DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The present Office action is responsive to the application as filed on 05-21-2024. As directed, claims 1-20 are presently pending examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
At claim 13, line 5, it is suggested that “a” be added before “temperature” for clarity.
At claim 13, line 5, it is suggested that “a” be added before “pressure” for clarity.
At claim 13, line 7, it is suggested that “a” be added before “temperature” for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A/the first and second “thermal unit” in claims 7-9 and 17, which are interpreted relative to the instant specification at paragraph 40 to include respective heat exchangers and functional equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 11-15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reneau (US 4,633,859) in view of Haffner (US 3,515,155).
Regarding claim 1, Reneau discloses a system (C+S) for administering hyperbaric thermal therapy (Col. 1, lines 58-62; Fig. 1), comprising:
a hyperbaric chamber (C) (Col. 1, lines 59-67; Fig. 1); and
a gas control module (S) in communication with the hyperbaric chamber (C) (Col. 1, lines 58-62; Col. 2, lines 55-61; Col. 3, line 56-Col. 4, line 10; Col. 5, lines 19-43; Col. 6, lines 55-59; Fig. 1), the gas control module (S) configured to independently control:
a composition and a pressure of internal atmospheric gases for supply to the hyperbaric chamber (C) (Col. 3, lines 16-43; Fig. 1); and
a composition of inhalation gases for supply to a patient in the hyperbaric chamber (C) (Col. 5, lines 19-43; Fig. 1).
Reneau fails to explicitly disclose wherein the control module is configured to independently control temperature of internal atmospheric gases or inhalation gases.
However, Haffner teaches a gas mixture proportioner (Col. 1, lines 13-16; Fig. 1) including a gas and temperature control module (see either the electric circuitry controls of Fig. 2 or the pneumatic controls of Fig. 3) that includes independent control over multiple gas supply lines and sources (11, 12, and 13) (Col. 2, lines 31-44; Col. 3, lines 15-25; Fig. 1) and independent control of each of the temperature in each of the gas lines in order to control each gas entering into the mixing chamber (50) to its optimum condition and facilitate mixture stability by controlling the temperature of each gas to be at the same temperature (11, 12, and 13) (Col. 3, lines 6-14; Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gas control module of Reneau to include the capability of independently controlling the temperature of each of the internal atmospheric gas source and the inhalation gas source so that each gas entering the hyperbaric chamber and patient circuit could be brought to a temperature coinciding with its optimum condition, and to further facilitate control of the temperature of each gas such that the gases more stably mix.
Regarding claim 2, Reneau in view of Haffner disclose the system of claim 1, as discussed above.
As presently modified, modified Reneau fails to explicitly disclose wherein the gas and temperature control module comprises:
a first control circuit to control the composition, the temperature, and the pressure of the internal atmospheric gases for supply to the hyperbaric chamber; and
a second control circuit to control the composition and the temperature of the inhalation gases for supply to the patient in the hyperbaric chamber.
However, Haffner further teaches wherein each of the gas supply lines (11, 12, and 13) include separate control circuits for controlling the composition, the temperature, and the pressure of each gas supply in order to produce the desired gaseous mixture (in Fig. 1, note each of the independent valves 46+48, 46A+48A, and 46B+48B for controlling the output of each fluid line 11, 12, and 13, described at Col. 2, lines 56-73 and Col. 3, lines 15-25; note Col. 3, lines 6-13 and the heaters shown in Fig. 1 for individual temperature control; Col. 7, lines 57-72 for desired mixture).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gas and temperature control module of modified Reneau such that it comprises each of a first control circuit to control the composition, the temperature, and the pressure of the internal atmospheric gases for supply to the hyperbaric chamber, and a second control circuit to control the composition and the temperature of the inhalation gases for supply to the patient in the hyperbaric chamber, where Haffner teaches the independent control circuit for each of its gaseous supply lines for delivery to a mixing chamber, in order to produce the desired gaseous mixture in the hyperbaric chamber and in the patient circuit.
Regarding claim 3, Reneau in view of Haffner disclose the system of claim 2, as discussed above.
Modified Reneau further discloses wherein the first control circuit and the second control circuit operate independently of each other (see Haffner, in Fig. 1, note each of the independent valves 46+48, 46A+48A, and 46B+48B for controlling the output of each fluid line 11, 12, and 13, described at Col. 2, lines 56-73 and Col. 3, lines 15-25; note Col. 3, lines 6-13 and the heaters shown in Fig. 1 for individual temperature control; Col. 7, lines 57-72 for desired mixture).
