DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in this amended application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As to claim 1 (& 10, 19), the claim limitation recited “wherein, in a case where a level of the removal is not included in the received scan settings, the controller executes the removal process based on the setting of the removal included in the received scan settings and a level of the removal set regardless of execution of the application, and wherein, in a case where a level of the removal is included in the received scan settings, the controller executes the removal process based on the setting of the removal included in the received scan settings and the level of the removal included in the received scan settings”. These claim limitations are not clear to the examiner. Particularly, the claim limitation recited “wherein, in a case where a level of the removal is not included in the received scan settings, the controller executes the removal process based on the setting of the removal included in the received scan settings and a level of the removal set regardless of execution of the application” is not clearly defined, because the claim limitation recited “a level of the removal is not…..” can be interpreted a different or it is a similar “a level of the removal set regardless” in the claimed limitations. Examiner has reviewed the original filed specification information, and at least fig. 8 & paras. 0086-0092, clearly/explicitly defined that processor 202 of printer 101 determines the scan ticket or scan settings that doesn’t have setting “a level of the removal” in it, then the processor 202 of printer 101 sets the setting “the level of the removal”, so the printer 101 would have executed the blank page removal process based on the printer 101 set “level of the removal”. Thus, the scope of the claim limitations is unable to be determined, which render the scope of the claim indefinite, because the claim limitations do not provide explicitly the exact function of the claim limitations.
The other independent claims 10, 19 obviously claim the same subject matter as in the claim 1 and therefore would be rejected based on same rationale as applied for the claim 1.
Claims 2-9, 11-18, 20 depend either directly or indirectly from claim 1, 10. 19 and are therefore rejected for depending from a rejected base claim and for not overcoming the rejection of the base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshima, US Pub 2011/0058231 in view of Hamashima, US Pub 2022/0166893.
As to claim 1[independent], Oshima teaches an image processing apparatus comprising:
a commincator [fig. 1, element 403; 0045] that receives scan settings set in an application installed on an information processing apparatus [fig. 1, element 403; 0043, 0045, 0055-0056 Oshima teaches that scanner 4’s receiving section 403 receives scan settings, entered by user on information processing apparatus 1 using application program, from the information processing apparatus 1] and compatible with image processing apparatuses of a plurality of vendors in common from the information processing apparatus [fig. 3a, steps 203-206, 105-107, 110; 0043, 0055-0056 Oshima teaches that the information processing apparatus 1 receives scan settings entered by user, using application program, on display 13 and then transmits scan instruction with scan settings to the scanner 4 for scanning documents to generate image data of scanned documents];
a scanner [fig. 1, element 46; 0043] that scans a document based on the received scan settings and to generate image data [fig. 3a, steps 201, 203-206, 105-107, 110; 0043, 0055-0056 Oshima teaches that an information processing apparatus 1 receives scan & removing blank-page settings ([e.g., steps 201 (NO), 203-206]) entered by user having instructed to remove blank-page, using application program, on display 13 and then transmits scan instruction with scan settings & removing blank-page to scanner 4 for scanning documents to generate image data of scanned documents]; and
a controller [fig. 1, element 40; 0042] that executes a removal process on the generated image data based on a setting of removal included in the received scan settings, the removal process being a process for removing a blank page from the generated image data [fig. 3a, steps 201, 203-206, 105-107, 110 & fig. 3b, steps 115-116; 0043, 0055-0056, 0058-0059 Oshima teaches that an information processing apparatus 1 receives scan & removing blank-page settings ([e.g., steps 201 (NO), 203-206]) entered by user having instructed to remove blank-page, using application program, on display 13 and then transmits scan instruction with scan settings & removing blank-page to scanner 4 for scanning documents to generate image data of scanned documents. The scanner 4’s processor 40 executes blank-page removing process, and the processor 40 removed the blank page from the memory 49 (e.g., fig. 3b, steps 115-116 & paras., 0058-0059)]; and
wherein the communicator [fig. 1, element 40; 0042] transmits image data that is not removed by the removal process in the generated image data to the information processing apparatus [fig. 3b, steps 117-119, 209; 0060-0061 Oshima teaches that the scanner 4’s processor 40 transmits scanned image data without transmitting the removed blank image data to the information processing apparatus 1],
Oshima doesn’t teach wherein, in a case where a level of the removal is not included in the received scan settings, the controller executes the removal process based on the setting of the removal included in the received scan settings and a level of the removal set regardless of execution of the application, and
wherein, in a case where a level of the removal is included in the received scan settings, the controller executes the removal process based on the setting of the removal included in the received scan settings and the level of the removal included in the received scan settings.
