DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is in response to amendment filed 11/4/2025, in which claims 1, 3, 9, 11, 15, 17, 22 – 23, 25 – 26, and 28 – 29 were amended, and claims 1, 3, 6 – 9, 11, 14 – 15, 17, and 20 - 29 was presented for further examination.
3. Claims 1, 3, 6 – 9, 11, 14 – 15, 17, and 20 - 29 are now pending in the application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Remarks
5. As per amended claim 1, applicant argues in substance in pages 13 – 15 that Kabra et al (US 2020/0183602 A1), Nara et al (US 20200034248 A1), Jeong et al (US 2012/0173515 A1), and Varakin et al (US 9,298,768 B2) does not specifically disclose sending, by the database system, a request to the cloud storage to execute the second portion of the database query plan to determine a fourth subset of chunks from among the second subset of chunks, and receiving, by the database system from the cloud storage, a second subset of results generated from the fourth subset of chunks based on execution of the second portion of the database query plan by the cloud storage.
In response to applicants’ argument, Examiner respectfully responds that the teaching of Kabra et al (US 2020/0183602 A1), Nara et al (US 20200034248 A1), Jeong et al (US 2012/0173515 A1), and Zwilling et al (US 2016/0125015 A1) disclosed each and every featured of amended claim 1 including the features of sending, by the database system, a request to the cloud storage to execute the second portion of the database query plan to determine a fourth subset of chunks from among the second subset of chunks, and receiving, by the database system from the cloud storage, a second subset of results generated from the fourth subset of chunks based on execution of the second portion of the database query plan by the cloud storage (Zwilling: para.[0026] – para.[0029]).
Zwilling discloses query plan generator receive query from user or application. The query plan generator identifies the location of the request and generate a query plan for executing the query. A portion of the query plan is directed to the cloud database for execution while another portion is directed to the front database for execution. Both cloud database and front database generate a result and return to query plan generator for combining each search result before returning it to the requesting entity (see para.[0026 – [0029]).
Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 6 – 9, 11, 14 – 15, 17, and 20 - 29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 1, 3, 6 – 9, 11, and 14 - 15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 8 – 11, 13, and 19 - 20 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,995,084 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recites similar limitation of dividing data into chunk and storing selected chunk in one of local storage or cloud.
Instant Application #: 18/670,572
Patent #: US 11,995,084 B1
1. A computer-implemented method comprising: storing, by a database system, a database table partitioned into a plurality of chunks, wherein the plurality of chunks include a first subset of chunks stored in a primary database storage and a second subset of chunks stored in a cloud storage, wherein chunks stored in the primary database storage use a first database storage format and chunks stored in the cloud storage use a second database storage format; selecting one or more chunks from the first subset of chunks stored in the primary database storage; transmitting the one or more chunks from the primary database storage to the cloud storage for adding to the second subset of chunks; deleting the one or more chunks from the primary database storage; receiving a database query processing the database table generating a database query plan for the database query, comprising: generating a first portion of the database query plan comprising a first operator for accessing data stored using the first database storage format from the primary database storage, and generating a second portion of the database query plan comprising a second operator for accessing data stored using the second database storage format from the cloud storage
executing database query plan comprising: executing the first portion of the database query plan to determine a third subset of chunks from among the first subset of chunks, generating a first subset of results from the third subset of chunks, sending by the database system, a request to the cloud storage to execute
the second portion of the database query plan to determine a fourth subset of chunks from among the second subset of chunks, and receiving by the database system from the cloud storage, a second subset of results generated from the fourth subset of chunks based on execution of the second portion of the database query plan by the cloud storage; and sending a final result of the database query obtained by processing a combination of the first subset of results and the second subset of results.
