Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“air displacer assembly that provides positive air displacement, air pressure, and air flow to the thoracic garment” in claim 2. The corresponding structure(s) in the specification appear to be at least one member that angularly moves to move air in a pumping chamber (see the first three sentences of para. [0036]).
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 4, and 6-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 5 recites “to pressure and high frequency pressure pulses” and Examiner suggests --to the pressure and high frequency pressure pulses-- because this phrase has already been recited in line 1.
Claim 1, the last two lines recite “air pressure and pressure pulses” and this appears to be referring to the previously recited “pressure and high frequency pressure pulses.” Thus, Examiner suggests --the pressure and high frequency pressure pulses-- to use consistent terminology when referring to the pressure and pressure pulses.
Claim 2, line 1 recites “comprise an air displacer” and the Examiner suggests --comprises an air displacer--.
Claim 4, line 1 recites “wherein user programmable controls” and the Examiner suggests --wherein the user programmable controls-- to clarify the antecedent basis.
Claim 4, the last line recites “the therapy garment” and the Examiner suggests --the thoracic garment-- to use consistent language when referring to the garment (claim 1 refers to the garment as “the thoracic garment” in the last two lines).
Claim 6, line 1 recites “the garment” and the Examiner suggests --the thoracic garment-- to use consistent language when referring to the garment (claim 1 refers to the garment as “the thoracic garment” in the last two lines).
Claim 7, line 2 recites “the garment” and the Examiner suggests --the thoracic garment-- to use consistent language when referring to the garment (claim 1 refers to the garment as “the thoracic garment” in the last two lines).
Claim 8, line 1 recites “the garment” and the Examiner suggests --the thoracic garment-- to use consistent language when referring to the garment (claim 1 refers to the garment as “the thoracic garment” in the last two lines).
Claim 9, line 1 recites “the garment” and the Examiner suggests --the thoracic garment-- to use consistent language when referring to the garment (claim 1 refers to the garment as “the thoracic garment” in the last two lines).
Claim 10, line 5 recites “to pressure and high frequency pressure pulses” and Examiner suggests --to the pressure and high frequency pressure pulses-- because this phrase has already been recited in line 1.
Claim 10, the last line recites “air pressure and pressure pulses” and this appears to be referring to the previously recited “pressure and high frequency pressure pulses.” Thus, Examiner suggests --the pressure and high frequency pressure pulses-- to use consistent terminology when referring to the pressure and pressure pulses.
Claim 11, line 5 recites “to pressure and high frequency pressure pulses” and Examiner suggests --to the pressure and high frequency pressure pulses-- because this phrase has already been recited in line 1.
Claim 11, the last line recites “air pressure and pressure pulses” and this appears to be referring to the previously recited “pressure and high frequency pressure pulses.” Thus, Examiner suggests --the pressure and high frequency pressure pulses-- to use consistent terminology when referring to the pressure and pressure pulses.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claims 1-11 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Helgeson et al. (2013/0331747).
Regarding claim 1, Helgeson discloses an apparatus for applying pressure and high frequency pressure pulses to the thorax of a person (Fig. 1), comprising:
an air pulse generator (air pulse generator 211, Fig. 6) having user programmable controls (control panel 23, Fig. 1, and see controls 109, 110, 111, Fig. 4. This is a “user programmable control system” see the second sentence of [0015] summarizing the invention, and the first sentence of [0021]);
a garment (garment 30, Fig. 1; see lines 14-16 of [0037]) adapted to be located on the thorax of the person (see Figs. 1-2) for subjecting the thorax of the person to pressure and high frequency pressure pulses (see the first two sentences of [0015]); and
only one hose (there is only one hose 61, Fig. 1, Fig. 4; corresponding to hose 261, Fig. 6) coupling the air pulse generator (211) to the thoracic garment (30, Fig. 1; see lines 14-16 of [0037]) for transmitting air pressure and pressure pulses from the air pulse generator (211) to the thoracic garment (30; see lines 14-16 of [0037]).
Regarding claim 2, Helgeson discloses wherein the air pulse generator (211, Fig. 6) comprises an air displacer assembly (air displacers 252, 253, with power transmission mechanisms 289, 312, Figs. 6-8) that provides consistent and positive air displacement, air pressure, and air flow (see lines 9-11 of [0015]; see lines 14-22 of [0037]) to the thoracic garment (30).
Regarding claim 3, Helgeson discloses wherein the user programmable controls (control panel 23, Fig. 1, and see controls 109, 110, 111, Fig. 4. This is a “user programmable control system” see the second sentence of [0015] summarizing the invention, and the first sentence of [0021]) comprise time, frequency, and pressure controls (the time, frequency, and pressure controls are user programmable, see the second sentence of [0015] and see controls 109, 110, 111, Fig. 4. Additionally, see the first sentence of [0039], see lines 15-16 of [0040], and see lines 1-9 of [0039]).
