DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments from the response filed on 19 December 2025 have been fully considered and will be addressed below in the order in which they appeared.
Applicant’s argument; applicant recites broadly, “at least one body inside an opening of the leaf, said fixed body resting against an internal profile of the opening”.
Applicant appears to argue that which is not positively recited as all elements of the apparatus inside an opening leaf . So long as “at least on element is inside the opening, the recitation is disclosed by the prior art. Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ARIA (JP 2018-084082).
Regarding claim 1, Aria discloses a coplanar handle system for a leaf of a door or window, said coplanar handle system comprising:
at least one fixed body (7) inside an opening of the leaf, said fixed body resting against an internal profile of the opening; and
at least one movable body (6a,6b) hinged (61) to the fixed body and reversibly rotatable with respect to said fixed body between a rest position, in which the at least one moveable body is substantially flush (Fig.8) with the leaf to delimit an internal volume of the opening, and an activation position, in which the at least one moveable body fits into the opening to allow at least partial accessibility to said internal volume (Fig.8 and 9).
Figure taken from ARIA (JP 2018-084082)
Regarding claim 2, Aria discloses the coplanar handle system according to claim 1, wherein said fixed body has at least one seat (4) adapted to couple to the internal profile of the opening.
Regarding claim 3, Aria discloses the coplanar handle system according to claim 1, further comprising a helical spring (69), active on said movable body to promote the movement thereof from said activation position to said rest position.
Regarding claim 7, Aria discloses the coplanar handle system according to claim 1, further comprising:
a locking element (65) that is reversibly movable between a retracted position, in which the locking element is at least partially housed in a recess of the leaf, and an extracted position, in which the locking element is at least partially protruding from the leaf to define a closing condition of the door or window; and
a controller (82 ) for actuating the locking element and configured to be arranged, in use, near an edge of the opening of the leaf to be reachable by said internal volume;
wherein said controller is arranged near a free end of the movable body in such a way that the passage of the movable body from the rest position to the activation position allows accessibility to said controller 9Fig.6 and 7).
Regarding claim 8, Aria discloses the coplanar handle system according to claim 7, wherein said controller comprises an actuation member kinematically connected to said locking element, said actuation member being reachable from said internal volume and activatable by a user to reversibly move said locking element between the retracted position and the extracted position, said actuation member configured to be controlled by a user's finger (Fig.8).
Regarding claim 9, Aria discloses the coplanar handle system according to claim 1, further comprising:
a first fixed body (a portion of 7) and a second fixed body 9another portion of 7) configured to lie resting against the internal profile of the opening and in an opposed position with respect to said internal profile; and
a first movable body (6a) and a second movable body(6b), which are hinged respectively to the first fixed body and to the second fixed body, said first movable body and said second movable body being at least partially opposed to each other and reversibly movable in mutual approach or distancing between respective rest positions and activation positions.
Regarding claim 10, Aria discloses the coplanar handle system according to claim 9, further comprising at least a first screw (Fig.8 at 61 one of two) and at least a second screw (Fig.8 at 61 one of two) adapted to respectively fix the first fixed body and the second fixed body to the leaf, and wherein the first screw and the second screw are oriented according to askew directions (note, undefined directions interpreted as “any”).
Regarding claim 11, Aria discloses the coplanar handle system according to claim 9, wherein said controller comprises an actuation member (portion of 65 extended externally accessed by user) kinematically connected to said locking element, said actuation member being reachable from said internal volume and activatable by a user to reversibly move said locking element between the retracted position and the extracted position, said actuation member configured to be controlled by a user's finger; and
wherein said controller comprises a safety member (user accessed end of 65) connected to said locking element for reversibly moving said locking element between the retracted position and the extracted position, said safety member being reachable from said internal volume, said safety member being configured to be controlled by the user by a screwdriver (any object may be contacted by a screw driver).
Regarding claim 12, Aria discloses the coplanar handle system according to claim 11, wherein said controller comprises a plug (83, not plug can be any structural element) adapted to kinematically couple the actuation member and the safety member.
Regarding claim 13, Aria discloses the coplanar handle system according to claim 1, further comprising at least one tray (touch portion65) housed in said internal volume to be gripped by a user to move the leaf.
