DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on -09/27/2024, 07/31/2024 and 05/21/2024- is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Right et al US 20050030172 A1 herein after “Right” in view of Nelson US 20150268264 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Right teaches a self-testing duct environment detector, comprising:
a sensing chamber ([0020] Once the ambient air has traversed the sample tube 20, it enters the detector chamber 15 of the detector 10.
para [0023] The other leg of the thermistor bridge can be placed in the ambient air flowing through sensor chamber 55.);
Examiner views chamber 55 as a sensing chamber with a detector housing 15. Detector housing 15 has space for chamber 55 and surrounds the chamber 55.
a self-heating thermistor positioned within the sensing chamber (para [0022] In the embodiment shown in FIG. 1, an airflow thermistor 70 is installed to detect such airflow changes.
[0023] In one embodiment, a negative temperature coefficient thermistor may be used. Thermistor "bridges" for use in the present invention can have one leg shielded from the airflow, providing a baseline temperature when no air is flowing. The other leg of the thermistor bridge can be placed in the ambient airflowing through sensor chamber 55. The presence of airflowing over and around the unshielded leg will generate a lower temperature reading relative to the shielded leg. The negative temperature differential, then, can be interpreted to be indicative of airflow where lack of a differential is indicative of no airflow.).
Examiner views the thermistor 70 as a self-heating thermistor (i.e., heats up due to presence of airflow in the thermistor) located or positioned within the sensing chamber 55 and
a memory, wherein the memory includes executable instructions executed by a processor that when executed (Fig. 1 memory 110 and microprocessor 130 are connected to each other for storing and execution of instructions for monitoring the sensing device), cause the processor to:
Right does not teach determine whether there is sufficient airflow through the sensing chamber by comparing a rate of temperature change over a period of time to stored data values corresponding to a temperature sensed by the self-heating thermistor.
Nelson teaches determine whether there is sufficient airflow through the sensing chamber by comparing a rate of temperature change over a period of time to stored data values corresponding to a temperature sensed by the self-heating thermistor (para [0037] In yet another embodiment, where a binary indication of airspeed is output by the controller 110, the process shown in Boxes 400-430 may be executed only once. For example, if there is a known threshold for desired airflow, that airspeed can be used in Box 410. The temperature recorded in Box 420 may then indicate the maximum allowable temperature rise.
[0040] In another embodiment, shown in FIG. 3, the controller 110 uses the rate of temperature change, rather than the absolute temperature rise to determine airspeed. Most of the steps of FIG. 3 are the same as those in FIG. 2 and are not explained again. However, in this embodiment, the controller 110, after setting the high current, in Box 240, does not wait until the temperature is stable, as was done in FIG. 2. Rather, in this embodiment, the controller 110 waits a predetermined duration of time, T, as shown in Box 300, after changing the current to the thermistor 130, and then samples the output voltage, as shown in Box 260. This output voltage is then converted to a second temperature, as shown in Box 270. The difference between the ambient temperature and the second temperature is then divided by the wait time, T, to provide a rate of temperature change, as shown in Box 310. This rate of temperature change can be used to determine airspeed, as shown in Box 320. For example, similar to the method shown in FIG. 4, a table may be created which relates rate of temperature change to airspeed.
[0041] In another embodiment, rather then calculating rate of temperature change as shown in Box 310, the controller 110 may monitor the output voltage from the thermistor 130 a plurality of times, such as at fixed intervals. This allows the controller 110 to maintain a list of second temperatures as a function of time. This allows the rate of temperature change to be determined based on the plurality of second temperatures, based on the output voltage of the thermistor 130.
[0044] For example, a calibration procedure, such as that shown in FIG. 4, may be used to generate a plurality of data points correlating airspeed and rate of temperature change. This plurality of data points can be used to create a table, which can then be indexed into by the controller 110, such as during Box 320. Alternatively, this plurality of data points may be used to create a best fit line or other equation which relates observed rate of temperature change to airspeed.
Above, examiner views a desired airflow or airspeed (i.e., sufficient airflow) is determined from the rate of temperature change over time period by using a calibration procedure (i.e., comparing a rate of temperature change over a time to a stored data values). The temperature change is sensed by a self-heated thermistor.
