Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borggaard (US 2015/0219755 A1) and Hannon (US 2017/0019525 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Borggaard teaches a method, applied to a first electronic device, the method comprising:
sending first indication information to at least two second electronic devices [[abstract] determining distance between two or more mobile devices; [0013] Devices A and B may provide sample time indications instead of raw time as used in the above example; [0021] mobile device 310 may be, for example, a smartphone, a tablet, or a laptop. The mobile device 310 includes at least a processor, a microphone, and a speaker. In some configurations, more than one microphone may be utilized to receive an audio signal], wherein the first indication information indicates to a corresponding second electronic device to enable sound recording functions [[0023] an indication may be a signal to start recording an audio signal on the first mobile device in some configurations. If an application is coordinating the first mobile device and the second mobile device, the application may signal a start and stop time for sending and recording audio to both devices];
sending second indication information to a third electronic device [[0012] comparing the interval between chirps as detected by each device, the distance between the devices may be known], wherein the second indication information indicates to the third electronic device to send an ultrasonic signal [[0023] application is coordinating the first mobile device and the second mobile device, the application may signal a start and stop time for sending and recording audio to both devices], and the ultrasonic signal is used to determine a relative location relationship between the third electronic device and each of the at least two second electronic devices [[0004] calculation can determine relative orientation of a plurality of devices; [0038] microphone location may be used to determine the relative orientation of the second and third mobile with to the first mobile device. In some cases, conventional triangulation techniques may be used to determine a location and/or rotation of the third device];
receiving, from each of the at least two second electronic devices, the relative location relationship between the corresponding second electronic device and the third electronic device devices [[0030][0044] distance calculations subsequent to the rotation of the first mobile device may reveal slight changes in the distances between the first device and the second and third mobile devices respectively. The combination of distance calculations, compass information, and microphone location may inform the orientation of the second and third mobile devices relative to the first mobile device]; and
sending the relative location relationship between each of the at least two second electronic devices and the third electronic device to the at least two second electronic devices and the third electronic device [[0030] determination of the distance between the first mobile device 310 and the second mobile device 320 is performed locally, such as by the first mobile device 310, or remotely, such as by a server 330, the first mobile device may obtain an indication of a first distance between the first mobile device and the second mobile device if the first mobile device performs the distance calculation, it may transmit an indication of the distance to the second mobile device 318]; or
determining a relative location relationship between every two devices of the at least two second electronic devices based on the relative location relationship between each of the at least two second electronic devices and the third electronic device [[0014] in the event that three devices are utilized, a relative orientation of the three devices may be determined. The three devices, for example, form the nodes of a triangle in space. The distance between device A and devices B and C may be 3 meters and 4 meters respectively. The distance between devices B and C may be 5 meters.].
Borggaard does not explicitly teach and yet Hannon teaches the ultrasonic signal is alternately sent via a first sneaker with a progressively decreasing frequency, and via a second speaker with a progressively increasing frequencv [[0014] application that can be installed on mobile devices, such as a smartphone, tablet, and etc. hardware is installed on the vehicle and consists of at microphones, speakers and an embedded processor; [0067] acoustic pulse to be transmitted using frequency modulation or frequency hopping techniques; [0081] applying frequency hopping techniques in which the frequency of the ultrasonic pulse is varied; [0155] ultrasonic pulse 802 that may be incorporated into either the first or the second audio signal … ramp up … ramp down … [o]ther amplitude shaping may include a triangular pulse envelope, a curved pulse envelope, a parabolic pulse envelope, a sinusoidal pulse envelope, or a combination or combinations thereof. It may be recognized that a first audio signal may be distinguished from a second audio signal based on the respective ultrasonic pulse envelopes therein; [0179] mobile device records 1248 the first acoustic signal and then records 1250 the second acoustic signal. At some time 1252 after the recording is completed, the mobile device disables the recording function; [prior art claim 1]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the triangulation/trilateration as taught by Borggaard, with the up and down ramps as taught by Hannon so that individual ultrasonic signals can be distinguished from each other (Hannon) [[0155]].
