DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to Application no.18/670,369 filed 5/21/2024. All claims have been examined and are currently pending.
Specification
3. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
5. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim recites “a computer program” which is software per se and does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 16 recites “A method…according to claim 12”, where claim 12 is a system claim. Further, should claim 16 recite “A system…according to claim 12”, it would then be a duplicate claim with previous claim 15.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1-9, 12, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zha et al (2024/0202458).
Regarding claim 1 Zha teaches A computer implemented method of generating validated prompt-templates for generating prompts for instructing large language models (LLMs) to perform specific tasks (Abstract: Prompt discovery is performed for identifying prompts to natural language processing machine learning models. A request to determine a prompt for a natural language processing task performed by a pre-trained natural language processing machine learning model may be received. A task classification for the natural language processing task may be determined and candidate prompts for the natural language processing prompt task collection selected. Respective prompt results for the candidate prompts are evaluated to generate a prompt recommendation for the natural language processing task.;
Figures 1, 4, 9, 11- computer system, processor;
0020: prompt; [0025] NLP ML model(s) 124 may be pre-trained or custom NLP ML models and may be based on various different ML model architectures (e.g., Generative Pre-trained Transformer (GPT)-based ML models), and frameworks (e.g., PyTorch, TensorFlow, etc.). These NLP Models may be trained to perform various NLP processing tasks, such as document or dialogue summarization, paraphrasing, structure to text, relation extraction and/or coreference resolution, among others), said method comprising the steps of:
generating an initial prompt instructing an LLM to produce a plurality of candidate prompt-templates for generating test prompts (figure 1; paragraphs 0038: prompt ingestion; prompt submission may include the prompt; may also include various other information for the prompt, such as NLP processing task; description; information that can be included in an entry for the prompt; sample output;
43: prompt and NLP ML candidate selection 420. Prompt and NLP ML candidate selection 420 may utilize an NLP task classification, as well as other information from discovery request(s) 400 to select candidate prompts), said initial prompt defining:
an input data type to be included with a prompt generated using a candidate prompt-template (38: processing task, task categories; 42: prompt task classification; 43: prompt and NLP ML candidate selection 420. Prompt and NLP ML candidate selection 420 may utilize an NLP task classification, as well as other information from discovery request(s) 400 to select candidate prompts), and
output data to be produced by an LLM that has processed a prompt generated using a candidate prompt-template (38: sample output; 41: the sample output may an example of expected results);
passing the initial prompt through an LLM to generate a plurality of candidate prompt-templates (fig 1; 0025; 0038: interactions to submit prompts for discovery, selection, and development through a machine learning service; 43: prompt and NLP ML candidate selection 420. Prompt and NLP ML candidate selection 420 may utilize an NLP task classification, as well as other information from discovery request(s) 400 to select candidate prompts);
generating a plurality of test prompts, each test prompt constructed from one of the candidate prompt-templates using input data from a set of pre-labelled input data comprising a plurality of items of input data and corresponding labels (fig 4 435 test data; 0039: prompt validation tests; performance evaluations; 0046: evaluate performance of the candidate prompts;
46: Test data 435 may be obtained. Test data 435 may be specified or identified as part of discovery request 410 (e.g., by identifying a file, storage location, or other path for accessing test data 435, or test data 435 may be sample input 413). In some embodiments, test data 435 may be maintained by machine learning service 210 for evaluating the identified NLP task. When the test data 435 is obtained, the candidate prompts 432 may be used to generate inferences using the candidate NLP ML model(s) 433 on the test data; labeled or ground truth data for test data 435 is used to score the accuracy of the candidate prompt),
passing each test prompt through a further LLM to generate an output (0039 Using test data for an NLP processing task, like task 313, inferences may be made using the prompt; 46);
assessing the output data produced by each test prompt with respect to the corresponding label associated with input data with which the test prompt was passed through the further LLM (0039 Using test data for an NLP processing task, like task 313, inferences may be made using the prompt 311 and obtain for validation, as indicated at 353. These inferences may then be compared with the sample output 317 and ground truth labels for the test data to determine whether the prompt's claimed sample output 317 is achieved; 0046 Results 434 for candidate prompts may be collected; labeled or ground truth data for test data 435 is used to score the accuracy of the candidate prompt), and
selecting, based on the assessing, one or more of the candidate-prompt-templates for subsequent generation of prompts (0046: a test data sample output may be obtained for inclusion in a prompt recommendation; 0047: recommendation).
