DETAILED ACTION
As a result of the interview on 5/29/26 (see 5/1/26 interview summary), the pending claims will be examined. Please refer to the 5/1/26 interview summary for the reasons why said claims are appropriate for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 7, the limitation “at least one additional stiffener is co-bonded the curing tool” is indefinite. The claim appears to require the additional stiffener to be co-bonded to the curing tool. This is not consistent with the specification, and it’s unclear, in the context of the claims and the specification, how this would occur.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price (previously cited) in view of Delgado et al. (US 2007/0175171)
As to claim 1, Price discloses a method for manufacturing spars or ribs for aircrafts, the method comprising: placing at least one stiffener 32/33 on one side of a spar web 8/8b (fig 4, associated discussion); placing a vacuum bag on the at least one stiffener and the spar web; and co-curing (p. 4, line 1-10) the at least one stiffener and the spar web (figs 4-8, associated text p. 2, line 27 – p. 4, line 10; p. 7, line 12 – p. 8, line 34; p. 10, lines 6-15).
While Price discloses the co-curing takes place in the absence of an adhesive layer (p. 4, line 1-10) between the at least one stiffener and spar web. Prince does not disclose said co-curing is made by placing a curing tool outside a vacuum bag.
Delgado discloses, when co-curing a stiffener to a composite layer in the absence of an adhesive layer (para 4-6, 15, 16, 37) placing a curing tool 60 outside the vacuum bag during said co-curing assures verticality and proper orientation of the stiffeners during curing (para 15, abstract, claim 1, para 43, figs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Price such that, during the co-curing of the stiffener to the spar web in the absence of an adhesive layer, a curing tool is placed outside the vacuum bag as taught by Delgado above as such achieves the advantages detailed above.
As to claims 4-5, Price discloses each stiffener has a cut foot that is cut at an acute angle with respect to the stiffener (fig 4, 6).
As to claim 6, Price discloses joining by co-bonding an additional stiffener (32 bonded on both sides spar, figs 4-7) to another side of the spar web (fig 4-7, p. 2, line 27 – p. 4, line 10; p. 7, line 12 – p. 8, line 34; p. 10, lines 6-15).
As to claim 8, the stiffener has an L-shape (fig 4, 7).
As to claim 9, at least figs 3-7 shows the spar web 8b/8 as flat or L-shaped.
Claim(s) 2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price and Delgado, as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Bechtold (CA 2715172).
As to claim 2, Price does not expressly disclose co-curing to between 60-80% curing. Bechtold discloses co-curing spar webs to between 60-80% curing, and that curing to said percentage promotes stability (p. 4, 4th full paragraph, claim 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Price and Delgado such that the stiffener and spar web are co-cured to a curing percentage of between 60% to 80% as taught by Bechtold as such has reasonable expectation of success and promotes stability.
As to claim 7, Price discloses joining by co-bonding an additional stiffener to another side of the spar web (see claim 6 above), wherein an adhesive ply between the spar web and the at least one additional stiffener is avoided (see claim 1 citations above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Price such that, during the co-bonding of the additional stiffener to the another side of the spar web in the absence of an adhesive layer, a curing tool is placed outside the vacuum bag as taught by Delgado above as such achieves the advantages detailed above.
Additionally, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to cure the spar web to a curing percentage of between 60% to 80% during the co-bonding as taught by Bechtold as such has reasonable expectation of success and promotes stability as detailed above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/1/26 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746