DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to an amendment/response filed on 7/8/2026.
Claims 1, 12-15, and 20 have been amended.
No claims have been cancelled.
No new claims have been added.
Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/9/2026 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claims 1, 14-15, and 20, Applicant argues that Pezeshki and Bae do not teach “a channel state information (CSI) reporting setting comprising a higher-layer parameter, within a CSI reporting setting information element, indicating that event-triggered beam reporting by the UE is enabled.” Applicant asserts that Bae’s CSI-ReportConfig parameters are standard 3GPP reporting parameters that configure what quantities to report and the time-domain behavior of reporting, and that none of such parameters serve as an indication that enables event-triggered beam reporting, as claimed. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s interpretation of the prior art. As can be seen in at least step 805 of Fig. 8 of Pezeshki, Pezeshki teaches that the UE may receive, from a network entity, a report configuration for a plurality of parameters based on reference signal (RS) measurements (Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0070], [0079], [0081]). Such a report is also described as a channel state information (CSI) report and the reporting configuration is also described as potentially indicating CSI-RS resources for channel measurement. Such a report configuration may thus be interpreted as a first signaling as a channel state information (CSI) reporting setting. As can be seen for instance in at least steps 810-815 of Fig. 8, the report configuration enables the UE to perform event-triggered CSI reporting (Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0070], [0079], [0081]-[0082]). As can be seen in at least paragraphs [0094] and [0104], Pezeshki states that the event-triggered partial update can be applied in other contexts (other type of RS-based reporting) besides the CSI-RS example described in Pezeshki (Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0094], [0104]). For example, the techniques may be applied to a layer 1 (L1) reference signal received power (RSRP) and/or a L1 signal-to-noise and interference ratio (SINR) based reporting for beam management (Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0094], [0104]). Such L1-RSRP and/or L1-SINR based reporting for beam management (based for instance on measurement values crossing a threshold as is discussed in at least paragraphs [0079] and [0104]) may be interpreted as event-triggered beam reporting (Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0070], [0079], [0081]-[0082], [0094], [0104]). The CSI reporting setting may thus be interpreted as indicating that event-triggered beam reporting by the UE is enabled. However, although Pezeshki discusses the use of a protocol stack including higher layers for wireless communication (Pezeshki; Fig. 5; [0058]-[0061]), Pezeshki does not specifically disclose the CSI report setting comprises a higher-layer parameter, within a CSI reporting setting information element. Bae teaches that CSI reporting configuration information includes higher layer parameters (Bae; [0167]-[0173], [0178]). Such CSI reporting configuration information may also be interpreted as being within a CSI reporting setting information element. Bae may thus be interpreted as teaching that the CSI report setting comprises a higher-layer parameter, within a CSI reporting setting information element. Pezeshki and Bae may thus be interpreted as teaching the argued claim language “a channel state information (CSI) reporting setting comprising a higher-layer parameter, within a CSI reporting setting information element, indicating that event-triggered beam reporting by the UE is enabled.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki et al. (US 2022/0376757, provided by Applicant, Pezeshki hereinafter) in view of Bae et al. (US 2025/0088242, Bae hereinafter). Regarding claims 1, 14, and 20, Pezeshki teaches a method, a processor for wireless communication (A user equipment (UE) may be comprised of a processor coupled with memory, which may be interpreted as the processor comprising at least one controller coupled with at least one memory recited in claim 14; Pezeshki; Figs. 1, 4, and 8-10; [0053]), and a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (User equipment (UE); Pezeshki; Figs. 1, 4, and 8-10; [0053]), comprising: at least one memory (The UE may be comprised of a memory; Pezeshki; Fig. 4; [0057]); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (The UE may be comprised of a processor coupled with the memory; Pezeshki; Fig. 4; [0053], [0057]) and configured to cause the UE to: receive, from at least one network entity, a channel state information (CSI) reporting setting (As can be seen in at least step 805 of Fig. 8, the UE may receive, from a network entity, a report configuration for a plurality of parameters based on reference signal (RS) measurements. Such a report is also described as a channel state information (CSI) report and the reporting configuration is also described as potentially indicating CSI-RS resources for channel measurement. Such a report configuration may thus be interpreted as a first signaling as a channel state information (CSI) reporting setting; Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0070], [0079], [0081]) indicating that event-triggered beam reporting by the UE is enabled (As can be seen for instance in at least steps 810-815 of Fig. 8, the report configuration enables the UE to perform event-triggered CSI reporting. As can be