Regarding claim 14, Aria discloses the coplanar handle system according to claim 13, further comprising:
a first fixed body (portion of 7)and a second fixed body another portion of 7 configured to lie resting against the internal profile of the opening and in an opposed position with respect to said internal profile;
a first movable body (6a) and a second movable body (6b) which are hinged respectively to the first fixed body and to the second fixed body, said first movable body and said second movable body being at least partially opposed to each other and reversibly movable in mutual approach or distancing between respective rest positions and activation positions; and a first tray and a second tray that are housable between the first tray and the second tray at least partially facing said internal volume (Fig 8).
Regarding claim 15, Aria discloses the coplanar handle system according to claim 13, wherein said at least one tray has a modular conformation (an assembly) and comprises a plurality of mutually connectable elements (assembly Fig.8).
Regarding claim 16, Aria discloses a leaf system for a door or window, said leaf system comprising:
a coplanar handle system comprising:
at least one fixed body (7) inside an opening of a leaf, said fixed body resting against an internal profile of the opening; and
at least one movable body (6a,6b) hinged to the fixed body and reversibly rotatable with respect to said fixed body between a rest position, in which the at least one moveable body is substantially flush (Fig.8) with the leaf to delimit an internal volume of the opening, and an activation position, in which the at least one moveable body fits into the opening to allow at least partial accessibility to said internal volume; and
a leaf (2) having an opening adapted to at least partially house said handle system.
Regarding claim 17, Aria discloses the leaf system according to claim 16, wherein said opening is a through opening(Fig.8, space inside 23), and/or wherein said leaf has a recess adapted to at least partially house9Fig.8) a locking element of the handle system, said recess extending along a longitudinal direction and being in communication with said internal volume (Fig. 8 and 9).
Regarding claim 18, Aria discloses the leaf system according to claim 17, wherein said leaf (2) has an internal profile arranged internally to the opening and configured to couple to the fixed body of the handle system, said internal profile being arranged at the center line of an internal surface of the opening (Fig.8 and 9).
Regarding claim 19, Aria discloses the leaf system according to claim 18, wherein said internal profile is arranged on a top surface (Fig.8 note, relative terminology without reference is given broad interpretation) of said opening, and wherein said recess is obtained below said opening.
Regarding claim 20, Aria discloses the leaf system according to claim 18, wherein said internal profile is arranged on a lower surface(Fig.8 note, relative terminology without reference is given broad interpretation) of said opening, and wherein said recess is obtained above (relative term) said opening.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over ARIA (JP 2018-084082) in view of Tazbaz et al.(US 2020/0013531).
Regarding claim 4, Aria discloses the coplanar handle system according to claim 1, further comprising a pair of at least partially facing magnets (81b) with the same opposing polarities to generate a repulsive force adapted to promote movement of said movable body from said activation position to said rest position.
Aria does not disclose: partially facing magnets
Tazbaz et al.(teaches partially facing magnets for the purpose of assisted closure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ARIA with partially facing magnets as taught by Tazbaz et al. for the expected benefit of assisted closure.
Claim 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over ARIA (JP 2018-84082) in view of Stone (GB 2515455) (R).
Regarding claim 5, Aria discloses the coplanar handle system according to claim 1, further comprising:
a stop (inner portion 63), defining an end of stroke for said movable body during movement from said activation position to said rest position;
wherein said stop comprises an abutment member (inner portion 63)adapted to abut on a striking portion of the fixed body(through 61); and
wherein said abutment member and/or said striking portion comprise a threaded grub screw movable between various stable positions so as to regulate a mutual positioning of the movable body with respect to the fixed body and, therefore, with respect to an external surface of the leaf.
ARIA does not disclose: a threaded grub screw.
Stone teaches a threaded grub screw for the purpose of providing mechanism stop adjustment.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ARIA with a threaded grub screw as taught by Stone for the expected benefit of providing mechanism stop adjustment.
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over ARIA (JP 2018-84082) in view of Wilkinson (WO 2004/0048734).
Regarding claim 6, Aria discloses the coplanar handle system according to claim 1, further comprising a shade (29 to 64, any non-translucent connection) associated with the movable body and adapted to prevent a passage of light through a gap defined between said movable body and the leaf, said shade comprising bodies.
ARIA does not disclose: said shade comprising brush bodies.
Wilkinson teaches said shade comprising brush bodies for the purpose of forming a flexible barrier.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ARIA with brush bodies as taught by Wilkinson for the expected benefit of forming a flexible barrier.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675