DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nair et al. USPGPUB 2022/0214680 (hereinafter “Nair”), in view of MARTIN USPGPUB 2022/0327396 (hereinafter “MARTIN”).
Regarding claim 1, Nair teaches a system (Paragraph [0044] “FIG. 1 is a schematic block diagram of a system 100 for predicting end-of-life for a component according to an embodiment”) comprising:
a storage device disposed off-premise relative to an industrial automation system (Paragraph [0044] “FIG. 1 is a schematic block diagram of a system 100 for predicting end-of-life for a component according to an embodiment. The system 100 includes a lifetime apparatus 102 in a controller 104, an input/output (“IO”)-link 105, a human-machine interface 106”, Paragraph [0046] “In the embodiment, the lifetime apparatus 102 may be implemented with program code stored on computer readable storage media, such as a hard disk drive (“HDD”), solid-state storage (“SSD”), or other non-volatile storage where the program code may be loaded into volatile memory, such as dynamic random access memory (“DRAM”) or other cache accessible to the processor for execution”, Paragraph [0060] “In some embodiments, some or all of the lifetime apparatus 102 is located in a server 142, a cloud computing system, or similar computing device removed from the controller 104, machine functional safety system 101 and system with physical devices and communicates with the controller 104, machine functional safety system 101 and/or system with physical devices to gather information useful in deriving a baseline lifetime model of a component or similar components, to monitor usage and environmental conditions, to modify the baseline lifetime model, to track progress of a component on a modified lifetime model and/or to send alerts”, wherein examiner interpreted lifetime apparatus being located in server, a cloud computing system, wherein lifetime apparatus includes memory as a storage device disposed off-premise relative to an industrial automation system) and configured to store a device model of a part, (Paragraph [0045] “The lifetime apparatus 102 determines a baseline lifetime model for a component, such as a locking switch 134, of a system with physical devices, like the manufacturing line 108. The component includes one or more types of wear-out mechanisms so that predicting end-of-life for the component is useful to reduce safety issues and equipment down time. The baseline lifetime model may be modified based on environmental conditions around the component and for usage of the component. The lifetime apparatus 102 monitors conditions the environmental conditions around the component and usage of the component and modifies the baseline lifetime model to derive a modified lifetime model”, wherein examiner interpreted lifetime apparatus determining baseline lifetime model as storing a device model of a part) comprising:
a plurality of indications of a plurality of life stages in which the part is operable (Paragraph [0049] “A condition monitoring system includes an IO-link block 105 connected to environmental sensors, such as a vibration sensor 135, a temperature sensor 137, a humidity sensor 138, a pressure sensor (not shown), a chemical sensor (not shown), and/or the like, which is connected to the lifetime apparatus 102 and/or to the controller 104. In other embodiments, the environmental sensors are monitored by a system external to the condition monitoring system which may provide data to the lifetime apparatus 102 and/or controller 104. In some embodiments, one or more of the environmental sensors are part of the machine functional safety system 101. For example, the vibration sensor 135 may be connected to a connection tap 126 or may provide data to the connection tap 126 on a same tap conductor 130 as a safety device. For example, the vibration sensor 135 may be built into the safety device. In other embodiments, some components, such as the vibration sensor 135 are external to the condition monitoring system and/or machine functional safety system 101 and are able to provide data to the lifetime apparatus 102, controller 104 and/or to the condition monitoring system”, [Abstract] “The component is part of a system with physical devices. The method includes monitoring environmental conditions and usage conditions of the component and modifying the baseline lifetime model based on the monitored environmental and usage conditions to produce a modified lifetime model for the component”, and Paragraph [0068] “The apparatus 200 includes an environmental conditions module 204 configured to monitor environmental conditions and usage conditions of the component. For example, the environmental conditions module 204 uses data from the temperature sensor 137, the humidity sensor 138, the vibration sensor 135, and/or other sensors. In some embodiments, the component is capable of being monitored and controlled. In some examples, the component is monitored to gather usage data, such as number of times the component is operated, voltage at or within the component, current through the component, and the like. In some embodiments, the condition monitoring system monitors usage conditions of the component” wherein examiner interpreted monitoring various conditions including usage conditions using various sensors of various components of the system as plurality of indications of a plurality of life stages in which the part is operable, wherein examiner interpreted usage conditions as the life stages in which the part is operable), and
a plurality of indications of sensed data expected to be acquired when the part is operated in a respective life stage of the plurality of life stages (Paragraph [0061] “In some examples, in conjunction with setup of a component, such as a safety device in the machine functional safety system 101, the controller 104 displays a lifetime model user interface to provide information about the component, the location of the component, sensors associated with the component, and the like. The lifetime model user interface facilitates entry of the parameters relevant to building a baseline lifetime model for the component being monitored. For example, when the component is first added to a system, such as the machine functional safety system 101, the user interface may prompt a user involved in installing the component to enter data regarding the component, environment of the component, identification of sensors, such as a vibration sensor 135, monitoring conditions associated with the component being monitored, and the like. In other embodiments, the user interface allows updating or adding component information after setup of the component”, Paragraph [0066] “The apparatus 200 includes a baseline lifetime model module 202 configured to determine a baseline lifetime model for a component connected to a machine functional safety system 101. The component is part of a system with physical devices, such as the manufacturing line 108. In some embodiments, the component is a safety device. The baseline lifetime model, in some embodiments, is a lifetime model provided by a manufacturer of the component or is derived from information from the manufacturer”, Paragraph [0068] “The apparatus 200 includes an environmental conditions module 204 configured to monitor environmental conditions and usage conditions of the component. For example, the environmental conditions module 204 uses data from the temperature sensor 137, the humidity sensor 138, the vibration sensor 135, and/or other sensors. In some embodiments, the component is capable of being monitored and controlled. In some examples, the component is monitored to gather usage data, such as number of times the component is operated, voltage at or within the component, current through the component, and the like. In some embodiments, the condition monitoring system monitors usage conditions of the component”, Paragraphs [0066-0073], wherein examiner interpreted users entering monitoring conditions associated with the component being monitored, and wherein the baseline lifetime model derived from information from manufacturer, and based on sensor data as a plurality of indications of sensed data expected to be acquired when the part is operated in a respective life stage of the plurality of life stages); and
a first computing system communicatively coupled to the storage device, wherein the first computing system is disposed off-premise relative to the industrial automation system (Paragraph [0060] “In some embodiments, some or all of the lifetime apparatus 102 is located in a server 142, a cloud computing system, or similar computing device removed from the controller 104”, Paragraph [0003] “An apparatus for predicting end-of-life for a component includes a processor and a memory that stores program code executable by the processor to determine a baseline lifetime model for a component connected to a machine functional safety system”, wherein examiner interpreted lifetime apparatus located in a server, a cloud computing system or similar computing device removed from the controller as a first computing system disposed off-premise relative to the industrial automation system, and wherein the lifetime apparatus is coupled to a memory), and wherein the first computing system is configured to:
receive, from an edge device configured to communicatively couple to the industrial automation system, first sensed data associated with the part (Paragraph [0071] “The apparatus 200 includes a lifetime tracking module 208 configured to track a lifetime progress of the component with respect to the modified lifetime model”, wherein examiner interpreted tracking a lifetime progress of the component as receiving first sensed data associated with the part, wherein examiner interpreted lifetime tracking module as an edge device);
identify a life stage from the plurality of life stages based on comparing the first sensed data to the plurality of expected sensed data of the device model (Paragraph [0071] “The apparatus 200 includes a lifetime tracking module 208 configured to track a lifetime progress of the component with respect to the modified lifetime model”, Paragraph [0072] “the lifetime model modification module 206 continually or periodically updates the baseline lifetime model while the lifetime tracking module 208 tracks the lifetime progress of the component on a most recent modified lifetime model. In another embodiment, the lifetime tracking module 208 tracks operational cycles of the component to derive lifetime progress of the component. For example, the curves 602, 604 in FIG. 6 may have an x-axis of operational cycles instead of time”, Paragraph [0073] “The apparatus 200 includes an alert module 210 configure to send an alert in response to lifetime progress of the component reaching a lifetime threshold associated with the modified lifetime model. In one example, the lifetime threshold is the wear-out time 2 t.sub.w2 of the modified lifetime model”, wherein examiner interpreted tracking lifetime progress, and alerting when component is reaching a lifetime threshold, wherein the lifetime threshold is wear-out time of the modified lifetime model as identifying life stage from the plurality of life stages based on comparing the first sensed data to the plurality of expected sensed data of the device model).
