DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on -08/22/2024- is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 2-10, 13-20 objected to because of the following informalities:
The above claims are missing comma. The claims can be amended by adding a comma as shown in the example below:
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising….
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, 10, 11-15, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1)/(a) (2) as being anticipated by Calvo et al US 20110216066 A1 herein after “Calvo”
Regarding claim 1, Calvo teaches A method for estimating formation tops for a proposed drilling well, the method comprising:
identifying offset wells of the formation (para [0061] Referring to FIG. 2, an embodiment of the offset well selection screen is generally shown as item 200. Screen 200 facilitates the receipt and viewing of formation top data, lithology data and ARS data (collectively referred to as "well data") for desired offset wells…. an offset identification area 202 for identifying selected offsets wells for which the user has elected to import well data.);
Examiner views the offset wells of the formation are identified using a screen/display.
identifying one or more formation tops each corresponding to a formation depth point for each offset well (para [0061 Each selected offset well is identified in the offset identification area 202 as an offset entry 203 comprising…the total measured depth of the offset well, and the total time for the drilling of the offset well. Alternatively, each offset entry 203 may comprise any desired attributes of the offset well. [0062] Screen 200 also comprises a viewing area 204 having an offset graph area 205 for displaying graphs of the well data for each selected offset well, a proposed formation top graph 210 of the formation top data for the proposed well received by screen 100, a well depth axis 211 for displaying a common well depth axis shared by the graphs in the viewing area 204);
Please see in Fig. 2, formation top graph in 204 for ABC sample well-completed, XYZ sample well completed and proposed well; one or more formations tops each corresponding to the formation depth point for each offset well is identified is Fig. 2.
performing, in sequence and for each offset well, a grid construction whereby a depth point for the offset well is connected with a depth point of the proposed drilling well, said performing being repeated for each formation top of the offset well (para [0062] Screen 200 also comprises a viewing area 204 having an offset graph area 205 for displaying graphs of the well data for each selected offset well, a proposed formation top graph 210 of the formation top data for the proposed well received by screen 100, a well depth axis 211 for displaying a common well depth axis shared by the graphs in the viewing area 204
0065] Screen 300 also comprises a mapping area 304 for graphically mapping portions of the formation top data of the offset wells to portions of the formation top data of the proposed well. Mapping area 304 generally comprises: an offset FTL graph 306; a mapping graph 308; a proposed formation top graph 310; a well depth axis 311 for displaying a common well depth axis shared by the graphs in mapping area 304)
Examiner views in Fig. 2, Screen 204 and 300 shows for each offset well (for example, ABC and XYZ sample well-completed) in sequence, a graph grid constructed by a depth axis 211 (i.e., depth point) is mapped or connected with the depth point for the proposed well. In Fig. 2 examiner views the grid construction is repeated for each formation top of the offset wells, ABC and XYZ sample well-completed.
forming a stack of said grids (Examiner views the Fig. 2, 204 and Fig. 3, 304 form a graph (i.e., stack of grids), depth for each formation for each offset well and proposed well); and
estimating a depth of the proposed drilling well for each formation by applying an interpolation method to said stack (para [0028] The normalizing may modify the depth associated with each element of the physical attribute data by performing a linear interpolation based upon the depths of the mapped portion of the offset formation top graph and the depths of the associated mapped portion of the proposed formation top graph.).
Here examiner views the interpolation is used to modify (i.e., to estimate) the depth of the proposed drilling well for each formation based on the depths of the mapped portion of the offset well formation top graph (i.e., stacks of grid)
Regarding claim 2, Calvo teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising combining each of the plurality of proposed drilling well depth points to generate a complete formation tops profile for the proposed drilling well (para 0067] The proposed formation top graph 310 displays a graph of the formation top data for the proposed well. The proposed formation top graph 310 comprises a plurality of sections 340 representing the formation tops expected to be encountered in the drilling of the proposed well.).