Regarding claim 2 Zha teaches A computer implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the output data defined in the initial prompt comprises property data associated with a property of the input data defined in the initial prompt (fig 4 410; 40: description, task; 42: prompt task classification).
Regarding claim 3 Zha teaches A computer implemented method according to claim 2, wherein the initial prompt further defines a constraint instruction to be applied by each test prompt which constrains the generated property data generated by each test prompt (fig 4 410; 41: the sample output may an example of expected results (e.g., The most frequent sentiment of commenters on the post is [sentiment]”); 0038 sample output).
Regarding claim 4 Zha teaches A computer implemented method according to claim 3, wherein the constraint instruction specifies a plurality of predetermined properties of which the output data must comprise one (fig 4 410; 0038; 41: the sample output may an example of expected results (e.g., The most frequent sentiment of commenters on the post is [sentiment]”)).
Regarding claim 5 Zha teaches A computer implemented method according to claim 2, wherein the property is one of a qualitative property of the input data or a quantitative property of the input data (fig 4 410; 0040: description, task; 42: prompt task classification; 41: the sample output may an example of expected results (e.g., The most frequent sentiment of commenters on the post is [sentiment]”)).
Regarding claim 6 Zha teaches A computer implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the input data type defined by the initial prompt is text data (41: sample input may be sample document, file, or other text; 43).
Regarding claim 7 Zha teaches A computer implemented method according to claim 6, wherein the input data type defined by the initial prompt is unstructured text data from a received message (19-20; 42; 43: text summarization;
19: NLP ML models, for example, may be trained using training data sets of documents or other sets of natural language (e.g., human language) to perform various natural language processing tasks, including, but not limited to information extraction (e.g., named entity recognition, relation extraction, coreference resolution, events extraction and joint entity relation extraction), text classification (e.g., classification, sentiment, relation classification, topic classification, paraphrase identification, word sense disambiguation, and natural language inference), question answering (e.g., extractive QA and close-book QA), summarization (e.g., extractive summarization and abstractive summarization), generation (e.g., sentence completion and structure to text), among others. – making natural language decisions for unstructured text).
Regarding claim 8 Zha teaches A computer implemented method according to claim 2, wherein each label associated with each item of pre-labelled data specifies property data associated with a property of the item of pre-labelled data (43: NLP task classification, as well as other information from discovery request(s) ; prompts may be organized or identified with different prompt task collections 421. Each prompt task collection 421 may correspond to a task classification.
46: Test data 435 may be obtained. Test data 435 may be specified or identified as part of discovery request 410 (e.g., by identifying a file, storage location, or other path for accessing test data 435, or test data 435 may be sample input 413). In some embodiments, test data 435 may be maintained by machine learning service 210 for evaluating the identified NLP task. When the test data 435 is obtained, the candidate prompts 432 may be used to generate inferences using the candidate NLP ML model(s) 433 on the test data; labeled or ground truth data for test data 435 is used to score the accuracy of the candidate prompt).
Regarding claim 9 Zha teaches A computer implemented method according to claim 8, wherein the property data specified by each label associated with each item of pre-labelled data specifies one of a plurality of predetermined properties (43: NLP task classification, as well as other information from discovery request(s) ; prompts may be organized or identified with different prompt task collections 421. Each prompt task collection 421 may correspond to a task classification.