1. A computer-implemented method comprising: storing, by a database system, a hypertable comprising a set of records having a plurality of attributes including a set of one or more dimension attributes, the hypertable representing a database table partitioned into a plurality of chunks along the set of dimension attributes, wherein the plurality of chunks include a first subset of chunks stored in a primary database storage and a second subset of chunks stored in a cloud storage, wherein chunks stored in the primary storage use a first database storage format and chunks stored in the cloud storage use a second database storage format; moving chunks from the primary database storage to the cloud storage by repeatedly performing: selecting one or more chunks from the first subset of chunks stored in the primary database storage, transmitting the selected one or more chunks from the primary database storage to the cloud storage for adding to the second subset of chunks, and deleting the selected one or more chunks from the primary database storage; receiving a database query for accessing data stored in the hypertable; executing the database query comprising: determining a third subset of chunks from among the first subset of chunks based on the database query, generating a first subset of results from the third subset of chunks stored in the primary database storage based on the database query, determining a fourth subset of chunks from among the second subset of chunks based on the database query, and generating a second subset of results from the fourth subset of chunks stored in the cloud storage based on the database query; and sending a final result of the database query obtained by processing a combination of the first subset of results and the second subset of results.
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein generating the query execution plan comprises: generating a first portion of query plan based on one or more chunks stored in the primary database storage; generating a second portion of the query plan based on one or more chunks stored in the cloud storage; and combining the first portion of the query execution plan with the second portion of the query plan.
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein generating the query execution plan comprises: generating a first portion of query plan based on one or more chunks stored on the primary database storage; generating a second portion of the query plan based on one or more chunks stored on the cloud storage; and combining the first portion of the query execution plan with the second portion of the query plan.
6. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein a chunk is stored in the cloud storage as part of one or more immutable objects or as one or more immutable objects.
8. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein a chunk is stored in the cloud storage as part of one or more immutable objects or as one or more immutable objects.
7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein a chunk is stored in the cloud storage by reading an existing one or more objects from cloud storage, combining data from the chunk with data from the existing one or more objects to create a new set of objects, and then replacing the existing one or more objects in cloud storage with the new set of objects.
9. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein a chunk is stored in the cloud storage by reading an existing one or more objects from cloud storage, combining data from the chunk with data from the existing one or more objects to create a new set of one or more objects, and then replacing the existing one or more objects in cloud storage with the new set of objects.
8. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein a chunk has a configuration associated with a set of values corresponding to each dimension attribute, such that, for a record stored in the chunk, each dimension attribute of the record has a value from the set of values for that dimension attribute as specified by the chunk.
10. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein a chunk has a configuration associated with a set of values corresponding to each dimension attribute, such that, for a record stored in the chunk, each dimension attribute of the record has a value from the set of values for that dimension attribute as specified by the chunk.
9. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that when executed by one or more computer processors, cause the one or more computer processors to perform steps comprising: storing, by a database system, a database table partitioned into a plurality of chunks, wherein the plurality of chunks include a first subset of chunks stored in a primary database storage and a second subset of chunks stored in a cloud storage, wherein chunks stored in the primary database storage use a first database storage format and chunks stored in the cloud storage use a second database storage format; selecting one or more chunks from the first subset of chunks stored in the primary database storage; transmitting the one or more chunks from the primary database storage to the cloud storage for adding to the second subset of chunks; deleting the one or more chunks from the primary database storage; receiving a database query processing the database table generating a database query plan for the database query, comprising: generating a first portion of the database query plan comprising a first operator for accessing data stored using the first database storage format from the primary database storage, and generating a second portion of the database query plan comprising a second operator for accessing data stored using the second database storage format from the cloud storage
executing database query plan comprising: executing the first portion of the database query plan to determine a third subset of chunks from among the first subset of chunks, generating a first subset of results from the third subset of chunks, sending by the database system, a request to the cloud storage to execute
the second portion of the database query plan to determine a fourth subset of chunks from among the second subset of chunks, and receiving by the database system from the cloud storage, a second subset of results generated from the fourth subset of chunks based on execution of the second portion of the database query plan by the cloud storage; and sending a final result of the database query obtained by processing a combination of the first subset of results and the second subset of results.
11. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that when executed by one or more computer processors, cause the one or more computer processors to perform steps comprising: storing, by a database system, a hypertable comprising a set of records having a plurality of attributes including a set of one or more dimension attributes, the hypertable representing a database table partitioned into a plurality of chunks along the set of dimension attributes, wherein the plurality of chunks include a first subset of chunks stored in a primary database storage and a second subset of chunks stored in a cloud storage, wherein chunks stored in the primary storage use a first database storage format and chunks stored in the cloud storage use a second database storage format; moving chunks from the primary database storage to the cloud storage by repeatedly performing: selecting one or more chunks from the first subset of chunks stored in the primary database storage, transmitting the selected one or more chunks from the primary database storage to the cloud storage for adding to the second subset of chunks, and deleting the selected one or more chunks from the primary database storage; receiving a database query for accessing data stored in the hypertable; executing the database query comprising: determining a third subset of chunks from among the first subset of chunks based on the database query, generating a first subset of results from the third subset of chunks stored in the primary database storage based on the database query, determining a fourth subset of chunks from among the second subset of chunks based on the database query, and generating a second subset of results from the fourth subset of chunks stored in the cloud storage based on the database query; and sending a final result of the database query obtained by processing a combination of the first subset of results and the second subset of results.
11. The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 10, wherein generating the query execution plan comprises: generating a first portion of query plan based on one or more chunks stored in the primary database storage; and combining the first portion of the query execution plan with a second portion of the query plan based on one or more chunks stored in the cloud storage.
13. The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 12, wherein generating the query execution plan comprises: generating a first portion of query plan based on one or more chunks stored on the cloud storage; and combining the first portion of the query execution plan with a second portion of the query plan based on one or more chunks stored on the primary database storage.
14. The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 9, wherein a chunk is stored in the cloud storage by reading an existing one or more objects from cloud storage, combining data from the chunk with data from the existing one or more objects to create a new set of objects, and then replacing the existing one or more objects in cloud storage with the new set of objects.
19. The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 11, wherein a chunk is stored in the cloud storage by reading an existing one or more objects from cloud storage, combining data from the chunk with data from the existing one or more objects to create a new set of one or more objects, and then replacing the existing one or more objects in cloud storage with the new set of objects.
15. A computer system comprising: one or more computer processors; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that when executed by the one or more computer processors, cause the one or more computer processors to perform steps comprising: storing, by a database system, a database table partitioned into a plurality of chunks, wherein the plurality of chunks include a first subset of chunks stored in a primary database storage and a second subset of chunks stored in a cloud storage, wherein chunks stored in the primary database storage use a first database storage format and chunks stored in the cloud storage use a second database storage format; selecting one or more chunks from the first subset of chunks stored in the primary database storage; transmitting the one or more chunks from the primary database storage to the cloud storage for adding to the second subset of chunks; deleting the one or more chunks from the primary database storage; receiving a database query processing the database table; generating a database query plan for the database query, comprising: generating a first portion of the database query plan comprising a first operator for accessing data stored using the first database storage format from the primary database storage, and generating a second portion of the database query plan comprising a second operator for accessing data stored using the second database storage format from the cloud storage executing the database query plan comprising: executing the first portion of the database query plan to determine a third subset of chunks from among the first subset of chunks, generating a first subset of results from the third subset of chunks, sending by the database system, a request to the cloud storage to execute the second portion of the database query plan to determine a fourth subset of chunks from among the second subset of chunks, and receiving by the database system from the cloud storage a second subset of results generated from the fourth subset of chunks based on execution of the second portion of the database query plan by the cloud storage; and sending a final result of the database query obtained by processing a combination of the first subset of results and the second subset of results.
20. A computer system comprising: one or more computer processors; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that when executed by the one or more computer processors, cause the one or more computer processors to perform steps comprising: storing, by a database system, a hypertable comprising a set of records having a plurality of attributes including a set of one or more dimension attributes, the hypertable representing a database table partitioned into a plurality of chunks along the set of dimension attributes, wherein the plurality of chunks include a first subset of chunks stored in a primary database storage and a second subset of chunks stored in a cloud storage, wherein chunks stored in the primary storage use a first database storage format and chunks stored in the cloud storage use a second database storage format; moving chunks from the primary database storage to the cloud storage by repeatedly performing: selecting one or more chunks from the first subset of chunks stored in the primary database storage, transmitting the selected one or more chunks from the primary database storage to the cloud storage for adding to the second subset of chunks, and deleting the selected one or more chunks from the primary database storage; receiving a database query for accessing data stored in the hypertable; executing the database query comprising: determining a third subset of chunks from among the first subset of chunks based on the database query, generating a first subset of results from the third subset of chunks stored in the primary database storage based on the database query, determining a fourth subset of chunks from among the second subset of chunks based on the database query, and generating a second subset of results from the fourth subset of chunks stored in the cloud storage based on the database query; and sending a final result of the database query obtained by processing a combination of the first subset of results and the second subset of results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1, 3, 6 – 9, 11, 14 – 15, 17, and 20 - 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kabra et al (US 2020/0183602 A1), in view of Nara et al (US 20200034248 A1), in view of Jeong et al (US 2012/0173515 A1), and further in view of Zwilling et al (US 2016/0125015 A1).