Hamashima teaches wherein, in a case where a level of the removal is not included in the received scan settings, the execution unit executes the removal process based on the setting of the removal included in the received scan settings and a level of the removal set regardless of execution of the application [fig. 3, elements 101-102 & figs. 4, 6, 11-12; 0059, 0077-0078, 0081, 0087, 0089-0090, 0121, 0156-0157, 0181, 0208-0210 Hamashima teaches that the printer 11 receives the scan settings & blank page removal settings (figs. 4, 6) having blank page removal level information (figs. 4, elements 93a, 15 & para., 0077-0078, 0081, 0087) selected by the user on host computer 100 (paras., 0059, 0121). When in case of receiving the numerical value “0” by the user and the confirmation signal, the blank paper removal level setting unit 78 updates the setting of the blank paper removal level to “0”. The numerical value of the blank paper removal level is a parameter that determines a threshold value used in the blank paper determination in which the blank paper determination unit 87 determines whether the image of the document D is a blank paper page when the blank paper removal function is ON, and obviously printer 11 would still executes blank page removal process (paras., 0077-0078, 0181, 0208-0210) according to the received scan settings & blank page removal settings level (figs. 4, 6)], and
wherein, in a case where a level of the removal is included in the received scan settings, the controller executes the removal process based on the setting of the removal included in the received scan settings and the level of the removal included in the received scan settings [fig. 3, elements 101-102 & figs. 4, 6, 11-12; 0059, 0077-0078, 0081, 0087, 0089-0090, 0121, 0156-0157, 0181, 0208-0210 Hamashima teaches that the printer 11 receives the scan settings & blank page removal settings (figs. 4, 6) having blank page removal level information (figs. 4, elements 93a, 15 & para., 0081, 0087) selected by the user on host computer 100 (paras., 0059, 0121). When receiving the numerical value “15” and the confirmation signal, the blank paper removal level setting unit 78 updates the setting of the blank paper removal level to “15”. The numerical value of the blank paper removal level is a parameter that determines a threshold value used in the blank paper determination in which the blank paper determination unit 87 determines whether the image of the document D is a blank paper page when the blank paper removal function is ON, and executes blank page removal process (paras., 0181, 0208-0210) according to the received scan settings & blank page removal settings (figs. 4, 6)].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Hamashima teaching to execute the removal process based on the setting of the removal included in the received scan settings and a level of the removal set to modify Oshima’s teaching to preview-display a portion of an image among images of a read document in a selectable state on a display, switches a display mode of the image to a selected state in which a blank paper removal candidate or a non-removal candidate is selected and generates reading data based on remaining image data obtained by removing the image data of a target blank paper using removal level information is set as a removal level for selecting the candidate based on the confirmed image in the selected state. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to set in advance unnecessary pages to be printed in case of the blank sheet is detected during scan process of document, thus enables to prevent the image of the document that a user does not want to be removed as blank paper page.
As to claim 2 [dependent from claim 1], Hamashima teaches wherein the controller receives a setting of the level of the removal from a user, and
wherein the controller executes the removal process based on the setting of the removal included in the received scan settings and the set level of the removal [fig. 3, elements 101-102 & figs. 4, 6, 11-12; 0059, 0081, 0087, 0089-0090, 0121, 0156-0157, 0181, 0208-0210 Hamashima teaches that the printer 11 receives the scan settings & blank page removal settings (figs. 4, 6) having blank page removal level information (figs. 4, element 93a & para., 0081, 0087) selected by the user on host computer 100 (paras., 0059, 0121), and executes blank page removal process (paras., 0181, 0208-0210) according to the received scan settings & blank page removal settings (figs. 4, 6)].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Hamashima teaching to execute the removal process based on the setting of the removal included in the received scan settings and a level of the removal set to modify Oshima’s teaching to preview-display a portion of an image among images of a read document in a selectable state on a display, switches a display mode of the image to a selected state in which a blank paper removal candidate or a non-removal candidate is selected and generates reading data based on remaining image data obtained by removing the image data of a target blank paper using removal level information is set as a removal level for selecting the candidate based on the confirmed image in the selected state. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to set in advance unnecessary pages to be printed in case of the blank sheet is detected during scan process of document, thus enables to prevent the image of the document that a user does not want to be removed as blank paper page.
