DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11-14, filed 4/23/2026 with respect to 35 USC §103 rejection of claims 1-20 have been fully considered but were not persuasive. Applicant argues previously cited references fails to disclose all claim limitations. Applicant argues Forutanpour is directed to a data capture and calibration process that includes an optical pipeline utilizing an eye-tracking camera to record a camera\eye position and gaze direction. Applicant argues eye tracking camera of Forutanpour is used solely for recording a camera\eye position and gaze direction and is not described in respect to head pose. Applicant argues Forutanpour does not describe head pose and simply recording a current camera or eye position and gaze direction says nothing about a predicted head pose of a user. In response, examiner points to paragraph [0026] of Forutanpour to disclose a user's eyes may not perfectly align with this position and viewing orientation, such as due to head rotation and/or user motion, a headset/HMD may move relative to a user's head, which also introduces misalignment in the eye position and/or gaze direction. Paragraph [0043] of Forutanpour discloses receiver may be configured to receive information, e.g., eye or head position information. Based on these paragraph’s Forutanpour is not limited to recording camera\eye position and gaze direction as argued by applicant, but does not in fact disclose head position including head rotation and\or motion and receives head position information.
Applicant further argues fails to disclose first and second thread cited in claim 2. Applicant argues Forutanpour fails to disclose or suggest separate threads that render first and second tile. Applicant argues Forutanpour is silent to first and second tile and merely describes with respect to an eye tracking camera and a previously generated database. In response, examiner points to paragraph [0074] of instant applicant specifications to disclose different threads may include different sub-functions 328, different sub-functions 332, different sub-functions 338, different sub-functions 348, different sub-functions 352, and different sub-functions 356. Based on the definition in paragraph [0074] and the definition of threads as known by one of ordinary skill in the art, examiner points to paragraph [0030] of Forutanpour to disclose One or more processors in the processing system may execute software. Software can be construed broadly to mean instructions, instruction sets, code, code segments, program code, programs, subprograms, software components, applications, software applications, software packages, routines, subroutines, objects, executables, threads of execution, procedures, functions, etc., whether referred to as software, firmware, middleware, microcode, hardware description language, or otherwise. Therefore Forutanpour disclose multiple thread execution as known by one of ordinary skill in the art. With regard to applicant arguments regarding Forutanpour does not disclose first and second tile, examiner points to paragraph [0051] of Forutanpour to disclose tile rendering with GPU separately.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forutanpour et al (US 20220392109 A1) in view of Fenney (US 20210042984 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Forutanpour discloses a method comprising:
obtaining, using at least one imaging sensor of a video see-through (VST) extended reality (XR) device ([0026] XR/AR/VR content within headsets or head-mounted displays (HMDs).), (i) a first tile corresponding to a first portion of an image frame and (ii) a second tile corresponding to a second portion of the image frame after the first tile is obtained ([0051] an image can be divided or separated into different sections or tiles. After the division of the image, each section or tile can be rendered separately.);
mapping, using at least one processing device of the VST XR device, the first tile onto a first distortion tile mesh, the first distortion tile mesh based on one or more characteristics of the first tile ([0064] an iterative feedback loop for capturing distortion patterns from different eye positions and gaze directions with respect to XR/AR/VR devices);
mapping, using the at least one processing device, the second tile onto a second distortion tile mesh, the second distortion tile mesh based on one or more characteristics of the second tile ([0065] capture the distortion correction information at each iteration and combine it non-linearly by compositing mesh transformations);
predicting, using the at least one processing device, a head pose of a user when the image frame will be displayed ([0066] utilize an eye-tracking camera, e.g., camera 420, to record a camera/eye position and gaze direction for a dynamically switching distortion mesh, [0043] receiver 128 may be configured to receive information, e.g., eye or head position information,);
transforming, using the at least one processing device, the first and second distortion tile meshes based on the predicted head pose, the second distortion tile mesh transformed after the first distortion tile mesh ([0067] may generate a new distortion mesh file. In order to do so, aspects of the present disclosure may reference locations indicating undistorted grid positions (e.g., positions that may need to be adjusted for camera position and orientation). Aspects of the present disclosure may also record distorted locations based on a camera position point of view);
initiating, using the at least one processing device, display of the first and second rendered tiles on at least one display panel of the VST XR device ([0080] , display lens 704 and 714. FIGS. 7A and 7B also depict the user's eye compared to a display panel, e.g., display panel).