As per claim 1, Kabra et al (US 2020/0183602 A1) discloses,
A computer-implemented method comprising: storing, by a database system, a database table partitioned into a plurality of chunks (para.[0003]; “storing information within hybrid storage with local and cloud-based storage devices may include (1) dividing, at the computing device, a file into multiple portions”, para.[0047]; “the systems described herein may divide files into multiple portions”, and para.[0053]; “volume and (2) dividing the file in response to a tiered storage decision selecting the assigned tier”).
wherein the plurality of chunks include a first subset of chunks stored in a primary database storage and a second subset of chunks stored in a cloud storage (para.[0048]; “store one portion of the multiple portions as first respective separate objects on local volumes stored on local storage devices”).
selecting one or more chunks from the first subset of chunks stored in the primary database storage (para.[0084]; “source tiers or target tiers have cloud volumes, an "ioctl (VX_ALLOCPOLICY_CLOUD)" (e.g., issued by "fsppadm")
may relocate files to or from cloud volumes”, where relocating files from local storage to cloud volumes is “transmitting the one or more chunks from the primary database storage to the cloud storage” as claimed).
transmitting the one or more chunks from the primary database storage to the cloud storage for adding to the second subset of chunks (para.[0084]; “source tiers or target tiers have cloud volumes, an "ioctl (VX_ALLOCPOLICY_CLOUD)" (e.g., issued by "fsppadm") may relocate files to or from cloud volumes”, where relocating files from local storage to cloud volumes is “transmitting the one or more chunks from the primary database storage to the cloud storage” as claimed).
deleting the one or more chunks from the primary database storage (para.[0084]; code line 25; “Delete objects from source tier”).
Kabra does not specifically disclose wherein chunks stored in the primary database storage use a first database storage format and chunks stored in the cloud storage use a second database storage format.
However, Nara et al (US 20200034248 A1) in an analogous art discloses,
wherein chunks stored in the primary database storage use a first database storage format and chunks stored in the cloud storage use a second database storage format (para.[0017]; “a storage format specific to the information management
system (e.g., an archive file format), as well as a storage format native to the cloud storage location or service”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate different storage format of the system of Nara into data partition and storage of the system of Kabra to manage data growth by migrating stale data to lower cost storage tier, thereby improving the quality of data presented to the user.
Neither Kabra nor Nara specifically disclose receiving a database query processing the database table generating a database query plan for the database query, comprising: generating a first portion of the database query plan comprising a first operator for accessing data stored using the first database storage format from the primary database storage, and generating a second portion of the database query plan comprising a second operator for accessing data stored using the second database storage format from the cloud storage.
However, Jeong et al (US 2012/0173515 A1) in an analogous art discloses,
receiving a database query processing the database table generating a database query plan for the database query (para.[0007]; “receiving a query for one or more data items stored in a database” and para.[0031]; “query 305 may be received by
DBMS 300 and contain both row- and column-formatted query operators”).
comprising: generating a first portion of the database query plan comprising a first operator for accessing data stored using the first database storage format from the primary database storage (para.[0004]; “storage techniques require dedicated query operators that can access specific types of storage models……. row query operators are used to process data stored in a database in row-formatted storage models”, para.[0030]; “handling a query 305 containing query operators that are formatted differently than the storage model format of data items being processed in
response to query 305”, and para.[0031]; “identify that at least one of the query operators is formatted differently than the storage model of one or more of the data items subject to processing for query”).
and generating a second portion of the database query plan comprising a second operator for accessing data stored using the second database storage format from the cloud storage (para.[0004]; “storage techniques require dedicated query operators that can access specific types of storage models……. row query operators are used to process data stored in a database in row-formatted storage models”, para.[0030]; “handling a query 305 containing query operators that are formatted differently than the storage model format of data items being processed in
response to query 305”, and para.[0031]; “identify that at least one of the query operators is formatted differently than the storage model of one or more of the data items subject to processing for query”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate determination of query operator with different format of the system of Jeong into different storage format of the system of Nara to assign query plan into processing storage based on their structure, thereby enabling speeding processing of query and improve quality of information return to the requesting entity.
