DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 111696937 B) in view of Thibaut et al. (US 20200281098 A1), hereafter referred to as Wang and Thibaut, respectively.
With regards to claim 1, Wang discloses:
A heat dissipation assembly (Contents of Fig. 1), comprising: an upper cover (3) (Fig. 1), comprising: a first upper cover surface (Lower surface of 3) (Fig. 1); and a second upper cover surface (Upper surface of 3) (Fig. 1); and a heat dissipation device (2) (Fig. 1), located under the upper cover (See Fig. 1, under with a downward direction as upwards in Fig. 1) and adjacent to the second upper cover surface (Fan 2 is adjacent to the upper surface of TEG 3) (Fig. 1) to cool the second upper cover surface (Fan 2 would cool the second upper surface of TEG 3) (Fig. 1), wherein the upper cover (3) (Fig. 1) is a thermoelectric generator chip (Part 3 is noted to be a thermoelectric generating sheet).
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
a heat source, wherein the first upper cover surface of the TEG receives the thermal energy of the heat source.
However, Thibaut discloses:
a heat source (122) (Fig. 10), wherein the first upper cover surface (i.e., lower surface of 250) (Fig. 10) of the TEG (250) (Fig. 10) receives the thermal energy of the heat source (Thermal energy is transferred via heat pipes 352) (Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Wang with the heat source and thermal transfer specifics as disclosed by Thibaut. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to make use of heat dissipation elements, and to provide a thermal gradient for the TEG to generate power across.
Also, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined / modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
With regards to claim 3, Wang and Thibaut disclose all as applied to claim 1, and Thibaut additionally discloses:
wherein a temperature of the first upper cover surface (i.e., lower surface of 250; receiving heat from the heat source) (Fig. 10) is higher than a temperature of the second upper cover surface (i.e., lower surface of 250; dissipating heat to the environment) (Fig. 10). (Given heat flow into the first upper cover surface and out of the second cover surface, the second cover surface must have a lower temperature than the first cover surface, as heat flows from high temperatures to cold temperatures. See also In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968).)
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 4, Wang and Thibaut disclose all as applied to claim 1, and Wang additionally discloses:
a lower cover (102) (Fig. 1) located under the heat dissipation device (heat dissipation device 2, 102 located under 2 when viewed from bottom to top, as the instant application has opposite ordering to Wang) (Fig. 1), comprising: a first lower cover surface (i.e., the sides of 102) (Fig. 1); and a second lower cover surface (i.e., the top of 102) (Fig. 1), adjacent to the heat dissipation device (102 being adjacent to 2) (See Fig. 1).
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
that the first lower cover surface receives the thermal energy from the heat source, and that a temperature of the first lower cover surface is higher than a temperature of the second lower cover surface.
However, the Wang-Thibaut combination of claim 1 discloses:
that the first lower cover surface (i.e., the sides of 102) (Fig. 1) (Wang) receives the thermal energy from the heat source (Heat source 122 of Thibaut, placed below TEG 3 of Wang, would conduct some heat through 101 and 103 into the sides of 102) (See Fig. 1 of Wang), and that a temperature of the first lower cover surface (i.e., the sides of 102) (Fig. 1) is higher than a temperature of the second lower cover surface (i.e., the top of 102) (Fig. 1). (Regarding the second lower surface being at a lower temperature than the first, the heat is conducted from 3 into 101, 103, and the sides of 102. When the device is first started, one of ordinary skill would expect heat to flow into the sides of 102 and thereafter into the top, forming a temperature gradient with the top being cooler than the sides. See also In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968).)
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 5, Wang and Thibaut disclose all as applied to claim 1, but Wang does not disclose:
a heat pipe, wherein the heat pipe is in contact with the heat source to conduct the thermal energy from the heat source away from the heat source.
However, Thibaut discloses:
a heat pipe (352) (Fig. 10), wherein the heat pipe is in contact with the heat source (Heat source 122; thermal contact) (Fig. 10) to conduct the thermal energy from the heat source away from the heat source (Paragraph [0100] describes that heat pipes 352 transport heat away from heat source 122 to the thermoelectric element 250.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Wang-Thibaut combination to explicitly make use of heat pipes, as taught by Thibaut. One of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so in order to allow for the heat source and TEC to be placed at a distance to one another, allowing for usage in space constrained applications.
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 6, Wang and Thibaut disclose all as applied to claim 5, but Wang does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the heat pipe is in contact with the first upper cover surface to conduct the thermal energy from the heat source to the first upper cover surface.
