Status of Claims
The claims filed May 21, 2024 are acknowledged and entered. Claims 1-22 are pending.
Priority
This application is claims benefit of 63/468,082, filed May 22, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of the Information Disclosure Statements filed on July 10, 2024; December 13, 2024; and March 4, 2026. All references have been considered except where marked with a strikethrough.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any of the errors of which applicant may become aware of in the specification.
Election/Restriction
The election of species requirement mailed July 2, 2026 has been reconsidered and is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 11 are objected to for reciting improper Markush language. Proper Markush language requires singular and alternative language, such as, "A compound of formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof." In the present case the claims recite “salts and isomers” and it is suggested the claim be amended to recite “salt or…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112b
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims are indefinite for the reasons that follow:
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 1 and 11 recite the broad recitation “reducing a dimension”, and the claims also recite “reducing the size”, “reducing the volume”, “reducing the weight”, “reducing the mass” which are the narrower statement of the range/limitation. “Size”, “volume”, “weight” and “mass” are all different dimensions and thus embraced by the broader recitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 1 and 11 recite the phrase “GRM comprises”. “GRM comprises” renders the scope of the claims indefinite because it is not clear what other elements are intended to be included in the GRM other than formula (I). The transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including," "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See MPEP 2111.03. It appears from the specification that GRM is intended to be a compound (see e.g. [0009] and [0010]). It is suggested Applicant amend the claim to recite “GRM having…structure of formula (I)”.
Claims 1 and 11 recite the term “isomers” which renders the scope formula (I) indefinite because the specification provides no definition of which “isomers” are intended. Isomer is a generic term embracing all forms of isomer including constitutional isomers which includes compounds that have an entirely different atom connectively than formula (I). Based on the disclosure a person skilled in the art has no way of knowing the scope of compounds embraced by formula (I). It is suggested the claim be amended to delete “isomers”.
Claims 2-10 and 12-22 depend from claims 1 or 11, do not cure the abovementioned deficiencies, and therefore are also indefinite.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, the phrase "e.g., low bone density…" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenstein et al. (WO2021/154750 A1)(hereinafter “Greenstein”).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 11-12, Greenstein teaches a method of reducing the load of an adrenal gland tumor (adrenocortical carcinoma, ACC) comprising administration of a glucocorticoid receptor modulator (GRM) wherein the GRM is relacorilant (see claim 1, adrenocortical carcinoma, see claim 10). Greenstein teaches the method reduces tumor size (see [0222] ). As evidenced by Del Rivero et al. (Front Endocrinol 2022 13, 961650, Abstract), ACC is an adrenal gland tumor (Abstract: ACC is a rare endocrine malignancy of the adrenal gland).
Regarding claims 3-4 and 13-14, Greenstein teaches wherein the GRM may be administered orally (see [0011]). Oral administration would include administration with food.
Regarding claims 5, 7, 9-10, 15, 17 and 19-20, Greenstein teaches ACC patients with cortisol excess experience Cushing’s Syndrome (see [0258]). Cortisol excess would be the result of the adrenal gland tumor, ACC, secreting cortisol. A patient who experiences cortisol excess would be suffering from abnormally high blood levels of cortisol.
Regarding claims 6 , 7, 16 and 17, Greenstein teaches administration of the elected compound in the treatment of an adrenal gland tumor. The method of Greenstein would necessarily include wherein the GRM is effective to reduce secretion of cortisol and wherein treatment is effective to reduce cortisol blood levels as these are no more than downstream effects that result from administering the compound.
Regarding claim 8 and 18, Greenstein teaches cortisol levels vary during the course of the day and night and that cortisol excess is associated with cancer wherein ACC patients experience systemic excess (see [0001]-[0002]). Such a patient would lack an appropriate diurnal rhythm in their cortisol levels.
Regarding claims 20-21, Greenstein teaches the tumor may be benign (see [0042]).
The difference between Greenstein and the instant claims is that the instant claims recite an adrenal gland tumor. However, the claimed invention would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because ACC is an adrenal gland tumor.