Nair does not explicitly teach instruct a replacement of the part based on the life stage being less than a threshold life stage associated with the part; receive, from the edge device, second sensed data associated with the part; determine that the replacement of the part occurred based on comparing the second sensed data to the plurality of expected sensed data of the device model to identify that the life stage improved; and reset an indication of total running time associated with the part based on determining that the replacement of the part occurred.
However, MARTIN teaches instruct a replacement of the part based on the life stage being less than a threshold life stage associated with the part (Paragraph [0009] “To prevent unexpected failures or malfunction before the targeted lifetime, some additional devices are usually used to send an alarm to the user indicating that the components have to be replaced”, and Paragraph [0079] “the system may be connected to a user interface and programmed to inform the user of a remaining lifetime of the component and/or output a servicing requirement of the component”, wherein examiner interpreted informing and outputting servicing requirement of a component, including replacing components based on the remaining lifetime of the component or the targeted lifetime as instructing a replacement of the part based on the life stage being less than a threshold life stage associated with the part, wherein examiner interpreted indicating components to be replaced before the targeted time as life stage of a part being less than a threshold life stage, and the targeted or remaining lifetime of component as the threshold life stage associated with the part);
receive, from the edge device, second sensed data associated with the part (Paragraph [0041-0045] “the present disclosure comprises a method for predicting a remaining lifetime parameter of a component installed in a system, the method comprising: [0042] repeatedly sensing at least one parameter of the system to obtain a history of data values; [0043] fitting an aging pattern to the data values; and [0044] determining a remaining lifetime parameter of the component from the aging pattern, [0045] wherein a change of the component is automatically detected by evaluating the data values”, Paragraph [0047] “the change of the component is detected by monitoring a change in the data values, in particular a change of the data values with time, in particular a time derivate of the data values”, wherein examiner interpreted detecting change in data values as receiving second sensed data associated with the part);
determine that the replacement of the part occurred based on comparing the second sensed data to the plurality of expected sensed data of the device model to identify that the life stage improved (Paragraph [0047] “the change of the component is detected by monitoring a change in the data values, in particular a change of the data values with time, in particular a time derivate of the data values”, Paragraph [0048] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, is above a threshold”, Paragraph [0049] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, has an opposite sign with respect to the previous data history”, Paragraph [0050] “In particular, if the data values usually increase with time, a decrease of the data values, in particular a decrease that is bigger than a threshold, may indicate that the component has been exchanged”, wherein examiner interpreted detecting a change of component based on change in data values, wherein the data values are above a threshold as determining that the replacement of the part occurred based on comparing the second sensed data to the plurality of expected sensed data of the device model to identify that the life stage improved, wherein examiner interpreted the threshold or the previous data history as the expected sensed data of the device, wherein Nair teaches a device model); and
reset an indication of total running time associated with the part based on determining that the replacement of the part occurred (Paragraph [0051] “the lifetime parameter determination is reset when a change in the component is detected. The reset may in particular comprise a re-initialization of the method”, Paragraphs [0052-0054], wherein examiner interpreted resetting lifetime parameter when change in component in detected as resetting an indication of total running time associated with the part based on determining that the replacement of the part occurred).
Nair, and MARTIN are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to industrial automation system.
Therefore, before the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system comprising a device model, as taught by Nair, and incorporating replacement of part and resetting running time of part, as taught by MARTIN.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve preventing unexpected failures or malfunction, (see Paragraphs [0003-0009]).
Regarding claim 2, Nair, and MARTIN teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
MARTIN further teaches wherein the indication of total running time associated with the part is stored in an asset comprising the part (Paragraph [0077] “The present disclosure further comprises a system for predicting a remaining lifetime parameter of a component installed in a system, in particular of an engine component and/or a filter, the system comprising a controller configured and programmed to determine a remaining lifetime parameter of the component using any one of the methods described above”, Paragraph [0079] “the system may be connected to a user interface and programmed to inform the user of a remaining lifetime of the component and/or output a servicing requirement of the component”, Paragraph [0122] “The method can be implemented on a controller of the system or on a separate controller receiving the sensed parameter from the controller of the system”, wherein examiner interpreted controller within a system, the system where a component is installed that performs the methods of determining a remaining lifetime of the component as indication of total running time associated with the part is stored in an asset comprising the part, wherein examiner interpreted a controller as the part).
Regarding claim 3, Nair, and MARTIN teaches all of the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above.
MARTIN further teaches wherein the asset is configured to update the indication of total running time associated with the part based on a locally generated clocking signal (Paragraph [0051] “the lifetime parameter determination is reset when a change in the component is detected. The reset may in particular comprise a re-initialization of the method”, Paragraphs [0052-0054], wherein examiner interpreted resetting the lifetime parameter determination, wherein the methods are implemented by a controller, as asset configured to update the indication of total running time associated with the part based on a locally generated clocking signal).