However, Thibaut discloses:
wherein the heat pipe (352) (Fig. 10) is in contact with the first upper cover surface (i.e., lower surface of 250) (Fig. 10) to conduct the thermal energy from the heat source (122) (Fig. 10) to the first upper cover surface (Paragraph [0100] describes that heat pipes 352 transport heat away from heat source 122 to the thermoelectric element 250.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Wang-Thibaut combination to explicitly make use of heat pipes, as taught by Thibaut. One of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so in order to allow for the heat source and TEC to be placed at a distance to one another, allowing for usage in space constrained applications.
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 7, Wang and Thibaut disclose all as applied to claim 5, and Wang additionally discloses:
a fin (103) (Fig. 1) disposed adjacent (See Fig. 1) to the upper cover (3) (Fig. 1).
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the heat pipe is in contact with the fin to conduct the thermal energy from the heat source to the fin.
However, the Wang-Thibaut combination of claim 5 discloses:
wherein the heat pipe (352) (Fig. 10) (Thibaut) is in contact with the fin (i.e., thermal contact, through TEG/upper cover 3 of Wang) to conduct the thermal energy from the heat source to the fin (Heat would flow from the heat source 122 and heat pipes 352 of Thibaut to the TEG 3 of Wang, then to the fins 103 of Wang) (See Fig. 1 of Wang, Fig. 10 of Thibaut, and the rejections of claims 1 and 5).
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 8, Wang and Thibaut disclose all as applied to claim 7, but Wang and Thibaut do not individually explicitly disclose:
wherein the heat pipe is in contact with the first upper cover surface and the fin, so as to conduct the thermal energy from the heat source to the first upper cover surface and the fin.
However, the Wang-Thibaut combination of claim 7 discloses:
wherein the heat pipe (352) (Fig. 10) (Thibaut) is in contact (i.e., thermal contact) with the first upper cover surface (Lower surface of 3) (Fig. 1) (Wang) and the fin (103) (Fig. 1) (Wang), so as to conduct the thermal energy from the heat source to the first upper cover surface and the fin (Heat would flow from the heat source 122 and heat pipes 352 of Thibaut to the TEG 3 of Wang, then to the fins 103 of Wang) (See Fig. 1 of Wang, Fig. 10 of Thibaut, and the rejections of claims 1 and 5).
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 9, Wang discloses:
A heat dissipation assembly (Contents of Fig. 1), comprising: a lower cover (3) (Fig. 1), comprising: a first lower cover surface (Lower surface of 3) (Fig. 1); and a second lower cover surface (Upper surface of 3) (Fig. 1); and a heat dissipation device (2) (Fig. 1), located above the lower cover (See Fig. 1, under with a downward direction as upwards in Fig. 1) and adjacent to the second lower cover surface (Fan 2 is adjacent to the upper surface of TEG 3) (Fig. 1) to cool the second lower cover surface (Fan 2 would cool the second upper surface of TEG 3) (Fig. 1), wherein the lower cover (3) (Fig. 1) is a thermoelectric generator chip (Part 3 is noted to be a thermoelectric generating sheet).
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
a heat source, wherein the first lower cover surface of the TEG receives the thermal energy of the heat source.
However, Thibaut discloses:
a heat source (122) (Fig. 10), wherein the first lower cover surface (i.e., lower surface of 250) (Fig. 10) of the TEG (250) (Fig. 10) receives the thermal energy of the heat source (Thermal energy is transferred via heat pipes 352) (Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Wang with the heat source and thermal transfer specifics as disclosed by Thibaut. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to make use of heat dissipation elements, and to provide a thermal gradient for the TEG to generate power across.
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 11, Wang and Thibaut disclose all as applied to claim 9, and Thibaut additionally discloses:
wherein a temperature of the first lower cover surface (i.e., lower surface of 250; receiving heat from the heat source) (Fig. 10) is higher than a temperature of the second lower cover surface (i.e., lower surface of 250; dissipating heat to the environment) (Fig. 10). (Given heat flow into the first lower cover surface and out of the second cover surface, the second cover surface must have a lower temperature than the first cover surface, as heat flows from high temperatures to cold temperatures. See also In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968).)
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 12, Wang and Thibaut disclose all as applied to claim 9, and Wang additionally discloses:
an upper cover (102) (Fig. 1) located above the heat dissipation device (heat dissipation device 2, 102 located above 2) (Fig. 1), comprising: a first upper cover surface (i.e., the sides of 102) (Fig. 1); and a second upper cover surface (i.e., the top of 102) (Fig. 1), adjacent to the heat dissipation device (102 being adjacent to 2) (See Fig. 1).
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
that the first upper cover surface receives the thermal energy from the heat source, and that a temperature of the first upper cover surface is higher than a temperature of the second upper cover surface.