Fenney discloses rendering, using the at least one processing device, the first and second tiles for display based on the first and second transformed distortion tile meshes, respectively, the second tile rendered after the first tile ([0081] Once processed, this may be rendered at render step 880. After rendering, the rendered content may be displayed at display 890.)
Forutanpour and Fenney are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XR/AR/VR device of Forutanpour to include rendering, using the at least one processing device, the first and second tiles for display based on the first and second transformed distortion tile meshes, respectively, the second tile rendered after the first tile as described by Fenney.
The motivation for doing so would have been for mapping the geometry into the image space so as to counteract distortion introduced by an optical arrangement of the non-standard projection display (Fenney, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Forutanpour and Fenney to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Forutanpour discloses a first thread executed by the at least one processing device maps the first tile, transforms the first distortion tile mesh, and renders the first tile ([0051] tiled rendering GPUs, an image can be divided or separated into different sections or tiles,); and
a second thread executed by the at least one processing device maps the second tile, transforms the second distortion tile mesh, and renders the second tile ( [0051] Tiled rendering GPUs can divide computer graphics images into a grid format, such that each portion of the grid, i.e., a tile, is separately rendered).
Regarding claim 3, Forutanpour discloses
the selected base distortion mesh for one of the distortion tile meshes is selected based on a region of the image frame on which eyes of the user are focused ([0064] aspects of the present disclosure may provide an iterative feedback loop for capturing distortion patterns from different eye positions and gaze directions with respect to XR/AR/VR devices.).
Fenney discloses each of the first and second distortion tile meshes is generated based on a selected base distortion mesh of a set of base distortion meshes having different resolutions ([0035] however, the tiles in the image space 702 may be of differing shapes and/or sizes. The projection plane (or virtual projection plane) 704 is however, not divided into equal shape or size tiles (as shown in FIG. 7B).)
Forutanpour and Fenney are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XR/AR/VR device of Forutanpour to include each of the first and second distortion tile meshes is generated based on a selected base distortion mesh of a set of base distortion meshes having different resolutions as described by Fenney.
The motivation for doing so would have been for mapping the geometry into the image space so as to counteract distortion introduced by an optical arrangement of the non-standard projection display (Fenney, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Forutanpour and Fenney to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
Regarding claim 4 Forutanpour discloses wherein each base distortion mesh is generated during initialization of the VST XR device ([0066] initialize with a ray tracing simulation centered distortion grid and/or utilize a pre-defined reference grid pattern) by:
creating an initial base distortion mesh based on one or more characteristics of the at least one imaging sensor ([0045] determine a plurality of geometry meshes based on the lens calibration data, each of the plurality of geometry meshes including a set of texture coordinates); and
transforming the initial base distortion mesh to correct for lens distortion, viewpoint differences between the eyes of the user and the at least one imaging sensor, and parallax ([0045] determine a render mesh including a plurality of coordinates based on the plurality of geometry meshes and the pixel map, each of the plurality of coordinates in the render mesh being associated with the weighting factor for each of the plurality of calibration points).
