DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-11, and 13-17, Applicant first argues that Mouly and Husband to not teach or suggest such an assembly. Respectfully, the examiner already acknowledged this in the previous claim 21, (now amended in claim 1) feature and as such this is not a persuasive argument but a piecemeal observation. Applicant then turns to Hrubec, used to reject prior claim 21, and argues that because ¶68 of Hrubec lays out some advantages tied to dimensions and ¶71 notes that gearbox ranges can be tailored that Hrubec is silent to alleged gearbox relocation, providing any benefits. Examiner notes that Applicant clearly identifies in Page 8 of arguments that the examiner cited ¶66-75. As such picking and choosing two paragraphs of support absent the remainder is not a persuasive argument to Hrubec or the previous rejections position with regards to Hrubec. ¶66 and 72 for example lay out the various Figures Examiner preferred to as showing the various arrangements of gearboxes in various positions, each an embodiment. As ¶67-69 note, (in particular 67 and 69, single or multiple gearboxes (multiples spaced in various positions as the figures show) and “potential benefits achievable using the embodiments described herein include: reduced gearbox size and ratio; reduced fan and core speed variation over a wide operating range (improving performance of electrical power generation systems); improved core gas turbine operability during reverse thrust; expanded trade space between prop diameter (installation weight) gear ratio, booster stage count, and LPT loading; and reduced low pressure spool and high pressure spool speed migration. These include the advantages laid out by examiner in the previous rejection, and clearly are tied to the embodiments which include moving the position of a gearbox driving a compressor and a fan. Given different regions of the turbine have different spacing the gearbox size argument should not even be arguable, similarly the advantages to weight and gear ratio due to the space for the prop elements and the distance between them and the gearbox resulting in prop shaft size and journal bearing support. As exam9iner noted Fig. 11 clearly shows a gearbox split which places a critical gearbox between a turbine rotor(25) and its two outputs one to the compressor (45) the other towards the fan which can utilize a second gearbox for further rotation control or speed. The examiner is not apprized of an error in the teaching of Hrubec that gearbox location and number can assist in expanding control over various elements relative to each other, and the size of any particular gearbox based upon their location, let alone the advantages that have arisen from the Hrubec power gearbox output splitting. Applicant’s focus on the dimension paragraph to the exclusion of the paragraphs to the embodiments for all the embodiments show is an unsubstantiated narrowing of both Hrubec's teachings and the examiner’s previous citation of support for the modification, beyond their broadest reasonable interpretation, and is not persuasive.
Applicant provides no support for their allegation hat the Husband and Mouly would be unsuitable with a Mouly rearrangement as proposed. This appears to be a callback to their previous allegations that one would not understand how attaching a generator to a turbine in one reference would support attaching it to the turbine in another reference for the same advantages. It was unpersuasive in the last action, per the response to arguments in the Non-final of October 23, 2025 and continues to be so especially as Applicant has not substantiated this with any counterpoint to the clear advantages laid out by the examiner in the previous and current rejections. Applicant ignores the clear statements of advantage in the previous rejections by demanding additional explanation without ever discounting or addressing the previously clearly established reasons. In response to Applicant’s bolded and underlined request that is a restatement of their previous position examiner again directs them to the rejection below and previously with the citations to the teachings of Husband. Examiner requests Applicant carefully consider the disclosure of Mouly and Figure 1 which clearly shows a turbine with no downstream features to obscure/interfere with modification, of a motor/generator such as that of Husband fig. 1, 113, and no previous generator/motor to render the advantages that Husband provides unnecessary or superfluous. Examiner requests Applicant articulate just what in the turbine at the end of Mouly would prevent the modification of a downstream generator/motor such as Husband discloses, since applicant has repeatedly alleged that Mouly would not be operable if “arranged so,” the arrangement in this instance being the attachment of a downstream motor/generator to the turbine, which Husband clearly guides one through the process of and advantages of. The allegation that Mouly must provide a reason for adding a generator and that its silence to generators/motors somehow supportive of a reason not to combine Is an mischaracterization of a teaching away position or a misunderstanding of the principles of modification in a 103, which do not require both references to teach the feature being modified into the first reference, merely that the advantages be found in the prior arts, which in this case they are, in Husband.