The reference does not discuss putting the thermistor inside a sensing chamber but only discusses how a thermistor functions to determine a desired airflow rate. Examiner views, a person skilled in the art would put the thermistor into a desired sensing chamber to determine if a sufficient airflow is passing through the sensing chamber based on the rate of temperature change readings.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Nelson into Right for the purpose of determining an airflow in sensing device by determining a temperature change over a time and comparing to a predetermined temperature threshold and check if a self-testing sensor is performing properly based on the determined airflow.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Right and Nelson teach the self-testing duct environment detector of claim 1, Nelson teaches wherein the self-heating thermistor is heated to a predetermined temperature (Abstract: After the ambient temperature is determined, a second, higher current is applied to the temperature sensor. This higher current serves to heat the temperature sensor be a predetermined amount. Based on the expected temperature rise, the ambient temperature and the actual monitored temperature, the airspeed may be determined.
para [0031] The controller 110 then sets a higher current level, as shown in Box 240. This higher current value is selected because it creates a known or predictable rise in the temperature of the thermistor 130, due to the heat generated by the internal resistor.).
Above, examiner views the thermistor as a self heating due to applying a higher electrical current. The thermistor is heated to a predetermined temperature.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Nelson into Right for the purpose of heating a thermistor to a predetermined temperature so that the temperature changes can be accurately monitored for a proper functioning of the sensing device.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Right and Nelson teach the self-testing duct environment detector of claim 1, Right teaches wherein airflow is directed to pass through the sensing chamber such that the self-heating thermistor is cooled as the airflow passes over the self-heating thermistor (para [0023] In one embodiment, a negative temperature coefficient thermistor may be used. Thermistor "bridges" for use in the present invention can have one leg shielded from the airflow, providing a baseline temperature when no air is flowing. The other leg of the thermistor bridge can be placed in the ambient airflowing through sensor chamber 55. The presence of air flowing over and around the unshielded leg will generate a lower temperature reading relative to the shielded leg.).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Right and Nelson teach the self-testing duct environment detector of claim 3, Right teaches wherein determining whether there is sufficient airflow through the sensing chamber includes determining whether the temperature sensed by the self-heating thermistor is above a threshold value stored in memory (para [0034] FIG. 3 shows a flow chart of the logic operation for the airflow rate ("airflow test") in one embodiment of the present invention. An airflow test can be initiated by an operator by the reed switch, for example, or automatically at preset intervals. The microprocessor 130 then measures the reading from one leg of the thermistor 130, S1 (e.g., leg 181) and then similarly measures the reading from the other leg of the thermistor 130, S2 (e.g., leg 182). Then, the microprocessor 130 calculates the differential between S1 and S2. If the differential is above a (or below) chosen threshold, then an output is activated to indicate the state of airflow. Alternatively, if no threshold is met, no indication is signaled.).
Examiner views a state of airflow (i.e., sufficient airflow through sensing chamber where thermistor is located) is determined based on the temperature differential of the two legs of the thermistor being above a chosen threshold value (i.e., stored value in memory).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Right and Nelson teach the self-testing duct environment detector of claim 4, Right teaches wherein determining whether the temperature is above the threshold value includes determining whether the self-test has passed or failed (see above in claim 4, examiner views the state of airflow as the self-test has passed when the temperature is above the chosen threshold).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Right and Nelson teach the self-testing duct environment detector of claim 5, Right teaches further including sending information related to whether the self-test has passed or failed to a system control panel to alert a maintenance technician whether the airflow is in or out of a threshold range (para [0034] FIG. 3 shows a flow chart of the logic operation for the airflow rate ("airflow test") in one embodiment of the present invention. An airflow test can be initiated by an operator by the reed switch, for example, or automatically at preset intervals. The microprocessor 130 then measures the reading from one leg of the thermistor 130, S1 (e.g., leg 181) and then similarly measures the reading from the other leg of the thermistor 130, S2 (e.g., leg 182). Then, the microprocessor 130 calculates the differential between S1 and S2. If the differential is above a (or below) chosen threshold, then an output is activated to indicate the state of airflow. Alternatively, if no threshold is met, no indication is signaled. In other embodiments, a matrix of discrete threshold levels may be programmed into the microprocessor 130 such that multiple relative levels of airflow may be assessed and signaled to the operator.).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Right and Nelson teach the self-testing duct environment detector of claim 1, Right teaches wherein determining whether there is sufficient airflow through the sensing chamber includes determining whether the airflow is sufficient for operation of the self-testing duct environment detector (Please see paragraph [0034] above in claim 6. From the paragraph examiner views an output to indicate an activated state of airflow in the sensing chamber with thermistor 70 as the sufficient airflow through the sensing chamber is sufficient for operation of the monitoring device).
Claim 8 is rejected as claim 1 above for having similar claim limitations.