seen in at least paragraphs [0094] and [0104], Pezeshki states that the event-triggered partial update can be applied in other contexts (other type of RS-based reporting) besides the CSI-RS example described in Pezeshki. For example, the techniques may be applied to a layer 1 (L1) reference signal received power (RSRP) and/or a L1 signal-to-noise and interference ratio (SINR) based reporting for beam management. Such L1-RSRP and/or L1-SINR based reporting for beam management (based for instance on measurement values crossing a threshold as is discussed in at least paragraphs [0079] and [0104]) may be interpreted as event-triggered beam reporting. The CSI reporting setting may thus be interpreted as indicating that event-triggered beam reporting by the UE is enabled; Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0070], [0079], [0081]-[0082], [0094], [0104]), the event-triggered beam reporting associated with a first set of beams (The event-triggered beam reporting may be associated with a first set of beams (e.g., beams for which partial reporting is performed); Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0070], [0077]-[0079], [0094], [0104]); and transmit, over an uplink channel, a second signaling as a CSI report that includes values corresponding to the first set of beams (As can be seen in at least step 815 of Fig. 8, the UE may generate and transmit an event-triggered report with a partial update of the parameters, based on the detection. As was also discussed above, at least paragraphs [0094] and [0104] support using at least the method of Fig. 8 for beam reporting. The UE may thus be interpreted as transmitting, over an uplink channel, a second signaling as a CSI report that includes values corresponding to the first set of beams; Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0070], [0077]-[0079], [0082], [0094], [0104]), wherein the values corresponding to the first set of beams are based on values corresponding to a second set of beams associated with network-triggered beam reporting by the UE (The event-triggered partial update is described in at least paragraph [0104] as reporting a change in value of at least one of L1-RSRP or L1-SINR for a certain beam has changed more than a threshold amount (similar to at least paragraph [0079]). At least paragraph [0065] also discusses the use of multiple beams using, e.g., beam sweeping. Multiple beams may thus be interpreted as being used/measured, and such multiple beams may be interpreted as a second set of beams associated with network-triggered beam reporting by the UE. The subset of beams for which partial measurement values are reported may be interpreted as the first set of beams. The values corresponding to the first set of beams may thus be interpreted as being based on values corresponding to a second set of beams (e.g., values that are not reported because they did not cross measurement thresholds) associated with network-triggered beam reporting by the UE; Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0065], [0070], [0077]-[0079], [0082], [0094], [0104]). However, although Pezeshki discusses the use of a protocol stack including higher layers for wireless communication (Pezeshki; Fig. 5; [0058]-[0061]), Pezeshki does not specifically disclose the CSI report setting comprises a higher-layer parameter, within a CSI reporting setting information element. Bae teaches the CSI report setting comprises a higher-layer parameter, within a CSI reporting setting information element (CSI reporting configuration information is described as including higher layer parameters. Such CSI reporting configuration information may also be interpreted as being within a CSI reporting setting information element; Bae; [0167]-[0173], [0178]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Bae regarding channel measurement with the teachings as in Pezeshki regarding channel measurement. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance at least by reducing delay/latency, reducing CSI processing time, and increasing CSI reliability (Bae; [0023]-[0028]). Regarding claim 2, Pezeshki and Bae teach the limitations of claim 1. Pezeshki further teaches the event-triggered beam reporting is associated with a set of downlink (DL) CSI reference signals based on the CSI reporting setting (The report configuration may indicate CSI-RS resources and may thus be interpreted as being associated with a set of downlink (DL) CSI reference signals based on the CSI reporting setting; Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0070], [0079], [0081]-[0082], [0093]-[0094], [0104]). Regarding claim 3, Pezeshki and Bae teach the limitations of claim 2. Pezeshki further teaches the event-triggered reporting is event-triggered beam reporting (As can be seen in at least paragraphs [0094] and [0104], Pezeshki states that the event-triggered partial update can be applied in other contexts (other type of RS-based reporting) besides the CSI-RS example described in Pezeshki. For example, the techniques may be applied to a layer 1 (L1) reference signal received power (RSRP) and/or a L1 signal-to-noise and interference ratio (SINR) based reporting for beam management. Such L1-RSRP and/or L1-SINR based reporting for beam management (based for instance on measurement values crossing a threshold as is discussed in at least paragraphs [0079] and [0104]) may be interpreted as event-triggered beam reporting; Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0070], [0079], [0081]-[0082], [0094], [0104]). Bae further teaches the DL CSI reference signals of the event-triggered reporting correspond to a group of non-zero power CSI reference signal (NZP CSI-RS) resources