Regarding claim 13, Borggaard teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the at least two second electronic devices comprise two second electronic devices, and the relative location relationship between each of the at least two second electronic devices and the third electronic device comprises: one device of the two second electronic devices is located on a first side of the third electronic device, and the other second electronic device in the two second electronic devices is located on a second side of the third electronic device, wherein the first side is a left side or a right side, and the second side is opposite to the first side [[0014] based on this information alone, however, it is unclear whether device C is to the “right” or “left” of device B relative to device A. Several methods are provided herein to determine the relative orientation of device C as compared to devices A and B. Devices B and C may be pointed at device A and directional data available to the devices, such as from built-in compass components, may be used to determine which direction they are pointed. As another example, a stereo microphone may be used to measure the difference in amplitude between the left and right channels to determine whether a device is to the left or the right of the receiving device].
Regarding claim 14, Borggaard teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the at least two second electronic devices comprise two second electronic devices, and the relative location relationship between each of the at least two second electronic devices and the third electronic device comprises [[abstract] the distance between the two or more devices may be determined assuming the sound travels at a constant speed of 340.29 m/s. Techniques for disambiguating orientation of the devices relative to one another rare also disclosed]: the two second electronic devices are both located on a left side or a right side of the third electronic device [[0014] as another example, a stereo microphone may be used to measure the difference in amplitude between the left and right channels to determine whether a device is to the left or the right of the receiving device. Similarly, a stereo microphone may be simulated by taking two or more measurements], and wherein determining the relative location relationship between every two of the at least two second electronic devices based on the relative location relationship between each of the at least two second electronic devices and the third electronic device comprises: sending third indication information to one device of the two second electronic devices [[0037] first mobile device may receive an indication of orientation of the first mobile device relative to the second mobile device and the third mobile device based on the comparison of the first audio signal to the fourth audio signal. The second and third mobile devices may receive indications of their positions relative to the first and third mobile devices or first and second mobile devices respectively. Thus, the orientation of each mobile device in the system may be determined]; sending fourth indication information to the other second electronic device of the two second electronic devices, wherein the fourth indication information indicates to the other second electronic device to play the ultrasonic signal [[abstract] distance between the two or more devices; [0001] sonar determines a range to an object by emitting one or more pulses of sound and listening for an echo; [0013] Devices A and B may provide sample time indications instead of raw time as used in the above example; [0031] indication may be, for example, a time stamp, sample time, or the like sent by the processor of the device or a start recording signal from an application on the device that is coordinating chirping], and the ultrasonic signal is used to determine a relative location relationship between the two second electronic devices [[abstract] determining distance between two or more mobile devices utilizing a sound emitted from each device such as a chirp]; and receiving the relative location relationship between the two second electronic devices that is sent by the other second electronic device [[0030] If the first mobile device performs the distance calculation, it may transmit an indication of the distance to the second mobile device 318.].
Regarding claim 15, Borggaard teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein before sending the second indication information to the other second electronic device in the two second electronic devices, the method further comprises: receiving an acknowledgment message associated with the third indication information and that is sent by the second electronic device in the two second electronic devices, wherein the acknowledgment message for the first indication information indicates that a sound recording function is enabled on the second electronic device in the two second electronic devices [[0023] a second indication of a second chirp 324 from a second mobile device 320 at a second time reference may be received or detected within the first audio signal at 314. For example, the presence of the second chirp in the first audio signal may be detected and the second time reference corresponding thereto may be determined by the processor. An indication may be a signal to start recording an audio signal on the first mobile device in some configurations].
Regarding claim 16, Borggaard teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein before sending second indication information to the third electronic device, the method further comprises: receiving acknowledgment messages for the first indication information that are sent by the at least two second electronic devices, wherein the acknowledgment messages indicate that the sound recording functions are enabled on the corresponding second electronic devices [[0023] a second indication of a second chirp 324 from a second mobile device 320 at a second time reference may be received or detected within the first audio signal at 314. For example, the presence of the second chirp in the first audio signal may be detected and the second time reference corresponding thereto may be determined by the processor. An indication may be a signal to start recording an audio signal on the first mobile device in some configurations].
Regarding claim 17, Borggaard teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the method comprises: sending the relative location relationship between each of the at least two second electronic devices and the third electronic device to the at least two second electronic devices and the third electronic device [[abstract] distance between the two or more devices may be determined assuming the sound travels at a constant speed of 340.29 m/s. Techniques for disambiguating orientation of the devices relative to one another rare also disclosed.].
Regarding claim 18, Borggaard teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the method comprises: determining the relative location relationship between every two devices of the at least two second electronic devices based on the relative location relationship between each of the at least two second electronic devices and the third electronic device [[abstract] distance between the two or more devices may be determined assuming the sound travels at a constant speed of 340.29 m/s. Techniques for disambiguating orientation of the devices relative to one another rare also disclosed.].