Regarding claim 7, Reneau in view of Haffner disclose the system of claim 3, as discussed above.
Modified Reneau further discloses wherein the first control circuit (see Reneau’s P, modified to be independently controllable as in Haffner’s supply lines 11, 12, and 13) comprises a first thermal unit (see Fig. 1 of Haffner, and the heater in each circuit 11, 12, and 13) for modulating the temperature of the internal atmospheric gases for supply to the hyperbaric chamber (Reneau: C), and the second control circuit (see Reneau’s B, modified to be independently controllable as in Haffner’s supply lines 11, 12, and 13) comprises a second thermal unit (see Fig. 1 of Haffner, and the heater in each circuit 11, 12, and 13) for modulating the temperature of the inhalation gases for supply to the patient in the hyperbaric chamber (Reneau: C) (Haffner: Col. 3, lines 6-13 for temperature modulation of each circuit).
Regarding claim 11, Reneau in view of Haffner disclose the system of claim 1, as discussed above.
Reneau further discloses wherein the gas and temperature control module (S) is integrated with the hyperbaric chamber (C) (Col. 2, lines 55-61, see “mounted”; Col. 3, lines 56-61; Fig. 1; note that 10T is part of system S and is described as mounted to the chamber C).
Regarding claim 12, Reneau in view of Haffner disclose the system of claim 1, as discussed above.
Reneau further discloses wherein the gas and temperature control module (S) is removably mounted with the hyperbaric chamber (C) (Col. 2, lines 55-61; Col. 3, lines 56-61; Fig. 1; note that 10T is part of system S and is described as “removably mounted” to the chamber C).
Regarding claim 13, Reneau discloses a system (C+S) for administering hyperbaric thermal therapy (Col. 1, lines 58-62; Fig. 1), comprising:
a hyperbaric chamber (C) (Col. 1, lines 59-67; Fig. 1); and
a gas control module (S) configured to be removably coupled to a hyperbaric chamber (C) (Col. 1, lines 58-62; Col. 2, lines 55-61; Col. 3, line 56-Col. 4, line 10; Col. 5, lines 19-43; Col. 6, lines 55-59; Fig. 1), the gas control module (S) configured to independently control:
a composition and a pressure of internal atmospheric gases for supply to the hyperbaric chamber (C) (Col. 3, lines 16-43; Fig. 1); and
a composition of inhalation gases for supply to a patient in the hyperbaric chamber (C) (Col. 5, lines 19-43; Fig. 1).
Reneau fails to explicitly disclose wherein the control module is configured to independently control temperature of internal atmospheric gases or inhalation gases.
However, Haffner teaches a gas mixture proportioner (Col. 1, lines 13-16; Fig. 1) including a gas and temperature control module (see either the electric circuitry controls of Fig. 2 or the pneumatic controls of Fig. 3) that includes independent control over multiple gas supply lines and sources (11, 12, and 13) (Col. 2, lines 31-44; Col. 3, lines 15-25; Fig. 1) and independent control of each of the temperature in each of the gas lines in order to control each gas entering into the mixing chamber (50) to its optimum condition and facilitate mixture stability by controlling the temperature of each gas to be at the same temperature (11, 12, and 13) (Col. 3, lines 6-14; Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gas control module of Reneau to include the capability of independently controlling the temperature of each of the internal atmospheric gas source and the inhalation gas source so that each gas entering the hyperbaric chamber and patient circuit could be brought to a temperature coinciding with its optimum condition, and to further facilitate control of the temperature of each gas such that the gases more stably mix.
Regarding claim 14, Reneau in view of Haffner disclose the system of claim 13, as discussed above.
As presently modified, modified Reneau fails to explicitly disclose wherein the gas and temperature control module comprises:
a first control circuit to control the composition, the temperature, and the pressure of the internal atmospheric gases for supply to the hyperbaric chamber; and
a second control circuit to control the composition and the temperature of the inhalation gases for supply to the patient in the hyperbaric chamber.