Regarding claim 4, Nair, and MARTIN teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
MARTIN further teaches wherein the first computing system is configured to perform a validation operation to confirm that the replacement of the part occurred (Paragraph [0047] “the change of the component is detected by monitoring a change in the data values, in particular a change of the data values with time, in particular a time derivate of the data values”, Paragraph [0048] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, is above a threshold”, Paragraph [0049] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, has an opposite sign with respect to the previous data history”, Paragraph [0050] “In particular, if the data values usually increase with time, a decrease of the data values, in particular a decrease that is bigger than a threshold, may indicate that the component has been exchanged”, wherein examiner interpreted change of component being detected based on data values being above a threshold as performing a validation operation to confirm that the replacement of the part occurred).
Regarding claim 5, Nair, and MARTIN teaches all of the features with respect to claim 4 as outlined above.
MARTIN further teaches wherein the first computing system is configured to perform the validation operation at least in part by: generating a notification via a graphical user interface to request a confirmation input that indicates the replacement of the part occurred; receiving third sensed data different from the first sensed data and the second sensed data and determining, based on comparing the third sensed data to the plurality of expected sensed data, that the replacement of the part occurred; receiving fourth sensed data and determining that the replacement of the part occurred based on comparing the fourth sensed data to a threshold; or any combination thereof (Paragraph [0009] “As an example, such monitoring devices could be a pressure switch or a sensor to detect an overpressure for pressurized fluid flowing through a component. It could be a temperature sensor to detect an abnormal change or over range of temperature”, Paragraph [0047] “the change of the component is detected by monitoring a change in the data values, in particular a change of the data values with time, in particular a time derivate of the data values”, Paragraph [0048] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, is above a threshold”, Paragraph [0049] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, has an opposite sign with respect to the previous data history”, Paragraph [0050] “In particular, if the data values usually increase with time, a decrease of the data values, in particular a decrease that is bigger than a threshold, may indicate that the component has been exchanged”, wherein examiner interpreted change of component being detected based on data values that are sensor detected values being above a threshold as performing a validation operation to confirm that the replacement of the part occurred at least in part by: receiving third sensed data different from the first sensed data and the second sensed data and determining, based on comparing the third sensed data to the plurality of expected sensed data, that the replacement of the part occurred; receiving fourth sensed data and determining that the replacement of the part occurred based on comparing the fourth sensed data to a threshold; or any combination thereof).
Regarding claim 6, Nair, and MARTIN teaches all of the features with respect to claim 4 as outlined above.
MARTIN further teaches wherein the first computing system is configured to perform the validation operation at least in part by receiving an indication of a completed work order associated with instructing the replacement of the part (Paragraph [0009] “To prevent unexpected failures or malfunction before the targeted lifetime, some additional devices are usually used to send an alarm to the user indicating that the components have to be replaced. As an example, such monitoring devices could be a pressure switch or a sensor to detect an overpressure for pressurized fluid flowing through a component. It could be a temperature sensor to detect an abnormal change or over range of temperature”, Paragraph [0047] “the change of the component is detected by monitoring a change in the data values, in particular a change of the data values with time, in particular a time derivate of the data values”, Paragraph [0048] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, is above a threshold”, Paragraph [0049] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, has an opposite sign with respect to the previous data history”, Paragraph [0050] “In particular, if the data values usually increase with time, a decrease of the data values, in particular a decrease that is bigger than a threshold, may indicate that the component has been exchanged”, wherein examiner interpreted detected change of component as receiving an indication of a completed work order associated with instructing the replacement of the part).
Regarding claim 10, Nair teaches a tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by processing circuitry, cause a computing system to perform operations comprising (Paragraph [0021] “the computer readable medium may comprise a combination of one or more computer readable storage mediums and one or more computer readable signal mediums. As used herein, a computer readable storage medium is a non-transitory computer readable storage medium. For example, program code may be both propagated as an electro-magnetic signal through a fiber optic cable for execution by a processor and stored on RAM storage device for execution by the processor”):
receiving first sensed data associated with a part of an industrial automation device (Paragraph [0045] “The lifetime apparatus 102 determines a baseline lifetime model for a component, such as a locking switch 134, of a system with physical devices, like the manufacturing line 108. The component includes one or more types of wear-out mechanisms so that predicting end-of-life for the component is useful to reduce safety issues and equipment down time. The baseline lifetime model may be modified based on environmental conditions around the component and for usage of the component”, Paragraph [0052] “The machine functional safety system 101 includes components that enable monitoring of hazardous conditions, equipment health, environmental conditions, etc. to increase safety for personnel, to predict and/or detect equipment failure and/or to predict end of life of components, such as the safety devices of the machine functional safety system 101”, Paragraph [0071] “The apparatus 200 includes a lifetime tracking module 208 configured to track a lifetime progress of the component with respect to the modified lifetime model”, wherein examiner interpreted tracking a lifetime progress of the component as receiving first sensed data associated with the part, wherein examiner interpreted components being physical devices in a manufacturing system as part of an industrial automation device);
reading a device model from a storage device, wherein the device model is configured to indicate expected behavior of the part as the part ages over time (Paragraph [0045] “The lifetime apparatus 102 determines a baseline lifetime model for a component, such as a locking switch 134, of a system with physical devices, like the manufacturing line 108. The component includes one or more types of wear-out mechanisms so that predicting end-of-life for the component is useful to reduce safety issues and equipment down time. The baseline lifetime model may be modified based on environmental conditions around the component and for usage of the component. The lifetime apparatus 102 monitors conditions the environmental conditions around the component and usage of the component and modifies the baseline lifetime model to derive a modified lifetime model”, wherein examiner interpreted lifetime apparatus determining baseline lifetime model as reading a device model from a storage device, wherein the device model is configured to indicate expected behavior of the part as the part ages over time).
Nair does not explicitly teach instructing a replacement of the part based on comparing the expected behavior of the part with the first sensed data; receiving second sensed data associated with the part; determining that the replacement of the part occurred based on comparing the second sensed data to the first sensed data to identify that operation of the part has changed after instructing the replacement of the part; and resetting an indication of total running time associated with the part based on determining that the replacement of the part occurred.