Regarding claim 19, Borggaard teaches a method, applied to a second electronic device, the method comprising: receiving first indication information from a first electronic device, wherein the first indication information indicates to a second electronic device to enable a sound recording function [[0023] an indication may be a signal to start recording an audio signal on the first mobile device in some configurations. If an application is coordinating the first mobile device and the second mobile device, the application may signal a start and stop time for sending and recording audio to both devices]; enabling the sound recording function based on the first indication information [[0023] application is coordinating the first mobile device and the second mobile device, the application may signal a start and stop time for sending and recording audio to both devices]; determining a relative location relationship between the second electronic device and a third electronic device based on an ultrasonic signal from the third electronic device and detected based on the sound recording function [[0004] calculation can determine relative orientation of a plurality of devices; [0038] microphone location may be used to determine the relative orientation of the second and third mobile with to the first mobile device. In some cases, conventional triangulation techniques may be used to determine a location and/or rotation of the third device]; sending the relative location relationship between the second electronic device and the third electronic device to the first electronic device [[0014][0030]]; and receiving a relative location relationship between each of at least two second electronic devices and the third electronic device that is sent by the first electronic device [[abstract] techniques for disambiguating orientation of the devices relative to one another rare also disclosed], wherein the at least two second electronic devices comprise the second electronic device [[0014] a stereo microphone may be used to measure the difference in amplitude between the left and right channels to determine whether a device is to the left or the right of the receiving device. Similarly, a stereo microphone may be simulated by taking two or more measurements].
Borggaard does not explicitly teach and yet Hannon teaches wherein the ultrasonic signal is alternately sent via a first sneaker with a progressively decreasing frequency, and via a second speaker with a progressively increasing frequencv [[0014] application that can be installed on mobile devices, such as a smartphone, tablet, and etc. hardware is installed on the vehicle and consists of at microphones, speakers and an embedded processor; [0155] ultrasonic pulse 802 that may be incorporated into either the first or the second audio signal … ramp up … ramp down … [o]ther amplitude shaping may include a triangular pulse envelope, a curved pulse envelope, a parabolic pulse envelope, a sinusoidal pulse envelope, or a combination or combinations thereof. It may be recognized that a first audio signal may be distinguished from a second audio signal based on the respective ultrasonic pulse envelopes therein; [0179] mobile device records 1248 the first acoustic signal and then records 1250 the second acoustic signal. At some time 1252 after the recording is completed, the mobile device disables the recording function; [prior art claim 1]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the triangulation/trilateration as taught by Borggaard, with the up and down ramps as taught by Hannon so that individual ultrasonic signals can be distinguished from each other (Hannon) [[0155]].
Regarding claim 20, Borggaard teaches the method according to claim 19, wherein the second electronic device is one of two second electronic devices, and the relative location relationship between the second electronic device and the third electronic device comprises: the second electronic device is located on a first side of the third electronic device, wherein the first side is opposite to a second side of the third electronic device, the other second electronic device in the two second electronic devices is one the second side of the third electronic device, and the first side is a left side or a right side [[0014]].
Regarding claim 21, Borggaard teaches the method according to claim 19, wherein the second electronic device is one device of two second electronic devices, and the method further comprises: receiving third indication information sent by the first electronic device; enabling the sound recording function based on the third indication information; determining a relative location relationship between the second electronic device and the other second electronic device based on an ultrasonic signal from the other second electronic device in the two second electronic devices and detected based on the sound recording function; and sending the relative location relationship between the second electronic device and the other second electronic device to the first electronic device [[0001][0031][0037]].
Regarding claim 22, Borggaard teaches the method according to claim 19, wherein the second electronic device is one of two second electronic devices, and the method further comprises: receiving second indication information sent by the first electronic device, wherein the second indication information indicates to the second electronic device to play the ultrasonic signal; and playing the ultrasonic signal based on the second indication information, wherein the ultrasonic signal is used to determine a relative location relationship between the two second electronic devices [[0001] sonar determines a range to an object by emitting one or more pulses of sound and listening for an echo; [0031] indication may be, for example, a time stamp, sample time, or the like sent by the processor of the device or a start recording signal from an application on the device that is coordinating chirping], and the ultrasonic signal is used to determine a relative location relationship between the two second electronic devices [[abstract] determining distance between two or more mobile devices utilizing a sound emitted from each device such as a chirp].
