Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 21 May 2024, 28 June 2024, and 18 December 2024 are in compliance with 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98, and have been considered.
Examiner Note
It is noted that all references hereinafter to Applicant’s specification are to the published application US 20250038261 A1 unless otherwise stated. Additionally, any italicized, bolded, or underlined text utilized hereinafter is to be interpreted as emphasis placed thereupon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 9, and 12 recite the term “about.” In determining the range encompassed by the term "about," one must consider the context of the term as it is used in the specification and claims of the application. Ortho-McNeil Pharm., Inc. v. Caraco Pharm. Labs., Ltd., 476 F.3d 1321, 1326, 81 USPQ2d 1427, 1432 (Fed. Cir. 2007). See MPEP 2173.05(b) III A.
The specification as originally filed defines the limitations of the term “about” in paragraph [00128] of the specification which reads, “’About’ as used herein, is inclusive of the stated value and means within an acceptable range of deviation for the particular value as determined by one of ordinary skill in the art, considering the measurement in question and the error associated with measurement of the particular quantity (i.e., the limitations of the measurement system). For example, ‘about’ may mean within one or more standard deviations, or within ± 30%, 20%, 10%, 5% of the stated value.” The level of acceptable deviation from the claimed range, as defined by the term “about” as set forth in paragraph [00128], is so broad that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised to understand the exact limitations of the claimed invention. Furthermore, the specification does not provide specific instructions for each use of the term “about”. For example, a ± 30% deviation with respect to the concentration of the lithium salt is beyond the ordinary level of tolerances that a person of ordinary skill in the art would anticipate for such a value. As such, the use of the term is taken to be indefinite.
Claims 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 11 are rejected by virtue of their dependency upon independent claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 6, 9, and 11-17 of copending Application No. 18/666,680 (reference application). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding Claims 1 and 2, claim 1 of the copending application ‘680 uses the same language to claim each element of presently examined claims 1 and 2, differing with respect to the R-group numbering convention of the ketone/acyl fluoride additive established within each application and with respect to the claimed range of the active mass density of the negative electrode. While the claims are not identical with regards to the claimed range, the range of the present application overlaps the range as set out by copending application ‘680. See MPEP 2144.05. Regarding Claim 3, claim 5 of the copending application ‘680 uses the same language to claim each element of presently examined claim 3, differing only with respect to the R-group numbering convention established within each application.
Regarding Claim 4, claim 6 of the copending application ‘680 uses the same language to claim each element of presently examined claim 4, differing only with respect to the Chemical Formula numbering convention established within each application.
Regarding Claim 5, claim 9 of the copending application ‘680 uses the same language to claim each element of presently examined claim 5: the rechargeable lithium battery as claimed in claim 1, wherein the third additive (i.e. the additive) is included in an amount of about 1 to about 10 wt% (i.e. an amount of about 0.5 wt% to about 10 wt% ) based on a total amount of the electrolyte. While the claims are not identical with regards to the claimed range, the range of the present application lies within the range as set out by copending application ‘680. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claims 6 and 7, claims 11 and 12 of the copending application ‘680 uses the same language to claim each element of the presently examined claims 6 and 7.
Regarding Claims 8 and 9, claims 13 and 14 of the copending application ‘680 uses the same language to claim each element of presently examined claims 8 and 9.
Regarding Claims 10 and 11, claims 15 and 16 of the copending application ‘680 uses the same language to claim each element of presently examined claims 10 and 11.
Regarding Claim 12, claim 17 of the copending application ‘680 uses the same language to claim each element of presently examined claim 12: the rechargeable lithium battery as claimed in claim 1, wherein the rechargeable lithium battery has an upper charge limit voltage of greater than or equal to about 4.5 V (i.e. greater than or equal to about 4.4 V). While the claims are not identical with regards to the claimed range, the range of the present application lies within the range as set out by copending application ‘680. See MPEP 2144.05.
Similar to the above analysis, claims 1, 3-12 of the present application are disclosed by claims 1-5 and 8-15 of the copending application 18/734,868.
Similar to the above analysis, claims 1-12 of the present application are disclosed by claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 9-16 of the copending application 18/739,198.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 112820941 B, machine translation used hereafter, IDS - 21 May 2024, “Liu”) in view of Moon et al. (US 11335906 B2, “Moon”).
Regarding Claims 1, 2, and 8, Liu discloses a rechargeable lithium battery ([0011]) which features a positive electrode consisting of a positive electrode material (i.e. a positive electrode active material, [0058]), a negative electrode comprising a negative electrode material (i.e. a negative electrode active material, [0058]) and an electrolyte ([0013]). The electrolyte comprises lithium hexafluorophosphate (i.e. a lithium salt, LiPF6, [0029]), a non-aqueous organic solvent (for the complete list see [0030]), and a perfluorinated ketone acting as the additive (i.e. chemical formula 1, wherein R1 and R2 are each independently a fluorine atom or a C1 to C10 fluoroalkyl group, see [0016]). Liu is silent regarding an active mass density of the negative electrode as being than greater than or equal to about 1.7 g/cc, or more specifically, about 1.7 to about 2.0 g/cc. Moon discloses a negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery ([0006]) wherein the negative electrode has an active mass density in a range of about 1.60 g/cc to about 1.70 g/cc ([0051]).