As to claim 3 [dependent from claim 1], Hamashima teaches wherein, in a case where the level of the removal is not included in the received scan settings, the controller determines, based on a setting of a resolution included in the received scan settings, level of the removal [fig. 3, elements 101-102 & figs. 4, 6, 11-12; 0059, 0077-0078, 0081, 0087, 0089-0090, 0121, 0156-0157, 0181, 0208-0210 Hamashima teaches that the printer 11 receives the scan settings & blank page removal settings (figs. 4, 6) having blank page removal level information (figs. 4, elements 93a, 15 & para., 0077-0078, 0081, 0087) selected by the user on host computer 100 (paras., 0059, 0121). When in case of receiving the numerical value “0” by the user and the confirmation signal, the blank paper removal level setting unit 78 updates the setting of the blank paper removal level to “0”. The numerical value of the blank paper removal level is a parameter that determines a threshold value used in the blank paper determination in which the blank paper determination unit 87 determines whether the image of the document D is a blank paper page when the blank paper removal function is ON, and obviously printer 11 would still executes blank page removal process (paras., 0077-0078, 0181, 0208-0210) according to the received scan settings & blank page removal settings level (figs. 4, 6)].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Hamashima teaching to execute the removal process based on the setting of the removal included in the received scan settings and a level of the removal set to modify Oshima’s teaching to preview-display a portion of an image among images of a read document in a selectable state on a display, switches a display mode of the image to a selected state in which a blank paper removal candidate or a non-removal candidate is selected and generates reading data based on remaining image data obtained by removing the image data of a target blank paper using removal level information is set as a removal level for selecting the candidate based on the confirmed image in the selected state. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to set in advance unnecessary pages to be printed in case of the blank sheet is detected during scan process of document, thus enables to prevent the image of the document that a user does not want to be removed as blank paper page.
As to claim 4 [dependent from claim 1], Hamashima teaches wherein, in a case where the level of the removal is not included in the received scan settings, the controller, based on a setting of a document type included in the received scan settings, the level of the removal,
the controller executes the removal process based on the determined level of the removal [fig. 3, elements 101-102 & figs. 4, 6, 11-12; 0059, 0077-0078, 0081, 0087, 0089-0090, 0121, 0156-0157, 0181, 0208-0210 Hamashima teaches that the printer 11 receives the scan settings & blank page removal settings (figs. 4, 6) having blank page removal level information (figs. 4, elements 93a, 15 & para., 0077-0078, 0081, 0087) selected by the user on host computer 100 (paras., 0059, 0121). When in case of receiving the numerical value “0” by the user and the confirmation signal, the blank paper removal level setting unit 78 updates the setting of the blank paper removal level to “0”. The numerical value of the blank paper removal level is a parameter that determines a threshold value used in the blank paper determination in which the blank paper determination unit 87 determines whether the image of the document D is a blank paper page when the blank paper removal function is ON, and obviously printer 11 would still executes blank page removal process (paras., 0077-0078, 0181, 0208-0210) according to the received scan settings & blank page removal settings level (figs. 4, 6)].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Hamashima teaching to execute the removal process based on the setting of the removal included in the received scan settings and a level of the removal set to modify Oshima’s teaching to preview-display a portion of an image among images of a read document in a selectable state on a display, switches a display mode of the image to a selected state in which a blank paper removal candidate or a non-removal candidate is selected and generates reading data based on remaining image data obtained by removing the image data of a target blank paper using removal level information is set as a removal level for selecting the candidate based on the confirmed image in the selected state. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to set in advance unnecessary pages to be printed in case of the blank sheet is detected during scan process of document, thus enables to prevent the image of the document that a user does not want to be removed as blank paper page.
