Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-22 in the reply filed on 6/24/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,005,691. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claims an asymmetrical composite nonwoven textile comprising a first web, a second web and a central elastic layer wherein the first and second webs are needled through the central layer, wherein the first and second webs have different ratios of fibers having first, second, third and fourth deniers .
Claims 1-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of copending Application No. 18/670,455 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claims an asymmetrical composite nonwoven textile comprising a first web, a second web and a central elastic layer wherein the first and second webs are needled through the central layer, wherein the first and second webs have different ratios of fibers having first, second, third and fourth deniers .
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quantrille et al, U.S. Patent No. 5,393,599 in view of Chen et al, U.S. Patent Application No. 7,390,760.
Quantrille discloses a composite elastic fabric. The composite fabric comprises two fibrous webs which are on either side of an elastomeric layer. The elastomeric layer can be a web, net or apertured film The layers can be combined by hydroentangling. See col. 3, lines 21-39. The fibrous layers can comprise two nonwoven layers which include some binder fibers. See col. 4, lines 34-53. The hydroentangling of the layers forces fibers through the elastomeric layer to form an entangled structure. See col. 6, lines 63 – col. 7, lines 15. Instead of hydroentangling, the layers can also be combined by needling. See col. 8, lines 25-40. A variety of nonwoven fabrics can be employed including carded web, air laid or wet laid structure, as well as spunbond and meltblown fabrics. See col. 8, lines 57-68. The nonwovens can include bicomponent and multi-component fibers. See col. 11, lines 20-34. The other fibers can include staple and/or natural fibers, including polyester, polyolefins, nylon, acrylic, modacrylic, rayon, cellulose acetate, biodegradable synthetics, aramid, fluorocarbons, polyphenylene sulfide fibers, as well as wool, cotton, wood pulp fibers and glass or carbon fibers. See col. 11, lines 35-45. The binder fibers are present in amounts of 5-50 wt%, noting that more binder fibers make the fabric stiffer or boardy feeling. See col. 11, lines 46-55. The first web of fibers can be the same or different compared to the second web of fibers. For example, the webs can vary as to how many binder fibers, how many other fibers, and the types of binder and other fibers which are used. See col. 6, lines 17-32.
Quantrille differs from the claimed invention because it does not clearly disclose the first nonwoven has a first average denier per square centimeter, a second nonwoven has a second average denier per square centimeter which is less than the first average denier per square centimeter, the particular claimed denier values, ratio of first to second deniers, or the third number of fibers per square centimeter having a third denier, or the fourth number of fibers per square centimeter having a fourth denier, or the ratio of third to fourth denier.
However, Chen discloses a nonwoven material which can have a gradient structure. See col. 1, lines 53- 65. The nonwoven can comprise a mixture of coarse and fine fibers. See col. 1, lines 40-42. The structure can be used to make a variety of items including garments. See col. 2, lines 52-67. The gradient can be discrete areas having measurable differences resulting from the presence of fibers having different average diameters or average diameter ranges and/or from the presence of fibers of different types. The gradient can be in the thickness or z direction. The gradient can be produce differences in surface chemistry, wicking, contact angle, density, pore size, surface charge, zeta potential, fiber diameter, etc. See col. 9, lines 4-51. The gradient can also be in the x and/or y direction in addition to the z direction, and the gradients or zones can be hydrophobic, hydrophilic, elastomeric, non-elastomeric, highly porous, less porous, etc., based on the fibers present in each zone and further the basis weight, fiber diameter can also vary in different zones. See col. 12, lines 42-65. The asymmetric fabrics can be used to make garments which control moisture and move it away or towards a particular direction. See col. 21, lines 52-65. The fine fibers can have diameters of 0.5-100 microns while the coarse fibers can have diameters of 100-2000 microns. See col. 6, lines 50-67. These values would encompass the claimed deniers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have employed layers having gradients as the nonwoven layers in Quantrille, and to have selected the various proportions of the coarse and fine fibers which produced a structure having the desired properties and to have selected the number of layers needed to provide a fabric having the desired properties. Since Chen teaches that the structure can be used to form garments which direct or wick moisture in a particular direction, it would have been obvious to have selected fiber deniers and types which produced the desired flow of moisture towards or away from an inner or outer face of the garment depending on how the garment was being used.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Olgun, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0241476. Olgun discloses an elastic nonwoven laminate comprising an elastic film layer laminated on at least one side and preferably both sides with asymmetrical nonwoven layers. See paragraph 0023. Olgun does not disclose entangling the layers together.
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789