DETAILED ACTION
This final rejection is responsive to the amendment filed 27 July 2026. Claims 1-18 are pending. Claims 1, 17, and 18 are independent claims. Claims 1, 6, 12-15, 17, and 18 are amended.
Response to Remarks
Applicant’s prior art arguments have been fully considered and they are persuasive.
Applicant argues (pg. 10) that the cited references do not teach the display component of the audio output device case. Examiner agrees. Accordingly, a new reference, Feng (US 2021/0296915 A1), has been added to the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 9, 11, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minoo (US 2018/0091887 A1) hereinafter known as Minoo in view of Feng (US 2021/0296915 A1) hereinafter known as Feng.
Regarding independent claim 1, Minoo teaches:
at an audio output device case that includes one or more input devices and a display component … , wherein the audio output device case is in wireless communication with at least one or more audio output devices and an audio source: (Minoo: Figs. 5A, 6, and ¶[0044]-¶[0045], ¶[0048], and ¶[0068]; Minoo teaches a case for earbuds, which is in communication with the earbuds. ¶[0039]-¶[0040], ¶[0046], ¶[0052], and ¶[0053] further teaches an output interface 135 that couples the case to an output device 285, such as a display. Minoo also teaches the earbuds communicating with a smartphone, which transmit media signals to the earbuds through the case processor.)
displaying, via the display component … , information corresponding to a functionality associated with outputting audio at the one or more audio output devices; (Minoo: ¶[0039]-¶[0040], ¶[0046], ¶[0052], and ¶[0063]; Minoo teaches an output interface 135 that couples the case to an output device 285, such as a display, configured to output media data received by the pair of earbuds. The device can output media such as audio or video.)
...
...
An embodiment of Minoo does not explicitly teach but another embodiment teaches:
while displaying the information via the display component … , receiving, via the one or more input devices, an input; and (Minoo: Fig. 5A and ¶[0065], ¶[0069], and ¶[0070]; Minoo teaches user input on the case to control media playback.)
in response to receiving the input, communicating instructions for outputting, via the one or more audio output devices, audio associated with the functionality. (Minoo: Fig. 5A and ¶[0065], ¶[0069], and ¶[0070]; Minoo teaches user input on the case to control media playback, such as pause, play , rewind, etc...)
Minoo is in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, as it is directed to an earbuds case which contains controls for media playback. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine an earbuds case which has control for media playback, which has a display and is connected to earbuds to further allow a user to control playback. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine these teachings because the combination would allow the user to control the media played in the earbuds, as suggested by Minoo: ¶[0065].
Minoo does not explicitly teach but Feng teaches: … of the audio output device case … (Feng: Fig. 1 and ¶[0025]; Feng teaches a display unit 70 on the case. ¶[0028] further teaches the display unit generating a plurality of button images for user input.
Feng is in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, since it is directed to wireless earbuds connected to a charging case. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine an earbuds case connected to a display and control which transmits audio to earbuds as taught in Minoo with further the display being on the charging case as taught in Feng. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Minoo to include teachings of Feng, because the combination would allow performing the input functionality directly on the case, as suggested by Feng: ¶[0028].
Regarding claim 2, Minoo in view of Feng further teaches the method of claim 1.
Minoo further teaches:
including: before displaying the information corresponding to the functionality associated with outputting audio at the one or more audio output devices, performing an operation on a nearby device, wherein the operation corresponds to the functionality. (Minoo: ¶[0044]; Minoo teaches transmitting media signals from a smartphone, portable audio device, or laptop computer. Accordingly, the function of initial transmission of such signals is interpreted as performing an operation on a nearby device.)
Regarding claim 9, Minoo in view of Feng further teaches the method of claim 1.
Minoo further teaches:
including: in response to receiving the input, communicating instructions for playing, at the one or more audio output devices, audio from another device. (Minoo: Fig. 5A and ¶[0065], ¶[0069], and ¶[0070]; Minoo teaches user input on the case to control media playback, such as pause, play , rewind, etc...)
Regarding claim 11, Minoo in view of Feng further teaches the method of claim 9.
Minoo further teaches:
including: in response to receiving another input, communicating instructions for stopping playback of audio from the other device to the one or more audio output devices. (Minoo: Fig. 5A and ¶[0065], ¶[0069], and ¶[0070]; Minoo teaches user input on the case to control media playback, such as pause, play , rewind, etc...)
Regarding claim 16, Minoo further teaches the method of claim 1.
Minoo further teaches:
wherein the audio output device case is configured to charge the one or more audio output devices when the one or more audio output devices are positioned inside the audio output device case. (Minoo: ¶[0045]; Minoo teaches charging the earbuds in the case.)