associated with the network-triggered reporting, and wherein the group of NZP CSI-RS resources is configured with at least one of a periodic time-domain configuration, a semi-persistent time-domain configuration, or a higher-layer parameter corresponding to a repetition configuration (CSI-RS resources used for channel measurement may include NZP CSI-RS resources. The DL CSI reference signals of the event-triggered reporting may thus be interpreted as corresponding to a group of non-zero power CSI reference signal (NZP CSI-RS) resources associated with the network-triggered reporting, and wherein the group of NZP CSI-RS resources is configured with at least one of a periodic time-domain configuration, a semi-persistent time-domain configuration, or a higher-layer parameter corresponding to a repetition configuration; Bae; [0172], [0195], [0208], [0224]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Bae regarding channel measurement with the teachings as in Pezeshki regarding channel measurement. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance at least by reducing delay/latency, reducing CSI processing time, and increasing CSI reliability (Bae; [0023]-[0028]). Regarding claim 4, Pezeshki and Bae teach the limitations of claim 1. Pezeshki further teaches the CSI report is transmitted over at least one of: a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) based on aperiodic time-domain behavior reporting or semi-persistent time-domain behavior reporting (CSI reporting may be performed over the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), which may be interpreted as transmitting the CSI report over at least a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) based on aperiodic time-domain behavior reporting or semi-persistent time-domain behavior reporting; Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0056], [0070], [0077]-[0079], [0093]-[0094], [0104]); or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) based on periodic time-domain behavior reporting or the semi-persistent time-domain behavior reporting (CSI reporting may be performed over the physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), which may be interpreted as transmitting the CSI report over at least a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) based on periodic time-domain behavior reporting or the semi-persistent time-domain behavior reporting; Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0056], [0070], [0077]-[0079], [0093]-[0094], [0104]). Regarding claim 5, Pezeshki and Bae teach the limitations of claim 1. Pezeshki further teaches an event associated with the event-triggered beam reporting relates to a modification to a value of at least one of: a CSI reference signal resource indicator (CRI), a synchronization signal block resource index (SSBRI), a layer-one reference signal received power (L1-RSRP), or a layer-one signal to interference and noise ratio (L1-SINR) (As can be seen for instance in at least steps 810-815 of Fig. 8, the report configuration enables the UE to perform event-triggered CSI reporting. For example, partial reporting may be performed based on a measured value changing more than a threshold amount. As can be seen in at least paragraphs [0094] and [0104], Pezeshki states that the event-triggered partial update can be applied in other contexts (other type of RS-based reporting) besides the CSI-RS example described in Pezeshki. For example, the techniques may be applied to a layer 1 (L1) reference signal received power (RSRP) and/or a L1 signal-to-noise and interference ratio (SINR) based reporting for beam management. An event associated with the event-triggered beam reporting may thus be interpreted as relating to a modification to a value of at least one of: a CSI reference signal resource indicator (CRI), a synchronization signal block resource index (SSBRI), a layer-one reference signal received power (L1-RSRP), or a layer-one signal to interference and noise ratio (L1-SINR); Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0070], [0079], [0081]-[0082], [0094], [0104]). Regarding claim 6, Pezeshki and Bae teach the limitations of claim 5. Bae further teaches the CSI report includes an indicator of at least one of the CRI or the SSBRI, the indicator corresponding to at least one of a group of CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources or a group of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) (The UE may report CRI and SSBRI, which may be interpreted as corresponding to at least one of a group of CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources or a group of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs); Bae; [0098], [0168]-[0169], [0178]-[0180]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Bae regarding channel measurement with the teachings as in Pezeshki regarding channel measurement. