Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Achoundong et al., Macromolecules 2013, 46, pages 5584-5594 (hereinafter referred to as “Achoundong”) in view of US 2010/0270234 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Liu ‘234”).
Achoundong discloses a method for modifying a preformed cellulose acetate (CA) membrane (see abstract; p.5585 "Dense film membrane formation'), the method comprising:
immersing a preformed polymer membrane in a solution comprising a catalyst dicumyl peroxide (DCP) and a vinyltrimethoxysilane (VTMS) (see p.5586, "GCV-Modification of Cellulose Acetate"; Scheme 1) wherein the preformed polymer membrane of CA membrane comprises a polymer repeat unit comprising a pendant nucleophile (see p.5586, Scheme 1) and maintaining the solution at a temperature of at least 100°C but less than the glass transition temperature (Tg) for crosslinking the membrane (s. p.5586, "GCV-Modification of Cellulose Acetate').
Claims 14 and 22 differ from Achoundong in reciting the use of a weak acid catalyst of acetic acid. However there is no unexpected technical effect linked to such an acid catalyst (such as 3, 5-diaminobenzoic acid or a diamine) and DCP aims equally at providing membranes with high permeability, selectivity and plasticization resistance (s. p.5584 "Introduction').
Liu ‘234 discloses a method for forming a crosslinked polymer membrane (abstract), the method comprising:
reacting, in solution, a silane with a polymer comprising a pendant nucleophile in the presence of a weak acid catalyst such as acetic acid, lactic acid, or hydrochloric acid (par. [0046]), thereby grafting the cellulose acetate with at least a portion of the silane (fig. 1, 2, 4-5; par. [0014], [0034], [0035]; Examples);
casting an amount of the solution (par. [0035], [00361); and
heating at least a portion of the cast solution to an elevated temperature for a crosslinking period, thereby forming a polymer membrane comprising crosslinks formed from the silane (par. [0035], [0036]; Examples).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to choose a weak acid catalyst of acetic acid as an alternative to DCP in the method of Achoundong for the grafting and cross-linking of the cellulose acetate with a silane.
Regarding claim 15, Achoundong discloses that the crosslinking period is at least 5 minutes (see p.5586, "Reaction Conditions Selection”: temperature of 150°C for 24h).
Regarding claim 16, Achoundong discloses the steps of removing the membrane from the solution; and drying the membrane at a drying temperature of at least 100° C (see p.5586, "GCV-Modification of Cellulose Acetate": a drying temperature of 150° C for 24 hours).
Regarding claim 17, Achoundong discloses solvent exchanging the membrane with a non-solvent (air) after removing the membrane from the solution prior to the drying step (see p.5586, "GCV-Modification of Cellulose Acetate").
Regarding claim 18, Achoundong discloses that a weight ratio of the silane to the weak acid catalyst in the solution is at least 5:1 (see p.5586, "Reaction Conditions Selection”: CA:VTMS:DCP is 1:100:0.1 weight ratio).
Regarding claim 19, Achoundong discloses that a molar ratio of the silane to the polymer in the solution is at least 1:1. (see p.5586, "Reaction Conditions Selection”: CA:VTMS:DCP is 1:100:0.1 ratio).
Regarding claim 20, Achoundong discloses the polymer repeat unit comprising a pendant nucleophile is cellulose acetate (CA) and the silane is vinyltrimethoxysilane (VTMS) (see p.5586, "GCV-Modification of Cellulose Acetate"; Scheme 1).
Claim 21 differs from Achoundong in reciting the use of a weak acid catalyst of carboxylic acid. However there is no unexpected technical effect linked to such an acid catalyst (such as 3, 5-diaminobenzoic acid or a diamine) and DCP aims equally at providing membranes with high permeability, selectivity and plasticization resistance (s. p.5584 "Introduction').
Liu ‘234 discloses a method for forming a crosslinked polymer membrane (abstract), the method comprising the use of a weak acid catalyst such as acetic acid, lactic acid, or hydrochloric acid (par. [0046]) for grafting the cellulose acetate with at least a portion of the silane (fig. 1, 2, 4-5; par. [0014], [0034], [0035]; Examples).
Carboxylic acid is well-known weak acid catalyst.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to choose a weak acid catalyst of carboxylic acid as an alternative to DCP in the method of Achoundong for the grafting and cross-linking of the cellulose acetate with a silane.
Conclusion
/John Kim/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772
JK
8/3/26