DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response filed June 29, 2026 has been entered.
No claims are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending this application
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al (US 2021/0199812 A1) in view of Blais et al (Elsevier, 2022).
Regarding Claim 1, Cheng teaches a method, comprising, in a navigation processing procedure performed at the GNSS receiver [0058-0060 for using a GNSS receiver]:
receiving at least one satellite signal of a plurality of satellite signals transmitted from a plurality of satellites [0060-0062 for receiving satellite carrier signal];
and for the at least one satellite signal: performing a GNSS tracking on the at least one satellite signal, including dumping in-phase and quadrature components of a correlation procedure performed during the GNSS tracking on the at least one satellite signal [0062 for using I and Q transmission paths for correlator];
receiving in a delay unit including a plurality of delay elements at the output of which are a plurality of correlation taps, the in-phase and quadrature components, providing at each correlation tap of the plurality of correlation taps of the delay unit a delayed signal including the in-phase and quadrature components, the delay being the same for all the delay elements [0061 for using a code generator with tapped delay line, and controlling spacing between taps];
obtaining a coherently accumulated signal by performing a coherent accumulation over a given coherent accumulation period on each of such delayed signals [0046 for integrate and dump units to receive correlation samples, with 0048 for long coherent integration];
obtaining a transformed signal having an amplitude that is representative of a correlation energy of the at least one satellite signal by applying a transform to the frequency domain on the coherently accumulated signal [0051 for using a DFT engine for code correlation sums];
performing a non-coherent combination on the transformed signal to generate at least one bi-dimensional map [0071 for correlation magnitudes show two correlation functions],
providing a distribution of the correlation energy of the at least one satellite signal received at a given time and as a function of a code delay and a doppler frequency [0068-0069 for LxNbin matrix for a number of taps with code correlations sums].
Cheng fails to explicitly teach and analysing the at least one bi-dimensional map to detect if the corresponding distribution of the correlation energy of the at least one of the received satellite signals is different from a bi-dimensional map of a signal not affected by replica signals in order to determine if the at least one satellite signal is affected by replicas by detecting if at least one anomalous feature indicative of presence of replica is in the energy distribution of the at least one of satellite signal provided in the at least one bi-dimensional map.
Blais has a novel framework for multipath prediction in Global Navigation Satellite System signals (page 1 abstract) and teaches and analysing the at least one bi-dimensional map to detect if the corresponding distribution of the correlation energy of the at least one of the received satellite signals is different from a bi-dimensional map of a signal not affected by replica signals [page 2, left column, 5th paragraph for a 2D grid (map) using delay and doppler values outputted from the correlator]
in order to determine if the at least one satellite signal is affected by replicas by detecting if at least one anomalous feature indicative of presence of replica is in the energy distribution of the at least one of satellite signal provided in the at least one bi-dimensional map [page 8, right column, last paragraph for using map to detect multipath peaks around signals].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS receiver position techniques, as disclosed by Cheng, further including the multipath calculations as taught by Blais for the purpose to build its own representation of corrupted/non corrupted correlated signals [Blais, page 2, left column, 4th paragraph].