However, MARTIN teaches instructing a replacement of the part based on comparing the expected behavior of the part with the first sensed data (Paragraph [0009] “To prevent unexpected failures or malfunction before the targeted lifetime, some additional devices are usually used to send an alarm to the user indicating that the components have to be replaced”, and Paragraph [0079] “the system may be connected to a user interface and programmed to inform the user of a remaining lifetime of the component and/or output a servicing requirement of the component”, wherein examiner interpreted informing and outputting servicing requirement of a component, including replacing components based on the remaining lifetime of the component or the targeted lifetime as instructing a replacement of the part based on comparing the expected behavior of the part with the first sensed data);
receiving second sensed data associated with the part (Paragraph [0041-0045] “the present disclosure comprises a method for predicting a remaining lifetime parameter of a component installed in a system, the method comprising: [0042] repeatedly sensing at least one parameter of the system to obtain a history of data values; [0043] fitting an aging pattern to the data values; and [0044] determining a remaining lifetime parameter of the component from the aging pattern, [0045] wherein a change of the component is automatically detected by evaluating the data values”, Paragraph [0047] “the change of the component is detected by monitoring a change in the data values, in particular a change of the data values with time, in particular a time derivate of the data values”, wherein examiner interpreted detecting change in data values as receiving second sensed data associated with the part);
determining that the replacement of the part occurred based on comparing the second sensed data to the first sensed data to identify that operation of the part has changed after instructing the replacement of the part (Paragraph [0047] “the change of the component is detected by monitoring a change in the data values, in particular a change of the data values with time, in particular a time derivate of the data values”, Paragraph [0048] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, is above a threshold”, Paragraph [0049] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, has an opposite sign with respect to the previous data history”, Paragraph [0050] “In particular, if the data values usually increase with time, a decrease of the data values, in particular a decrease that is bigger than a threshold, may indicate that the component has been exchanged”, wherein examiner interpreted detecting a change of component based on change in data values, wherein the data values are above a threshold as determining that the replacement of the part occurred based on comparing the second sensed data to the first sensed data to identify that operation of the part has changed after instructing the replacement of the part, wherein examiner interpreted the threshold or the previous data history as the expected sensed data of the device); and
resetting an indication of total running time associated with the part based on determining that the replacement of the part occurred (Paragraph [0051] “the lifetime parameter determination is reset when a change in the component is detected. The reset may in particular comprise a re-initialization of the method”, Paragraphs [0052-0054], wherein examiner interpreted resetting lifetime parameter when change in component in detected as resetting an indication of total running time associated with the part based on determining that the replacement of the part occurred).
Nair, and MARTIN are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to industrial automation system.
Therefore, before the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above computing system comprising a device model, as taught by Nair, and incorporating replacement of part and resetting running time of part, as taught by MARTIN.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve preventing unexpected failures or malfunction, (see Paragraphs [0003-0009]).
Regarding claim 11, Nair, and MARTIN teaches all of the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above.
Nair further teaches wherein receiving the first sensed data comprises receiving, via an edge device configured to communicatively couple to an industrial automation system, the first sensed data, wherein the edge device is one of a plurality of edge devices configured to couple the computing system to one of a plurality of industrial automation systems (Paragraph [0071] “The apparatus 200 includes a lifetime tracking module 208 configured to track a lifetime progress of the component with respect to the modified lifetime model”, wherein examiner interpreted tracking a lifetime progress of the component as receiving first sensed data associated with the part, wherein examiner interpreted lifetime tracking module as an edge device, wherein the lifetime tracking module is coupled to the industrial automation system), and
MARTIN further teaches wherein the computing system is configured to access the device model of the part when instructing a replacement of another part having the same part type as the part (Paragraph [0009] “To prevent unexpected failures or malfunction before the targeted lifetime, some additional devices are usually used to send an alarm to the user indicating that the components have to be replaced”, Paragraph [0017] “repeatedly sensing at least one parameter of the system to obtain a history of data values”, and Paragraph [0079] “the system may be connected to a user interface and programmed to inform the user of a remaining lifetime of the component and/or output a servicing requirement of the component”, wherein examiner interpreted informing and outputting servicing requirement of a component, including replacing components based on the remaining lifetime of the component or the targeted lifetime as access the device model of the part when instructing a replacement of another part having the same part type as the part, wherein examiner interpreted targeted lifetime as the device model of the part)and disposed in another industrial automation system of the plurality of industrial automation systems (Paragraph [0122] “The method can be implemented on a controller of the system or on a separate controller receiving the sensed parameter from the controller of the system”, and Paragraph [0080] “The controller may comprise a microprocessor and a non-volatile memory for storing a program, the program performing the method described above when running on the microprocessor. The controller may further comprise a memory for storing the data values indicated above”, wherein examiner interpreted controller being separate controller as computing system disposed in another industrial automation system of the plurality of industrial automation systems).
Regarding claim 12, Nair, and MARTIN teaches all of the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above.
MARTIN further teaches the operations comprising performing a validation operation to confirm that that the replacement of the part occurred (Paragraph [0047] “the change of the component is detected by monitoring a change in the data values, in particular a change of the data values with time, in particular a time derivate of the data values”, Paragraph [0048] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, is above a threshold”, Paragraph [0049] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, has an opposite sign with respect to the previous data history”, Paragraph [0050] “In particular, if the data values usually increase with time, a decrease of the data values, in particular a decrease that is bigger than a threshold, may indicate that the component has been exchanged”, wherein examiner interpreted change of component being detected based on data values being above a threshold as performing a validation operation to confirm that the replacement of the part occurred).
Regarding claim 13, Nair, and MARTIN teaches all of the features with respect to claim 12 as outlined above.
MARTIN further teaches wherein performing the validation operation comprises: generating a notification via a graphical user interface to request a confirmation input that indicates the replacement of the part occurred; receiving third sensed data different from the first sensed data and the second sensed data and determining, based on comparing the third sensed data to the plurality of expected sensed data, that the replacement of the part occurred; receiving fourth sensed data and determining that the replacement of the part occurred based on comparing the fourth sensed data to a threshold; or any combination thereof (Paragraph [0009] “As an example, such monitoring devices could be a pressure switch or a sensor to detect an overpressure for pressurized fluid flowing through a component. It could be a temperature sensor to detect an abnormal change or over range of temperature”, Paragraph [0047] “the change of the component is detected by monitoring a change in the data values, in particular a change of the data values with time, in particular a time derivate of the data values”, Paragraph [0048] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, is above a threshold”, Paragraph [0049] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, has an opposite sign with respect to the previous data history”, Paragraph [0050] “In particular, if the data values usually increase with time, a decrease of the data values, in particular a decrease that is bigger than a threshold, may indicate that the component has been exchanged”, wherein examiner interpreted change of component being detected based on data values that are sensor detected values being above a threshold as performing a validation operation to confirm that the replacement of the part occurred at least in part by: receiving third sensed data different from the first sensed data and the second sensed data and determining, based on comparing the third sensed data to the plurality of expected sensed data, that the replacement of the part occurred; receiving fourth sensed data and determining that the replacement of the part occurred based on comparing the fourth sensed data to a threshold; or any combination thereof).
Regarding claim 14, Nair, and MARTIN teaches all of the features with respect to claim 12 as outlined above.
