DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-9, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 5749775, Fish in view of USPN 4727778, Omi.
Regarding Claims 1 and 5, Fish discloses a chain link (parts 2-5) for a chain saw (belt 1, col. 2, 60-65), comprising: a pad (4) with a recess portion at an outside edge of the pad (see annotated fig 4 below), wherein the recess portion extends through a thickness of the pad (see annotated fig 4 below); and
a sintered diamond layer (5; col. 3, 40-55) coupled to the pad (fig 4), wherein the sintered diamond layer comprises a protrusion disposed in the recess portion of the weld pad (see annotated fig 4 below) (Claim 1), wherein the sintered diamond layer is sintered to the pad (col 3, 40-60) (Claim 5).
Regarding Claim 2, Fish discloses, the weld pad further comprising an additional recess portion; and the sintered diamond layer includes a second protrusion disposed in the second recess portion of the weld pad. (see annotated fig 4 above).
Regarding Claim 7, in Fish the weld pad has a height as measured along an axis perpendicular to a face of the weld pad to which the sintered diamond layer is coupled, (see annotated fig 4 below) and wherein the protrusion has a height matching the height of the weld pad (see annotated fig 4 below).
Regarding Claim 8, in Fish the pad has a length as measured in a direction parallel to a direction of movement of the chain link when used in a cutting implement (see annotated fig 4 below), and a width as measured in a direction perpendicular to the length, and wherein the sintered diamond layer does not extend beyond the length or the width of the weld pad (see annotated fig 4 below).
Fish lacks the cutter holding pad being a weld pad (Claim 1), and the chain link further comprises a drive link that is welded to the weld pad (Claim 6), and wherein a portion of the weld pad is between the protrusion and the additional protrusion (Claim 9).
Omi discloses a diamond insert cutting tool, in the same field of endeavor as the diamond insert cutting tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes a diamond layer 9 sintered to a top (top most layer of part 8) of a weld pad 4, and the chain link further comprises a drive link (1) that is welded to the weld pad (4) (col. 2, lines 20-30) (Claim 6) wherein the diamond layer comprises protrusions 10 that extend over recesses (portions formed by walls 6 and 7 of the weld pads) and wherein a protrusion (7 and 8) of the weld pad is between the protrusions (fig 2 and 3) in order to prevent the diamond segments from disengaging from the weld pads (col 1, 20-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fish by replacing the combination of pad 4 and layer 5 thereof with the weld pad and protrusion straddling diamond layer structure shown in Omi, where the pad is a weld pad (Claim 1), and the chain link further comprises a drive link that is welded to the weld pad (Claim 6), wherein a portion of the weld pad is between the protrusion and the additional protrusion (Claim 9) in order to prevent the diamond segments from disengaging from the weld pads as taught by Omi.
Regarding Claims 20-21, Fish discloses a cutting link (combination of parts 3-5) for a cutting chain (parts 2-5, forming the continuous belt/chain, see abstract), the cutting link comprising:
a pad (4); and a sintered diamond layer (5, col. 3, lines 40-55) both mechanically interfaced with the pad (fig 4).
Fish lacks the pad being a weld pad, a portion of the pad being between portions of the sintered diamond layer on opposing, lateral sides of the weld pad (Claim 20), and a recess of the weld pad or the sintered diamond layer receiving a projection of the other of the weld pad or the sintered diamond layer (Claim 21).
Omi discloses a diamond insert cutting tool, in the same field of endeavor as the diamond insert cutting tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes a diamond layer 9 sintered to a top (top most layer of part 8) of a weld pad 4, and the chain link further comprises a drive link (1) that is welded to the weld pad (4) (col. 2, lines 20-30)wherein the diamond layer comprises protrusions 10 that extend over recesses (portions formed by walls 6 and 7 of the weld pads) and wherein a protrusion (7 and 8) of the weld pad is between the protrusions (fig 2 and 3) in order to prevent the diamond segments from disengaging from the weld pads (col 1, 20-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fish by replacing the combination of pad 4 and layer 5 thereof with the weld pad and protrusion straddling diamond layer structure shown in Omi, the pad being a weld pad, a portion of the pad being between portions of the sintered diamond layer on opposing, lateral sides of the weld pad (Claim 20), and a recess of the weld pad or the sintered diamond layer receiving a projection of the other of the weld pad or the sintered diamond layer (Claim 21) in order to prevent the diamond segments from disengaging from the weld pads as taught by Omi.
