Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 7 recites in lines 6-7 the limitation “indicate that the OLT has correctly parsed the short registration signal”. Instant specification, as originally filed, does not teach any step for indicating that the OLT has correctly parsed the short registration signal.
Claims 2, 7, 10, 15 and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites in line 6 the limitation “the error correction information”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 10 and 17 depend upon claim 2.
Claim 7 recites in lines 7-8 the limitation “the error correction information”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 15 depends upon claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 8-9, 11, 13, 16, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2014/0186025 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fang et al. teaches in FIG. 2 a method for sending a short registration signal, comprising: sending, a short registration signal to an Optical Line Terminal (OLT) (Fang et al. teaches in FIG. 2, step 212 transmit register request to OLT), in order to enable the OLT to detect a position of the short registration signal within the idle bandwidth (Fang et al. teaches in FIG. 2 and paragraph [0033] that the OLT reads its clock time at step 216 when the register request message is received; since there is no collision with other messages, the bandwidth is an idle bandwidth), or, in order to enable the OLT to detect a collision position between the short registration signal and working data frames.
Regarding claim 3, Fang et al. teaches in FIG. 2, step 202 that the OLT transmit MPCP gate which is received at step 204. The CLT of Fang et al. is equivalent to the ONU of instant claim.
Regarding claim 5, Fang et al. teaches in FIG. 2, step 220 calculating RTT which is a measurement of distance in light-travelling-time.
Regarding claim 8, Fang et al. teaches in FIG. 9 a transmitter 932 as a sending module.
Regarding claims 9, 11 and 13, Fang et al. teaches in FIG. 9 and paragraph [0058] software stored in memory 922.
Regarding claims 16, 18 and 20, Fang et al. teaches in FIG. 9 and paragraph [0058] logic unit 920 (equivalent to processor of instant claim) running software stored in memory 922.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 12, 14 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
skl20 April 2026
/SHI K LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635