46: Test data 435 may be obtained. Test data 435 may be specified or identified as part of discovery request 410 (e.g., by identifying a file, storage location, or other path for accessing test data 435, or test data 435 may be sample input 413). In some embodiments, test data 435 may be maintained by machine learning service 210 for evaluating the identified NLP task. When the test data 435 is obtained, the candidate prompts 432 may be used to generate inferences using the candidate NLP ML model(s) 433 on the test data; labeled or ground truth data for test data 435 is used to score the accuracy of the candidate prompt).
Regarding claim 12 Zha teaches A system for generating validated prompt-templates for generating prompts for instructing large language models (LLMs) to perform specific tasks, said system comprising a prompt-template generation instruction module configured to generate an initial prompt instructing an LLM to produce a plurality of candidate prompt-templates for generating test prompts, said initial prompt defining:
an input data type to be included with a prompt generated using a candidate prompt-template, and output data to be produced by an LLM that has processed a prompt generated using a candidate prompt-template, said prompt-template generation instruction module configured to communicate the initial prompt to a first LLM system to generate a plurality of candidate prompt-templates, wherein
said system further comprises a test prompt generation module configured to generate a plurality of test prompts, each test prompt constructed from one of the candidate prompt-templates generated by the prompt-template generation instruction module using input data from a set of pre-labelled input data comprising a plurality of items of input data and corresponding labels, said test prompt generation module configured to communicate each test prompt through a further LLM system to generate an output, and
said system further comprising a prompt-template assessment unit configured to assess the output data produced by each test prompt with respect to the corresponding label associated with input data with which the test prompt was passed through the further LLM, and select, based on the assessing, one or more of the candidate-prompt-templates for subsequent generation of prompts.
Claim recites limitations similar to claim 1 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning
Regarding claim 17 Zha teaches A computer program providing instructions which when implemented on a computing device implements a method according to claim 1.
Claim recites limitations similar to claim 1 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 10-11, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zha et al (2024/0202458) in view of Zeng et al (2005/0234955).
Regarding claim 10 Zha does not specifically teach where Zeng teaches A computer implemented method according to claim 1, further comprising generating the set of pre-labelled input data by:
retrieving labelled data samples from a labelled data samples data store (18 labeled data);
retrieving unlabelled data from an unlabelled-data data store (18 unlabeled data);
labelling the unlabelled data using an AI process guided by the labelled data (18 unlabeled data is then labeled),
generating labelled data (18)
([0018] The following systems and methods for clustering based text classification (CBC) utilize both labeled and unlabeled data in semi-supervised learning operations. The systems and methods first cluster training data, which includes labeled and unlabeled data, with guidance of the labeled data. At least a portion of the unlabeled data is then labeled based on the obtained clusters to generate an expanded labeled dataset. In one implementation, discriminative classifiers are then trained with the expanded labeled dataset. In this manner, the systems and methods provide for semi-supervised learning treated as clustering aided by labeled data. Such labeled data may provide important information for latent class variables, assisting in the determination of parameters associated with clustering operations to affect final clustering results. By latent class variables we mean that the variables used to generate the data samples.), and
{storing the labelled data as pre-labelled input data for use in generating the test prompts}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate Zeng for an improved system to generate the pre-labelled (test) data for proper testing of the candidate prompts.
Zha already teaches labelled test data for use in testing candidate prompts based on specific natural language task classification, and one could look to Zeng to further generate the labelled data, and with Zha allowing for
storing the labelled data as pre-labelled input data for use in generating the test prompts.
Regarding claim 11 Zha does not specifically teach where Zeng teaches A computer implemented method according to claim 10, wherein the AI process is one of a semi-supervised learning process, an active learning process or a clustering process (0018: clustering; semi-supervised learning).
Rejected for similar rationale and reasoning as claim 10
Claims 13-16 recite limitations similar to claims 10-11 and are rejected for similar rationale and reasoning
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See PTO-892.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SHAUN ROBERTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2655