Regarding claim 5 Forutanpour discloses obtaining, using the at least one imaging sensor, a third tile corresponding to a third portion of the image frame after the second tile is obtained ([0051] an image can be divided or separated into different sections or tiles. After the division of the image, each section or tile can be rendered separately.);
mapping, using the at least one processing device, the third tile onto a third distortion tile mesh, the third distortion tile mesh based on one or more characteristics of the third tile ([0064] an iterative feedback loop for capturing distortion patterns from different eye positions and gaze directions with respect to XR/AR/VR devices);
transforming, using the at least one processing device, the third distortion tile mesh based on the predicted head pose, the third distortion tile mesh transformed after the second distortion tile mesh ([0067] may generate a new distortion mesh file. In order to do so, aspects of the present disclosure may reference locations indicating undistorted grid positions (e.g., positions that may need to be adjusted for camera position and orientation). Aspects of the present disclosure may also record distorted locations based on a camera position point of view);
initiating, using the at least one processing device, display of the third rendered tile on the at least one display panel of the VST XR device ([0080] , display lens 704 and 714. FIGS. 7A and 7B also depict the user's eye compared to a display panel, e.g., display panel).
Fenney discloses rendering, using the at least one processing device, the third tile for display on the at least one display panel based on the third transformed distortion tile mesh, the third tile rendered after the second tile ([0081] Once processed, this may be rendered at render step 880. After rendering, the rendered content may be displayed at display 890.)
Forutanpour and Fenney are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XR/AR/VR device of Forutanpour to include rendering, using the at least one processing device, the third tile for display on the at least one display panel based on the third transformed distortion tile mesh, the third tile rendered after the second tile as described by Fenney.
The motivation for doing so would have been for mapping the geometry into the image space so as to counteract distortion introduced by an optical arrangement of the non-standard projection display (Fenney, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Forutanpour and Fenney to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Forutanpour is silent to wherein the first and second tiles partially overlap.
Fenney discloses wherein the first and second tiles partially overlap ([0039] a primitive may be in (e.g. may overlap) one or more of the tiles of the projection space 704 and the display list for a tile (which may alternatively be referred to as a control list or control stream) includes indications of primitives (i.e. primitive IDs) which are present in the tile)
Forutanpour and Fenney are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XR/AR/VR device of Forutanpour to include wherein the first and second tiles partially overlap as described by Fenney.
The motivation for doing so would have been for mapping the geometry into the image space so as to counteract distortion introduced by an optical arrangement of the non-standard projection display (Fenney, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Forutanpour and Fenney to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Forutanpour is silent to dynamically selecting a number of tiles and a resolution of each of the tiles based on performance of a pipeline that obtains tiles for multiple image frames and generates rendered images based on the obtained tiles.
Fenney discloses dynamically selecting a number of tiles and a resolution of each of the tiles based on performance of a pipeline that obtains tiles for multiple image frames and generates rendered images based on the obtained tiles ([0038] single linear transformation which is defined per tile (as represented by the single arrow between a tile in the image space 702 and the corresponding tile in the projection plane 704), such that the distortion that is applied is the same for all pixels within the tile)
Forutanpour and Fenney are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XR/AR/VR device of Forutanpour to include dynamically selecting a number of tiles and a resolution of each of the tiles based on performance of a pipeline that obtains tiles for multiple image frames and generates rendered images based on the obtained tiles as described by Fenney.
The motivation for doing so would have been for mapping the geometry into the image space so as to counteract distortion introduced by an optical arrangement of the non-standard projection display (Fenney, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Forutanpour and Fenney to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Forutanpour discloses A video see-through (VST) extended reality (XR) device ([0026] XR/AR/VR content within headsets or head-mounted displays (HMDs).) comprising:
at least one imaging sensor configured to (i) capture a first tile corresponding to a first portion of an image frame and (ii) capture a second tile corresponding to a second portion of the image frame after the first tile is captured ([0051] an image can be divided or separated into different sections or tiles. After the division of the image, each section or tile can be rendered separately.); and
at least one processing device configured to:
map the first tile onto a first distortion tile mesh, the first distortion tile mesh based on one or more characteristics of the first tile ([0064] an iterative feedback loop for capturing distortion patterns from different eye positions and gaze directions with respect to XR/AR/VR devices);;
map the second tile onto a second distortion tile mesh, the second distortion tile mesh based on one or more characteristics of the second tile ([0065] capture the distortion correction information at each iteration and combine it non-linearly by compositing mesh transformations);
predict a head pose of a user when the image frame will be displayed ([0066] utilize an eye-tracking camera, e.g., camera 420, to record a camera/eye position and gaze direction for a dynamically switching distortion mesh, [0043] receiver 128 may be configured to receive information, e.g., eye or head position information,);
transform the first and second distortion tile meshes based on the predicted head pose, the at least one processing device configured to transform the second distortion tile mesh after the first distortion tile mesh ([0067] may generate a new distortion mesh file. In order to do so, aspects of the present disclosure may reference locations indicating undistorted grid positions (e.g., positions that may need to be adjusted for camera position and orientation). Aspects of the present disclosure may also record distorted locations based on a camera position point of view);
initiate display of the first and second rendered tiles on at least one display panel of the VST XR device ([0080] , display lens 704 and 714. FIGS. 7A and 7B also depict the user's eye compared to a display panel, e.g., display panel).