With regards to claims 12 and 18, Applicant repeats the arguments that the examiner must articulate a reason to modify, between various references, such as Mouly and Husband without addressing any of the reasons provided by the Examiner, this is unpersuasive. The applicant’s sole articulation of actual support for or opposite to the examiner’s previously provided reasons, is their analysis of Hrubec against various claims, which the Examiner has addressed above.
With regards to claim 18, Applicant argues the previous references to 18 aren’t sufficient, respectfully the examiner notes the amended language is addressed in the newly amended feature and addressed in the Hrubec, so this piecemeal analysis is not persuasive. The Hrubec arguments are directed to the discussion above. Applicant then attempts to make an argument that the examiner has not addressed the whole and cites a federal circuit decision not found under MPEP 2141.02. A review of the fed circ decision would appear Applicant is trying to take a hindsight argument. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant provides no articulation as to where Examiner failed to consider the device as a whole, save that the examiner used Kupratis and Scott to modify H1 and M1, but rather than argue against an alleged lack of treating the invention as a whole position, applicant appears to argue no reasons to modify in view of K1 and S1, a different argument. As K1 laid out advantages of orientations such as S1, as was discussed in the previous rejection, and this position is not argued/articulated by applicant, this is not persuasive. Applicant then ties it back into the whole, but respectfully, Applicant appears to merely be arguing one of ordinary skill would not understand how to modify a gearbox input and outputs of gears, in light of the clearly provided guidance of how to make that specific input/output operate as provided in S1, the examiner is not appraised of an error or a lack of clarity to how one of ordinary skill would make the combination, or how a gearbox operation would not be taken “as a whole.”
The claim 20 arguments appear to be a restatement of prior arguments above and as such are not persuasive for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-11, 13-17, 23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0091328 to Mouly et al. (M1) in view of US 2021/0070463 to Husband et al. (H1) and US 2021/0310417 to Hrubec et al. (H2).
In Re Claim 1:
M1 teaches:
An assembly for an aircraft propulsion system comprising:
A gear train(Fig. 4, 110) including a first component (110b, 12b), a second component (110c, 10), and a third component (110a, 7);
A propulsor rotor(S) coupled to the geartrain through the first component (via 104);
A compressor rotor(S’) coupled to the geartrain through the second component;
A rotating structure (unlabeled turbine and shaft at the far-right end of shaft 110a) coupled to the geartrain through the third component, the rotating structure comprising a turbine rotor, and the rotating structure is configured to drive rotation of the propulsor rotor and the compressor rotor through the geartrain. [M1, Fig. 4, shows the turbine drives 110a, to rotate 110b and 110c. Pages 3-4, ¶82 – 94 for elements and structure one being single stage axial compressor S’, the other being the propulsor rotor.]
wherein the compressor rotor is connected to and rotatable with a compressor shaft. [M1 Fig. 4 shows, compressor S’ has a shaft(114) from the gearbox.]
The compressor shaft is coupled to the second component. See above.]
M1 does not teach:
An electric machine positioned remote from the geartrain and comprising an electric machine rotor, the electric machine rotor coupled to the gear train through the third component, the electric machine rotor is configured to drive rotation of the compressor rotor through the gear train. [H1, Page 3, ¶80-85 discloses the electric machines are capable of operating as motors or generators, thus can drive rotation of the attach shaft with the turbine on it and thus the fan and compressor of M1.] The geartrain is arranged axially between the compressor shaft and the rotating structure(turbine rotor).