As to claim 5 [dependent from claim 1], Oshima teaches wherein the scan settings are received from the information processing apparatus by the communication using an eSCL protocol [fig. 1, elements 16; 0040].
As to claim 6 [dependent from claim 1], Oshima teaches wherein the controller analyzes a scan ticket including the received scan settings [0012, 0043, 0046], and
wherein a scan job is generated by the controller analyzing the scan ticket, and the generated scan job is executed, whereby the scanner scans an image of the document and generates image data [fig. 3a, steps 201, 203-206, 105-107, 110; 0043, 0055-0056 Oshima teaches that an information processing apparatus 1 receives scan & removing blank-page settings ([e.g., steps 201 (NO), 203-206]) entered by user having instructed to remove blank-page, using application program, on display 13 and then transmits scan instruction with scan settings & removing blank-page to scanner 4 for scanning documents to generate image data of scanned documents].
As to claim 7 [dependent from claim 1], Oshima teaches wherein the scan settings include a setting of a resolution, a setting of a document type, and a two-sided setting [fig. 3a, steps 201, 203-206, 105-107, 110; 0043, 0055-0056 Oshima teaches that an information processing apparatus 1 receives scan & removing blank-page settings ([e.g., steps 201 (NO), 203-206]) entered by user].
As to claim 8 [dependent from claim 1], Oshima teaches wherein the controller determines whether the level of the removal is included in the received scan settings [figs. 3a-b, steps 101-102, 201, 203-206, 110-116; 0043, 0055-0056 Oshima teaches that an information processing apparatus 1 receives scan & removing blank-page settings ([e.g., steps 201 (NO), 203-206]) entered by user having instructed to remove blank-page without specifying level of removal process, using application program, on display 13 and then transmits scan instruction with scan settings & removing blank-page to scanner 4 for scanning documents to generate image data of scanned documents].
As to claim 9 [dependent from claim 1], Hamashima teaches wherein the level of the removal ser regardless of execution of the application is a setting value set as a default setting of the image processing apparatus [fig. 3, elements 101-102 & figs. 4, 6, 11-12; 0059, 0081, 0087, 0089-0090, 0121, 0156-0157, 0181, 0208-0210 Hamashima teaches that the printer 11 receives the scan settings & blank page removal settings (figs. 4, 6) having blank page removal level information (figs. 4, element 93a & para., 0081, 0087) selected by the user on host computer 100 (paras., 0059, 0121), and executes blank page removal process (paras., 0181, 0208-0210) according to the received scan settings & blank page removal settings (figs. 4, 6)].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Hamashima teaching to execute the removal process based on the setting of the removal included in the received scan settings and a level of the removal set to modify Oshima’s teaching to preview-display a portion of an image among images of a read document in a selectable state on a display, switches a display mode of the image to a selected state in which a blank paper removal candidate or a non-removal candidate is selected and generates reading data based on remaining image data obtained by removing the image data of a target blank paper using removal level information is set as a removal level for selecting the candidate based on the confirmed image in the selected state. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to set in advance unnecessary pages to be printed in case of the blank sheet is detected during scan process of document, thus enables to prevent the image of the document that a user does not want to be removed as blank paper page.
As to claim 10 [independent], However, the independent claim 10 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the independent claim 1 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the independent claim 10 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the independent claim 1.
As to claim 11 [dependent from claim 10], However, the dependent claim 11 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the dependent claim 2 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the dependent claim 11 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the dependent claim 2.
As to claim 12 [dependent from claim 10], However, the dependent claim 12 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the dependent claim 3 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the dependent claim 12 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the dependent claim 3.
As to claim 13 [dependent from claim 10], However, the dependent claim 13 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the dependent claim 4 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the dependent claim 13 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the dependent claim 4.
As to claim 14 [dependent from claim 10], However, the dependent claim 14 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the dependent claim 5 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the dependent claim 14 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the dependent claim 5.
As to claim 15 [dependent from claim 10], However, the dependent claim 15 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the dependent claim 6 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the dependent claim 15 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the dependent claim 6.
As to claim 16 [dependent from claim 10], However, the dependent claim 16 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the dependent claim 7 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the dependent claim 16 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the dependent claim 7.