However, Haffner further teaches wherein each of the gas supply lines (11, 12, and 13) include separate control circuits for controlling the composition, the temperature, and the pressure of each gas supply in order to produce the desired gaseous mixture (in Fig. 1, note each of the independent valves 46+48, 46A+48A, and 46B+48B for controlling the output of each fluid line 11, 12, and 13, described at Col. 2, lines 56-73 and Col. 3, lines 15-25; note Col. 3, lines 6-13 and the heaters shown in Fig. 1 for individual temperature control; Col. 7, lines 57-72 for desired mixture).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gas and temperature control module of modified Reneau such that it comprises each of a first control circuit to control the composition, the temperature, and the pressure of the internal atmospheric gases for supply to the hyperbaric chamber, and a second control circuit to control the composition and the temperature of the inhalation gases for supply to the patient in the hyperbaric chamber, where Haffner teaches the independent control circuit for each of its gaseous supply lines for delivery to a mixing chamber, in order to produce the desired gaseous mixture in the hyperbaric chamber and in the patient circuit.
Regarding claim 15, Reneau in view of Haffner disclose the system of claim 14, as discussed above.
Modified Reneau further discloses wherein the first control circuit and the second control circuit operate independently of each other (see Haffner, in Fig. 1, note each of the independent valves 46+48, 46A+48A, and 46B+48B for controlling the output of each fluid line 11, 12, and 13, described at Col. 2, lines 56-73 and Col. 3, lines 15-25; note Col. 3, lines 6-13 and the heaters shown in Fig. 1 for individual temperature control; Col. 7, lines 57-72 for desired mixture).
Regarding claim 17, Reneau in view of Haffner disclose the system of claim 15, as discussed above.
Modified Reneau further discloses wherein the first control circuit (see Reneau’s P, modified to be independently controllable as in Haffner’s supply lines 11, 12, and 13) comprises a first thermal unit (see Fig. 1 of Haffner, and the heater in each circuit 11, 12, and 13) for modulating the temperature of the internal atmospheric gases for supply to the hyperbaric chamber (Reneau: C), and the second control circuit (see Reneau’s B, modified to be independently controllable as in Haffner’s supply lines 11, 12, and 13) comprises a second thermal unit (see Fig. 1 of Haffner, and the heater in each circuit 11, 12, and 13) for modulating the temperature of the inhalation gases for supply to the patient in the hyperbaric chamber (Reneau: C) (Haffner: Col. 3, lines 6-13 for temperature modulation of each circuit).
Regarding claim 19, Reneau discloses a system (C+S) for administering hyperbaric thermal therapy (Col. 1, lines 58-62; Fig. 1), comprising:
a hyperbaric chamber (C) (Col. 1, lines 59-67; Fig. 1);
a chamber base (10R) for supporting the hyperbaric chamber (C) (Col. 2, lines 46-49; Fig. 1); and
a gas control module (S) in communication with the hyperbaric chamber (C) (Col. 1, lines 58-62; Col. 2, lines 55-61; Col. 3, line 56-Col. 4, line 10; Col. 5, lines 19-43; Col. 6, lines 55-59; Fig. 1), the gas control module (S) configured to independently control:
a composition and a pressure of internal atmospheric gases for supply to the hyperbaric chamber (C) (Col. 3, lines 16-43; Fig. 1); and
a composition of inhalation gases for supply to a patient in the hyperbaric chamber (C) (Col. 5, lines 19-43; Fig. 1).
Reneau fails to explicitly disclose wherein the control module is configured to independently control temperature of internal atmospheric gases or inhalation gases.
However, Haffner teaches a gas mixture proportioner (Col. 1, lines 13-16; Fig. 1) including a gas and temperature control module (see either the electric circuitry controls of Fig. 2 or the pneumatic controls of Fig. 3) that includes independent control over multiple gas supply lines and sources (11, 12, and 13) (Col. 2, lines 31-44; Col. 3, lines 15-25; Fig. 1) and independent control of each of the temperature in each of the gas lines in order to control each gas entering into the mixing chamber (50) to its optimum condition and facilitate mixture stability by controlling the temperature of each gas to be at the same temperature (11, 12, and 13) (Col. 3, lines 6-14; Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gas control module of Reneau to include the capability of independently controlling the temperature of each of the internal atmospheric gas source and the inhalation gas source so that each gas entering the hyperbaric chamber and patient circuit could be brought to a temperature coinciding with its optimum condition, and to further facilitate control of the temperature of each gas such that the gases more stably mix.
Regarding claim 20, Reneau in view of Haffner disclose the system of claim 19, as discussed above.
As presently modified, modified Reneau fails to explicitly disclose wherein the gas and temperature control module comprises:
a first control circuit to control the composition, the temperature, and the pressure of the internal atmospheric gases for supply to the hyperbaric chamber; and
a second control circuit to control the composition and the temperature of the inhalation gases for supply to the patient in the hyperbaric chamber.