Regarding claim 4, Helgeson discloses wherein user programmable controls (control panel 23, Fig. 1, and see controls 109, 110, 111, Fig. 4. This is a “user programmable control system” see the second sentence of [0015], and the first sentence of [0021]) are provided on a control panel (control panel 23, Fig. 1, Fig. 4), and wherein the user programmable controls may be used to activate an electronic memory program to regulate time or duration of operation of the air pulse generator, frequency of the air pulses, and pressure of the air pulses directed to the therapy garment (see the penultimate sentence of [0015]).
Regarding claim 5, Helgeson discloses wherein the pressure of the air pulses is coordinated with the frequency of the air pulses such that the air pressure is substantially maintained at a selected pressure when the frequency of the air pulses is changed (see the last sentence of [0015], and the last two sentences of [0040]).
Regarding claim 6, Helgeson discloses wherein the garment (30) includes an air core (air core 35 with one or more enclosed chambers 40, Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 7, Helgeson discloses wherein the air pulse generator (211, Fig. 6) includes an air outlet passage (passage 242, Fig. 6) and the garment (30) includes an air inlet passage (see lines 21-26 of [0015], lines 14-16 of [0037], and see Fig. 1, the hose leads to an inlet at the garment 30) and where the only hose (61, Fig. 1; corresponding to 261, Fig. 6) couples the air outlet passage (242, Fig. 6) of the pulse generator (211, Fig. 6) with the air inlet passage of the thoracic garment (30, see Fig. 1 and see lines 14-16 of [0037]).
Regarding claim 8, Helgeson discloses wherein the garment (30) includes a single air inlet connector (see lines 21-26 of [0015] “the garment may be reversible with a single air inlet connector”).
Regarding claim 9, Helgeson discloses wherein the garment (30) is reversible (see lines 21-26 of [0015] “the garment may be reversible with a single air inlet connector”).
Regarding claim 10, Helgeson discloses an apparatus for applying pressure and high frequency pressure pulses to the thorax of a person (Fig. 1), comprising:
an air pulse generator (air pulse generator 211, Fig. 6) having user programmable controls (control panel 23, Fig. 1, and see controls 109, 110, 111, Fig. 4. This is a “user programmable control system” see the second sentence of [0015] summarizing the invention, and the first sentence of [0021]);
a garment (garment 30, Fig. 1; see lines 14-16 of [0037]) adapted to be located on the thorax of the person (see Figs. 1-2) for subjecting the thorax of the person to pressure and high frequency pressure pulses (see the first two sentences of [0015]); and
fewer than two hoses (there is one hose 61, Fig. 1, Fig. 4; corresponding to hose 261, Fig. 6) coupling the air pulse generator (211) to the thoracic garment (30, Fig. 1; see lines 14-16 of [0037]) for transmitting air pressure and pressure pulses from the air pulse generator (211) to the thoracic garment (30; see lines 14-16 of [0037]).
Regarding claim 11, Helgeson discloses an apparatus for applying pressure and high frequency pressure pulses to the thorax of a person (Fig. 1), comprising:
an air pulse generator (air pulse generator 211, Fig. 6) having user programmable controls (control panel 23, Fig. 1, and see controls 109, 110, 111, Fig. 4. This is a “user programmable control system” see the second sentence of [0015] summarizing the invention, and the first sentence of [0021]);
a garment (garment 30, Fig. 1; see lines 14-16 of [0037]) adapted to be located on the thorax of the person (see Figs. 1-2) for subjecting the thorax of the person to pressure and high frequency pressure pulses (see the first two sentences of [0015]); and
no more than one hose (there is only one hose 61, Fig. 1, Fig. 4; corresponding to hose 261, Fig. 6) coupling the air pulse generator (211) to the thoracic garment (30, Fig. 1; see lines 14-16 of [0037]) for transmitting air pressure and pressure pulses from the air pulse generator (211) to the thoracic garment (30; see lines 14-16 of [0037]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,029,703.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1-11 are merely broader versions of the Patented claim(s). For example, independent claims 1, 10, and 11, lack many of the additional limitations of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,029,703, such as “the first and second displacers are mounted on opposite sides of the air pulsing chamber and are configured to be angularly moved between first and second positions to move air through and pulse air from the air pulse generator; a check valve operable to allow air to flow from the air pumping chamber into the air pulsing chamber … a first anti-backlash device associated with the first displacer…” etc.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hansen (2002/0016560) discloses a related air pressure thoracic vest with a single hose. Warwick et al. (2006/0036199) discloses a related air pressure thoracic vest.
/CHRISTOPHER E MILLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785