DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al. (US 2022/0383078 A1), hereinafter “Hou”, and in view of Chen et al. (US 2024/0274286 A1), hereinafter “Chen”.
As per claim 1, Hou teaches a method for configuring a machine learning model comprising:
“selecting a head from a plurality of stored head, responsive to an input, to implement a layer in a transformer machine learning model” at [0492]-[0501] and Figs. 10-14;
(Hou teaches calculating importance of each attention head in the transformer layer of the first neural network model and selecting an attention head with higher importance as an attention head in the transformer layer of the second neural network model)
“copy the selected head from persistent storage to active memory” at [0492]-[0501], [0534]-[0544] and Figs. 10-14;
(Hou teaches copying the selected head from the first neural network to the second neural network and sending the second neural network model to the terminal device)
Hou does not explicitly teach “executing the layer in the transformer machine learning model on the input using the selected head to generate an output, performing an action responsive to the output” as claimed. However, Chen teaches a method for receiving patient’s data as input and predicting clinical outcome using transformer layers comprising multi-head attention layers comprising, including the steps of “executing the layer in the transformer machine learning model on the input using the selected head to generate an output, performing an action responsive to the output” at [0003]-[0004].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Chen with Hou’s teaching by using the transformer machine learning model to predict clinical outcome because “the outcomes predicted by clinical prediction models provide an ability to infer accurate treatment responses and disease progress forecasts based on clinical features and a molecular profiles of the patients. In turn, professionals can develop precises medications for eventual use in the medical decision-making process in order to provide personalized treatment decisions for treating a patient’s medical condition while considering outcome risks given the patient’s clinical features and molecular profile”, as suggested by Hou at [0026].
As per claim 2, Hou and Chen teach the method of claim 1 discussed above. Hou also teaches: wherein “selecting the head includes processing the input with a policy network that generates a score for each of the plurality of stored heads and selecting a head from the plurality of stored heads having highest scores” at [0492]-[0501] and Fig. 10;
As per claim 3, Hou and Chen teach the method of claim 2 discussed above. Hou also teaches: wherein “the generated scores indicate expected performance for the respective plurality of stored heads” at [0492]-[0501] and Fig. 10;
As per claim 4, Hou and Chen teach the method of claim 2 discussed above. Hou also teaches: wherein “the policy network is implemented as a linear neural network layer” at [0462]-[0465] and Fig. 9.
As per claim 5, Hou and Chen teach the method of claim 1 discussed above. Hou also teaches: wherein “selecting the head includes determining a weight attention matrix based on a dot product between embeddings of the plurality of stored heads and an embedding of the input” at [0424]-[0436], [0460]-[0465], [0495]-[0506].
As per claim 6 Hou and Chen teach the method of claim 5 discussed above. Hou also teaches: wherein “selecting the head further includes pooling the weight attention matrix to generate a strength of activation for each of the plurality of stored heads” at [0424]-[0436], [0460]-[0465], [0495]-[0506].
As per claim 7, Hou and Chen teach the method of claim 5 discussed above. Hou also teaches: wherein “selecting the head includes generating head weights for each of the plurality of stored heads by multiplying stored weights in a corresponding head group by attention weights and summing a result” at [0424]-[0436], [0460]-[0465], [0495]-[0506].
As per claim 8, Hou and Chen teach the method of claim 1 discussed above. Chen also teaches: wherein “the input includes patient medical information and wherein the output includes a prediction of a disease to add in medical decision making” [0031]-[0035].
As per claim 9, Hou and Chen teach the method of claim 8 discussed above. Chen also teaches: wherein “the patient medical information includes the patient’s medical history and an image of a tissue sample” at [0031]-[0035].
As per claim 10, Hou and Chen teach the method of claim 1 discussed above. Chen also teaches: wherein “the action includes automatically altering a patient’s treatment” at [0002].
Claims 11-20 recite similar limitations as in claims 1-10 and are therefore rejected by the same reasons.
Conclusion
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the Claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/KHANH B PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166
July 21, 2026