H1 teaches:
An electric machine (Fig. 1, 113) which can be affixed to the low-pressure spool mechanically at the back end after the turbine (108). [Page 3, ¶82-87.] These devices permit the extraction of mechanical power to electric or supply of mechanical form electric to the turbines of the system, allowing a controller to respond to the power demands of the system with a high fault tolerance. [Page 3, ¶85-89.] The electric machine rotor is configured to drive rotation of the turbine power shaft. [H1, Page 3, ¶80-85 discloses the electric machines are capable of operating as motors or generators, thus can drive rotation of the attach shaft with the turbine on it and thus the fan and compressor of M1. Figure 1 shows the low spool motor/generator (113) is attached to the end of the turbine shaft and thus is turned by and turns the low pressure turbine shaft in generator and motor mode respectively. Page 1, ¶20 notes that the electrical machines are mechanically connected to the spools.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of M1 to include the aft of the turbine electric machine of H1, with the expectation of successfully providing a high fault tolerance, control of the power supply to the thrust system by allowing the motor/generator electrical machine to extract or supply power to the system, as discussed in Page 3, ¶85-89. This would yield the electric machine coupled to the gear train through the third component (turbine and turbine shaft) downstream of the turbine of H1. And further, the electric machine rotor is configured to drive rotation of the single stage compressor S’ through the gearbox, as the electrical machine turns the turbine power shaft, which in M1 rotates the gearbox which rotates the single stage axial compressor S’ and the propulsor. [H1, Page 3, ¶80-85 discloses the electric machines are capable of operating as motors or generators, thus can drive rotation of the attach shaft with the turbine on it and thus the fan and compressor of M1. Figure 1 shows the low spool motor/generator (113) is attached to the end of the turbine shaft and thus is turned by and turns the low pressure turbine shaft in generator and motor mode respectively. Page 1, ¶20 notes that the electrical machines are mechanically connected to the spools.]
M1 as modified by H1 does not teach:
The geartrain is arranged axially between the compressor shaft and the rotating structure(turbine rotor).
H2 teaches:
When powering a fan (Fig. 5, 21), single stage compressor(39,40), and low compressor(45) utilizing a gearbox(60) off a low pressure turbine (25), (the arrangements of M1) the relocation or arrangement of the gearbox is obvious in multiple varying locations with an expectation of successful operation and as obvious variants, as seen in the M1 configuration in Fig. 11, where gearbox 60 (rightmost) has an output to the compressor, and an output to the fan and eventual propulsor) or to the single stage compressor and LPC as a single unit in Fig. 13. As seen in Fig. 5-15, the gearbox can be located axially at varying points along the system. The varying arrangements can result in tailoring or reducing gear box ratios, sizes, weights, and controlling for rotation speeds and directions of the various compressing rotors. [Page 6, ¶66-75.] Said system includes multiple compressor shafts as well.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of M1, with regards to gearboxes, such that the gearbox was located axially between the compressing and turbine shafts, as H2 teaches, that the relocation of said gearbox is an obvious variation, in the art, which would perform with an expectation of success, and could further be utilized to tailor gearbox size, weight, and ratios for controlling speeds and fine tuning compressor operation. [Page 6, ¶66-75.] This would yield such as in Fig. 12 and 13, a gearbox located axially between the turbine and the compressor shafts.
In Re Claims 2-3, 5-6, 8-11, 13-17, 23, and 24:
M1 as modified by H1 and H2 teaches:
The assembly of claim 1, wherein:
H1 and M1 teach:
(Claim 2) The rotating structure (turbine of M1) is rotatable about an axis (H1, Fig. 1, X); and
The turbine rotor is located between the electric machine and the geartrain along the axis. [H1, Figure 1 shows the electrical machine(113) is located aft of the turbine(108) on the turbine shaft and along the dotted axis towards the gear train(109) and fan(102) at the front.]