Regarding claim 23, Borggaard teaches the method according to claim 21, wherein after enabling, by the second electronic device, the sound recording function, the method further comprises: sending an acknowledgment message for the third indication information to the first electronic device, wherein the acknowledgment message for the first indication information indicates that the sound recording function is enabled on the second electronic device [[0023] a second indication of a second chirp 324 from a second mobile device 320 at a second time reference may be received or detected within the first audio signal at 314. For example, the presence of the second chirp in the first audio signal may be detected and the second time reference corresponding thereto may be determined by the processor. An indication may be a signal to start recording an audio signal on the first mobile device in some configurations].
Regarding claim 24, Borggaard teaches an electronic device, comprising one or more processors, at least one memory, and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the at least one memory, and when the one or more programs are executed by the one or more processors, the electronic device is caused to: send first indication information to at least two second electronic devices, wherein the first indication information indicates to a corresponding second electronic devices to enable sound recording functions [[abstract] each device may determine or receive an indication of a time reference for each instance the device emits or detects a chirp; [0023]]; send second indication information to a third electronic device, wherein the second indication information indicates to the third electronic device to send an ultrasonic signal, and the ultrasonic signal is used to determine a relative location relationship between the third electronic device and each of the at least two second electronic devices [[0004] calculation can determine relative orientation of a plurality of devices; [0038] microphone location may be used to determine the relative orientation of the second and third mobile with to the first mobile device. In some cases, conventional triangulation techniques may be used to determine a location and/or rotation of the third device]]; receive, from each of the at least two second electronic devices, the relative location relationship between the corresponding second electronic device and the third electronic device [[0030] remote server may simply store the calculation of the first distance to a database and the first mobile device may query the database to obtain the indication of the first distance. If the first mobile device performs the distance calculation, it may transmit an indication of the distance to the second mobile device 318.]; and send the relative location relationship between each of the at least two second electronic devices and the third electronic device to the at least two second electronic devices and the third electronic device [[abstract] the distance between the two or more devices may be determined]; or determine a relative location relationship between every two devices of the at least two second electronic devices based on the relative location relationship between each of the at least two second electronic devices and the third electronic device [[0014][0030]].
Borggaard does not explicitly teach and yet Hannon teaches wherein the ultrasonic signal is alternately sent via a first sneaker with a progressively decreasing frequency, and via a second speaker with a progressively increasing frequencv [[0014] application that can be installed on mobile devices, such as a smartphone, tablet, and etc. hardware is installed on the vehicle and consists of at microphones, speakers and an embedded processor; [0155] ultrasonic pulse 802 that may be incorporated into either the first or the second audio signal … ramp up … ramp down … [o]ther amplitude shaping may include a triangular pulse envelope, a curved pulse envelope, a parabolic pulse envelope, a sinusoidal pulse envelope, or a combination or combinations thereof. It may be recognized that a first audio signal may be distinguished from a second audio signal based on the respective ultrasonic pulse envelopes therein; [0179] mobile device records 1248 the first acoustic signal and then records 1250 the second acoustic signal. At some time 1252 after the recording is completed, the mobile device disables the recording function; [prior art claim 1]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the triangulation/trilateration as taught by Borggaard, with the up and down ramps as taught by Hannon so that individual ultrasonic signals can be distinguished from each other (Hannon) [[0155]].
Regarding claim 25, Borggaard teaches the electronic device according to claim 24, wherein the at least two second electronic devices comprise two second electronic devices, and the relative location relationship between each of the at least two second electronic devices and the third electronic device comprises: one device of the two second electronic devices located on a first side of the third electronic device, and the other second electronic device in the two second electronic devices is located on a second side of the third electronic device, wherein the first side is a left side or a right side, and the second side is opposite to the first side [[abstract] determining distance between two or more mobile devices; [0021] mobile device 310 may be, for example, a smartphone, a tablet, or a laptop. The mobile device 310 includes at least a processor, a microphone, and a speaker. In some configurations, more than one microphone may be utilized to receive an audio signal; [0037] comparison of between the audio detected by two microphones on a device may reveal, for example that a left oriented microphone detected a chirp from a device slightly before the right microphone detected the same chirp, indicating that the device from which the chirp was emitted was left of the device detecting the chirp].