Neither Kabra nor Nara nor Jeong specifically disclose executing the database query plan comprising: executing the first portion of the database query plan to determine a third subset of chunks from among the first subset of chunks, generating a first subset of results from the third subset of chunks, sending, by the database system, a request to the cloud storage to execute the second portion of the database query plan to determine a fourth subset of chunks from among the second subset of chunks, and receiving, by the database system from the cloud storage, a second subset of results generated from the fourth subset of chunks based on execution of the second portion of the database query plan by the cloud storage, and sending a final result of the database query obtained by processing a combination of the first subset of results and the second subset of results.
However, Zwilling et al (US 2016/0125015 A1) in an analogous art discloses,
executing the database query plan comprising: executing the first portion of the database query plan to determine a third subset of chunks from among the first subset of chunks (para.[0023]; “the commands are more likely to be queries issued by users ….system 214 issues a command 201 to the frontal system 210, with the command 201 being received by the query plan generator” AND para.[0026]; “then the query plan generator 212 sends a portion 202A of the query plan to the front database(s) 211 for processing”).
generating a first subset of results from the third subset of chunks (para.[0029]; “The query plan generator 212 receives results from both the front database”).
sending, by the database system, a request to the cloud storage to execute the second portion of the database query plan to determine a fourth subset of chunks from among the second subset of chunks (para.[0026]; “another portion 202B of the query plan to the remote cloud database(s) 221 for processing” and para.[0028]; “portion 202B is then sent to the remote cloud system 220. The portion 202B of the query plan 202 is then received by a query plan processor 222 in the remote cloud system 230”).
and receiving, by the database system from the cloud storage, a second subset of results generated from the fourth subset of chunks based on execution of the second portion of the database query plan by the cloud storage (para.[0028]; “query plan processor 222 submits the appropriate query to the remote cloud database(s) 221 (as represented by arrow 231A) and gathers the results (as represented by arrow 231B). However, far more than simply gathering results of the query, the query plan processor 222 is capable of actually performing computation on data from the remote database(s) to obtain query results”).
and sending a final result of the database query obtained by processing a combination of the first subset of results and the second subset of results (para.[0029]; “query plan generator 212 receives results from both the front database(s) 211 (as represented by arrow 203A) as well as the remote cloud database(s) 221 via the query plan processor 222 (as represented by arrow 203B), and aggregates
( e.g., through a merge or union) those result to return the final query result (as represented by arrow 204)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate query plan generator for accessing distributed data of the system of Zwilling into determination of query operator with different format of Jeong and different storage format of the system of Nara to retrieve data for multiple storage location in the system of Kabra, thereby enabling user to direct query to a storage that can produce the required search result.
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated and further Zwilling et al (US 2016/0125015 A1) discloses,
wherein generating the database query plan comprises: generating first portion of database query plan based on one or more chunks stored in the primary database storage, generating the second portion of the database query plan based on one or more chunks stored in the cloud storage and combining the first portion of the database query plan with the second portion of the database query plan (para.[0025]; “query plan generator 212, on the other hand, has knowledge of the presence of the front database(s) 211 and the remote cloud database(s)” and para.[0026]; “query plan generator 212 determines that the data to be used to respond to the query 201 is distributed between the front database(s) 211 and the remote cloud database …then the query plan generator 212 sends a portion 202A of the query plan to the front database(s) 211 for processing, and another portion 202B of the query
plan to the remote cloud database(s) 221 for processing”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate query plan generator for accessing distributed data of the system of Zwilling into determination of query operator with different format of Jeong and different storage format of the system of Nara to retrieve data for multiple storage location in the system of Kabra, thereby enabling user to direct query to a storage that can produce the required search result.