Fenney discloses rendering, using the at least one processing device, the first and second tiles for display based on the first and second transformed distortion tile meshes, respectively, the second tile rendered after the first tile ([0081] Once processed, this may be rendered at render step 880. After rendering, the rendered content may be displayed at display 890.)
Forutanpour and Fenney are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XR/AR/VR device of Forutanpour to include render the first and second tiles for display based on the first and second transformed distortion tile meshes, respectively, the at least one processing device configured to render the second tile after the first tile as described by Fenney.
The motivation for doing so would have been for mapping the geometry into the image space so as to counteract distortion introduced by an optical arrangement of the non-standard projection display (Fenney, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Forutanpour and Fenney to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Forutanpour discloses execute a first thread to map the first tile, transform the first distortion tile mesh, and render the first tile ([0065] aspects of the present disclosure may detect a user's eye position and gaze direction in real time with eye tracking cameras and generate an interpolated correction mesh using a previously generated database); and
execute a second thread to map the second tile, transform the second distortion tile mesh, and render the second tile ([0065] aspects of the present disclosure may detect a user's eye position and gaze direction in real time with eye tracking cameras and generate an interpolated correction mesh using a previously generated database).
Regarding claim 10, Forutanpour discloses
select the selected base distortion mesh for one of the distortion tile meshes based on a region of the image frame on which eyes of the user are focused ([0064] aspects of the present disclosure may provide an iterative feedback loop for capturing distortion patterns from different eye positions and gaze directions with respect to XR/AR/VR devices.).
Fenney discloses generate each of the first and second distortion tile meshes based on a selected base distortion mesh of a set of base distortion meshes having different resolutions ([0035] however, the tiles in the image space 702 may be of differing shapes and/or sizes. The projection plane (or virtual projection plane) 704 is however, not divided into equal shape or size tiles (as shown in FIG. 7B).)
Forutanpour and Fenney are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XR/AR/VR device of Forutanpour to include generate each of the first and second distortion tile meshes based on a selected base distortion mesh of a set of base distortion meshes having different resolutions as described by Fenney.
The motivation for doing so would have been for mapping the geometry into the image space so as to counteract distortion introduced by an optical arrangement of the non-standard projection display (Fenney, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Forutanpour and Fenney to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
Regarding claim 11 Forutanpour discloses the at least one processing device is further configured to generate each base distortion mesh during initialization of the VST XR device([0066] initialize with a ray tracing simulation centered distortion grid and/or utilize a pre-defined reference grid pattern); and
to generate each base distortion mesh, the at least one processing device is configured to:
create an initial base distortion mesh based on one or more characteristics of the at least one imaging sensor ([0045] determine a plurality of geometry meshes based on the lens calibration data, each of the plurality of geometry meshes including a set of texture coordinates); and
transform the initial base distortion mesh to correct for lens distortion, viewpoint differences between the eyes of the user and the at least one imaging sensor, and parallax ([0045] determine a render mesh including a plurality of coordinates based on the plurality of geometry meshes and the pixel map, each of the plurality of coordinates in the render mesh being associated with the weighting factor for each of the plurality of calibration points).