Regarding Claim 22, in Fish, the cutting link comprises a tie strap (since the links are coupled to one another via flexible material [col 2, 60-70], and thus tied together to form a strap) comprising the weld pad (fig 4) as an integrated pad (fig 4).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fish in view of Omi, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of USPN 5184598, Bell.
Regarding Claims 3-4, Fish discloses, the diamond layer includes diamond (col. 3, 40-55).
Fish lacks the diamond layer also including at least one of: cobalt, nickel, iron, zinc, copper, tin, phosphorous, aluminum, manganese, chromium, and alloys thereof (Claim 3), and wherein the sintered diamond layer comprises diamond and a matrix material other than cobalt (Claim 4).
Bell discloses a diamond insert chain linked cutting tool in the same field of endeavor as the diamond insert chain linked cutting tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes a diamond layer (cutting-blocks 40, col. 3 15-25 and col 4, 10-35) coupled to a weld pad (fig 2 and col 4, 25-30), and discloses that the diamond includes at least one of: cobalt, nickel, iron, zinc, copper, tin, phosphorous, aluminum, manganese, chromium, and alloys thereof (col. 6, 10-15 ) (Claim 3), and wherein the sintered diamond layer comprises diamond and a matrix material other than cobalt (col. 6, 10-15; since cobalt is only one of the potential materials that are disclosed as possible in the layer, and since Bell discloses that the particular materials included in the matrix depends on the material to be cut, thus an artisan may include the layer comprising of diamond segments with steel and not cobalt)(Claim 4) in order to vary the material used in the diamond matrix depending on the type of material to be cut (col. 6, 10-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fish by including the diamond layer also including at least one of: cobalt, nickel, iron, zinc, copper, tin, phosphorous, aluminum, manganese, chromium, and alloys thereof (Claim 3), and wherein the sintered diamond layer comprises diamond and a matrix material other than cobalt (Claim 4) in order to vary the material used in the diamond matrix depending on the type of material to be cut as taught by Bell.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fish in view of USPN 5603311, Hoerner.
Regarding Claim 10, Fish discloses a diamond segment (combination of parts 3-5) comprising:
a pad (4) configured to be coupled with a drive link (3) of a cutting chain (parts 2-5, forming the continuous belt, see abstract); and
a diamond layer (5) coupled with the steel weld pad such that the diamond layer extends along a height of the pad (fig 4) at a peripheral, lateral side portion of the pad (fig 4).
Fish lacks the cutter holding pad being a steel weld pad.
Hoerner discloses a cutting chain link device with diamond cutting inserts in the same field of endeavor as the cutting chain link device with diamond cutting inserts of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes a diamond impregnated cutting part 37 attached to a body 43 of the saw via a steel weld pad 42, (see Fig. 11; col. 5, 50-60) in order to prevent segment loss and extend the usable life of the tool (col. 5, 50-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fish by including the cutter holding pad being a steel weld pad in order to prevent segment loss and extend the usable life of the tool as taught by Hoerner.
Claims 11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Fish in view of Hoerner, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of USPN 5215072, Scott.
Regarding Claims 11 and 13-15, Fish lacks wherein the steel weld pad is configured to be coupled with the drive link through a laser welding process (Claim 11), and wherein the diamond layer is a sintered diamond layer (Claim 13), wherein the sintered diamond layer comprises diamond and at least one of: cobalt, nickel, iron, zinc, copper, tin, phosphorous, aluminum, manganese, chromium, and alloys thereof (Claim 14) wherein the sintered diamond layer is sintered to the steel weld pad (Claim 15).