Liu and Moon each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention: rechargeable lithium batteries. Therefore, in view of the combined teachings of the prior art, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the negative electrode active material of Moon within the battery of Liu because when the negative electrode has active mass density within the foregoing range, the active mass density is high, and accordingly, high energy density and high capacity may be obtained ([0051] of Moon). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05. Regarding Claims 3 and 4, Liu describes a perfluorinated ketone acting as an additive, such as perfluoro-2-methyl-3-pentanone (which is depicted in Chemical Formula 1-1 wherein R11 to R15 are each independently a hydrogen atom or a fluorine atom, provided that at least one of R11 to R15 is a fluorine atom; and R21 to R27 are each independently a hydrogen atom or a fluorine atom, provided that at least one of R21 to R27 is a fluorine atom, and more explicitly in Chemical Formula 1-1-1; see [0016] of Liu).
Regarding Claim 5, Liu discloses the content of the fluorinated ketone in the electrolyte is 0.5% to 20%, or more preferably, 1% to 5% (i.e. the additive is in an amount of about 0.5 wt% to about 10 wt% based on a total amount of the electrolyte, see [0017], [0024], and [0031] of Liu). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 6, Liu discloses the solvent can be selected from one or more of carbonate, ethers, esters, and nitrile solvents (i.e. the non-aqueous organic solvent comprises a carbonate-based solvent and a propionate-based solvent, see [0030] of Liu).
Regarding Claim 11, Liu discloses the negative electrode material as being graphite (i.e. the negative electrode active material comprises a carbon-based negative electrode active material, see [0058] of Liu).
Claims 7, 9, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Moon as applied to claims 1-6, 8, and 11 above, and further in view of Han et al. (US 20240283024 A1, “Han”).
Regarding Claim 7, Liu in view of Moon is silent regarding the propionate-based solvent as being in an amount of greater than or equal to about 70 volume% based on a total amount of the non-aqueous organic solvent. Han discloses an electrolyte for a secondary battery ([0020] and [0023]) wherein the non-aqueous organic solvent is composed of ethylene carbonate: propylene carbonate: ethyl propionate: propyl propionate were mixed in a volume ratio of 20:10:25:45. Combining the carbonate and propionate values yields a volume ratio of 30:70 (i.e. the propionate-based solvent is in an amount of greater than or equal to about 70 volume% based on a total amount of the non-aqueous organic solvent, see [0101] of Han). Liu, Moon, and Han each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention: rechargeable lithium batteries. Therefore, in view of the combined teachings of the prior art, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the solvent ratio as taught by Han so as to achieve high ionic conductivity of the non-aqueous electrolyte solution (see [0037] of Han). See MPEP 2143 I (A).
Regarding Claim 9, Liu in view of Moon is silent regarding the concentration of the lithium salt. Han discloses LiPF6 may be included in a concentration of 0.8 M to 3.0 M, specifically, 1.0 M to 3.0 M in the electrolyte solution (i.e. a concentration of the lithium salt is about 0.1 M to about 2.0 M, see [0101] of Han). Liu, Moon, and Han each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention: rechargeable lithium batteries. Therefore, in view of the combined teachings of the prior art, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the molarity of the lithium salt as taught by Han so as to obtain an optimum effect of forming a film for preventing corrosion of the surface of the electrode (see [0030] of Han). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 10, Liu in view of Moon is silent regarding the positive electrode active material comprising lithium nickel-based oxide, lithium cobalt-based oxide, lithium manganese-based oxide, a lithium iron phosphate-based compound, cobalt-free lithium nickel-manganese-based oxide, or a combination thereof. Han discloses the positive electrode active layer including lithium-cobalt oxide or lithium-manganese-based oxide (see [0075] and [0076] of Han). Liu, Moon, and Han each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention: rechargeable lithium batteries. Therefore, in view of the combined teachings of the prior art, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use including lithium-cobalt oxide or lithium-manganese-based oxide in the positive electrode active layer in order to improve the capacity and stability of the battery (see [0075] of Han). Regarding Claim 12, Liu in view of Moon is silent regarding the rechargeable lithium battery as having an upper charge limit voltage of greater than or equal to about 4.4 V. Han discloses a lithium secondary battery with an operating voltage of 4.45 V or more (see [0104] of Han). Liu, Moon, and Han each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention: rechargeable lithium batteries. Therefore, in view of the combined teachings of the prior art, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to operate the battery of Liu at the voltage disclosed by Han as it’s conventional in the art to operate at such a voltage and therefore in order to create a battery consistent with other applications one would seek to do so. Furthermore, the simple substitution of known elements or methods (i.e. operation of a battery at a voltage of 4.45V) for one another that would have provided predictable results (e.g., a functioning battery) would have been obvious to a person of ordinarily skill in the art at the time of filing. Please see MPEP 2143.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following constitutes a list of prior art which are not relied upon herein, but are considered pertinent to the claimed invention and/or written description thereof. The prior art are purposely made of record hereinafter to facilitate compact/expedient prosecution, and consideration thereof is respectfully suggested.
Wen et al. (CN 110176630 B, machine translation used hereafter) discloses the use of perfluorinated ketones and ethers as used in additive mixtures within an electrochemical device.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL PATRICK MALONEY/Examiner, Art Unit 1782
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782