Regarding claim 12 Forutanpour discloses the at least one imaging sensor is further configured to capture a third tile corresponding to a third portion of the image frame after the second tile is captured ([0051] an image can be divided or separated into different sections or tiles. After the division of the image, each section or tile can be rendered separately.); and
the at least one processing device is further configured to:
map the third tile onto a third distortion tile mesh, the third distortion tile mesh based on one or more characteristics of the third tile ([0064] an iterative feedback loop for capturing distortion patterns from different eye positions and gaze directions with respect to XR/AR/VR devices);
transform the third distortion tile mesh based on the predicted head pose, the at least one processing device configured to transform the third distortion tile mesh after the second distortion tile mesh ([0067] may generate a new distortion mesh file. In order to do so, aspects of the present disclosure may reference locations indicating undistorted grid positions (e.g., positions that may need to be adjusted for camera position and orientation). Aspects of the present disclosure may also record distorted locations based on a camera position point of view); and
initiate display of the third rendered tile on the at least one display panel of the VST XR device ([0080] , display lens 704 and 714. FIGS. 7A and 7B also depict the user's eye compared to a display panel, e.g., display panel).
Fenney discloses render the third tile for display based on the third transformed distortion tile mesh, the at least one processing device configured to render the third tile after the second tile ([0081] Once processed, this may be rendered at render step 880. After rendering, the rendered content may be displayed at display 890.)
Forutanpour and Fenney are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XR/AR/VR device of Forutanpour to include render the third tile for display based on the third transformed distortion tile mesh, the at least one processing device configured to render the third tile after the second tile as described by Fenney.
The motivation for doing so would have been for mapping the geometry into the image space so as to counteract distortion introduced by an optical arrangement of the non-standard projection display (Fenney, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Forutanpour and Fenney to obtain the invention as specified in claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Forutanpour is silent to wherein the first and second tiles partially overlap.
Fenney discloses wherein the first and second tiles partially overlap [0039] a primitive may be in (e.g. may overlap) one or more of the tiles of the projection space 704 and the display list for a tile (which may alternatively be referred to as a control list or control stream) includes indications of primitives (i.e. primitive IDs) which are present in the tile)
Forutanpour and Fenney are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XR/AR/VR device of Forutanpour to include wherein the first and second tiles partially overlap as described by Fenney.
The motivation for doing so would have been for mapping the geometry into the image space so as to counteract distortion introduced by an optical arrangement of the non-standard projection display (Fenney, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Forutanpour and Fenney to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
Regarding claim 14 Forutanpour is silent to wherein the at least one processing device is further configured to dynamically select a number of tiles and a resolution of each of the tiles based on performance of a pipeline that obtains tiles for multiple image frames and generates rendered images based on the obtained tiles.
Fenney discloses wherein the at least one processing device is further configured to dynamically select a number of tiles and a resolution of each of the tiles based on performance of a pipeline that obtains tiles for multiple image frames and generates rendered images based on the obtained tiles ([0038] single linear transformation which is defined per tile (as represented by the single arrow between a tile in the image space 702 and the corresponding tile in the projection plane 704), such that the distortion that is applied is the same for all pixels within the tile)
Forutanpour and Fenney are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XR/AR/VR device of Forutanpour to include wherein the at least one processing device is further configured to dynamically select a number of tiles and a resolution of each of the tiles based on performance of a pipeline that obtains tiles for multiple image frames and generates rendered images based on the obtained tiles as described by Fenney.