(Claim 3) the electric machine rotor is rotatable about an axis;
The electric machine has an axial length; and
The electric machine is spaced from the geartrain by a distance along the axis greater than the axial length. [It can be seen in Figure 1 of H1, that the electrical machine(113) which rotates via shaft affixed to (108) rotates about the centerline axis and is located with the entire turbine, combustor, and high-pressure compressor between it and the gear train. While one cannot take exact dimensions from a Figure not drawn to scale, one can determine relative dimensions, in an instance such as this wherein a vast majority of the gas turbine engine is located between the electric machine and the gear train.
(Claim 5) the rotating structure is configured to drive rotation of the electric machine rotor independent of the gear train. [H1 Fig. 1 shows the electric machine (113) would rotate with the turbine and shaft as all are downstream of any gear train for the fan such as 109.]
(Claim 6) the electric machine rotor is configured to drive rotation of the rotating structure. [H1, Page 3, ¶80-85 discloses the electric machines are capable of operating as motors or generators, thus can drive rotation of the attach shaft with the turbine on it.]
(Claim 8) the geartrain is configured as a differential gear train. [M1, Page 3, ¶64-69 discloses the gear train is differential.]
(Claim 9) the geartrain is configured as an epicyclic gear train. [M1, Page 3, ¶64-69 discloses the gear train is epicyclic.]
(Claim 10) the geartrain includes:
A sun gear(M1, Fig.9H, 7)
A ring gear (12c, 12c) circumscribing the sun gear;
A plurality of intermediate gears(120) arranged circumferentially bout the sun gear in an array, each of the plurality of intermediate gears between and meshed with the sun gear and the ring gear; and;
A carrier(10) rotatable supporting the plurality of intermediate gears;
Each of the first component, the second component, and the third component comprising a respective one of the sun gear, the ring gear or the carrier. [M1, Page 4, ¶82-94 discloses planet carrier, gears, and other elements.]
(Claim 11) claim 10, the first component comprises the carrier, [M1, Fig. 9h, shows the carrier(10) leads to 110b, which per claim 1, is S, the fan/propulsor/first component.]
The second component comprises the ring gear, [M1, Fig. 9h, shows the ring gear(12c) leads to 110c, which per claim 1, is S’, the compressor /second component.]
the third component comprises the sun gear, [M1, Fig. 9h, shows the sun gear(7) leads to 110a, which per claim 1, is the rotating component/turbine shaft.]
(Claim 13) the electric machine rotor is coupled to the third component through the rotating structure. [H1, Figure 1 shows the electric machine is affixed through the rear of the turbine shaft, which is what would couple it to the input of the gearbox.]
(Claim 14) the propulsor rotor comprises a ducted fan rotor. [M1, Figure 1 shows S is a ducted fan.]
(Claim 15) the rotating structure is a power turbine rotating structure. [M1, Figure 4 shows the turbine at the far-right end of the figure.]
(Claim 16) the rotating structure is a low-speed rotating structure(M1, Fig. 1, 1e), the compressor rotor is a low-pressure compressor rotor1a), and the assembly further comprises:
A high-speed rotating structure including a high-pressure compressor rotor (1b) and a high-pressure turbine rotor(1d); and
The high-speed rotating structure is located between the low-pressure turbine rotor and the gear train. [Figure 1 of M1 shows the elements, Page 2, ¶59 lays out the elements.]
(Claim 17) claim 16, wherein at least one of, the high-speed rotating structure is not coupled to a starter motor, or the high-speed rotating structure is not coupled to a tower shaft. [M1, does not disclose a starter motor or tower shaft. Even if H1 were to bring in the motor machine affixed to the high-pressure spool, which can act as a starter, said element can be installed without a tower gear per, H1, Page 3, ¶82-84 which lays out that the high-speed spool electric machine can be axially installed similar to that of the generator 113 in Fig. 1.]