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Kabra et al (US 2020/0183602 A1) discloses,
wherein a chunk is stored in the cloud storage as part of one or more immutable objects or as one or more immutable objects (para.[0051]; “store second portion 126 of the multiple portions 122 as at least one second respective separate object 127 on cloud-based volume 128 stored on cloud-based storage device”).
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Kabra et al (US 2020/0183602 A1) discloses,
wherein a chunk is stored in the cloud storage by reading an existing one or more objects from cloud storage, combining data from the chunk with data from the existing one or more objects to create a new set of objects, and then replacing the existing one or more objects in cloud storage with the new set of objects (para.[0084]; “source tiers or target tiers have cloud volumes, an "ioctl (VX_ALLOCPOLICY_CLOUD)" (e.g., issued by "fsppadm") may relocate files to or from cloud volumes”).
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Jeong et al (US 2012/0173515 A1) discloses,
wherein a chunk has a configuration associated with a set of values corresponding to each dimension attribute, such that, for a record stored in the chunk, each dimension attribute of the record has a value from the set of values for that dimension attribute as specified by the chunk (para.[0028]; “database table 200 that stores company information by colunms, thus requiring that the requested data items 152 be retrieved from database 150 column-by-column using column query operators. In FIG. 2b, database table 200 may store company information by rows”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate query plan generator for accessing distributed data of the system of Zwilling into determination of query operator with different format of Jeong and different storage format of the system of Nara to retrieve data for multiple storage location in the system of Kabra, thereby enabling user to direct query to a storage that can produce the required search result.
As per claim 21, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Jeong et al (US 2012/0173515 A1) discloses,
wherein the first database storage format for storing data in the primary database storage stores the first subset of chunks in row major order and the second database storage format for storing data in the cloud storage stores the second subset of chunks in column major order (para.[0003]; “row-by-row storage may store all information about a first customer first, then all information about a second customer and so on. a table may be stored in a database column-by-column (i.e., a column-oriented storage model)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate query plan generator for accessing distributed data of the system of Zwilling into determination of query operator with different format of Jeong and different storage format of the system of Nara to retrieve data for multiple storage location in the system of Kabra, thereby enabling user to direct query to a storage that can produce the required search result.
As per claim 22, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Kabra et al (US 2020/0183602 A1)
further comprising: receiving a request to modify a particular chunk stored in the cloud storage and responsive to receiving the request to modify the particular chunk stored in the cloud storage, moving the particular chunk from the cloud storage to the primary database storage for modifying the particular chunk in the primary database storage (para.[0084]; “source tiers or target tiers have cloud volumes, an "ioctl (VX_ALLOCPOLICY_CLOUD)" (e.g., issued by "fsppadm") may relocate files to or from cloud volumes”, where relocating files from local storage to cloud volumes is “transmitting the one or more chunks from the primary database storage to the cloud storage” as claimed).
.
As per claim 23, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Kabra et al (US 2020/0183602 A1) discloses,
wherein the database query is received when a writer process is asynchronously writing one or more chunks to the cloud storage, wherein executing the database query comprises: responsive to determining that the one or more chunks are being written to the cloud storage, using the data stored in the primary database storage corresponding to the one or more chunks for processing the database query (para.[0084]; “16. Write data in fixed size chunks to local storage devices or cloud-based storage devices according to the relocation”).
and responsive to determining that the one or more chunks are written to the cloud storage, using the data stored in the cloud storage for the one or more chunks and deleting the corresponding one or more chunks from the primary database storage (para.[0084]; “22. Delete objects in cloud-based storage devices.
23. Remove cloud attribute.24. else if (VX_MOVE_CLDTOCLD) 25. Delete objects from source”).
Claims 9, 11, 14, and 24 - 26 are non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim corresponding to method claims 1, 3, 7, and 21 - 23 respectively, and rejected under the same reason set forth in connection to the rejection of claims 1, 3, 7, and 21 - 23 respectively above.
Claims 15, 17, 20, and 27 - 29 are system claim corresponding to method claims 1, 3, 7, and 21 - 23 respectively, and rejected under the same reason set forth in connection to the rejection of claims 1, 3, 7, and 21 - 23 respectively above.
Conclusion
/AUGUSTINE K. OBISESAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2156
8/8/2026