The motivation for doing so would have been for mapping the geometry into the image space so as to counteract distortion introduced by an optical arrangement of the non-standard projection display (Fenney, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Forutanpour and Fenney to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, Forutanpour discloses A non-transitory machine readable medium containing instructions that when executed cause at least one processor of a video see-through (VST) extended reality (XR) device ([0031] the functions described may be implemented in hardware, software, or any combination thereof. If implemented in software, the functions may be stored on or encoded as one or more instructions or code on a computer-readable medium) to:
obtain, using at least one imaging sensor of the VST XR device ([0026] XR/AR/VR content within headsets or head-mounted displays (HMDs).), (i) a first tile corresponding to a first portion of an image frame and (ii) a second tile corresponding to a second portion of the image frame after the first tile is obtained ([0051] an image can be divided or separated into different sections or tiles. After the division of the image, each section or tile can be rendered separately.);
map the first tile onto a first distortion tile mesh, the first distortion tile mesh based on one or more characteristics of the first tile ([0064] an iterative feedback loop for capturing distortion patterns from different eye positions and gaze directions with respect to XR/AR/VR devices);;
map the second tile onto a second distortion tile mesh, the second distortion tile mesh based on one or more characteristics of the second tile ([0065] capture the distortion correction information at each iteration and combine it non-linearly by compositing mesh transformations);
predict a head pose of a user when the image frame will be displayed ([0066] utilize an eye-tracking camera, e.g., camera 420, to record a camera/eye position and gaze direction for a dynamically switching distortion mesh, [0043] receiver 128 may be configured to receive information, e.g., eye or head position information,);
transform (i) the first distortion tile mesh based on the predicted head pose and (ii) the second distortion tile mesh based on the predicted head pose after the first distortion tile mesh is transformed ([0067] may generate a new distortion mesh file. In order to do so, aspects of the present disclosure may reference locations indicating undistorted grid positions (e.g., positions that may need to be adjusted for camera position and orientation). Aspects of the present disclosure may also record distorted locations based on a camera position point of view);
initiate display of the first and second rendered tiles on at least one display panel of the VST XR device ([0080] , display lens 704 and 714. FIGS. 7A and 7B also depict the user's eye compared to a display panel, e.g., display panel).
Fenney discloses render (i) the first tile for display based on the first transformed distortion tile mesh and (ii) the second tile for display based on the second transformed distortion tile mesh after the first tile is rendered ([0081] Once processed, this may be rendered at render step 880. After rendering, the rendered content may be displayed at display 890.)
Forutanpour and Fenney are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XR/AR/VR device of Forutanpour to include render (i) the first tile for display based on the first transformed distortion tile mesh and (ii) the second tile for display based on the second transformed distortion tile mesh after the first tile is rendered as described by Fenney.
The motivation for doing so would have been for mapping the geometry into the image space so as to counteract distortion introduced by an optical arrangement of the non-standard projection display (Fenney, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Forutanpour and Fenney to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, Forutanpour discloses execute a first thread to map the first tile, transform the first distortion tile mesh, and render the first tile ([0065] aspects of the present disclosure may detect a user's eye position and gaze direction in real time with eye tracking cameras and generate an interpolated correction mesh using a previously generated database); and
execute a second thread to map the second tile, transform the second distortion tile mesh, and render the second tile ([0065] aspects of the present disclosure may detect a user's eye position and gaze direction in real time with eye tracking cameras and generate an interpolated correction mesh using a previously generated database).
Regarding claim 17, Forutanpour discloses
select the selected base distortion mesh for one of the distortion tile meshes based on a region of the image frame on which eyes of the user are focused ([0064] aspects of the present disclosure may provide an iterative feedback loop for capturing distortion patterns from different eye positions and gaze directions with respect to XR/AR/VR devices.).
Fenney discloses generate each of the first and second distortion tile meshes based on a selected base distortion mesh of a set of base distortion meshes having different resolutions ([0035] however, the tiles in the image space 702 may be of differing shapes and/or sizes. The projection plane (or virtual projection plane) 704 is however, not divided into equal shape or size tiles (as shown in FIG. 7B).)
Forutanpour and Fenney are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XR/AR/VR device of Forutanpour to include generate each of the first and second distortion tile meshes based on a selected base distortion mesh of a set of base distortion meshes having different resolutions as described by Fenney.
The motivation for doing so would have been for mapping the geometry into the image space so as to counteract distortion introduced by an optical arrangement of the non-standard projection display (Fenney, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Forutanpour and Fenney to obtain the invention as specified in claim 17.