Examiner views in Fig. 3 a combination of plurality of proposed drilling well depth points for each formation that creates a complete formations top profile 310 for the proposed drilling well.
Regarding claim 3, Calvo teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the interpolation method comprises at least one of a linear, cubic, Akima, or spline method (para [0028] The normalizing may modify the depth associated with each element of the physical attribute data by performing a linear interpolation based upon the depths of the mapped portion of the offset formation top graph and the depths of the associated mapped portion of the proposed formation top graph.).
Examiner views the interpolation as a linear method.
Regarding claim 4, Calvo teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the interpolation method is adaptively selected based on a distribution and quality of the depth points within the grid (para [0028] The normalizing may modify the depth associated with each element of the physical attribute data by performing a linear interpolation based upon the depths of the mapped portion of the offset formation top graph and the depths of the associated mapped portion of the proposed formation top graph.
[0062] Screen 200 also comprises a viewing area 204 having an offset graph area 205 for displaying graphs of the well data for each selected offset well, a proposed formation top graph 210 of the formation top data for the proposed well received by screen 100, a well depth axis 211 for displaying a common well depth axis shared by the graphs in the viewing area 204, and a magnification area 209 providing buttons for adjusting the magnification of graphs in the viewing area 204. The offset graph area 205 is further divided into one or more sub-areas 206, 208, each comprising graphs of the well data for a selected offset well).
Examiner views prior art teaches adjusting the magnification of graphs in the selected viewing area 204 where formation distribution and a depth axis (i.e., with depth points within the grid or axis) are present. Adjusted and magnified graphs provide better view of distribution and quality of formation distribution and depth points in an axis or grid). Therefore, the interpolation method is also selected to adapt or perform based on the adjusted and magnified mapped or distribution of formations to the depth points in the depth axis or grid.
Regarding claim 5, Calvo teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the interpolation method is adaptively selected based on geological characteristics of the formation tops (Fig. 2 and 3, para [0028] The normalizing may modify the depth associated with each element of the physical attribute data by performing a linear interpolation based upon the depths of the mapped portion of the offset formation top graph and the depths of the associated mapped portion of the proposed formation top graph.).
Examiner views the interpolation performed by the prior art is selected for each formations tops physical attributes (i.e., include the geological characteristics like depth and location of formation tops) and the interpolation is adapted or performed based on each mapped portion or location (i.e., geological characteristics) of the offset well formation tops.
Regarding claim 9, Calvo teaches the method of claim 2 wherein the estimated complete formation tops profile is used to identify optimal depths for critical drilling points (Fig. 3 para [0067] The proposed formation top graph 310 displays a graph of the formation top data for the proposed well. The proposed formation top graph 310 comprises a plurality of sections 340 representing the formation tops expected to be encountered in the drilling of the proposed well… Each section 340 is also vertically positioned and sized with respect to the well depth axis 311 such that the measured depth indicated on the well depth axis 311 for the top and bottom of the section 340 matches the depth of the top and bottom of the formation top associated with the section 340. The top and bottom depth of the section 340 may also be indicated by a pop-up textbox (not shown) that is generated in response to a user selecting a formation top section 340 using an input device).
In Fig. 3 examiner views a complete formation tops profile 310 that is used to identify estimated or optimal depths at 311 for important or critical drilling points in the depth axis of chart 304.
Regarding claim 10, Calvo teaches the method of claim 9 wherein the critical drilling points comprise points for coring, casing, screening, sampling, and installation of water pumps ([0002] In well drilling applications, wells are typically drilled based upon a predetermined well plan that defines the well survey and drilling parameters. The determination of a well plan for a proposed well is typically based upon a variety of information, such as, geological surveys at or nearby the proposed well, recorded physical attributes of completed offset wells nearby the proposed well, and other sources of geological information. Based upon this information, a well plan for the proposed well can be generated to optimize desired drilling attributes, such as, bit wear, rate of penetration, and drilling time.).