Claim 9 is rejected as claim 4 above for having similar claim limitations.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Right and Nelson teach the self-testing duct environment detector of claim 9, Nelson teaches wherein the threshold value is set by a manufacturer according to regulations or set based on a threshold rate of temperature change over a period of time (para [0040] The difference between the ambient temperature and the second temperature is then divided by the wait time, T, to provide a rate of temperature change, as shown in Box 310. This rate of temperature change can be used to determine airspeed, as shown in Box 320. For example, similar to the method shown in FIG. 4, a table may be created which relates rate of temperature change to airspeed).
[0044] For example, a calibration procedure, such as that shown in FIG. 4, may be used to generate a plurality of data points correlating airspeed and rate of temperature change. This plurality of data points can be used to create a table, which can then be indexed into by the controller 110, such as during Box 320.
Examiner views a calibration procedure (i.e., the calibration data is set by a manufacturer) is set based on the threshold rate of temperature change over a period of time T.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Nelson into Right for the purpose of setting a threshold based on temperature rate of change of a thermistor by a manufacturer, so that the self heating thermistor is accurately calibrated for its intended use.
Claim 11 is rejected as claim 5 above for having similar claim limitations.
Claim(s) 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Right in view of Moffa US 20170287318 A1 and Nelson.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Right and Nelson teach the self-testing duct environment detector of claim 11, the combination does not teach further including sending a fault signal to a fire alarm control panel if it is determined that the self-test has failed.
Moffa teaches further including sending a fault signal to a fire alarm control panel if it is determined that the self-test has failed ([0022] FIG. 2A is a plan view of a detection chamber in a fire detection device, illustrating an example of a self-testing system including a reflective surface, in which the device is in an operating state;
para [0078] Returning to FIG. 8, in step 804, the fire detection device 108 is tested using a test value just below the alarm-at value. In step 806, it is determined whether the amount of light detected changed but no alarm was indicated by the fire detection device 108. If not, the fire detection device fails the test in step 808 and the control panel initiates a warning flag.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Moffa into Right for the purpose of using sending a fault signal to control panel if the self-test of the fire detection system is failed so that an immediate maintenance of the detection system can be initiated.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Right and Nelson teach the self-testing duct environment detector of claim 8, the combination does not teach wherein a self-test is performed during a normal operation period by the self-testing duct environment detector.
Moffa teaches wherein a self-test is performed during a normal operation period by the self-testing duct environment detector (para [0063] In this way, it is possible to test the device remotely and without bypassing any of the horns or strobes, or shutting down any of the detection circuits. In this example, the fire detection system 100 remains fully operational during testing.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Moffa into Right for the purpose of testing a fire safety device in a normal operating period so that a real time failure or passing result can be obtained at the normal operating period.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Right and Nelson teach the self-testing duct environment detector of claim 8, the combination does not teach wherein a self-test is performed by the self-testing duct environment detector without setting a fire or gas safety system for an entire building into test mode.
Moffa teaches wherein a self-test is performed by the self-testing duct environment detector without setting a fire or gas safety system for an entire building into test mode. ([0062] In general, the fire detection system 100 implements a self-testing capability for fire detection devices 108 by first analyzing the measured background signal levels over time 422 for each device to determine whether air is flowing through the detection chambers 205, and then by activating the self-testing system 408 of the devices to determine whether the smoke detection system 406 is operational.
para [0063] In one example, a fire detection device is put into a pre-alarm state without going into a full alarm state (e.g. if an alarm is triggered at 2.5, and the device is brought to a slightly lower value such as 2.3). In this way, it is possible to test the device remotely and without bypassing any of the horns or strobes, or shutting down any of the detection circuits. In this example, the fire detection system 100 remains fully operational during testing.).
Examiner views a self-testing fire system or sensor is put into sensing when the system is in operational mode (i.e., without putting into a test mode). The person skilled in the art would perform this test in the entire building.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Moffa into Right for the purpose of testing a fire safety device in a normal operating period so that a real time failure or passing result can be obtained at the normal operating period.
Regarding claim 15, Right teaches a self-testing duct environment detector system, comprising:
the self-testing duct environment detector mounted to a duct within a building (para [0018] The detector 10 is preferably adapted for and positioned within a Heating/Ventilation/Air Condition (HVAC) duct, both in the air supply and/or the air return of a building. However, detectors of the present invention may be installed in any location.);
Examiner views the detector 10 (self testing duct environment detector) is positioned or mounted in a HVAC duct within a building.
a self-heating thermistor coupled to a controller (see in fig. 2 microprocessor/controller is connected to thermistor 180);
the controller including a memory, wherein the memory includes executable instructions executed by a processor that when executed, cause the processor to (Fig. 1 memory 110 and microprocessor 130 are connected to each other for storing and execution of instructions for monitoring the sensing device), cause the processor to:
Right does not teach
a monitoring device wirelessly connected to a self-testing duct environment detector;
determine whether there is sufficient airflow through a sensing chamber of the self-testing duct environment detector by comparing a rate of temperature change over a period of time to stored data values corresponding to a temperature sensed by the self-heating thermistor.