Regarding claim 18 Forutanpour discloses further containing instructions that when executed cause the at least one processor to generate each base distortion mesh during initialization of the VST XR device ([0066] initialize with a ray tracing simulation centered distortion grid and/or utilize a pre-defined reference grid pattern);
wherein the instructions that when executed cause the at least one processor to generate each base distortion mesh comprise instructions that when executed cause the at least one processor to:
create an initial base distortion mesh based on one or more characteristics of the at least one imaging sensor ([0045] determine a plurality of geometry meshes based on the lens calibration data, each of the plurality of geometry meshes including a set of texture coordinates); and
transform the initial base distortion mesh to correct for lens distortion, viewpoint differences between the eyes of the user and the at least one imaging sensor, and parallax ([0045] determine a render mesh including a plurality of coordinates based on the plurality of geometry meshes and the pixel map, each of the plurality of coordinates in the render mesh being associated with the weighting factor for each of the plurality of calibration points).
Regarding claim 19 Forutanpour discloses further containing instructions that when executed cause the at least one processor to:
obtain a third tile corresponding to a third portion of the image frame after the second tile is obtained ([0051] an image can be divided or separated into different sections or tiles. After the division of the image, each section or tile can be rendered separately.);
map the third tile onto a third distortion tile mesh, the third distortion tile mesh based on one or more characteristics of the third tile ([0064] an iterative feedback loop for capturing distortion patterns from different eye positions and gaze directions with respect to XR/AR/VR devices);
transform the third distortion tile mesh based on the predicted head pose after the second distortion tile mesh is transformed ([0067] may generate a new distortion mesh file. In order to do so, aspects of the present disclosure may reference locations indicating undistorted grid positions (e.g., positions that may need to be adjusted for camera position and orientation). Aspects of the present disclosure may also record distorted locations based on a camera position point of view);
initiate display of the third rendered tile on the at least one display panel of the VST XR device ([0080] , display lens 704 and 714. FIGS. 7A and 7B also depict the user's eye compared to a display panel, e.g., display panel).
Fenney discloses render the third tile for display on the at least one display panel based on the third transformed distortion tile mesh after the second tile is rendered ([0081] Once processed, this may be rendered at render step 880. After rendering, the rendered content may be displayed at display 890.)
Forutanpour and Fenney are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XR/AR/VR device of Forutanpour to include render the third tile for display on the at least one display panel based on the third transformed distortion tile mesh after the second tile is rendered as described by Fenney.
The motivation for doing so would have been for mapping the geometry into the image space so as to counteract distortion introduced by an optical arrangement of the non-standard projection display (Fenney, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Forutanpour and Fenney to obtain the invention as specified in claim 19.
Regarding claim 20 Forutanpour is silent to further containing instructions that when executed cause the at least one processor to dynamically select a number of tiles and a resolution of each of the tiles based on performance of a pipeline that obtains tiles for multiple image frames and generates rendered images based on the obtained tiles.
Fenney discloses further containing instructions that when executed cause the at least one processor to dynamically select a number of tiles and a resolution of each of the tiles based on performance of a pipeline that obtains tiles for multiple image frames and generates rendered images based on the obtained tiles ([0038] single linear transformation which is defined per tile (as represented by the single arrow between a tile in the image space 702 and the corresponding tile in the projection plane 704), such that the distortion that is applied is the same for all pixels within the tile)
Forutanpour and Fenney are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XR/AR/VR device of Forutanpour to include further containing instructions that when executed cause the at least one processor to dynamically select a number of tiles and a resolution of each of the tiles based on performance of a pipeline that obtains tiles for multiple image frames and generates rendered images based on the obtained tiles as described by Fenney.
The motivation for doing so would have been for mapping the geometry into the image space so as to counteract distortion introduced by an optical arrangement of the non-standard projection display (Fenney, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Forutanpour and Fenney to obtain the invention as specified in claim 20.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIVANG I PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615