However, Haffner further teaches wherein each of the gas supply lines (11, 12, and 13) include separate control circuits for controlling the composition, the temperature, and the pressure of each gas supply in order to produce the desired gaseous mixture (in Fig. 1, note each of the independent valves 46+48, 46A+48A, and 46B+48B for controlling the output of each fluid line 11, 12, and 13, described at Col. 2, lines 56-73 and Col. 3, lines 15-25; note Col. 3, lines 6-13 and the heaters shown in Fig. 1 for individual temperature control; Col. 7, lines 57-72 for desired mixture).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gas and temperature control module of modified Reneau such that it comprises each of a first control circuit to control the composition, the temperature, and the pressure of the internal atmospheric gases for supply to the hyperbaric chamber, and a second control circuit to control the composition and the temperature of the inhalation gases for supply to the patient in the hyperbaric chamber, where Haffner teaches the independent control circuit for each of its gaseous supply lines for delivery to a mixing chamber, in order to produce the desired gaseous mixture in the hyperbaric chamber and in the patient circuit.
Claims 4-6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reneau (US 4,633,859) in view of Haffner (US 3,515,155), as applied to claims 3 and 15 above, further in view of Grady (US 8,025,055).
Regarding claim 4, Reneau in view of Haffner disclose the system of claim 3, as discussed above.
Modified Reneau further discloses wherein the first control circuit (see Reneau’s P, modified to be independently controllable as in Haffner’s supply lines 11, 12, and 13) is in fluid communication with a first gas source (20A) for supplying the internal atmospheric gases (Reneau: Col. 3, lines 16-31; Fig. 1), and the second control circuit (see Reneau’s B, modified to be independently controllable as in Haffner’s supply lines 11, 12, and 13) is in fluid communication with a second set of gas sources (40A, 40B) for supplying the inhalation gases (see Reneau: Col. 5, lines 19-42; Fig. 1).
Modified Reneau fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first gas source is a first set of gas sources.
However, Grady teaches a CPAP chamber (10) for delivery of treatment gases (Col. 2, lines 19-27; Col. 6, lines 37-43; Fig. 1) including a first set of gas sources (62) that can comprise both helium and oxygen (Col. 7, lines 37-43).
Given that Reneau discloses the introduction of helium from its first gas source into the chamber (Col. 3, lines 16-31), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first gas source of Reneau to include a first set of gas sources comprising both helium and oxygen, as taught by Grady, as a known combination/mixture of treatment gases to deliver to an enclosed system for a patient.
Regarding claim 5, Reneau in view of Haffner and Grady disclose the system of claim 4, as discussed above.
Modified Reneau further discloses wherein the first set of gas sources (see 20A of Reneau and 62 of Grady) comprises a mixture of oxygen and helium (see Reneau at Col. 3, lines 16-31 and Grady at Col. 7, lines 37-43).
Regarding claim 6, Reneau in view of Haffner and Grady disclose the system of claim 5, as discussed above.
Reneau further discloses wherein the second set of gas sources (40A, 40B) comprises at least one of a source of oxygen (Col. 5, lines 19-42, see oxygen and air).
Regarding claim 16, Reneau in view of Haffner disclose the system of claim 15, as discussed above.
Modified Reneau further discloses wherein the first control circuit (see Reneau’s P, modified to be independently controllable as in Haffner’s supply lines 11, 12, and 13) is in fluid communication with a first gas source (20A) for supplying the internal atmospheric gases (Reneau: Col. 3, lines 16-31; Fig. 1), and the second control circuit (see Reneau’s B, modified to be independently controllable as in Haffner’s supply lines 11, 12, and 13) is in fluid communication with a second set of gas sources (40A, 40B) for supplying the inhalation gases (see Reneau: Col. 5, lines 19-42; Fig. 1).
Modified Reneau fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first gas source is a first set of gas sources.
However, Grady teaches a CPAP chamber (10) for delivery of treatment gases (Col. 2, lines 19-27; Col. 6, lines 37-43; Fig. 1) including a first set of gas sources (62) that can comprise both helium and oxygen (Col. 7, lines 37-43).
Given that Reneau discloses the introduction of helium from its first gas source into the chamber (Col. 3, lines 16-31), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first gas source of Reneau to include a first set of gas sources comprising both helium and oxygen, as taught by Grady, as a known combination/mixture of treatment gases to deliver to an enclosed system for a patient.
Claims 8-10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reneau (US 4,633,859) in view of Haffner (US 3,515,155), as applied to claims 1, 7, and 14 above, further in view of Evans (US 2010/0059059).
