DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 11-15 and 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Caldwell et al. (US Pat No. 10,713,272) in view of Dageville et al. (US PG Pub No. 2021/0073207 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Caldwell teaches a system comprising: at least one hardware processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that cause the at least one hardware processor to perform operations (Fig 10) comprising:
configuring a first processing pipeline definition, the first processing pipeline definition
configuring a second processing pipeline definition, the second processing pipeline definition
instantiating a source monitor pipeline based on the first processing pipeline definition, the source monitor pipeline to fetch a manifest file of the database table from an external storage location based on the first plurality of configurations (col 10 lines 29-55, wherein crawl management configures crawlers to extract structural data from data sets stored at different storage locations);
instantiating a refresh pipeline based on the second processing pipeline definition, the refresh pipeline to perform a refresh operation of the metadata to generate refreshed metadata based on the second plurality of configurations (col 10 lines 42-44, wherein crawl management reschedules previously crawled data sets for a new crawl); and
outputting a notification of the refreshed metadata (col 3 lines 38-46).
Caldwell does not explicitly teach the first and second processing pipeline definition comprises a first and second plurality of configurations associated with metadata of a database table.
Dageville teaches a configuration and metadata manager for collecting and storing metadata about table data ([0045-46]; [0065]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a first and second plurality of configurations associated with metadata of a database table. One would be motivated by the desire to manage how modifications to metadata are performed as taught by Dageville ([0048]).
Regarding claim 2, Dageville teaches the operations comprising: configuring the first plurality of configurations as a plurality of processing steps in the first processing pipeline definition; and configuring the second plurality of configurations as a plurality of processing steps in the second processing pipeline definition ([0048]).
Regarding claim 3, Caldwell teaches the operations comprising: accessing scheduling information associated with at least one notification fetching job of the plurality of notification fetching jobs (col 10 lines 11-15, wherein an event detector monitors for changes to a data set and sends an event notification to registered subscribers).
Regarding claim 4, Caldwell teaches the operations comprising: scheduling execution of at least one of the plurality of processing steps in the source monitor pipeline to perform at least one of the plurality of notification fetching jobs based on the scheduling information (col 10 lines 11-15, wherein an event detector monitors for changes to a data set and sends an event notification to registered subscribers).
Regarding claim 5, Caldwell and Dageville teach the operations comprising: reading a plurality of metadata files of the database table to obtain a plurality of snapshots (Dageville [0048]); and forwarding the plurality of snapshots as a notification to a notification handler of the source monitor pipeline (Caldwell col 10 lines 11-15, wherein an event detector monitors for changes to a data set and sends an event notification to registered subscribers).
Regarding claims 11-15 and 21-25, they are the method and medium claims of claims 1-5 above. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1-5 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 and 16-20 and 26-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Eric C Wai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195