H1, M1, and H2 teach:
(Claim 23) the first component is a first output of the gear train, [See rejection of claim 1, propulsor rotor is connected to a first geartrain as an output]
The second component is a second output of the gear train; [Per M1 and H2 in claim 1 the compressor is a second output of the gear train]
The third component is a first input of the gear train; [Per claim 1 and M1, H2 the first input is the turbine, i.e. third component.]
(Claim 24) the propulsor rotor is connected to and rotatable with a propulsor shaft. [H2 shows in Fig. 11, for example the rightmost gearbox includes a shaft that leads to the propulsor and propulsor gearbox and propulsor rotor and is connected to them.]
The propulsor shaft is coupled to the first component; [Per M1 and H2, the first output of the gearbox couples to an output that leads to the propulsor via the propulsor shaft.]
The compressor shaft is arranged radially outboard of and axially overlaps the propulsor shaft. [H2 clearly shows that when the gearbox is downstream of a propulsor and compressor output the compressor is radially outward of and axially overlaps the concentrically located inner fan shaft.]
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over H1, M1, and H2 as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of US 2018/0209350 to Kupratis et al. (K1) and US 4,005,575 to Scott et al. (S1).
In Re Claim 12:
H1 as modified in applied to claim 1 teaches:
The assembly of claim 11, wherein:
the first component comprises the carrier, [M1, Fig. 9h, shows the carrier(10) leads to 110b, which per claim 1, is S, the fan/propulsor/first component.]
The second component comprises the ring gear, [M1, Fig. 9h, shows the ring gear(12c) leads to 110c, which per claim 1, is S’, the compressor /second component.]
the third component comprises the sun gear, [M1, Fig. 9h, shows the sun gear(7) leads to 110a, which per claim 1, is the rotating component/turbine shaft.]
H1 as modified in claim 1 does not teach:
The compressor coupled through the sun gear and the turbine rotor coupled through the ring gear.
K1 teaches:
When powering a fan and compressor by a Low power turbine, the LPT can power the entire LPC (140) through the geartrain and can deliver said power by a ring gear(Fig. 2, 130) and a sun gear(138) can drive the compressor in combination with a high-pressure compressor, to achieve more control over the LPC speeds. [Page 2, ¶40 – Page 3, ¶60.] Further said system can reduce engine starting load.
S1 teaches:
A split turbine such as in K1, can still drive a fan, such as in turbine 36, and turbine 35, operating together in Figure 2, such that turbine 36 can drive ring gear(41) to drive carrier(42) which drives fan(30) and interacts with sun gear(39) attached to the low-pressure compressor. [Figure 2.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of H1, such that the turbines of H1 could operate together to provide more control over the full compressor, by using a sun gear to compressor, ring gear to turbine, and fan gear through carrier as taught by S1, with the expectation of successfully providing improved control over the full compressor speed and operation as laid out in K1 Page 2, ¶40-Page 3, ¶60 as guided by known in the art successful orientations as disclosed by S1. This would yield the limitation of the ring gear connected to the turbine, the sun gear connected to the compressor, and the compressor fully connected to the HPT and only indirectly to the LPT through the gearbox.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over M1, H1, H2, US 2021/0355881 to Lefebvre (L1), and K1 and S1.
In Re Claim 18:
M1 teaches:
An assembly for an aircraft propulsion system comprising:
A gear train(Fig. 4, 110) including a first component (110b, 12b), a second component (110c, 10), and a third component (110a, 7);
A propulsor rotor(S) coupled to the geartrain through the first component (via 104);
A compressor rotor(S’) coupled to the geartrain through the second component;
A rotating structure (unlabeled turbine and shaft at the far-right end of shaft 110a) coupled to the geartrain through the third component, the rotating structure comprising a turbine rotor; [Pages 3-4, ¶82 – 94 lay out the gear train and driven/driving structures of Figure 4.]
wherein the compressor rotor is connected to and rotatable with a compressor shaft. [M1 Fig. 4 shows, compressor S’ has a shaft(114) from the gearbox.]
The compressor shaft is coupled to the second component. [see compressor connection to second component above.]
