DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishida (U.S. 2017/0038482).
Regarding claim 7:
Ishida discloses a manufacturing method of a scintillator plate, comprising:
preparing a phosphor including an aggregate of columnar crystals formed on a substrate ([0024]-[0027], plurality of crystals); and
forming a protective film to cover the phosphor by applying and drying a material of the protective film ([0024]-[0027], protective film is dried and polished), wherein surface roughness of the columnar crystals is reduced by planarization treatment before the forming ([0025], polished).
Regarding claim 8:
Ishida discloses the manufacturing method according to Claim 7, wherein the protective film is formed by spin coating ([0025], spin coating).
Regarding claim 9:
Ishida discloses the manufacturing method according to Claim 7, wherein the protective film is formed by spray coating ([0025], spray coating).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anzai (U.S. 2014/0001367) in view of Oyaizu (U.S. 2006/0054830).
Regarding claim 1:
Anzai discloses a scintillator plate comprising:
a columnar crystal ([0035], columnar crystal) formed on a substrate (Fig. 3, 22) and configured to emit light based on irradiating radiation ([0039], generate light), the columnar crystal having a predetermined column diameter ([0040], diameter); and
a protective film ([0036], film) formed to cover the columnar crystal ([0036], film) and configured to protect the columnar crystal from water vapor ([0036], film),
wherein a thickness of the protective film is less than or equal to 4 times the predetermined column diameter ([0036], film is 20 µm; [0040], diameter is 6 µm; the thickness of the film is less than 4 times the diameter of the column).
However, Anzai fails to disclose wherein an arithmetic average roughness of the protective film is less than or equal to the predetermined column diameter.
Oyaizu teaches wherein an arithmetic average roughness of the protective film is less than or equal to the predetermined column diameter ([0099], roughness is less than the size of the column particle size).
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the scintillator of Anzai with the protective film roughness of Oyaizu in order to enhance imaging accuracy by improving radiation sensitivity (Oyaizu; [0010]). KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 3:
The combination of Anzai and Oyaizu discloses the scintillator plate according to Claim 1, wherein the protective film coats a sidewall of the columnar crystal by 50% or less of a height of the columnar crystal from a tip of the columnar crystal (Anzai; Fig. 2, 23 is 50% of scintillator 20).
Regarding claim 5:
The combination of Anzai and Oyaizu discloses the scintillator plate according to Claim 1, wherein the columnar crystal is made of a halogenated alkali metal compound (Anzai; [0035], thallium activated cesium iodide).
Regarding claim 6:
The combination of Anzai and Oyaizu discloses a radiation detector comprising:
the scintillator plate according to Claim 1 (rejected as above); and
an optical sensor (Anzai; Fig. 2, 21) configured to convert light from the scintillator plate into an electrical charge.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anzai (U.S. 2014/0001367) in view of Oyaizu (U.S. 2006/0054830) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mitsuru (Jp 2008008741; all notations directed to translated Mitsuru).
Regarding claim 4:
The combination of Anzai and Oyaizu discloses the scintillator plate according to Claim 1.
However, the combination of Anzai and Oyaizu fails to disclose teaches wherein the protective film is made of silica
Mitsuru teaches wherein the protective film is made of silica (Translated Mitsuru; [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the protective film of Anzai with the material of Mitsuru in order to improve the signal to nose ratio by improving the luminous efficiency (Translated Mitsuru; [0008]). KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida (U.S. 2017/0038482) in view of Yasuaki (JP 2009034428; all notations directed to translated Yasuaki).
Regarding claim 10:
Ishida discloses he manufacturing method according to Claim 7.
However, Ishida fails to disclose wherein the material of the protective film contains polysilazane.
Yasuaki teaches wherein the material of the protective film contains polysilazane (Translated Yasuaki; [0078], polysilazane).
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the protective film of Anzai with the material of Yasuaki in order to sensitivity for better spatial resolution (Translated Yasuaki; [0076]). KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior arts are Anzai (U.S. 2014/0001367) and Oyaizu (U.S. 2006/0054830)
Regarding claim 2:
The combination of Anzai and Oyaizu discloses the scintillator plate according to Claim 1, the thickness of the protective film is greater than or equal to 0.5 times and less than or equal to 4 times the predetermined column diameter ([0036], film is 20 µm; [0040], diameter is 6 µm; the thickness of the film is less than 4 times the diameter of the column).
However, the combination of Anzai and Oyaizu fails to wherein the arithmetic average roughness of the protective film is less than or equal to 10% of the predetermined column diameter.
Since the prior art of record fails to teach the details above, nor is there any reason to modify or combine prior art elements absent of applicant’s disclosure, the claim is deemed patentable over the prior art of record, if rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim.
Conclusion
/S.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/DAVID J MAKIYA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884