Scott discloses a chain link having an abrasive cutting portion thereon, in the same field of endeavor as the chain link tool with an abrasive cutting portion tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes a cutting portion of the tool 34 being attached to a cutting bed 32, and wherein the steel weld pad is configured to be coupled with the drive link through a laser welding process (col. 7, 20-30) (Claim 11), and discloses that the cutting portion includes sintered diamond particles thereon, and thus includes the cutting layer being a sintered diamond layer (col. 4, 50-65) (Claim 13), wherein the sintered diamond layer comprises diamond and at least one of: cobalt, nickel, iron, zinc, copper, tin, phosphorous, aluminum, manganese, chromium, and alloys thereof (col. 4, 50-65 and col 5, 1-15, “steel wire”)(and see col 8, 25-35 of USPN, 5049165, col. 1, lines 40-60 [incorporated by reference into Scott], which discloses that a diamond coated cutting portion of a cutting tool includes nickel) (Claim 14) wherein the sintered diamond layer is sintered to the steel weld pad (col. 4, 50-65) (Claim 15) in order to provide the cutting surface with wear resistant properties (col. 4, 50-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fish by having its steel weld pad configured to be coupled with the drive link through a laser welding process (Claim 11), and wherein the diamond layer is a sintered diamond layer (Claim 13), wherein the sintered diamond layer comprises diamond and at least one of: cobalt, nickel, iron, zinc, copper, tin, phosphorous, aluminum, manganese, chromium, and alloys thereof (Claim 14) wherein the sintered diamond layer is sintered to the steel weld pad (Claim 15), in order to provide the cutting surface with wear resistant properties as taught by Scott.
Regarding Claim 16, the steel weld pad including a recess portion that extends along the height of the steel weld pad as measured in a direction perpendicular to a cutting plane of the diamond segment (see annotated fig 4 below, recess portion being the portion into which the annotated protrusion lies), and the sintered diamond layer includes a protrusion positioned in the recess portion (see annotated fig 4 below).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fish in view of Hoerner, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of USPN 4266657 Frost.
Fish lacks the weld pad being made particularly of low-carbon steel.
Frost discloses a chain link, in the same field of endeavor as the cutting chain link tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes sheet steel is used for the brackets and bracket attachments of the invention being low carbon 1010 sheet steel (col 10, 30-50).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to form the welding pad in Fish out of low-carbon steel, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice, and since the selection of this type of steel would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art being equipped with Bell and Frost. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fish in view of Hoerner as applied to claim 10 above and further in view of US 4674474, Baril.
Regarding Claims 17-18, Modified Fish lacks: wherein the diamond layer is brazed to the steel weld pad (Claim 17) wherein the diamond layer includes a coating that is based on diamond and a nickel-alloy (Claim 18).
Baril discloses a chain link having an abrasive cutting portion thereon, in the same field of endeavor as the chain link tool with a diamond mix layer abrasive cutting portion tool of the present invention and discloses that in such a tool: the diamond layer is brazed to the steel weld pad (col. 4, 4-25) in order to form a high strength bond (col. 4, 25-30), (Claim 17), wherein the diamond layer includes a coating that is based on diamond and a nickel-alloy (col. 4, 4-25) in order to have the diamond cutting portion/layer comprise corrosion resistant alloys, (Claim 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fish by having the: the diamond layer be brazed to the steel weld pad in order to form a high strength bond (col. 4, 25-30), (Claim 17), and to have said diamond layer include a coating that is based on diamond and a nickel-alloy in order to have the diamond cutting portion/layer comprise corrosion resistant alloys, (Claim 18), as taught by Baril.
Regarding claim 19, in Fish the diamond layer 5 encapsulates the pad such that the diamond layer covers a cutting face of the steel weld pad and a peripheral side of the pad (fig 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 9/4/26, with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant first argues that the previous action should not have been made final. This is persuasive due to the lack of previous amendments. Thus, the present action is made non final. As to the previous prior art rejections, Bell lacks a recess at an outside edge of the weld pad, Claim 1. Also, Applicant correctly notes that Lee lacks the protrusion matching the height of the weld pad (claims 7-8). None of the previously cited art discloses the structures of claim 10 and 20 as amended. Therefore, the prior art rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Fish.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPNs 181437 and 4971022 disclose state of the art chain link devices, and this each disclose elements relevant to the present invention/application.
/FERNANDO A AYALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/BOYER D ASHLEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724