However, the Wang-Thibaut combination of claim 1 discloses:
that the first upper cover surface (i.e., the sides of 102) (Fig. 1) (Wang) receives the thermal energy from the heat source (Heat source 122 of Thibaut, placed below TEG 3 of Wang, would conduct some heat through 101 and 103 into the sides of 102) (See Fig. 1 of Wang), and that a temperature of the first upper cover surface (i.e., the sides of 102) (Fig. 1) is higher than a temperature of the second upper cover surface (i.e., the top of 102) (Fig. 1). (Regarding the second upper surface being at a lower temperature than the first, the heat is conducted from 3 into 101, 103, and the sides of 102. When the device is first started, one of ordinary skill would expect heat to flow into the sides of 102 and thereafter into the top, forming a temperature gradient with the top being cooler than the sides. See also In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968).)
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 13, Wang and Thibaut disclose all as applied to claim 9, but Wang does not disclose:
a heat pipe, wherein the heat pipe is in contact with the heat source to conduct the thermal energy from the heat source away from the heat source.
However, Thibaut discloses:
a heat pipe (352) (Fig. 10), wherein the heat pipe is in contact with the heat source (Heat source 122; thermal contact) (Fig. 10) to conduct the thermal energy from the heat source away from the heat source (Paragraph [0100] describes that heat pipes 352 transport heat away from heat source 122 to the thermoelectric element 250.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Wang-Thibaut combination to explicitly make use of heat pipes, as taught by Thibaut. One of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so in order to allow for the heat source and TEC to be placed at a distance to one another, allowing for usage in space constrained applications.
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 14, Wang and Thibaut disclose all as applied to claim 13, but Wang does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the heat pipe is in contact with the first lower cover surface to conduct the thermal energy from the heat source to the first lower cover surface.
However, Thibaut discloses:
wherein the heat pipe (352) (Fig. 10) is in contact with the first lower cover surface (i.e., lower surface of 250) (Fig. 10) to conduct the thermal energy from the heat source (122) (Fig. 10) to the first lower cover surface (Paragraph [0100] describes that heat pipes 352 transport heat away from heat source 122 to the thermoelectric element 250.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Wang-Thibaut combination to explicitly make use of heat pipes, as taught by Thibaut. One of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so in order to allow for the heat source and TEC to be placed at a distance to one another, allowing for usage in space constrained applications.
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 15, Wang and Thibaut disclose all as applied to claim 13, and Wang additionally discloses:
a fin (103) (Fig. 1) disposed adjacent (See Fig. 1) to the lower cover (3) (Fig. 1).
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the heat pipe is in contact with the fin to conduct the thermal energy from the heat source to the fin.
However, the Wang-Thibaut combination of claim 5 discloses:
wherein the heat pipe (352) (Fig. 10) (Thibaut) is in contact with the fin (i.e., thermal contact, through TEG/lower cover 3 of Wang) to conduct the thermal energy from the heat source to the fin (Heat would flow from the heat source 122 and heat pipes 352 of Thibaut to the TEG 3 of Wang, then to the fins 103 of Wang) (See Fig. 1 of Wang, Fig. 10 of Thibaut, and the rejections of claims 9 and 13).
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 16, Wang and Thibaut disclose all as applied to claim 15, but Wang and Thibaut do not individually explicitly disclose:
wherein the heat pipe is in contact with the first lower cover surface and the fin, so as to conduct the thermal energy from the heat source to the first lower cover surface and the fin.
However, the Wang-Thibaut combination of claim 7 discloses:
wherein the heat pipe (352) (Fig. 10) (Thibaut) is in contact (i.e., thermal contact) with the first lower cover surface (Lower surface of 3) (Fig. 1) (Wang) and the fin (103) (Fig. 1) (Wang), so as to conduct the thermal energy from the heat source to the first lower cover surface and the fin (Heat would flow from the heat source 122 and heat pipes 352 of Thibaut to the TEG 3 of Wang, then to the fins 103 of Wang) (See Fig. 1 of Wang, Fig. 10 of Thibaut, and the rejections of claims 9 and 13).
See also KSR, supra.
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Thibaut in further view of Gao (US 20220068759 A1), hereafter referred to as Gao.
With regards to claim 2, Wang and Thibaut disclose all as applied to claim 1, but do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the heat source is in direct contact with the first upper cover surface.
However, Gao discloses:
wherein the heat source (111) (Fig. 2) is in direct contact with the first upper cover surface (First upper cover surface being the lower surface of TEC 120, TEC 120 is stated to include thermal transfer element 108, Paragraph [0029], 108 is in direct contact with 111) (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Wang-Thibaut combination with the heat source and thermoelectric positioning specifics as taught by Gao. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to improve heat transfer performance and heat transfer speed between the heat source and thermoelectric element.
Also, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined / modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
With regards to claim 10, Wang and Thibaut disclose all as applied to claim 9, but do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the heat source is in direct contact with the first lower cover surface.