M1 does not teach:
An electric machine comprising an electric machine rotor, the electric machine rotor coupled to the geartrain through the third component, the electric machine rotor connected to the third component through an inter-shaft coupling, and the power turbine rotating structure is decoupled from any compressor rotor between the power turbine rotor and the gear train. The geartrain is arranged axially between the compressor shaft and the rotating structure(turbine rotor).
H1 teaches:
An electric machine (Fig. 1, 113) which can be affixed to the low-pressure spool mechanically at the back end after the turbine (108). [Page 3, ¶82-87.] This element is an electric machine motor/generator with a stator/rotor. Page 3, ¶83-88 further lays out the motor/generator, Claim 1 lays out these are electrical rotary machines. These devices permit the extraction of mechanical power to electric or supply of mechanical form electric to the turbines of the system, allowing a controller to respond to the power demands of the system with a high fault tolerance. [Page 3, ¶85-89.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of M1 to include the aft of the turbine electric machine of H1, with the expectation of successfully providing a high fault tolerance, control of the power supply to the thrust system by allowing the motor/generator electrical machine to extract or supply power to the system, as discussed in Page 3, ¶85-89. This would yield the electric machine rotor coupled to the geartrain through the third component (turbine and turbine shaft) downstream of the turbine of H1.
M1 as modified by H1 does not teach:
Wherein the electric machine rotor is connected to the third component through an inter-shaft coupling, and the power turbine rotating structure is decoupled from any compressor rotor between the power turbine rotor and the gear train. The geartrain is arranged axially between the compressor shaft and the rotating structure(turbine rotor).
H2 teaches:
When powering a fan (Fig. 5, 21), single stage compressor(39,40), and low compressor(45) utilizing a gearbox(60) off a low pressure turbine (25), (the arrangements of M1) the relocation or arrangement of the gearbox is obvious in multiple varying locations with an expectation of successful operation and as obvious variants, as seen in the M1 configuration in Fig. 11, where gearbox 60 (rightmost) has an output to the compressor, and an output to the fan and eventual propulsor) or to the single stage compressor and LPC as a single unit in Fig. 13. As seen in Fig. 5-15, the gearbox can be located axially at varying points along the system. The varying arrangements can result in tailoring or reducing gear box ratios, sizes, weights, and controlling for rotation speeds and directions of the various compressing rotors. [Page 6, ¶66-75.] Said system includes multiple compressor shafts as well.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of M1, K1, and S1, with regards to gearboxes, such that the gearbox was located axially between the compressing and turbine shafts, as H2 teaches, that the relocation of said gearbox is an obvious variation, in the art, which would perform with an expectation of success, and could further be utilized to tailor gearbox size, weight, and ratios for controlling speeds and fine tuning compressor operation. [Page 6, ¶66-75.] This would yield such as in Fig. 12 and 13, a gearbox located axially between the turbine and the compressor shafts.
M1 as modified by H1 and H2 does not teach:
Wherein the electric machine rotor is connected to the third component through an inter-shaft coupling, and the power turbine rotating structure is decoupled from any compressor rotor between the power turbine rotor and the gear train.
L1 teaches:
When placing a motor/generator at the axial end of an engine (Figure 1, 60) it is known to make it with a separate shaft(Fig. 3A,73) through an intershaft coupling (24A). [Pages 3-4, ¶33-36 discloses that the generator may be built to be attached at the end for ease of assembly. This lays out the drive shaft section 24A and Page 6, ¶47 lays out the input shaft of 73 which is engaged to the section 24 A and thus connected intershaft.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of H1 and M1, to replace the motor connection of M1 with the connection method as laid out in L1, with the expectation of successfully providing an easier assembly method for affixing built in motors/generators onto the end of the engines. This would yield an engine rotor shaft(L1, 73) and intershaft connection given the rotation is transferred by a drive output shaft(24A) as an intershaft to the engine rotor shaft from the turbine shaft.]