MARTIN further teaches wherein performing the validation operation comprises receiving an indication of a completed work order associated with instructing the replacement of the part (Paragraph [0009] “To prevent unexpected failures or malfunction before the targeted lifetime, some additional devices are usually used to send an alarm to the user indicating that the components have to be replaced. As an example, such monitoring devices could be a pressure switch or a sensor to detect an overpressure for pressurized fluid flowing through a component. It could be a temperature sensor to detect an abnormal change or over range of temperature”, Paragraph [0047] “the change of the component is detected by monitoring a change in the data values, in particular a change of the data values with time, in particular a time derivate of the data values”, Paragraph [0048] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, is above a threshold”, Paragraph [0049] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, has an opposite sign with respect to the previous data history”, Paragraph [0050] “In particular, if the data values usually increase with time, a decrease of the data values, in particular a decrease that is bigger than a threshold, may indicate that the component has been exchanged”, wherein examiner interpreted detected change of component as receiving an indication of a completed work order associated with instructing the replacement of the part).
Regarding claim 15, Nair teaches a tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by processing circuitry, cause a computing system to perform operations comprising (Paragraph [0021] “the computer readable medium may comprise a combination of one or more computer readable storage mediums and one or more computer readable signal mediums. As used herein, a computer readable storage medium is a non-transitory computer readable storage medium. For example, program code may be both propagated as an electro-magnetic signal through a fiber optic cable for execution by a processor and stored on RAM storage device for execution by the processor”):
receiving, from an edge device configured to communicatively couple to an industrial automation system, first sensed data associated with a part of an industrial automation device disposed within the industrial automation system (Paragraph [0071] “The apparatus 200 includes a lifetime tracking module 208 configured to track a lifetime progress of the component with respect to the modified lifetime model”, wherein examiner interpreted tracking a lifetime progress of the component as receiving first sensed data associated with a part of an industrial automation device disposed within the industrial automation system, wherein examiner interpreted lifetime tracking module as an edge device);
identifying a life stage from a plurality of life stages based on comparing the first sensed data to a plurality of expected sensed data of a device model corresponding to the part (Paragraph [0071] “The apparatus 200 includes a lifetime tracking module 208 configured to track a lifetime progress of the component with respect to the modified lifetime model”, Paragraph [0072] “the lifetime model modification module 206 continually or periodically updates the baseline lifetime model while the lifetime tracking module 208 tracks the lifetime progress of the component on a most recent modified lifetime model. In another embodiment, the lifetime tracking module 208 tracks operational cycles of the component to derive lifetime progress of the component. For example, the curves 602, 604 in FIG. 6 may have an x-axis of operational cycles instead of time”, Paragraph [0073] “The apparatus 200 includes an alert module 210 configure to send an alert in response to lifetime progress of the component reaching a lifetime threshold associated with the modified lifetime model. In one example, the lifetime threshold is the wear-out time 2 t.sub.w2 of the modified lifetime model”, wherein examiner interpreted tracking lifetime progress, and alerting when component is reaching a lifetime threshold, wherein the lifetime threshold is wear-out time of the modified lifetime model as identifying life stage from the plurality of life stages based on comparing the first sensed data to the plurality of expected sensed data of the device model), wherein the device model comprises:
a plurality of indications of the plurality of life stages in which the part is operable (Paragraph [0049] “A condition monitoring system includes an IO-link block 105 connected to environmental sensors, such as a vibration sensor 135, a temperature sensor 137, a humidity sensor 138, a pressure sensor (not shown), a chemical sensor (not shown), and/or the like, which is connected to the lifetime apparatus 102 and/or to the controller 104. In other embodiments, the environmental sensors are monitored by a system external to the condition monitoring system which may provide data to the lifetime apparatus 102 and/or controller 104. In some embodiments, one or more of the environmental sensors are part of the machine functional safety system 101. For example, the vibration sensor 135 may be connected to a connection tap 126 or may provide data to the connection tap 126 on a same tap conductor 130 as a safety device. For example, the vibration sensor 135 may be built into the safety device. In other embodiments, some components, such as the vibration sensor 135 are external to the condition monitoring system and/or machine functional safety system 101 and are able to provide data to the lifetime apparatus 102, controller 104 and/or to the condition monitoring system”, [Abstract] “The component is part of a system with physical devices. The method includes monitoring environmental conditions and usage conditions of the component and modifying the baseline lifetime model based on the monitored environmental and usage conditions to produce a modified lifetime model for the component”, and Paragraph [0068] “The apparatus 200 includes an environmental conditions module 204 configured to monitor environmental conditions and usage conditions of the component. For example, the environmental conditions module 204 uses data from the temperature sensor 137, the humidity sensor 138, the vibration sensor 135, and/or other sensors. In some embodiments, the component is capable of being monitored and controlled. In some examples, the component is monitored to gather usage data, such as number of times the component is operated, voltage at or within the component, current through the component, and the like. In some embodiments, the condition monitoring system monitors usage conditions of the component” wherein examiner interpreted monitoring various conditions including usage conditions using various sensors of various components of the system as plurality of indications of a plurality of life stages in which the part is operable, wherein examiner interpreted usage conditions as the life stages in which the part is operable), and
a plurality of indications of sensed data expected to be acquired when the part is operated in a respective life stage of the plurality of life stages (Paragraph [0061] “In some examples, in conjunction with setup of a component, such as a safety device in the machine functional safety system 101, the controller 104 displays a lifetime model user interface to provide information about the component, the location of the component, sensors associated with the component, and the like. The lifetime model user interface facilitates entry of the parameters relevant to building a baseline lifetime model for the component being monitored. For example, when the component is first added to a system, such as the machine functional safety system 101, the user interface may prompt a user involved in installing the component to enter data regarding the component, environment of the component, identification of sensors, such as a vibration sensor 135, monitoring conditions associated with the component being monitored, and the like. In other embodiments, the user interface allows updating or adding component information after setup of the component”, Paragraph [0066] “The apparatus 200 includes a baseline lifetime model module 202 configured to determine a baseline lifetime model for a component connected to a machine functional safety system 101. The component is part of a system with physical devices, such as the manufacturing line 108. In some embodiments, the component is a safety device. The baseline lifetime model, in some embodiments, is a lifetime model provided by a manufacturer of the component or is derived from information from the manufacturer”, Paragraph [0068] “The apparatus 200 includes an environmental conditions module 204 configured to monitor environmental conditions and usage conditions of the component. For example, the environmental conditions module 204 uses data from the temperature sensor 137, the humidity sensor 138, the vibration sensor 135, and/or other sensors. In some embodiments, the component is capable of being monitored and controlled. In some examples, the component is monitored to gather usage data, such as number of times the component is operated, voltage at or within the component, current through the component, and the like. In some embodiments, the condition monitoring system monitors usage conditions of the component”, Paragraphs [0066-0073], wherein examiner interpreted users entering monitoring conditions associated with the component being monitored, and wherein the baseline lifetime model derived from information from manufacturer, and based on sensor data as a plurality of indications of sensed data expected to be acquired when the part is operated in a respective life stage of the plurality of life stages).