One would have been motivated as a matter of treating ACC.
One would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the claimed method was already known to be useful for the treatment of an adrenal gland tumor.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,464,764, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,925,626, or claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,514,849 in view of Greenstein et al. (WO2021/154750 A1)(hereinafter “Greenstein”).
Each of the patent claims is drawn to a formulation for oral administration of relacorilant (patent claim 1 of US12,514,849 pictured below)
The patent claims are silent regarding a method of reducing the size of an adrenal gland tumor; however, Greenstein teaches that relacorilant may be used in a method of reducing the size of an adrenal gland tumor, and Greenstein provides all claim limitations as was noted in the rejection above. The teachings of Greenstein are incorporated herein by reference.
The difference between the patent claims and the instant claims is that the instant claims are drawn to a method of using the patented formulation for reducing the size of an adrenal gland tumor. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant applicant to use the patented invention in a method as is claimed because Greenstein had already disclosed that the compound was useful for this purpose.
One would have been motivated as a matter of practicing the patented invention.
One would have had a reasonable expectation of success because relacorilant was already known to be useful in a method of reducing the size of an adrenal gland tumor.
Claims 1-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/408,669 (reference application) in view of Greenstein et al. (WO2021/154750 A1)(hereinafter “Greenstein”).
The reference claim is drawn to a formulation for oral administration of relacorilant. The reference claims are silent regarding a method of reducing the size of an adrenal gland tumor; however, Greenstein teaches that relacorilant may be used in a method of reducing the size of an adrenal gland tumor, and Greenstein provides all claim limitations as was noted in the rejection above. The teachings of Greenstein are incorporated herein by reference.
The difference between the reference claim and the instant claims is that the instant claims are drawn to a method of using the formulation of the reference claim for reducing the size of an adrenal gland tumor. The instant claims would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the reasons set forth above in the rejection over U.S. Patent No. 11,464,764, U.S. Patent No. 11,925,626, or U.S. Patent No. 12,514,849 in view of Greenstein and which are incorporated herein by reference.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,648,943. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are obvious over the patent claims.
Patent claim 1 recites:
Patent claim 5 depends from patent claim 1 and recites wherein said SGRM is
The difference between the patent claims and instant claims is that the instant claims are more broadly drawn to the treatment of an adrenal gland tumor. However, the instant claims would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because ACC is an adrenal gland tumor.
Claims 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,389,432 or claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,234,971 in view of Greenstein et al. (WO2021/154750 A1)(hereinafter “Greenstein”).
U.S. Patent No. 11,389,432
Patent claim 1 is drawn to a method of treating cancer in a cancer patient identified as likely to benefit from treatment with a GRM and cancer chemotherapy, the method comprising administering relacorilant.
U.S. Patent No. 11,234,971
Patent claim 1 is drawn to a method of treating cancer in a cancer patient identified as likely to benefit from treatment with a GRM and cancer chemotherapy, the method comprising administering a GRM to said patient.
Patent claim 2 recites wherein said GRM is relacorilant.
The patent claims are silent regarding wherein the cancer is an adrenal gland tumor; however Greenstein teaches that relacorilant may be used in a method of reducing the size of an adrenal gland tumor, and Greenstein provides all claim limitations as was noted in the rejection above. The teachings of Greenstein are incorporated herein by reference. As a whole, Greenstein teaches that an adrenal gland tumor is a cancer likely to benefit from treatment with a GRM.
The difference between the patent claims and the instant claims is that the instant claims are drawn to the treatment of an adrenal gland tumor (see paragraph [0012] of the instant specification: methods disclosed herein provide improved treatments for patients suffering from adrenal gland tumors). However, the instant claims would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Greenstein disclosed that relacorilant was useful for treating an adrenal gland tumor.
One would have been motivated as a matter of practicing the patented invention.
One would have had a reasonable expectation of success because a patient with an adrenal gland tumor, in view of Greenstein, would have been recognized as someone likely to benefit from the patented method.
Conclusion
September 28, 2026
/K.S.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1624
/BRUCK KIFLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1624