Regarding Claim 11, Cheng teaches GNSS receiver apparatus, comprising [0058-0060 for using a GNSS receiver]:
one or more memories storing software instructions [0058 for processing means]:
one or more processors configured to execute the software and to perform a process based on the execution of the software instructions, the process including [0060 for feedback control unit]:
receive at least one satellite signal of a plurality of satellite signals transmitted from a plurality of satellites [0060-0062 for receiving satellite carrier signal];
and for the at least one satellite signal: performing a GNSS tracking on the at least one satellite signal, including dumping in-phase and quadrature components of a correlation procedure performed during the GNSS tracking on the at least one satellite signal [0062 for using I and Q transmission paths for correlator];
receiving in a delay unit including a plurality of delay elements at the output of which are a plurality of correlation taps, the in-phase and quadrature components, providing at each correlation tap of the plurality of correlation taps of the delay unit a delayed signal including the in-phase and quadrature components, the delay being the same for all the delay elements [0061 for using a code generator with tapped delay line, and controlling spacing between taps];
obtaining a coherently accumulated signal by performing a coherent accumulation over a given coherent accumulation period on each of such delayed signals [0046 for integrate and dump units to receive correlation samples, with 0048 for long coherent integration];
obtaining a transformed signal having an amplitude that is representative of a correlation energy of the at least one satellite signal by applying a transform to the frequency domain on the coherently accumulated signal [0051 for using a DFT engine for code correlation sums];
performing a non-coherent combination on the transformed signal to generate at least one bi-dimensional map [0071 for correlation magnitudes show two correlation functions],
providing a distribution of the correlation energy of the at least one satellite signal received at a given time and as a function of a code delay and a doppler frequency [0068-0069 for LxNbin matrix for a number of taps with code correlations sums].
Cheng fails to explicitly teach and analysing the at least one bi-dimensional map to detect if the corresponding distribution of the correlation energy of the at least one of the received satellite signals is different from a bi-dimensional map of a signal not affected by replica signals in order to determine if the at least one satellite signal is affected by replicas by detecting if at least one anomalous feature indicative of presence of replica is in the energy distribution of the at least one of satellite signal provided in the at least one bi-dimensional map.
Blais has a novel framework for multipath prediction in Global Navigation Satellite System signals (page 1 abstract) and teaches and analysing the at least one bi-dimensional map to detect if the corresponding distribution of the correlation energy of the at least one of the received satellite signals is different from a bi-dimensional map of a signal not affected by replica signals [page 2, left column, 5th paragraph for a 2D grid (map) using delay and doppler values outputted from the correlator]
in order to determine if the at least one satellite signal is affected by replicas by detecting if at least one anomalous feature indicative of presence of replica is in the energy distribution of the at least one of satellite signal provided in the at least one bi-dimensional map [page 8, right column, last paragraph for using map to detect multipath peaks around signals].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS receiver position techniques, as disclosed by Cheng, further including the multipath calculations as taught by Blais for the purpose to build its own representation of corrupted/non corrupted correlated signals [Blais, page 2, left column, 4th paragraph].
Regarding Claim 16, Cheng teaches a method, comprising: receiving a satellite signal at a GNSS receiver apparatus [0058-0060 for using a GNSS receiver];
generating in-phase and quadrature components from the satellite signal by performing a correlation procedure during GNSS tracking of the satellite signal [0062 for using I and Q transmission paths for correlator];
generating a respective delayed signal for each of a plurality of delay elements of the receiver apparatus, each delay signal including the in-phase and quadrature components, each delayed signal having a same delay [0061 for using a code generator with tapped delay line, and controlling spacing between taps];
generating a coherently accumulated signal by performing a coherent accumulation on each of the delayed signals [0046 for integrate and dump units to receive correlation samples, with 0048 for long coherent integration];
obtaining a transformed signal by applying a transform to the frequency domain on the coherently accumulated signal [0051 for using a DFT engine for code correlation sums].
Cheng fails to explicitly teach generating a bi-dimensional map providing a distribution of a correlation energy of the satellite signal based on a code delay and a doppler frequency of the transformed signal; and determining whether the satellite signal is affected by replicas of the satellite signal based on the distribution of the correlation energy by analyzing the bi-dimensional map.
Blais has a novel framework for multipath prediction in Global Navigation Satellite System signals (page 1 abstract) and teaches teach generating a bi-dimensional map providing a distribution of a correlation energy of the satellite signal based on a code delay and a doppler frequency of the transformed signal [page 2, left column, 5th paragraph for a 2D grid (map) using delay and doppler values outputted from the correlator]
and determining whether the satellite signal is affected by replicas of the satellite signal based on the distribution of the correlation energy by analyzing the bi-dimensional map [page 8, right column, last paragraph for using map to detect multipath peaks around signals].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS receiver position techniques, as disclosed by Cheng, further including the multipath calculations as taught by Blais for the purpose to build its own representation of corrupted/non corrupted correlated signals [Blais, page 2, left column, 4th paragraph].