Nair does not explicitly teach instructing a replacement of the part based on the life stage being less than a threshold life stage associated with the part; receiving, from the edge device, second sensed data associated with the part; determining that the replacement of the part occurred based on comparing the second sensed data to the plurality of expected sensed data of the device model to identify that the life stage improved; and resetting an indication of total running time based on determining that the replacement of the part occurred, wherein local memory of the industrial automation device is configured to maintain the indication of total running time.
However, MARTIN teaches instructing a replacement of the part based on the life stage being less than a threshold life stage associated with the part (Paragraph [0009] “To prevent unexpected failures or malfunction before the targeted lifetime, some additional devices are usually used to send an alarm to the user indicating that the components have to be replaced”, and Paragraph [0079] “the system may be connected to a user interface and programmed to inform the user of a remaining lifetime of the component and/or output a servicing requirement of the component”, wherein examiner interpreted informing and outputting servicing requirement of a component, including replacing components based on the remaining lifetime of the component or the targeted lifetime as instructing a replacement of the part based on the life stage being less than a threshold life stage associated with the part, wherein examiner interpreted indicating components to be replaced before the targeted time as life stage of a part being less than a threshold life stage, and the targeted or remaining lifetime of component as the threshold life stage associated with the part);
receiving, from the edge device, second sensed data associated with the part (Paragraph [0041-0045] “the present disclosure comprises a method for predicting a remaining lifetime parameter of a component installed in a system, the method comprising: [0042] repeatedly sensing at least one parameter of the system to obtain a history of data values; [0043] fitting an aging pattern to the data values; and [0044] determining a remaining lifetime parameter of the component from the aging pattern, [0045] wherein a change of the component is automatically detected by evaluating the data values”, Paragraph [0047] “the change of the component is detected by monitoring a change in the data values, in particular a change of the data values with time, in particular a time derivate of the data values”, wherein examiner interpreted detecting change in data values as receiving second sensed data associated with the part);
determining that the replacement of the part occurred based on comparing the second sensed data to the plurality of expected sensed data of the device model to identify that the life stage improved (Paragraph [0047] “the change of the component is detected by monitoring a change in the data values, in particular a change of the data values with time, in particular a time derivate of the data values”, Paragraph [0048] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, is above a threshold”, Paragraph [0049] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, has an opposite sign with respect to the previous data history”, Paragraph [0050] “In particular, if the data values usually increase with time, a decrease of the data values, in particular a decrease that is bigger than a threshold, may indicate that the component has been exchanged”, wherein examiner interpreted detecting a change of component based on change in data values, wherein the data values are above a threshold as determining that the replacement of the part occurred based on comparing the second sensed data to the plurality of expected sensed data of the device model to identify that the life stage improved, wherein examiner interpreted the threshold or the previous data history as the expected sensed data of the device, wherein Nair teaches a device model); and
resetting an indication of total running time based on determining that the replacement of the part occurred (Paragraph [0051] “the lifetime parameter determination is reset when a change in the component is detected. The reset may in particular comprise a re-initialization of the method”, Paragraphs [0052-0054], wherein examiner interpreted resetting lifetime parameter when change in component in detected as resetting an indication of total running time associated with the part based on determining that the replacement of the part occurred), wherein local memory of the industrial automation device is configured to maintain the indication of total running time (Paragraph [0071] “a parameter value threshold may be provided that indicates an end of life of the component. After fitting of the data values, the method may read from the aging pattern fitted to the data values when the parameter value threshold will be reached, and calculate the remaining lifetime parameter from the result”, Paragraph [0072] “the remaining lifetime parameter may be a remaining operating time, such as a remaining number of operating hours”, Paragraph [0080] “The controller may comprise a microprocessor and a non-volatile memory for storing a program, the program performing the method described above when running on the microprocessor. The controller may further comprise a memory for storing the data values indicated above”, wherein examiner interpreted calculating remaining lifetime parameter of the component as maintaining the indication of total running time in local memory of industrial automation device).
Nair, and MARTIN are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to industrial automation system.
Therefore, before the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above computing system comprising a device model, as taught by Nair, and incorporating replacement of part and resetting running time of part, as taught by MARTIN.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve preventing unexpected failures or malfunction, (see Paragraphs [0003-0009]).
Regarding claim 16, Nair, and MARTIN teaches all of the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above.
MARTIN further teaches the operations comprising performing a validation operation to confirm that the replacement of the part occurred (Paragraph [0047] “the change of the component is detected by monitoring a change in the data values, in particular a change of the data values with time, in particular a time derivate of the data values”, Paragraph [0048] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, is above a threshold”, Paragraph [0049] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, has an opposite sign with respect to the previous data history”, Paragraph [0050] “In particular, if the data values usually increase with time, a decrease of the data values, in particular a decrease that is bigger than a threshold, may indicate that the component has been exchanged”, wherein examiner interpreted change of component being detected based on data values being above a threshold as performing a validation operation to confirm that the replacement of the part occurred).
Regarding claim 17, Nair, and MARTIN teaches all of the features with respect to claim 16 as outlined above.
MARTIN further teaches wherein performing the validation operation comprises: generating a notification via a graphical user interface to request a confirmation input that indicates the replacement of the part occurred; receiving an indication of a completed work order associated with instructing the replacement of the part (Paragraph [0009] “To prevent unexpected failures or malfunction before the targeted lifetime, some additional devices are usually used to send an alarm to the user indicating that the components have to be replaced. As an example, such monitoring devices could be a pressure switch or a sensor to detect an overpressure for pressurized fluid flowing through a component. It could be a temperature sensor to detect an abnormal change or over range of temperature”, Paragraph [0047] “the change of the component is detected by monitoring a change in the data values, in particular a change of the data values with time, in particular a time derivate of the data values”, Paragraph [0048] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, is above a threshold”, Paragraph [0049] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, has an opposite sign with respect to the previous data history”, Paragraph [0050] “In particular, if the data values usually increase with time, a decrease of the data values, in particular a decrease that is bigger than a threshold, may indicate that the component has been exchanged”, wherein examiner interpreted detected change of component as receiving an indication of a completed work order associated with instructing the replacement of the part); receiving third sensed data different from the first sensed data and the second sensed data and determining, based on comparing the third sensed data to the plurality of expected sensed data, that the replacement of the part occurred; or any combination thereof (Paragraph [0009] “As an example, such monitoring devices could be a pressure switch or a sensor to detect an overpressure for pressurized fluid flowing through a component. It could be a temperature sensor to detect an abnormal change or over range of temperature”, Paragraph [0047] “the change of the component is detected by monitoring a change in the data values, in particular a change of the data values with time, in particular a time derivate of the data values”, Paragraph [0048] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, is above a threshold”, Paragraph [0049] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, has an opposite sign with respect to the previous data history”, Paragraph [0050] “In particular, if the data values usually increase with time, a decrease of the data values, in particular a decrease that is bigger than a threshold, may indicate that the component has been exchanged”, wherein examiner interpreted change of component being detected based on data values that are sensor detected values being above a threshold as performing a validation operation to confirm that the replacement of the part occurred at least in part by: receiving third sensed data different from the first sensed data and the second sensed data and determining, based on comparing the third sensed data to the plurality of expected sensed data, that the replacement of the part occurred; receiving fourth sensed data and determining that the replacement of the part occurred based on comparing the fourth sensed data to a threshold; or any combination thereof).
