and further comprising: a collar (22) configured to rotate relative to the nozzle interface, wherein, when the collar is rotated in a first direction, the collar exerts a force on the nozzle in a direction toward the valve, and when the collar is rotated in a second direction, the collar exerts a force on the nozzle in a direction away from the valve (par. 46).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haruch (US 5,595,346) in view of Murray.
Regarding claim 21, Haruch discloses a plural component applicator (85) comprising:
a nozzle (89/105) configured to receive a first component and a second component (fig. 6 – “air” and “liquid”), and to generate a mixture of the first component and the second component (col. 8, ln. 14-19), the nozzle comprising a nozzle outlet (102) configured to output the mixture (fig. 6);
a nozzle interface (86) configured to removably receive the nozzle (figs. 6, 7), the nozzle interface comprising an alignment channel (annotated figure below) configured to receive a protrusion (111) of the nozzle that aligns the nozzle in the nozzle interface (fig. 6);
a rotatable nozzle securing component (105) configured to rotate relative to the nozzle interface between a first position and a second position (col. 9, ln. 27-31), wherein in the first position, the rotatable nozzle securing component allows insertion of the protrusion into the alignment channel (col. 9, ln. 64-66), and in the second position, the rotatable nozzle securing component retains the protrusion in the alignment channel (col. 9, ln. 40-46); and
Haruch does not disclose a valve actuatable to control flow of the first component and the second component to the nozzle.
Murray teaches a plural component applicator (10) comprising a nozzle (20) configured to receive a first component and a second component (fig. 4), and a valve (100/102/104) actuatable to control flow of the first component and the second component to the nozzle (par. 37, 38).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plural component applicator of Haruch to further include a valve actuatable to control flow of the first component and the second component to the nozzle, as taught by Murray, since this would allow a user to control the flow of the first and second components to the nozzle.
Annotated Figure 6 of Haruch
Regarding claim 22, Haruch in view of Murray discloses the plural component applicator described regarding claim 21, and further wherein the protrusion comprises a plurality of radially extending protrusions (111).
Regarding claim 23, Haruch in view of Murray discloses the plural component applicator described regarding claim 21, and further wherein the plurality of radially extending protrusions comprise :a first radially extending protrusion extending from a first side of the nozzle, and a second radially extending protrusion extending from a second side of the nozzle (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 24, Haruch in view of Murray discloses the plural component applicator described regarding claim 22, and further wherein the plurality of radially extending protrusions comprises a plurality of radially extending pins (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 25, Haruch in view of Murray discloses the plural component applicator described regarding claim 21, and further wherein the rotatable nozzle securing component comprises a collar (105).
Regarding claim 26, Haruch in view of Murray discloses the plural component applicator described regarding claim 21, and further wherein the rotatable nozzle securing component comprises a sloped channel (112 is a cam, see col. 9, ln. 31-43).
Regarding claim 27, Haruch in view of Murray discloses the plural component applicator described regarding claim 26, and further wherein, when the rotatable nozzle securing component is rotated in a first direction, the sloped channel exerts a force on the nozzle in a direction toward the valve (col. 9, ln. 31-43).
Regarding claim 28, Haruch in view of Murray discloses the plural component applicator described regarding claim 27, and further wherein, when the rotatable nozzle securing component is rotated in a second direction, the sloped channel exerts a force on the nozzle in a direction away from the valve (col. 9, ln. 64-66).
Regarding claim 29, Haruch in view of Murray discloses the plural component applicator described regarding claim 28, and further wherein the rotatable nozzle securing component is configured to rotate along a plane that is perpendicular to the nozzle outlet (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 30, Haruch in view of Murray discloses the plural component applicator described regarding claim 29, and further wherein the sloped channel is formed by a pair of walls spaced apart to form a gap (fig. 7 – two walls 112 are shown, and a gap is formed in between), therebetween, configured to receive the protrusion, wherein each wall, of the pair of walls, is oriented at an angle relative to the plane (col. 9, ln. 31-33; fig. 7).
Regarding claim 31, Haruch in view of Murray discloses the plural component applicator described regarding claim 29, and further wherein the nozzle comprises: a first component inlet (86) configured to receive the first component (fig. 6); a second component inlet (87) configured to receive the second component (fig. 6); and a maze disposed between the nozzle outlet, the first component inlet and the second component inlet (fig. 6 – the flow paths between each respective inlet and the outlet has multiple turns, contractions, expansions, etc.).