Regarding claim 8, Reneau in view of Haffner disclose the system of claim 7, as discussed above.
Modified Reneau fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first thermal unit is configured to modulate the temperature of the internal atmospheric gases between 35 °F and 125 °F.
However, Evans teaches a hyperbaric chamber (10) (paragraph 16, lines 1-3; Fig. 1), and indicates that it is known to operate a hyperbaric chamber in the range of 50-100 degrees Fahrenheit (paragraph 31, lines 4-5; note MPEP 2131.03, when the range disclosed in the prior art lies within the claimed range, the range is anticipated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of modified Reneau such that the first thermal unit is configured to modulate the temperature of the internal atmospheric gases between 50 °F and 100 °F, as taught by Evans, in order to deliver therapeutic gas into the hyperbaric chamber within a known range of comfortable temperatures for the patient to inhale and interface with.
Regarding claim 9, Reneau in view of Haffner disclose the system of claim 7, as discussed above.
Modified Reneau fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second thermal unit is configured to modulate the temperature of the inhalation gases between 35 °F and 125 °F.
However, Evans teaches a hyperbaric chamber (10) (paragraph 16, lines 1-3; Fig. 1), and indicates that it is known to operate a hyperbaric chamber in the range of 50-100 degrees Fahrenheit (paragraph 31, lines 4-5; note MPEP 2131.03, when the range disclosed in the prior art lies within the claimed range, the range is anticipated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of modified Reneau such that the second thermal unit is configured to modulate the temperature of the inhalation gases between 50 °F and 100 °F, as taught by Evans, in order to deliver therapeutic gas into the hyperbaric chamber within a known range of comfortable temperatures for the patient to inhale and interface with.
Regarding claim 10, Reneau in view of Haffner disclose the system of claim 7, as discussed above.
Reneau further discloses wherein the gas and temperature control module (S) comprises a user interface (10T) (Col. 2, lines 55-61; Fig. 1).
Reneau fails to explicitly disclose wherein the user interface facilitates control of the gas and temperature control module, the user interface comprising at least one of a display screen, a digital button or knob, or an analog button or knob.
However, Evans teaches a hyperbaric chamber (10) (paragraph 16, lines 1-3; Fig. 1) including a user interface (14) as a portion of the control module (24), wherein the user interface (14) facilitates control of the control module (24), and comprises a display screen (40) and an analog button or knob (34, 36, 37, 38) to allow for selection of various control parameters (paragraph 17, lines 1-19; Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the user interface of Reneau to further include facilitation of control of the gas and temperature control module, the user interface comprising a display screen and an analog button or knob, as taught by Evans, in order to allow for selection of various control parameters for the hyperbaric chamber.
Regarding claim 18, Reneau in view of Haffner disclose the system of claim 14, as discussed above.
Reneau further discloses wherein the gas and temperature control module (S) comprises a user interface (10T) (Col. 2, lines 55-61; Fig. 1).
Reneau fails to explicitly disclose wherein the user interface facilitates control of the gas and temperature control module, the user interface comprising at least one of a display screen, a digital button or knob, or an analog button or knob.
However, Evans teaches a hyperbaric chamber (10) (paragraph 16, lines 1-3; Fig. 1) including a user interface (14) as a portion of the control module (24), wherein the user interface (14) facilitates control of the control module (24), and comprises a display screen (40) and an analog button or knob (34, 36, 37, 38) to allow for selection of various control parameters (paragraph 17, lines 1-19; Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the user interface of Reneau to further include facilitation of control of the gas and temperature control module, the user interface comprising a display screen and an analog button or knob, as taught by Evans, in order to allow for selection of various control parameters for the hyperbaric chamber.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang (CN 113018055) is cited for its hyperbaric chamber with two separate gas introducing means (102/104) as seen in Figure 1.
Bricio Arzubide (WO 2014/148880) is cited for its multiple control panels as shown in Figure 3.
Song (KR 2012-0025783) is cited for its separate gas circuits as shown in Figure 2.
Loori (US 2009/0120433) is cited for its multiple electrical control circuits for a hyperbaric chamber as shown in Figure 3.
Bunke (US 2005/0103338) is cited for its teaching that the regulating device contains separate regulating circuits for each gas line at paragraph 8.
Berry (US 3,547,118) is cited for its separate inlets for gas into a hyperbaric chamber as seen in Figure 1.
/PAIGE KATHLEEN BUGG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785