Examiner views the determination of formation top for a proposed well defines important drilling well activities and attributes (i.e., coring, casing, screening, sampling and installation of water pump) at each depth or point of formation tops.
Claims 11-15, 19, 20 are rejected as claims 1-5, 9, 10 respectively for having similar claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calvo in view of Jeong et al US 20230212934 A1 herein after Jeong.
Regarding claim 6, Calvo teaches the method of claim 1, Calvo does not teach wherein identifying offset wells comprises selecting offset wells within a predetermined radius of the proposed drilling well
Jeong teaches wherein identifying offset wells comprises selecting offset wells within a predetermined radius of the proposed drilling well (abstract: The present disclosure relates to systems, methods, and non-transitory computer-readable media for dynamically utilizing offset drill-well data generated within a threshold geographic area to determine formation-top trends and identify formation-top depths at a subject drill-well site.
Para [0037] As further used herein, the term “threshold” in conjunction with a threshold geographic area refers to a sub-region or portion of a larger region. In particular, a threshold geographic area can include a configurable perimeter that includes a “subject drill-well site” (i.e., a location for a potential new drill-well). As an example, the threshold geographic area may include a five-mile radius, a ten-mile radius, etc.
Examiner views the offset wells is determined to be located within a predetermined geographic area (i.e., 5- or 10-mile radius) of proposed well.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Jeong into Calvo for the purpose of identifying the offset wells within a predetermined radius of proposed well so that the physical and geographical properties of the proposed well can be accurately studied based on the offset wells.
Regarding claim 7, Calvo teaches the method of claim 1 Calvo does not teach wherein performing a grid construction further comprises defining a coordinate system relative to the proposed drilling well and locations of the offset wells.
Jeong teaches wherein performing a grid construction further comprises defining a coordinate system relative to the proposed drilling well and locations of the offset wells (para [0006] Aspects of the present disclosure can include methods, computer-readable media, and systems that dynamically utilize offset drill-well data generated within a threshold geographic area to determine formation-top trends and identify formation-top depths at a coordinate location. In particular, the disclosed systems can receive, from a client device, a user selection identifying a coordinate location at which formation-tops are desired. In response to receiving such a user selection, the disclosed systems can intelligently identify, among a large set of drill-wells, a specific subset of offset drill-wells near the coordinate location).
Examiner views the offset wells is determined to be located with a coordinate system within a predetermined geographic area (i.e., 5- or 10-mile radius) of proposed well.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Jeong into Calvo for the purpose of identifying the offset wells within a predetermined radius of proposed well with a coordinate system so that the physical and geographical properties of the proposed well can be accurately studied based on the offset wells.
Regarding claim 8, Calvo teaches the method of claim 7 Calvo does not teach wherein the coordinate system is three-dimensional.
Jeong teaches the coordinate system is three-dimensional (para [0077] For example, as shown in FIGS. 4F-4G, the formation-top modeling system 104 can map a continuous subterranean surface of a formation between respective positions of the subset of drill-wells in a threshold geographic area. In particular, the formation-top modeling system 104 can isolate individual formations as shown in chart 446 of FIG. 4F, or map multiple (e.g., all) formations across the threshold geographic area as shown in chart 448 of FIG. 4G.).
In Fig. 4A-4B, 4F-4G, Examiner views the offset wells is determined to be located with a three- dimensional coordinate system within a predetermined geographic area of proposed well.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Jeong into Calvo for the purpose of identifying the offset wells within a predetermined radius of proposed well with a three-dimensional coordinate system so that the physical and geographical properties of the proposed well can be accurately studied based on the offset wells.
Claims 16-18 are rejected as claims 6-8 respectively for having similar claim limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Maniar et al US 20200040719 A1 discusses proposing a new well based on the existing wells.
Krist Jansson et al US 20170328181 A1 discusses method and apparatus for drilling a new well based on the sample wells.
/SHARAD TIMILSINA/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857