Regarding claim 32, Haruch in view of Murray discloses the plural component applicator described regarding claim 29, and further wherein the maze is configured to receive and mix the first component and the second component by directing flow of the first component and the second component in a first direction then directing flow of the first component and the second component in a second direction that is opposite the first direction, before the first component and the second component are expelled through the nozzle outlet (fig. 6 – liquid is first directed down at the inlet and then a portion is directed upwardly at the throat 95; air is first directed up at the inlet and then a portion is directed down at injection port 98; then the air/liquid mixture is expelled through outlet 102).
Regarding claim 33, Haruch discloses a plural component applicator (85) comprising:
a nozzle (89/105) configured to receive a first component and a second component (fig. 6 – “air” and “liquid”), and to generate a mixture of the first component and the second component (col. 8, ln. 14-19), the nozzle comprising a nozzle outlet (102) configured to output the mixture (fig. 6);
a nozzle interface (86) configured to removably receive the nozzle (figs. 6, 7); and
a collar (105) configured to rotate relative to the nozzle interface (col. 9, ln. 27-31), wherein, when the collar is rotated in a first direction, the collar exerts a force on the nozzle in a direction toward the nozzle interface (col. 9, ln. 40-46), and when the collar is rotated in a second direction, the collar exerts a force on the nozzle in a direction away from the nozzle interface (col. 9, ln. 64-66).
Haruch does not disclose a valve actuatable to control flow of the first component and the second component to the nozzle, and wherein rotating the collar a first direction exerts a force in the direction of the valve and rotating the collar in the second direction exerts a force in the direction away from the nozzle.
Murray teaches a plural component applicator (10) comprising a nozzle (20) configured to receive a first component and a second component (fig. 4), and a valve (100/102/104) actuatable to control flow of the first component and the second component to the nozzle (par. 37, 38), and further wherein the valve is arranged in the spray applicator opposite a nozzle interface (96, see fig. 4).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plural component applicator of Haruch to further include a valve actuatable to control flow of the first component and the second component to the nozzle and wherein rotating the collar a first direction exerts a force in the direction of the valve and rotating the collar in the second direction exerts a force in the direction away from the nozzle., as taught by Murray, since this would allow a user to control the flow of the first and second components to the nozzle.
Regarding claim 34, Haruch in view of Murray discloses the plural component applicator described regarding claim 22, and further wherein the collar is configured to rotate along a plane that is perpendicular to the nozzle outlet (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 35, Haruch in view of Murray discloses the plural component applicator described regarding claim 34, and further wherein the collar comprises a channel (annotated figure) that is sloped relative to the plane (112 is a cam, see col. 9, ln. 31-43) and configured to receive a portion (111) of the nozzle (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 36, Haruch in view of Murray discloses the plural component applicator described regarding claim 33, and further wherein the collar is rotatable between a first position (fig. 9) and a second position (fig. 8), wherein in the first position, the collar allows insertion of the nozzle into the nozzle interface (col. 9, ln. 21-26), and in the second position, the collar retains the nozzle in the nozzle interface (col. 9, ln. 40-43).
Regarding claim 37, Haruch in view of Murray discloses the plural component applicator described regarding claim 33, and further wherein the nozzle comprises: a first component inlet (86) configured to receive the first component (fig. 6); a second component inlet (87) configured to receive the second component (fig. 6); and a maze disposed between the nozzle outlet, the first component inlet and the second component inlet (fig. 6 – the flow paths between each respective inlet and the outlet has multiple turns, contractions, expansions, etc.), wherein the maze is configured to receive and mix the first component and the second component by directing flow of the first component and the second component in a first direction then directing flow of the first component and the second component in a plurality of different directions before the first component and the second component are expelled through the nozzle outlet (fig. 6 – liquid is first directed down at the inlet and then a portion is directed upwardly at the throat 95; air is first directed up at the inlet and then a portion is directed down at injection port 98; then the air/liquid mixture is expelled through outlet 102).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gooden et al. (US 2016/0059253), Bien (US 2004/0217185), Peters (US 2018/0104709), Gantenbein et al. (US 2018/0043379), and Gunzel, Jr. et al. (US 5,119,993) all disclose component applicators having elements of the claimed invention.
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/CODY J LIEUWEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752