DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “each stiffener”. This limitation lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-9 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Price et al. (WO 2015/015152, of record)
As to claim 1, Price discloses a method for manufacturing spars or ribs for aircrafts, the method comprising: placing at least one stiffener 32/33 on one side of a spar web 8/8b (fig 4, associated discussion); placing a vacuum bag on the at least one stiffener and the spar web; and co-curing the at least one stiffener and the spar web (figs 4-8, associated text p. 2, line 27 – p. 4, line 10; p. 7, line 12 – p. 8, line 34; p. 10, lines 6-15).
As to claims 4-5, Price discloses each stiffener has a cut foot that is cut at an acute angle with respect to the stiffener (fig 4, 6).
As to claim 6-7, Price discloses joining by co-bonding an additional stiffener (32 bonded on both sides spar, figs 4-7) to another side of the spar web (fis 4-7, p. 2, line 27 – p. 4, line 10; p. 7, line 12 – p. 8, line 34; p. 10, lines 6-15).
As to claim 8, the stiffener has an L-shape (fig 4, 7).
As to claim 9, at least figs 3-7 shows the spar web 8b/8 as flat or L-shaped.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bechtold (CA 2715172).
Price does not expressly disclose co-curing to between 60-80% curing. Bechtold discloses co-curing spar webs to between 60-80% curing, and that curing to said percentage promotes stability (p. 4, 4th full paragraph, claim 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Price such that the stiffener and spar web are co-cured to a curing percentage of between 60% to 80% as such a curing as taught by Bechtold as such has reasonable expectation of success and promotes stability.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Charines (US 2016/0318238).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Price such that the co-curing of the stiffener and spar web is made placing tools outside the vacuum bag as taught by Charines (para 2) as such improves bonding uniformity (para 35).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746