Moffa teaches a monitoring device wirelessly connected to a self-testing duct environment detector ([0046] The self-testing system 408 is used to determine whether the smoke detection system 406 is operating normally.
[0047] In a further aspect, the command to trigger the self-test can be initiated by a cloud system and sent to the control panel.)
Examiner a cloud system as a wirelessly connecting medium for a smoke detecting self test system.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Moffa into Right for the purpose of using a cloud computing for connecting a controller and a self testing system so that the system can be remotely connected and controlled.
Right and Moffa does not teach determine whether there is sufficient airflow through a sensing chamber of the self-testing duct environment detector by comparing a rate of temperature change over a period of time to stored data values corresponding to a temperature sensed by the self-heating thermistor
Nelson teaches determine whether there is sufficient airflow through a sensing chamber of the self-testing duct environment detector by comparing a rate of temperature change over a period of time to stored data values corresponding to a temperature sensed by the self-heating thermistor (please see claim 1 above, claim 1 also has the same claim limitation).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Nelson into Right for the purpose of using wireless control system and determining an airflow in sensing device by determining a temperature change over a time and comparing to a predetermined temperature threshold and check if a self-testing sensor is performing properly based on the determined airflow by using a wireless control or monitoring system.
Claim 16 is rejected as claim 4 and 9 above for having similar claim limitations.
Claim 17 is rejected as claim 14 for having similar claim limitation.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Right, Nelson and Moffa teach the self-testing duct environment detector system of claim 15, Nelson teaches wherein the self-heating thermistor senses temperature values at periodic intervals during normal operation of the self-testing duct environment detector (para [0043] Thus, in another embodiment, the temperature readings taken while the higher current is being applied to the thermistor 130, in conjunction with the duration of time between these readings may be used to calculate rate of temperature change, which can then be used to calculate airspeed.).
Examiner views the duration of time between temperature readings as temperature values taken at periodic intervals when higher current is being applied (i.e., during normal operation) to the self-heating thermistor for a self-testing duct environment detector.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Nelson into Right for the purpose of reading a temperature from a thermistor in a periodic interval so that an accurate functioning of the environmental detecting system can be obtained by relating the temperature data to the airflow.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Right, Nelson and Moffa teach the self-testing duct environment detector system of claim 15, Nelson teaches wherein the controller executes a self-test function of the self-testing duct environment detector system responsive to a particular period of time passing since previously conducting the self-test function or responsive to receiving a command from the monitoring device to initiate the self-test (para [0037] In yet another embodiment, where a binary indication of airspeed is output by the controller 110, the process shown in Boxes 400-430 may be executed only once. For example, if there is a known threshold for desired airflow, that airspeed can be used in Box 410. The temperature recorded in Box 420 may then indicate the maximum allowable temperature rise.
[0039] The controller 110 then repeats this process, returning to Box 200. This process may be executed continuously. In other embodiments, the sequence shown in FIG. 2 is repeated every 10-20 seconds, to insure that unsafe temperatures are not experienced).
Examiner views Fig. 2 as a self-test function of the thermistor based measurement system. The self-test is repeatedly conducted every 10-20 seconds (i.e., responsive to a particular period of time passing since previously conducting the self-test function or responsive to receiving a command from the monitoring device to initiate the self-test). The person skilled in the art would put the thermistor inside a detector to test the function of the detector with a thermistor.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Nelson into Right for the purpose of repeating the process of testing a self-test function of the self-testing duct environment detector system with a thermistor so that an accurate temperature is obtained for the thermistor to provide a functioning of the detector.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Right, Nelson and Moffa teach the self-testing duct environment detector system of claim 15, Nelson teaches wherein the rate of temperature change is determined by sensing a first temperature at a first time and comparing the first temperature to a second temperature sensed at a second time (para [0040] The difference between the ambient temperature and the second temperature is then divided by the wait time, T, to provide a rate of temperature change, as shown in Box 310.).
Examiner views ambient temperature as first temperature.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Nelson into Right for the purpose of determining a rate of temperature change in a thermistor so that an accurate airflow can be determined based on the rate of temperature change.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bach US 20130025364 A1 discusses system for detecting airflow and airflow velocity using thermistors.
Ellis et al US 20050092078 A1 discusses a thermistor based mass airflow measurement based on the temperature change.
/SHARAD TIMILSINA/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ALEXANDER SATANOVSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857