H1 as modified by M1, H2, and L1 does not teach:
The power turbine rotating structure is decoupled from any compressor rotor between the power turbine rotor and the gear train.
K1 teaches:
When powering a fan and compressor by a Low power turbine, the LPT can power the entire LPC (140) through the geartrain and can deliver said power by a ring gear(Fig. 2, 130) and a sun gear(138) can drive the compressor in combination with a high-pressure compressor, to achieve more control over the LPC speeds. [Page 2, ¶40 – Page 3, ¶60.] Further said system can reduce engine starting load.
S1 teaches:
A split turbine such as in K1, can still drive a fan, such as in turbine 36, and turbine 35, operating together in Figure 2, such that turbine 36 can drive ring gear(41) to drive carrier(42) which drives fan(30) and interacts with sun gear(39) attached to the low-pressure compressor. [Figure 2.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of H1, such that the turbines of H1 could operate together to provide more control over the full compressor, by using a sun gear to compressor, ring gear to turbine, and fan gear through carrier as taught by S1, with the expectation of successfully providing improved control over the full compressor speed and operation as laid out in K1 Page 2, ¶40-Page 3, ¶60 as guided by known in the art successful orientations as disclosed by S1. This would yield the limitation of the compressor coupled the HPT and only indirectly to the LPT through the gearbox.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over H1, M1, K1, S1, L1 and H2.
In Re Claim 20:
M1 teaches:
An assembly for an aircraft propulsion system comprising:
A gear train(Fig. 4, 110) including a sun gear(7), a ring gear(12b, 12c) a plurality of intermediate gears(120) and a carrier(10), the ring gear circumscribing the sun gear, the plurality of intermediate gears arranged in an array about the sun gear, each of the plurality of intermediate gears between and meshed with the sun gear and the ring gear, and each of the plurality of intermediate gears rotatably mounted to the carrier; [Pages 3-4, ¶82 – 94 lay out the gear train and driven/driving structures of Figure 4.]
A propulsor rotor(S) coupled to the geartrain through the carrier, [M1, Fig. 9h, shows the carrier(10) leads to 110b, which per claim 1, is S, the fan/propulsor/first component.]
A compressor rotor(S’) coupled to the geartrain through the ring gear(12c), [M1, Fig. 9h, shows the ring gear(12c) leads to 110c, which per claim 1, is S’, the compressor /second component.]
A rotating structure coupled to the geartrain through the sun gear(7), the rotating structure comprising a turbine rotor; and [M1, Fig. 9h, shows the sun gear(7) leads to 110a, which per claim 1, is the rotating component/turbine shaft.]
M1 does not teach:
An electric machine comprising an electric machine rotor, the electric machine rotor coupled to the geartrain through the ring gear, the compressor coupled through the sun gear and the turbine rotor coupled through the ring gear and an electric machine shaft coupling the electric machine rotor to the rotating structure, and the geartrain is arranged between a compressor shaft and the rotating structure.
H1 teaches:
An electric machine (Fig. 1, 113) which can be affixed to the low-pressure spool mechanically at the back end after the turbine (108). [Page 3, ¶82-87.] This element is an electric machine motor/generator with a stator/rotor. Page 3, ¶83-88 further lays out the motor/generator, Claim 1 lays out these are electrical rotary machines. These devices permit the extraction of mechanical power to electric or supply of mechanical form electric to the turbines of the system, allowing a controller to respond to the power demands of the system with a high fault tolerance. [Page 3, ¶85-89.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of M1 to include the aft of the turbine electric machine of H1, with the expectation of successfully providing a high fault tolerance, control of the power supply to the thrust system by allowing the motor/generator electrical machine to extract or supply power to the system, as discussed in Page 3, ¶85-89. This would yield the electric machine rotor coupled to the geartrain through the third component (turbine and turbine shaft) downstream of the turbine of H1.