As to claim 17 [dependent from claim 10], However, the dependent claim 17 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the dependent claim 8 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the dependent claim 17 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the dependent claim 8.
As to claim 18 [dependent from claim 10], However, the dependent claim 18 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the dependent claim 9 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the dependent claim 18 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the dependent claim 9.
As to claim 19 [independent], However, the independent claim 19 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the independent claim 1 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the independent claim 19 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the independent claim 1.
As to claim 20 [dependent from claim 19], However, the dependent claim 20 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the dependent claim 2 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the dependent claim 20 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the dependent claim 2.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but they aren’t persuasive.
8. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 15-65 have been considered but are not persuasive, because
On pages 10-12 of the REMARKS/ARGUMENTS, applicant argued that the applied arts Oshima (US Pub 2011/0058231) and Hamashima (US Pub 2022/0166893), failed to disclose or suggest the claim limitations of claims 1, 10, 19 recited “wherein, in a case where a level of the removal is not included in the received scan settings, the controller executes the removal process based on the setting of the removal included in the received scan settings and a level of the removal set regardless of execution of the application, and wherein, in a case where a level of the removal is included in the received scan settings, the controller executes the removal process based on the setting of the removal included in the received scan settings and the level of the removal included in the received scan settings” either alone nor in combination. Applicant explained that why and how the amended claimed limitations are overcoming the teachings of the applied prior arts. Applicant, further explained that the prior art Hamashima (US Pub 2022/0166893) failed to suggest the recited claimed limitations recited “wherein, in a case where a level of the removal is not included in the received scan settings, the controller executes the removal process based on the setting of the removal included in the received scan settings and a level of the removal set regardless of execution of the application”, because Hamashima at least discloses a blank-page removal level, but Hamashima (US Pub 2022/0166893) does not disclose receiving scan settings, including a blank-page removal level, from an external apparatus. Rather, Hamashima (US Pub 2022/0166893) discloses setting the blank-page removal level within the image reading apparatus itself. Accordingly, Hamashima likewise fails to disclose receiving scan settings that include a blank-page removal level, as required by Feature 4 of amended claim 1.
In response to the applicant’s argument, examiner would respectfully disagree with the applicant’s argument, because first of all the examiner is not bound to import specification definition or information on to the claimed invention. The examiner view or review the specification to understand the claimed invention and are bound to give broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) to the claim(s) in view of the specification and over the applied prior arts. The claim limitations recited “wherein, in a case where a level of the removal is not included in the received scan settings, the controller executes the removal process based on the setting of the removal included in the received scan settings and a level of the removal set regardless of execution of the application”, interpreted by Examiner that the in a case in received scan settings, blank page removal setting isn’t received or included, so the blank page removal setting would/can be disregarded and the blank page removal process is still be applicable and executed, because there is clarity issues in this claimed limitations that the removal level settings isn’t received in the scan settings but “a level of the removal” is set regardless. If the removal level settings isn’t received in the scan settings, then how “a level of the removal” is set?
Therefore, Hamashima (US Pub 2022/0166893) at least reasonably suggests or teaches in fig. 3, elements 101-102 & figs. 4, 6, 11-12 and paras., 0059, 0077-0078, 0081, 0087, 0089-0090, 0121, 0156-0157, 0181, 0208-0210 that the printer 11 receives the scan settings & blank page removal settings (figs. 4, 6) having blank page removal level information (figs. 4, elements 93a, 15 & para., 0077-0078, 0081, 0087) selected by the user on host computer 100 (paras., 0059, 0121). When in case of receiving the numerical value “0” by the user and the confirmation signal, the blank paper removal level setting unit 78 updates the setting of the blank paper removal level to “0”. The numerical value of the blank paper removal level is a parameter that determines a threshold value used in the blank paper determination in which the blank paper determination unit 87 determines whether the image of the document D is a blank paper page when the blank paper removal function is ON, and obviously printer 11 would still executes blank page removal process (paras., 0077-0078, 0181, 0208-0210) according to the received scan settings & blank page removal settings level (figs. 4, 6).
Conclusion
9. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARIS SABAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2682