Regarding independent claims 17 and 18, these claims recite an audio output device and a computer readable storage medium that performs the function of the method of claim 1; therefore, the same rationale for rejection applies.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minoo in view of Feng in view of Wang (US 2022/0132235 A1) hereinafter known as Wang.
Regarding claim 3, Minoo in view of Feng further teaches the method of claim 1.
Minoo in view of Feng does not explicitly teach but Wang teaches:
wherein the audio output device case includes a haptic feedback generator, and the method includes: in response to the audio output device case satisfying proximity criteria with respect to the audio source, providing a tactile output using the haptic feedback generator or an audio output via the one or more audio output devices. (Wang: Figs. 3B-4 and ¶[0020], ¶[0033], and ¶[0038]-¶[0039]; Wang teaches pairing new output devices to the case by identifying nearby wireless devices; bringing them a certain distance to each other; and delivering an indication of a pairing.)
Minoo and Wang are in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, as the references are directed to an earbuds case which contains controls for media playback. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine an earbuds case with a display and control which transmits audio to earbuds as taught in Minoo with further delivering haptic feedback when pairing a wireless device as taught in Wang. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Minoo to include teachings of Wang, because the combination would allow notifying the user, as suggested by Wang: ¶[0033] and ¶[0039].
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minoo in view of Feng in view of Herz (US 2018/0074594 A1) hereinafter known as Herz.
Regarding claim 4, Minoo in view of Feng further teaches the method of claim 1.
Minoo in view of Feng does not explicitly teach but Herz teaches:
wherein the input is a swipe gesture and the method includes: in response to receiving the input, communicating instructions for transferring playback of audio from another device to the one or more audio output devices. (Herz: Fig. 1 and ¶[0033]; Herz teaches a swiping operation to cast content to a different device.)
Herz is in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, since it is directed to wireless transferring media content to a device. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine an earbuds case with a display and control which transmits audio to earbuds as taught in Minoo with further a swiping input that casts content to a different device as taught in Herz. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Minoo to include teachings of Herz, because the combination would allow efficiently casting the content, as suggested by Herz: ¶[0033].
Regarding claim 5, Minoo in view of Feng further teaches the method of claim 1.
Minoo does not explicitly teach but Herz teaches:
wherein the audio output device case includes a haptic feedback generator, and the method includes: in accordance with a determination that the audio associated with the functionality is transferred from another device to the one or more audio output devices, providing a tactile output via the haptic feedback generator or an audio output via the one or more audio output devices. (Herz: Fig. 1 and ¶[0033]-¶[0034]; Herz teaches a swiping operation to cast content to a different device and playing a sound tone or performing a vibration as feedback for the task progress of the slinging command.)
Herz is in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, since it is directed to wireless transferring media content to a device. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine an earbuds case with a display and control which transmits audio to earbuds as taught in Minoo with further a swiping input that casts content to a different device and providing haptic feedback as taught in Herz. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Minoo to include teachings of Herz, because the combination would allow efficiently casting the content, as suggested by Herz: ¶[0033].
Regarding claim 6, Minoo in view of Feng further teaches the method of claim 1.
Minoo does not explicitly teach but Herz teaches:
including: in accordance with a determination that the audio associated with the functionality is transferred from another device to the one or more audio output devices, providing visual feedback via the display component of the audio output device case. (Herz: ¶[0089]; Herz teaches that when casted content is displayed on the panel of the end-user device, the window frame that encapsulates the casted content can be color-coded to match the window frame color of the content source device.)
Herz is in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, since it is directed to wireless transferring media content to a device. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine an earbuds case with a display and control which transmits audio to earbuds as taught in Minoo with further a swiping input that casts content to a different device and providing visual feedback as taught in Herz. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Minoo to include teachings of Herz, because the combination would allow efficiently notifying the casting of the content, as suggested by Herz: ¶[0089].
Regarding claim 7, Minoo in view of Feng further teaches the method of claim 1.
Minoo in view of Feng does not explicitly teach but Herz teaches:
including: after the functionality is transferred from another device to the one or more audio output devices, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second input; and in response to the second input, performing one or more additional operations associated with the second input. (Herz: ¶[0035]; Herz teaches a terminating operation after casting.)
Herz is in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, since it is directed to wireless transferring media content to a device. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine an earbuds case with a display and control which transmits audio to earbuds as taught in Minoo with further a swiping input that casts content to a different device and a termination operation as taught in Herz. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Minoo to include teachings of Herz, because the combination would allow to efficiently terminate the casting, as suggested by Herz: ¶[0035].
Regarding claim 8, Minoo in view of Feng further teaches the method of claim 7.
Minoo in view of Feng does not explicitly teach but Herz teaches:
including, in conjunction with performing the one or more additional operations, providing haptic, audio, and/or visual feedback. (Herz: ¶[0035]; Herz teaches a terminating operation after casting. Since the casting is terminated, this can be used visual feedback.)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minoo in view of Feng in view of Lindahl (US 2010/0142730 A1) hereinafter known as Lindahl.