Regarding Claim 2 and 12, Cheng teaches the analysing includes performing a pattern recognition on the at least one bi-dimensional map classifying the at least one satellite signal as affected by replicas or not on the basis of the pattern represented by the at least one bi-dimensional map if at least one anomaly is detected by classification in the energy distribution of the at least one satellite signal provided in the at least one bi-dimensional map [0070-0072 for local maximum magnitude greater than noise level].
Regarding Claim 3 and 13, Cheng teaches the at least one satellite signal is further classified according to at least: a line-of-sight energy peak value which is a maximum value of a line-of-sight component of the at least one of the received satellite [0071 for a local max 308 for L)S signal correlation peak];
or a line-of-sight energy peak code delay which is a code delay coordinate of the maximum value of the line-of-sight component of the at least one satellite signal [0071];
or a line-of-sight energy peak doppler frequency, which is a doppler frequency coordinate of the maximum value of the line-of-sight component of the at least one satellite signal [0071 for using Doppler frequency].
Regarding Claim 4 and 14, Cheng fails to explicitly teach the pattern recognition is performed by a neural network analysing the at least one bi-dimensional map.
Blais has a novel framework for multipath prediction in Global Navigation Satellite System signals (page 1 abstract) and teaches the pattern recognition is performed by a neural network analysing the at least one bi-dimensional map [page 2, left column last two paragraphs for using CNN with I and Q signals].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS receiver position techniques, as disclosed by Cheng, further including the multipath calculations as taught by Blais for the purpose to build its own representation of corrupted/non corrupted correlated signals [Blais, page 2, left column, 4th paragraph).
Regarding Claim 5 and 15, Cheng fails to explicitly teach the classifying the at least one of satellite signal as affected by replicas is obtained by providing the at least one bi-dimensional map corresponding to the at least one of the received satellite signals to a neural network configured to detect anomalies resulting from the presence of replicas by analyzing the at least one bi-dimensional map.
Blais has a novel framework for multipath prediction in Global Navigation Satellite System signals (page 1 abstract) and teaches the classifying the at least one of satellite signal as affected by replicas is obtained by providing the at least one bi-dimensional map corresponding to the at least one of the received satellite signals to a neural network configured to detect anomalies resulting from the presence of replicas by analyzing the at least one bi-dimensional map [page 1 abstract, and page 8, right column, last paragraph for using map to detect multipath peaks around signals for CNN automatic features].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS receiver position techniques, as disclosed by Cheng, further including the multipath calculations as taught by Blais for the purpose to validates the detection mechanism and provides a sound and clear interpretation of the CNN decision rule [Blais, page 9, left column, 1st paragraph).
Regarding Claim 6, Cheng teaches the anomalies resulting from the presence of replicas in a bi-dimensional map are determined by at least: a presence of a plurality of peaks in the correlation energy distribution of the bi-dimensional map [0071 for two correlation functions with a matrix];
or a presence of a secondary peak that is further than a given threshold from a line-of-sight energy peak value which is a maximum value of a line-of-sight component [0072, 0077-0078 for determining the magnitude of the LOS (line of sight) signal].
Regarding Claim 7, Cheng fails to explicitly teach the neural network is a convolutional neural network.
Blais has a novel framework for multipath prediction in Global Navigation Satellite System signals (page 1 abstract) and teaches teach the neural network is a convolutional neural network [page 1 abstract, and page 8, right column, last paragraph for using map to detect multipath peaks around signals for CNN automatic features].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS receiver position techniques, as disclosed by Cheng, further including the multipath calculations as taught by Blais for the purpose to validates the detection mechanism and provides a sound and clear interpretation of the CNN decision rule [Blais, page 9, left column, 1st paragraph).