However, Gao discloses:
wherein the heat source (111) (Fig. 2) is in direct contact with the first lower cover surface (First lower cover surface being the lower surface of TEC 120, TEC 120 is stated to include thermal transfer element 108, Paragraph [0029], 108 is in direct contact with 111) (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Wang-Thibaut combination with the heat source and thermoelectric positioning specifics as taught by Gao. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to improve heat transfer performance and heat transfer speed between the heat source and thermoelectric element.
See also KSR, supra.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Thibaut in further view of Sicuranza (US 20090107536 A1), hereafter referred to as Sicuranza.
With regards to claim 17, Wang and Thibaut disclose all as applied to claim 1, and Wang additionally discloses:
the heat dissipation assembly (Contents of Fig. 1) generating a voltage (Voltage generated from TEG 3) (Fig. 1); and an electronic element (Storage battery 14) (Fig. 3), receiving the voltage from the heat dissipation assembly (Page 6 lines 28-31 state that battery 14 is connected to TEG 3 in order to ensure smooth delivery of power.).
Wang and Thibaut do not explicitly disclose:
a boost circuit, adjusting the voltage from the heat dissipation assembly, wherein the electronic element receives the voltage adjusted by the boost circuit.
However, Sicuranza discloses:
a boost circuit (Paragraph [0041] discloses a boost DC/DC converter), adjusting the voltage from the heat dissipation assembly (Paragraph [0041] discloses using a boost DC/DC converter to be integrated with the output of a TEG voltage source.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Wang-Thibaut combination to include the boost circuit of Sicuranza. Given such a combination, the battery of Wang would receive at least in part the voltage adjusted by the boost circuit. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to allow the combination to be used in applications that require higher voltages, and/or to be compatible with components that require high voltages.
Also, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined / modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
With regards to claim 18, Wang, Thibaut, and Sicuranza disclose all as applied to claim 17, and Wang additionally discloses:
wherein the electronic element (Storage battery 14) (Fig. 3) is one or more of a rechargeable battery (Page 6 lines 28-31 state that battery 14 is connected to TEG 3 in order to ensure smooth delivery of power, which would involve charging the battery.), a capacitor, a keyboard light, a memory access, and a heat dissipation device power.
See also KSR, supra.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, Thibaut, and Sicuranza, in further view of Gao.
With regards to claim 19, Wang, Thibaut, and Sicuranza disclose all as applied to claim 17, and Wang additionally discloses:
an auxiliary power supply (Page 6 lines 28-31 state that battery 14 is connected to an additional external power supply.), generating a second voltage (See page 6 lines 28-31, an external power supply would generate a secondary voltage when powering the battery.); and a control circuit (4, 5, 7, and 8) (Fig. 3),
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
wherein when the voltage generated by the heat dissipation assembly is insufficient to drive the electronic element, the control circuit provides the second voltage generated by the auxiliary power supply to the electronic element.
However, Gao discloses:
wherein when the voltage generated is insufficient to drive the electronic element (i.e., when the heat source is hot, since the fan is not running) (See Fig. 4a), the control circuit provides the second voltage generated by the auxiliary power supply to the electronic element (Paragraph [0038] discloses that a control circuit senses when the temperature of the chip increases, a power supply is allowed to increase the power given to a cooling fan.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Wang-Thibaut-Sicuranza combination with the additional control circuit functionality of Gao, which allows for powering of heat dissipation elements such as the fan and battery based on heat of components, where heat acts a proxy for lack of voltage provided to cooling components. One of ordinary skill in related art(s) would have been motivated to do so in order to allow for higher power components to be used, where additional cooling would be required.
Also, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined / modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
With regards to claim 20, Wang, Thibaut, Sicuranza, and Gao disclose all as applied to claim 19, and Wang additionally discloses:
wherein when the voltage generated by the heat dissipation assembly (Voltage generated by TEG 3) (Fig. 1) is sufficient to drive the electronic element (i.e., charge battery 14) (Fig. 3), the control circuit provides the voltage generated by the heat dissipation assembly to the electronic element (See page 6 lines 28-31, when the TEG is active, it provides power to battery 14 through the control circuit, which then provides power to fan 2, in order to allow the fan to operate more reliably.).
See also KSR, supra.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Rao et al. (US 20240008227 A1), teaching a thermoelectric element adjacent to a heat source and fan.
Chang et al. (US 20190018307 A1), teaching a thermoelectric element adjacent to a heat source and liquid cooling block.
Chiu et al. (US 20090034202 A1), teaching a thermoelectric generator connected to a heat source via a heat pipe, placed on a fan, of similar form to the instant application.
/K.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2835
/MANDEEP S BUTTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835