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance at least by reducing delay/latency, reducing CSI processing time, and increasing CSI reliability (Bae; [0023]-[0028]). Regarding claim 7, Pezeshki and Bae teach the limitations of claim 5. Pezeshki further teaches the CSI report includes values of at least one of the L1-RSRP or the L1-SINR that are based on values reported in a network-triggered beam report for at least one of the L1-RSRP or the L1-SINR (The CSI report may include values of at least one of the L1-RSRP or the L1-SINR. For example, such values may be reported when they change more than a threshold amount from a previously measured/reported value (e.g., values reported in a network-triggered beam report). The CSI report may thus be interpreted as including values of at least one of the L1-RSRP or the L1-SINR that are based on values reported in a network-triggered beam report for at least one of the L1-RSRP or the L1-SINR; Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0070], [0079], [0081]-[0082], [0094], [0104]). Regarding claim 8, Pezeshki and Bae teach the limitations of claim 1. Pezeshki further teaches the first set of beams is a subset of the second set of beams (The event-triggered partial update is described in at least paragraph [0104] as reporting a change in value of at least one of L1-RSRP or L1-SINR for a certain beam has changed more than a threshold amount (similar to at least paragraph [0079]). At least paragraph [0065] also discusses the use of multiple beams using, e.g., beam sweeping. Multiple beams may thus be interpreted as being used/measured, and such multiple beams may be interpreted as a second set of beams associated with network-triggered beam reporting by the UE. The subset of beams for which partial measurement values are reported may be interpreted as the first set of beams. The first set of beams may thus be interpreted as a subset of the second set of beams; Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0065], [0070], [0077]-[0079], [0082], [0094], [0104]). Regarding claim 9, Pezeshki and Bae teach the limitations of claim 1. Pezeshki further teaches the CSI report of the event-triggered beam reporting is multiplexed with a hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback signal over the uplink channel (The UE may report CSI in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) that also carries HARQ-ACK. The CSI report of the event-triggered beam reporting may thus be interpreted as being multiplexed with a hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback signal over the uplink channel; Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0070], [0077]-[0079], [0094], [0104]). Regarding claim 10, Pezeshki and Bae teach the limitations of claim 9. Pezeshki further teaches the CSI report being multiplexed with the HARQ-ACK feedback signal is based on the HARQ-ACK feedback signal corresponding to a non-acknowledgement (NACK) signal (The UE may report CSI in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) that also carries HARQ-ACK. In some cases, the report can be included in an acknowledgement (ACK) or negative ACK (NACK) response. The CSI report being multiplexed with the HARQ-ACK feedback signal may thus be interpreted as being based on the HARQ-ACK feedback signal corresponding to a non-acknowledgement (NACK) signal; Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0070], [0077]-[0079], [0092], [0094], [0104]). Regarding claim 11, Pezeshki and Bae teach the limitations of claim 1. Pezeshki further teaches the event-triggered beam reporting is configured using a downlink control information (DCI) signal (The UE may be configured via DCI; Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0070], [0077]-[0079], [0081], [0094]-[0095], [0104]). Regarding claim 12, Pezeshki and Bae teach the limitations of claim 1. Pezeshki further teaches the reported values correspond to the first set of beams (As is discussed in at least paragraphs [0094] and [0104], the event-triggered beam reporting may be associated with a first set of beams (e.g., beams for which partial reporting is performed); Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0070], [0077]-[0079], [0094], [0104]). Bae further teaches the CSI report includes a first portion including an indicator of whether the values are being reported (The UE may separately encode 1-bit information indicating whether the partial CSI reporting is performed and then append the 1-bit information to the CSI report. The UE is also described as indicating whether partial CSI is included using Part I of the CSI reporting. The CSI report may thus be interpreted as including a first portion including an indicator of whether the values are being reported; Bae; [0231]-[0233], [0238]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Bae regarding channel measurement with the teachings as in Pezeshki regarding channel measurement. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance at least by reducing delay/latency, reducing CSI processing time, and increasing CSI reliability (Bae; [0023]-[0028]). Regarding claim 13, Pezeshki and Bae teach the limitations of claim 12. Pezeshki further teaches the reported values correspond to the first set of beams (As is discussed in at least paragraphs [0094] and [0104], the event-triggered beam reporting may be associated with a first set of beams (e.g., beams for which partial reporting is performed); Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0070], [0077]-[0079], [0094], [0104]). Bae further teaches the CSI report further includes a second portion based on the indicator having a given value (The UE may separately encode 1-bit information indicating whether the partial CSI reporting is performed and then append the 1-bit information to the CSI report. The UE is also described as indicating whether partial CSI is included using Part I of the CSI reporting. The portion of the CSI report comprising the reported value(s) may be interpreted as at least a second portion based on the indicator having a given value; Bae; [0231]-[0233], [0238]), the second portion including the values (The second of the two parts may be interpreted as including the reported values; Bae; [0231]-[0233], [0238]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Bae regarding channel measurement with the teachings as in Pezeshki regarding channel measurement. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance at least by reducing delay/latency, reducing CSI processing time, and increasing CSI reliability (Bae; [0023]-[0028]). Regarding claim 15, Pezeshki teaches a network entity (NE) for wireless communication (Base station (BS); Pezeshki; Figs. 1, 4, and 8-10; [0053]), comprising: at least one memory (The BS may be comprised of a memory; Pezeshki; Fig. 4; [0057]); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (The BS may be comprised of a processor coupled with the memory; Pezeshki; Fig. 4; [0053], [0057]) and configured to cause the NE to: transmit a channel state information (CSI) reporting setting (As can be seen in at least step 905 of Fig. 9, the BS may transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a report configuration for a plurality of parameters based on reference signal (RS) measurements. Such a report is also described as a channel state information (CSI) report and the reporting configuration is also described as potentially indicating CSI-RS resources for channel measurement. Such a report configuration may thus be interpreted as a first signaling as a channel state information (CSI) reporting setting; Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0070], [0079], [0081]), the CSI reporting setting indicating that event-triggered beam reporting by a user equipment (UE) is enabled (As can be seen for instance in at least steps 810-815 of Fig. 8, the report configuration enables the UE to perform event-triggered CSI reporting. As can be seen in at least paragraphs [0094] and [0104], Pezeshki states that the event-triggered partial update can be applied in other contexts (other type of RS-based reporting) besides the CSI-RS example described in Pezeshki. For example, the techniques may be applied to a layer 1 (L1) reference signal received power (RSRP) and/or a L1 signal-to-noise and interference ratio (SINR) based reporting for beam management. Such L1-RSRP and/or L1-SINR based reporting for beam management (based for instance on measurement values crossing a threshold as is discussed in at least paragraphs [0079] and [0104]) may be interpreted as event-triggered beam reporting. The CSI reporting setting may thus be interpreted as indicating that event-triggered beam reporting by a user equipment (UE) is enabled; Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0070], [0079], [0081]-[0082], [0094], [0104]), the event-triggered beam reporting associated with a first set of beams (The event-triggered beam reporting may be associated with a first set of beams (e.g., beams for which partial reporting is performed); Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0070], [0077]-[0079], [0094], [0104]); and receive, from the UE over an uplink channel, a second signaling as a CSI report that includes values corresponding to the first set of beams (As can be seen in at least step 915 of Fig. 9, the BS may receive an event-triggered report with a partial update of the parameters, based on the detection. As was also discussed above, at least paragraphs [0094] and [0104] support using at least the method of Fig. 8 for beam reporting. The BS may thus be interpreted as receiving, from the UE over an uplink channel, a second signaling as a CSI report that includes values corresponding to the first set of beams; Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0070], [0077]-[0079], [0085], [0094], [0104]), wherein the values corresponding to the first set of beams are based on values corresponding to a second set of beams associated with network-triggered beam reporting by the UE (The event-triggered partial update is described in at least paragraph [0104] as reporting a change in value of at least one of L1-RSRP or L1-SINR for a certain beam has changed more than a threshold amount (similar to at least paragraph [0079]). At least paragraph [0065] also discusses the use of multiple beams using, e.g., beam sweeping. Multiple beams may thus be interpreted as being used/measured, and such multiple beams may be interpreted as a second set of beams associated with network-triggered beam reporting by the UE. The subset of beams for which partial measurement values are reported may be interpreted as the first set of beams. The values corresponding to the first set of beams may thus be interpreted as being based on values corresponding to a second set of beams (e.g., values that are not reported because they did not cross measurement thresholds) associated with network-triggered beam reporting by the UE ; Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0065], [0070], [0077]-[0079], [0082], [0094], [0104]). However, although Pezeshki discusses the use of a protocol stack including higher layers for wireless communication (Pezeshki; Fig. 5; [0058]-[0061]), Pezeshki does not specifically disclose the CSI report setting comprises a higher-layer parameter, within a CSI reporting setting information element. Bae teaches the CSI report setting comprises a higher-layer parameter, within a CSI reporting setting information element (CSI reporting configuration information is described as including higher layer parameters. Such CSI reporting configuration information may also be interpreted as being within a CSI reporting setting information element; Bae; [0167]-[0173], [0178]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Bae regarding channel measurement with the teachings as in Pezeshki regarding channel measurement. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance at least by reducing delay/latency, reducing CSI processing time, and increasing CSI reliability (Bae; [0023]-[0028]). Regarding claim 16, Pezeshki and Bae teach the limitations of claim 15. Pezeshki further teaches the event-triggered beam reporting is associated with a set of downlink (DL) CSI reference signals based on the CSI reporting setting (The report configuration may indicate CSI-RS resources and may thus be interpreted as being associated with a set of downlink (DL) CSI reference signals based on the CSI reporting setting; Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0070], [0079], [0081]-[0082], [0093]-[0094], [0104]). Regarding claim 17, Pezeshki and Bae teach the limitations of claim 16. Pezeshki further teaches the event-triggered reporting is event-triggered beam reporting (As can be seen in at least paragraphs [0094] and [0104], Pezeshki states that the event-triggered partial update can be applied in other contexts (other type of RS-based reporting) besides the CSI-RS example described in Pezeshki. For example, the techniques may be applied to a layer 1 (L1) reference signal received power (RSRP) and/or a L1 signal-to-noise and interference ratio (SINR) based reporting for beam management. Such L1-RSRP and/or L1-SINR based reporting for beam management (based for instance on measurement values crossing a threshold as is discussed in at least paragraphs [0079] and [0104]) may be interpreted as event-triggered beam reporting; Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0070], [0079], [0081]-[0082], [0094], [0104]). Bae further teaches the DL CSI reference signals of the event-triggered reporting correspond to a group of non-zero power CSI reference signal (NZP CSI-RS) resources associated with the network-triggered reporting, and wherein the group of NZP CSI-RS resources is configured with at least one of a periodic time-domain configuration, a semi-persistent time-domain configuration, or a higher-layer parameter corresponding to a repetition configuration (CSI-RS resources used for channel measurement may include NZP CSI-RS resources. The DL CSI reference signals of the event-triggered reporting may thus be interpreted as corresponding to a group of non-zero power CSI reference signal (NZP CSI-RS) resources associated with the network-triggered reporting, and wherein the group of NZP CSI-RS resources is configured with at least one of a periodic time-domain configuration, a semi-persistent time-domain configuration, or a higher-layer parameter corresponding to a repetition configuration; Bae; [0172], [0195], [0208], [0224]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Bae regarding channel measurement with the teachings as in Pezeshki regarding channel measurement. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance at least by reducing delay/latency, reducing CSI processing time, and increasing CSI reliability (Bae; [0023]-[0028]). Regarding claim 18, Pezeshki and Bae teach the limitations of claim 15. Pezeshki further teaches the CSI report is transmitted over at least one of: a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) based on aperiodic time-domain behavior reporting or semi-persistent time-domain behavior reporting (CSI reporting may be performed over the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), which may be interpreted as transmitting the CSI report over at least a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) based on aperiodic time-domain behavior reporting or semi-persistent time-domain behavior reporting; Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0056], [0070], [0077]-[0079], [0093]-[0094], [0104]); or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) based on periodic time-domain behavior reporting or the semi-persistent time-domain behavior reporting (CSI reporting may be performed over the physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), which may be interpreted as transmitting the CSI report over at least a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) based on periodic time-domain behavior reporting or the semi-persistent time-domain behavior reporting; Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0056], [0070], [0077]-[0079], [0093]-[0094], [0104]). Regarding claim 19, Pezeshki and Bae teach the limitations of claim 15. Pezeshki further teaches an event associated with the event-triggered beam reporting relates to a modification to a value of at least one of: a CSI reference signal resource indicator (CRI), a synchronization signal block resource index (SSBRI), a layer-one reference signal received power (L1-RSRP), or a layer-one signal to interference and noise ratio (L1-SINR) (As can be seen for instance in at least steps 810-815 of Fig. 8, the report configuration enables the UE to perform event-triggered CSI reporting. For example, partial reporting may be performed based on a measured value changing more than a threshold amount. As can be seen in at least paragraphs [0094] and [0104], Pezeshki states that the event-triggered partial update can be applied in other contexts (other type of RS-based reporting) besides the CSI-RS example described in Pezeshki. For example, the techniques may be applied to a layer 1 (L1) reference signal received power (RSRP) and/or a L1 signal-to-noise and interference ratio (SINR) based reporting for beam management. An event associated with the event-triggered beam reporting may thus be interpreted as relating to a modification to a value of at least one of: a CSI reference signal resource indicator (CRI), a synchronization signal block resource index (SSBRI), a layer-one reference signal received power (L1-RSRP), or a layer-one signal to interference and noise ratio (L1-SINR); Pezeshki; Figs. 8-10; [0070], [0079], [0081]-[0082], [0094], [0104]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC MYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474