Regarding Claim 9, Cheng teaches compensating the coherently accumulated signal for: a receiver estimated clock drift value which compensates GNSS receiver clock drift errors [0056 for determining LOS signal carrier frequency and code phase, using position and velocity];
or estimated receiver dynamics which compensate GNSS receiver errors resulting from GNSS receiver dynamics [0038 for free of multipath interference].
Regarding Claim 10, Cheng teaches the transform to the frequency domain is done using a Fast Fourier Transform, or a Chirp Z-Transform, or a Fractional Fourier Transform, or a Fourier Transform [0051-0052 for using a DFT].
Regarding Claim 17, Cheng teaches determining whether the satellite signal is affected by replicas includes detecting an anomalous feature in the distribution of the correlation energy [0070-0073].
Regarding Claim 19, Cheng teaches compensating the coherently accumulated signal for a receiver estimated clock drift value [0056 for determining LOS signal carrier frequency and code phase, using position and velocity].
Regarding Claim 20, Cheng teaches compensating the coherently accumulated signal for estimated receiver dynamics [0038 for free of multipath interference].
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al (US 2021/0199812 A1) in view of Blais et al (Elsevier, 2022) as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Yang et al (US 2007/0205940 A1).
Regarding Claim 8 and 18, Cheng fails to explicitly teach a zero-padding is further appended to the coherently accumulated signal before the transformation to the frequency domain.
Yang has a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) receiver and associated method capable of tracking weak GNSS signals from a plurality of GNSS satellites (abstract) and teaches a zero-padding is further appended to the coherently accumulated signal before the transformation to the frequency domain [0049 ad claim 18].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS receiver position techniques, as disclosed by Cheng, further including the padding calculations as taught by Yang for the purpose to maintain the timing relationship among all the samples [Yang, 0049].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a
general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
In applicant’s arguments page 9, first paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that Cheng does not disclose receiving a delayed signal including in-phase and quadrature components. The examiner respectfully disagrees: Cheng teaches a code generator having a tapped delay line structure with a total of L taps (early, prompt, late) that receive the carrier remove I/Q signal at correlators 112 a-c, with each correlator outputting I and Q sample streams [Cheng, 0045-0046, and 0061-0062].
In applicant’s arguments page 9, last paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that the features of claim 11 are not disclosed receiving a delayed signal including in-phase and quadrature components. The examiner respectfully disagrees: Blaise also teaches via its correlation process (Fig 1.) in which the received signal is correlated against a (doppler shift, propagation delay) grid of local replica signal in quadrature, producing I and Q correlator outputs at each grid point (delay or tap) that are mapped into a 2D image [Blais, page 3, Figure 1 for Synoptic view of the correlation process].
In applicant’s arguments page 10, first paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that the features of claim 16 are not disclosed receiving a delayed signal including in-phase and quadrature components. The examiner respectfully disagrees: Chen showing rows of evenly spaced delay taps to grab in-phase and quadrature copies of signals at slightly different delays, demonstrating a basic known design of a GNSS correlator with early prompt and late tracking [Cheng, 0045, 0061].
The examiner acknowledges that this is a broader interpretation than Applicant’s.
However, examiners are not only allowed to apply broad interpretations, but are required to do so, as it reduces the possibility that the claims, once issued, will be interpreted more broadly than is justified. MPEP §2111. Patentability is determined by the “broadest reasonable interpretation
consistent with the specification” (MPEP §2111), not the narrowest reasonable interpretation. And Applicant does not have an explicit lexicographical statement in line with MPEP §2111.01
subsection IV requiring a specific interpretation of the relevant phrases which forces the examiner to interpret them only one way.
The express, implicit, and inherent disclosures of a prior art reference may be relied upon in the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103. "The inherent teaching of a prior art reference, a question of fact, arises both in the context of anticipation and obviousness." In re Napier, 55 F.3d 610, 613, 34 USPQ2d 1782, 1784 (Fed. Cir. 1995).
For applicant’s benefit, portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, including disclosures that teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
“The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including non-preferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v.Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005) See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648