DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, Claims 1-20, in the reply filed on 08/25/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 21-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group 2, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/25/2026.
The restriction requirement has been made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
There is an “and” missing between “display area” and “a non-display area”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 5, the claim recites “a resin layer”. However, Claim 1, upon which Claim 5 depends, already recites “a resin layer”. Therefore, this creates an issue of antecedent basis that renders the claim indefinite, as one of ordinary skill in the art would be uncertain if there are two different “a resin layers” or the same resin layer.
For purposes of examination, it is interpreted that the “a resin layer” in Claim 5 is the same resin layer in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 13, the recitation of colors of red, blue and burgundy render the claims indefinite, as determination of colors can be up to subjective judgment. A claim term that requires the exercise of subjective judgment without restriction may render the claim indefinite. (MPEP §2173.05(b)). One of ordinary skill in would be uncertain when a color crosses from red to burgundy or blue-green, which renders the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2023/0305598 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kang teaches a display device comprising display panel including a display area and a non-display area (Fig. 1), and a cover member on the display panel. (Fig. 14I). Kang teaches the cover member comprise a first cover layer and a second cover layer that is coupled to the first cover (Items PG and PL), a light blocking layer (Item W_BM) between the first cover and the second cover, the light blocking layer corresponding the non-display area (Paragraph 0230), and a resin layer between the first and second cover (Item W_AL1), the resin corresponding to the display area. (Paragraph 0199, 0230).
Regarding Claim 2, Kang teaches the light blocking layer is in contact with an upper surface of the first cover and the is contact with the lower surface of the second cover. (Fig. 14I; Claim 15 of Kang).
Regarding Claim 3, Kang teaches the light blocking layer extends from the outer edge of the display area to an end of the cover member. (Paragraph 0199, 0230; Claim 15 of Kang).
Regarding Claim 4, Kang teaches a thickness of the first cover is greater than a thickness of the second cover. (Fig 14I; 7A).
Regarding Claim 5, Kang teaches the first cover and second cover are bonded by the resin layer, the resin layer is in contact with a side surface of the light blocking layer at an edge of the display area. (Fig. 14I; Claim 15 of Kang).
Regarding Claim 6, Kang teaches the light blocking layer surrounds the resin layer in the non-display area. (Fig. 14I; Claim 15 of Kang; Paragraph 0199, 0230).
Regarding Claim 15, Kang teaches an optical adhesive member on a back surface of the cover member (Item W_AL2) comprising a optically transparent adhesive material or optically clear resin (Paragraph 0121), where a back surface of the first cover and an upper surface of a second substrate of a display panel are coupled through the optical adhesive member. (Fig. 14I).
Regarding Claim 16, Kang teaches the first cover includes a plurality of optical control patterns on the upper surface. (Fig. 14I, Item GP).
Regarding Claim 17, Kang teaches the optical pattern is a grooved pattern. (Fig. 14I, Item GP).
Regarding Claim 18, Kang teaches the upper surface of the first cover has a protrusion shape between the optical control patterns. (Fig. 14I).
Regarding Claim 19, Kang teaches the resin layer planarizes the plurality of optical control patterns and the protrusion shape (Fig. 14I).
Regarding Claim 20, Kang teaches the plurality of optical control are regular spaced and a predetermined inclination. (Paragraph 0146, 0116, 0197)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Cheol et al. (US 2015/0368513 A1)
Regarding Claim 7, Kang does not specifically teach a coating layer on a upper surface of the second cover.
Cheol teaches applying a coating to an upper surface of a exterior cover window (Abstract; Paragraph 0051-0052). Cheol teaches applying a coating to this surface of the cover window can increase reliability and durability of the window. (Paragraph 0085-0087). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to apply a coating taught by Cheol to the upper surface of the second cover of Kang to improve reliability and durability of the window.
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Lim et al. (US 2016/0276419 A1)
Regarding Claims 8-9 and 11, Kang does not specifically teach the light blocking layer comprises a plurality of layers having different widths in the non-display area forming a sequential protrusion structure towards the display area, the sequential protrusion structure being a reverse staircase with respect to an upper surface of the first cover, where the width of uppermost layer of the light blocking layer is the greatest and the width of the lowermost layer of the light blocking layer is the smallest.
Lim teaches a display device comprising light blocking layer comprises a plurality of layers having different widths in the non-display area forming a sequential protrusion structure towards the display area, the sequential protrusion structure being a reverse staircase with respect to an upper surface, having upper most layer having the greatest width and the lowermost layer having the smallest width. (Fig. 2; Paragraph 0062). Lim teaches this reverse staircase multilayer structure provides the advantage of preventing print defects and allow for a distinct boundaries between the display and non-display area (Paragraph 0026-0028). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to the light blocking layer comprises a plurality of layers having different widths in the non-display area forming a sequential protrusion structure towards the display area, the sequential protrusion structure being a reverse staircase with respect to an upper surface of the first cover, where the width of uppermost layer of the light blocking layer is the greatest and the width of the lowermost layer of the light blocking layer is the smallest in Kang, as taught by Cheol for reduction in print defects and improved aesthetic appearance of the display device.
Regarding Claim 10, Lim teaches the side surface of the plurality of layers has an inclination. (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 12, Kang teaches a resin layer extends from the display area to the non-display area and is in contact with the light shielding layer (Fig. 14I). Lim teaches having a resin layer extend from the display area to the non-display area and is in contact with portions of the end and a back surface of the at least one of the plurality of layers. (Fig. 2; Paragraph 0053)
Regarding Claim 13-14, Lim teaches colors can be varied from white to black, which includes black ink, for different aesthetics purposes. (Paragraph 0046-0048)
Correspondence
/Michael Zhang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781