Regarding claim 26, Borggaard teaches the electronic device according to claim 24, wherein the at least two second electronic devices comprise two second electronic devices [[abstract] determining distance between two or more mobile devices utilizing a sound emitted from each device such as a chirp], the relative location relationship between each of the at least two second electronic devices and the third electronic device comprises: the two second electronic devices are both located on a left side or a right side of the third electronic device [[0014] based on this information alone, however, it is unclear whether device C is to the “right” or “left” of device B relative to device A. Several methods are provided herein to determine the relative orientation of device C as compared to devices A and B], and wherein to determine the relative location relationship between every two of the at least two second electronic devices based on the relative location relationship between each of the at least two second electronic devices and the third electronic device, when the one or more programs are executed by the one or more processors [[0036] application may receive compass data from the second and/or third mobile device to indicate an orientation of a device. An orientation of the second mobile device and third mobile device relative to the first mobile device may be determined based on, for example, compass data received from each of the second mobile device and the third mobile device], the electronic device is caused to: send the third indication information to one device of the two second electronic devices [[0002] between the first mobile device and the second mobile device based on the first time reference, the second time reference, a third time reference, and a fourth time reference. The third time reference may correspond to when the second mobile device emits the second chirp and the fourth time reference]; send the fourth indication information to the other second electronic device of the two second electronic devices, wherein the fourth indication information indicates to the other second electronic device to play the ultrasonic signal, and the ultrasonic signal is used to determine a relative location relationship between the two second electronic devices [[abstract] distance between the two or more devices may be determined; [0013] Devices A and B may provide sample time indications instead of raw time as used in the above example]; and receive the relative location relationship between the two second electronic devices from the other second electronic device [[0030] whether the determination of the distance between the first mobile device 310 and the second mobile device 320 is performed locally, such as by the first mobile device 310, or remotely, such as by a server 330, the first mobile device may obtain an indication of a first distance between the first mobile device and the second mobile device].
Regarding claim 27, Borggaard teaches the electronic device according to claim 26, wherein before sending the fourth indication information to the other second electronic device in the two second electronic devices, when the one or more programs are executed by the one or more processors, the electronic device is further caused to: receive an acknowledgment message associated with the third indication information and from the second electronic device in the two second electronic devices, wherein the acknowledgment message for the third indication information indicates that a sound recording function is enabled on the second electronic device in the two second electronic devices [[0001][0031][0037]].
Regarding claim 28, Borggaard teaches the electronic device according to claim 24, wherein before sending second indication information to the third electronic device, when the one or more programs are executed by the one or more processors, the electronic device is further caused to: receive acknowledgment messages for the first indication information from the at least two second electronic devices, wherein the acknowledgment messages indicate that the sound recording functions are enabled on the corresponding second electronic devices [[0001][0031][0037].
Regarding claim 29, Borggaard teaches the electronic device according to claim 24, wherein the electronic device is caused to: send the relative location relationship between each of the at least two second electronic devices and the third electronic device to the at least two second electronic devices and the third electronic device [[abstract] each device may determine or receive an indication of a time reference for each instance the device emits or detects a chirp.; [0017] for example, the network interface 29 may allow the computer to communicate with other computers via one or more local, wide-area, or other networks, as shown in FIG. 2.; [0030] whether the determination of the distance between the first mobile device 310 and the second mobile device 320 is performed locally, such as by the first mobile device 310, or remotely, such as by a server 330, the first mobile device may obtain an indication of a first distance between the first mobile device and the second mobile device].
Regarding claim 30, Borggaard teaches the electronic device according to claim 24, wherein the electronic device is caused to: determine the relative location relationship between every two devices of the at least two second electronic devices based on the relative location relationship between each of the at least two second electronic devices and the third electronic device [[abstract] each device may determine or receive an indication of a time reference for each instance the device emits or detects a chirp.; [0017] for example, the network interface 29 may allow the computer to communicate with other computers via one or more local, wide-area, or other networks, as shown in FIG. 2.; [0030] whether the determination of the distance between the first mobile device 310 and the second mobile device 320 is performed locally, such as by the first mobile device 310, or remotely, such as by a server 330, the first mobile device may obtain an indication of a first distance between the first mobile device and the second mobile device].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 11, filed 3/16/2026, with respect to claims 12-30 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 of 12/29/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 14-16, filed 3/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 12-30 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hannon (US 2017/0019525 A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN D ARMSTRONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3645