Regarding claim 10, Minoo in view of Feng further teaches the method of claim 9.
Minoo in view of Feng does not explicitly teach but Lindahl teaches:
including: in accordance with a determination that the one or more audio output devices are playing a first audio before the audio output device case receives the input, mixing the first audio with second audio, wherein the second audio is the audio from the other device. (Lindahl: ¶[0009]; Lindahl teaches crossfading two audio streams.)
Lindahl is analogous to the present invention, since it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, i.e. playing sequential audio tracks. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine an earbuds case with a display and control which transmits audio to earbuds as taught in Minoo with further a crossfading effect when the next track starts as taught in Lindahl. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Minoo to include teachings of Lindahl, because the combination would allow efficiently blending the tracks, as suggested by Lindahl: ¶[0009].
Claims 12, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minoo in view of Feng in view of Kontopidis (US 2021/0385637 A1) hereinafter known as Kontopidis.
Regarding claim 12, Minoo in view of Feng further teaches the method of claim 9.
Minoo does not explicitly teach but Kontopidis teaches:
wherein the information that is displayed via the display component of the audio output device case is information indicating availability of the other device. (Kontopidis: ¶[0048] and ¶[0051]; Lindahl teaches the display indicating the content of audio playback. Since the source of audio playback is on the other device, the screen is showing availability of the other device.)
Kontopidis is analogous to the present invention, since it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, i.e. playing sequential audio tracks. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine an earbuds case with a display and control which transmits audio to earbuds as taught in Minoo with the display showing the other device availability as taught in Kontopidis. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Minoo to include teachings of Kontopidis, because the combination would allow efficiently notifying the user of the content, as suggested by Kontopidis: ¶[0048] and ¶[0051].
Regarding claim 13, Minoo in view of Feng further teaches the method of claim 9.
Minoo does not explicitly teach but Kontopidis teaches:
wherein the information that is displayed via the display component of the audio output device case includes information corresponding to the other device when predefined criteria are satisfied. (Kontopidis: ¶[0048] and ¶[0051]; Lindahl teaches the display indicating the content of audio playback. Since the source of audio playback is on the other device, the screen is showing availability of the other device. Furthermore, Fig. 6 teaches a second mode which connects the earbuds to the case and streams data from the internet. Such a mode is interpreted as the predefined criteria.)
Kontopidis is analogous to the present invention, since it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, i.e. playing sequential audio tracks. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine an earbuds case with a display and control which transmits audio to earbuds as taught in Minoo with the display showing the other device information as taught in Kontopidis. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Minoo to include teachings of Kontopidis, because the combination would allow efficiently notifying the user of the content, as suggested by Kontopidis: ¶[0048] and ¶[0051].
Regarding claim 15, Minoo in view of Feng further teaches the method of claim 1.
Minoo further teaches:
wherein the information displayed via the display component of the audio output device case is one or more controls for communicating instructions to the audio source for causing, via the one or more audio output devices, playing or pausing playback of an audio ..., fast forwarding playback of the audio ..., and rewinding playback of the audio .... (Minoo: Fig. 5A and ¶[0065], ¶[0069], and ¶[0070]; Minoo teaches user input on the case to control media playback, such as pause, play, rewind, etc...)
Minoo does not explicitly teach but Kontopidis teaches the media being an audio book. (Kontopidis: ¶[0062]; Kontopidis teaches audio-book playback.)
Kontopidis is analogous to the present invention, since it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, i.e. playing sequential audio tracks. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine an earbuds case with a display and control which transmits audio to earbuds capable of rewinding, fast forwarding, and pausing as taught in Minoo with the audio comprising an audio book file as taught in Kontopidis. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Minoo to include teachings of Kontopidis, because the combination would allow the user to control multiple types of content, as suggested by Kontopidis: ¶[0062].
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minoo in view of Feng in view of Pong (US 2018/0063626 A1) hereinafter known as Pong.
Regarding claim 14, Minoo in view of Feng further teaches the method of claim 9.
Minoo does not explicitly teach but Pong teaches:
wherein the information displayed via the display component of the audio output device case is one or more controls for communicating instructions for outputting, via the one or more audio output devices, audio associated with directions a maps application. (Pong: ¶[0079]; Pong teaches a GPS sensor that allows a headphone display to function as a travel guide with navigation.)
Pong is analogous to the present invention, since it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, i.e. playing sequential audio tracks. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine an earbuds case with a display and control which transmits audio to earbuds as taught in Minoo with the display showing maps as taught in Pong. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Minoo to include teachings of Pong, because the combination would allow displaying navigation content, as suggested by Pong: ¶[0079].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEKSEY OLSHANNIKOV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118