M1 as modified by H1 does not teach:
The electric machine rotor coupled to the geartrain through the ring gear, the compressor coupled through the sun gear and the turbine rotor coupled through the ring gear and an electric machine shaft coupling the electric machine rotor to the rotating structure, and the geartrain is arranged between a compressor shaft and the rotating structure.
K1 teaches:
When powering a fan and compressor by a Low power turbine, the LPT can power the entire LPC (140) through the geartrain and can deliver said power by a ring gear(Fig. 2, 130) and a sun gear(138) can drive the compressor in combination with a high-pressure compressor, to achieve more control over the LPC speeds. [Page 2, ¶40 – Page 3, ¶60.] Further said system can reduce engine starting load.
S1 teaches:
A split turbine such as in K1, can still drive a fan, such as in turbine 36, and turbine 35, operating together in Figure 2, such that turbine 36 can drive ring gear(41) to drive carrier(42) which drives fan(30) and interacts with sun gear(39) attached to the low-pressure compressor. [Figure 2.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of H1, such that the turbines of H1 could operate together to provide more control over the full compressor, by using a sun gear to compressor, ring gear to turbine, and fan gear through carrier as taught by S1, with the expectation of successfully providing improved control over the full compressor speed and operation as laid out in K1 Page 2, ¶40-Page 3, ¶60 as guided by known in the art successful orientations as disclosed by S1. This would yield the limitation of the ring gear connected to the turbine, the sun gear connected to the compressor, and the compressor fully connected to the HPT and only indirectly to the LPT through the gearbox.
M1 as modified by H1, S1, and K1 does not teach:
A electric machine shaft coupling the electric machine rotor to the rotating structure, and the geartrain is arranged between a compressor shaft and the rotating structure.
L1 teaches:
When placing a motor/generator at the axial end of an engine (Figure 1, 60) it is known to make it with a separate shaft(Fig. 3A,73) through an intershaft coupling (24A). [Pages 3-4, ¶33-36 discloses that the generator may be built to be attached at the end for ease of assembly. This lays out the drive shaft section 24A and Page 6, ¶47 lays out the input shaft of 73 which is engaged to the section 24 A and thus connected intershaft.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of H1 and M1, to replace the motor connection of M1 with the connection method as laid out in L1, with the expectation of successfully providing an easier assembly method for affixing built in motors/generators onto the end of the engines. This would yield an engine rotor shaft(L1, 73) and the shaft coupling the electric machine rotor to the rotating structure of the turbine rotor.]
M1 as modified by H1, S1, K1 and L1, does not teach:
The geartrain is arranged between a compressor shaft and the rotating structure.
H2 teaches:
When powering a fan (Fig. 5, 21), single stage compressor(39,40), and low compressor(45) utilizing a gearbox(60) off a low pressure turbine (25), (the arrangements of M1) the relocation or arrangement of the gearbox is obvious in multiple varying locations with an expectation of successful operation and as obvious variants, as seen in the M1 configuration in Fig. 11, where gearbox 60 (rightmost) has an output to the compressor, and an output to the fan and eventual propulsor) or to the single stage compressor and LPC as a single unit in Fig. 13. As seen in Fig. 5-15, the gearbox can be located axially at varying points along the system. The varying arrangements can result in tailoring or reducing gear box ratios, sizes, weights, and controlling for rotation speeds and directions of the various compressing rotors. [Page 6, ¶66-75.] Said system includes multiple compressor shafts as well.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of M1, S1, and K1, with regards to gearboxes, such that the gearbox was located axially between the compressing and turbine shafts, as H2 teaches, that the relocation of said gearbox is an obvious variation, in the art, which would perform with an expectation of success, and could further be utilized to tailor gearbox size, weight, and ratios for controlling speeds and fine tuning compressor operation. [Page 6, ¶66-75.] This would yield such as in Fig. 12 and 13, a gearbox located axially between the turbine and the compressor shafts.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA R BEEBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745