Regarding claim 18, Nair, and MARTIN teaches all of the features with respect to claim 12 as outlined above.
MARTIN further teaches wherein performing the validation operation comprises receiving third sensed data and determining that the replacement of the part occurred based on comparing the third sensed data to a threshold (Paragraph [0009] “As an example, such monitoring devices could be a pressure switch or a sensor to detect an overpressure for pressurized fluid flowing through a component. It could be a temperature sensor to detect an abnormal change or over range of temperature”, Paragraph [0047] “the change of the component is detected by monitoring a change in the data values, in particular a change of the data values with time, in particular a time derivate of the data values”, Paragraph [0048] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, is above a threshold”, Paragraph [0049] “the method deduces that a new component has been installed if a change in the data values, in particular a time derivate of the data values, has an opposite sign with respect to the previous data history”, Paragraph [0050] “In particular, if the data values usually increase with time, a decrease of the data values, in particular a decrease that is bigger than a threshold, may indicate that the component has been exchanged”, wherein examiner interpreted change of component being detected based on data values that are sensor detected values being above a threshold as performing the validation operation comprises receiving third sensed data and determining that the replacement of the part occurred based on comparing the third sensed data to a threshold).
Regarding claim 19, Nair, and MARTIN teaches all of the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above.
MARTIN further teaches wherein resetting the indication of total running time based on determining that the replacement of the part occurred is configured to bypass an operator-initiated reset operation instantiated at the industrial automation device (Paragraph [0121] “The algorithm is autonomous, as it does not require any information from the user. If the monitored system/component is replaced, the algorithm detects it automatically and reset its parameters”, wherein examiner interpreted algorithm automatically detecting component is replaced and resetting its parameters as resetting the indication of total running time based on determining that the replacement of the part occurred is configured to bypass an operator-initiated reset operation instantiated at the industrial automation device).
Regarding claim 20, Nair, and MARTIN teaches all of the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above.
Nair further teaches the operations comprising: receiving, from an additional edge device configured to communicatively couple to an additional industrial automation system, third sensed data associated with an additional part of another industrial automation device disposed within the additional industrial automation system (Paragraph [0071] “The apparatus 200 includes a lifetime tracking module 208 configured to track a lifetime progress of the component with respect to the modified lifetime model”, wherein examiner interpreted tracking a lifetime progress of the component as receiving first sensed data associated with a part of an industrial automation device disposed within the industrial automation system, wherein examiner interpreted lifetime tracking module as an edge device, wherein similar operations can be performed in another additional industrial automation system);
identifying an additional life stage from the plurality of life stages based on comparing the third sensed data to the plurality of expected sensed data of the device model corresponding to the part, wherein the part and the additional part correspond to matching identifiers (Paragraph [0071] “The apparatus 200 includes a lifetime tracking module 208 configured to track a lifetime progress of the component with respect to the modified lifetime model”, Paragraph [0072] “the lifetime model modification module 206 continually or periodically updates the baseline lifetime model while the lifetime tracking module 208 tracks the lifetime progress of the component on a most recent modified lifetime model. In another embodiment, the lifetime tracking module 208 tracks operational cycles of the component to derive lifetime progress of the component. For example, the curves 602, 604 in FIG. 6 may have an x-axis of operational cycles instead of time”, Paragraph [0073] “The apparatus 200 includes an alert module 210 configure to send an alert in response to lifetime progress of the component reaching a lifetime threshold associated with the modified lifetime model. In one example, the lifetime threshold is the wear-out time 2 t.sub.w2 of the modified lifetime model”, wherein examiner interpreted tracking lifetime progress, and alerting when component is reaching a lifetime threshold, wherein the lifetime threshold is wear-out time of the modified lifetime model as identifying life stage from the plurality of life stages based on comparing the first sensed data to the plurality of expected sensed data of the device model, wherein similar operations can be performed in another additional industrial automation system).
MARTIN further teaches instructing a replacement of the additional part based on the additional life stage being less than the threshold life stage (Paragraph [0009] “To prevent unexpected failures or malfunction before the targeted lifetime, some additional devices are usually used to send an alarm to the user indicating that the components have to be replaced”, and Paragraph [0079] “the system may be connected to a user interface and programmed to inform the user of a remaining lifetime of the component and/or output a servicing requirement of the component”, wherein examiner interpreted informing and outputting servicing requirement of a component, including replacing components based on the remaining lifetime of the component or the targeted lifetime as instructing a replacement of the part based on the life stage being less than a threshold life stage associated with the part, wherein examiner interpreted indicating components to be replaced before the targeted time as life stage of a part being less than a threshold life stage, and the targeted or remaining lifetime of component as the threshold life stage associated with the part, wherein similar operations can be performed in another additional industrial automation system).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nair et al. USPGPUB 2022/0214680 (hereinafter “Nair”), in view of MARTIN USPGPUB 2022/0327396 (hereinafter “MARTIN”) as applied to claims 1-6, and 10-20, further in view of MICHAEL et al. USPGPUB 2023/0123527 (hereinafter “MICHAEL”).
Regarding claim 7, Nair, and MARTIN teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Nair further teaches after reading the device model, compare the first sensed data to the plurality of expected sensed data of the device model, (Paragraph [0071] “The apparatus 200 includes a lifetime tracking module 208 configured to track a lifetime progress of the component with respect to the modified lifetime model”, Paragraph [0072] “the lifetime model modification module 206 continually or periodically updates the baseline lifetime model while the lifetime tracking module 208 tracks the lifetime progress of the component on a most recent modified lifetime model. In another embodiment, the lifetime tracking module 208 tracks operational cycles of the component to derive lifetime progress of the component. For example, the curves 602, 604 in FIG. 6 may have an x-axis of operational cycles instead of time”, Paragraph [0073] “The apparatus 200 includes an alert module 210 configure to send an alert in response to lifetime progress of the component reaching a lifetime threshold associated with the modified lifetime model. In one example, the lifetime threshold is the wear-out time 2 t.sub.w2 of the modified lifetime model”, wherein examiner interpreted tracking lifetime progress, and alerting when component is reaching a lifetime threshold, wherein the lifetime threshold is wear-out time of the modified lifetime model as comparing the first sensed data to the plurality of expected sensed data of the device model after reading the device model).
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the first computing system is configured to: receive an identity indication associated with an asset comprising the part, and wherein the identity indication comprises a catalog number, a revision indication, a serial number, or a product name, or any combination thereof; identify the part of the asset based on the identity indication and a part list; read the device model from the storage device based on identifying the part, wherein the device model corresponds to the part.
However, MICHAEL teaches wherein the first computing system is configured to: receive an identity indication associated with an asset comprising the part, and wherein the identity indication comprises a catalog number, a revision indication, a serial number, or a product name, or any combination thereof (Paragraph [0127] “The material number 1510 is a unique identifier for each part, which may be set by the user, and available in the maintenance records 302, or set by the IronMan® system 300. The part description 1520 describes the part type and may include other information such as the OEM name and OEM part number”, wherein examiner interpreted material number being a unique identifier for each part as receiving an identity associated with an asset comprising the part, and wherein the identity indication comprises a catalog number, a revision indication, a serial number, or a product name, or any combination thereof);
identify the part of the asset based on the identity indication and a part list (Paragraph [0126] “a first screen of the user interface 1500, shown in FIG. 15, displays a list of parts for a particular asset (for example, a Trial Truck). In some embodiments, the displayed list of parts includes one or more of a material number 1510”, Paragraph [0127] “The material number 1510 is a unique identifier for each part, which may be set by the user, and available in the maintenance records 302, or set by the IronMan® system 300. The part description 1520 describes the part type and may include other information such as the OEM name and OEM part number”, wherein examiner interpreted list of parts with material number as identifying the part of the asset based on the identity indication and a part list);
read the device model from the storage device based on identifying the part, wherein the device model corresponds to the part (Paragraph [0142] “the predictive maintenance management system 300 compares, in a case where the part is replaced with a functionally equivalent part, the age of the functionally equivalent part to the age required by the part replacement schedule, and updates the maintenance plans 1003 to avoid wasting part life by changing parts unnecessarily”, Paragraph [0143] “the predictive maintenance management system 300 determines, from the asset history 314, a set of replaced parts. The set of replaced parts is compared with at least one of a task list of parts, an inventory of parts, or a part replacement schedule to determine part utilization in the portfolio of assets”, wherein examiner interpreted task list of parts, an inventory of parts as device model from the storage device based on identifying the part, wherein the device model corresponds to the part).
Nair, MARTIN, and MICHEAL are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They relate to industrial automation system.
Therefore, before the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system comprising a device model, as taught by Nair, and MARTIN, and incorporating identity indication, as taught by MICHEAL.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve Paragraph [0012] “quality of maintenance process insights from transactional maintenance records by combining the transactional data with sensor data and to be able to efficiently calculate age functions for each set of parts of a portfolio of assets at scale to provide comprehensive maintenance and replacement solutions for all parts in the portfolio of assets”, as suggested by MICHEAL.
Regarding claim 8, Nair, MARTIN, and MICHAEL teaches all of the features with respect to claim 7 as outlined above.
MICHAEL further teaches wherein the storage device is configured to store a plurality of device models respectively corresponding to a plurality of parts that respectively correspond to a plurality of assets (Paragraph [0109] “After one or more of the data consolidation functions 309, 310, 311, 312 have been applied to the data, the part replacement events, as captured in the knowledge obtained from the first stage machine learning model, are grouped in the part grouping process 313 to form a complete asset history 314 of parts within an asset, which is then aggregated via the data aggregator 315 to the entire portfolio of assets”, wherein examiner interpreted data aggregator aggregating portfolio of assets including asset history of parts within an asset as storage device is configured to store a plurality of device models respectively corresponding to a plurality of parts that respectively correspond to a plurality of assets).
Regarding claim 9, Nair, and MARTIN teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the indication of total running time corresponds to a sum of each indication of running time of each part of an asset, and wherein, to reset the indication of total running time associated with the part, the first computing system is configured to reset a portion of the indication of total running time to zero associated with the part.
However, MICHAEL teaches wherein the indication of total running time corresponds to a sum of each indication of running time of each part of an asset, and wherein, to reset the indication of total running time associated with the part, the first computing system is configured to reset a portion of the indication of total running time to zero associated with the part (Paragraph [0110] “the age calculation function 316 calculates a distribution of the age at replacement of each part, by part type, across the portfolio of operating assets collected by the data aggregator 315. In some embodiments, the age calculation function 316 first generates an age profile for each part. FIG. 13 shows an example of an age profile for a part. As the asset is used, the age of the part increases. When the asset is idle, it is possible that the part may not accrue any age, but not in all cases. The age of the part is reset to zero when the part is replaced. In some embodiments, the age calculation function generates an age profile for each part of an asset in a portfolio. The age profile also shows a current age for the part”, wherein examiner interpreted age of part being reset to zero when part is replaced for each part of the assets in the portfolio as total running time corresponding to a sum of each indication of running time of each part of an asset, wherein examiner interpreted resetting for each part of an asset when replaced as resetting a portion of the indication of total running time to zero associated with the part).
Nair, MARTIN, and MICHEAL are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They relate to industrial automation system.
Therefore, before the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system comprising a device model, as taught by Nair, and MARTIN, and incorporating running time of each part of an asset, as taught by MICHEAL.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve Paragraph [0012] “quality of maintenance process insights from transactional maintenance records by combining the transactional data with sensor data and to be able to efficiently calculate age functions for each set of parts of a portfolio of assets at scale to provide comprehensive maintenance and replacement solutions for all parts in the portfolio of assets”, as suggested by MICHEAL.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and on the attached PTO Form 892 but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huang et al. [USPGPUB 2018/0165592] teaches a system and method for predicting remaining lifetime of a component of equipment.
BRADY [WO 2025/231249 A1] teaches adjust the predictive maintenance schedule based on the location data.
Esmalifalak et al. [USPGPUB 2023/0027594] teaches an industrial work order analysis system applies statistical and machine learning analytics to both open and closed work orders to identify problems and abnormalities that could impact manufacturing and maintenance operations.
Hill et al. [USPGPUB 2016/0378076] teaches automatically identifying, configuring, monitoring, controlling, managing, and maintaining a machine, via collection computers in communication with the machine components.
Conclusion
/D.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2119 /MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119